• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 10, 2006
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 112

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    one of the greatest video games of all time,perfect combat system,customizable move set,boss fights

    the reason i purchase a second ps2 after my first one broke
  2. Mar 9, 2015
    9
    Just started playing and all i can say is that it still is extremely hard getting used to even after a few days. Im assuming it takes quite a bit to get the timing down of the various dodges but after that i bet its gonna be way more awesome than to play it already is. The graphics arent even that bad compared to games now a days, so it's not an issue at all when you play, the soundtrackJust started playing and all i can say is that it still is extremely hard getting used to even after a few days. Im assuming it takes quite a bit to get the timing down of the various dodges but after that i bet its gonna be way more awesome than to play it already is. The graphics arent even that bad compared to games now a days, so it's not an issue at all when you play, the soundtrack is very goofy but it fits in very well, and the storyline seems cool so far. Don't expect a hardcore fighting game from God Hand, expect a laid-back purely for fun beat em up game to pass time on every now and then :D Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    Capcom have great games in PS2, especially godhand, this games is very cool fighting ever after dmc. Graphics is good, gameplay is brutal but still cool action, and all about fun just fun...and again if you have guts, then play this games until you can defeated this final boss with 2 god hand...have fun.
  4. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Fantastic game with hard-to-master control scheme, which put some early reviewers off.

    But make no mistake, there's a lot to love here. It took me a while to learn to enjoy this game, but once you learn the mechanics, and become good at it, it starts to play like a dream. The fighting mechanic is unique, the levels are well-paced, the three difficulty levels are well-balanced, the
    Fantastic game with hard-to-master control scheme, which put some early reviewers off.

    But make no mistake, there's a lot to love here. It took me a while to learn to enjoy this game, but once you learn the mechanics, and become good at it, it starts to play like a dream.

    The fighting mechanic is unique, the levels are well-paced, the three difficulty levels are well-balanced, the enemies are a good match, the bosses are interesting, the comedy is quirky,

    The most important thing is that it presents a beautifully-playing third person action adventure game. It stands up there with Devil May Cry and God of War as one of the very best in the genre, while simultaneously standing out for its unique, groundbreaking blend of styles. We need a sequel badly.
    Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    ign s u c k s great game! There's no such thing as TOO over the top. You want to kick a demon in the groin, go ahead. Maybe you would like to barrel kick a group of thugs, no one's stopping you. This game sets the bar for brawlers. I
  6. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    Juego de peleas en tercera persona que enloquece por momentos convirtiéndolo en una experiencia. Sin duda un juego que hay que probar ya que sólo el diseño de personajes vale la partida.
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    It is a damn shame this game flopped (thank you ign).

    Positives 1. It's difficult while being fair. Unlike games such as I Wanna Be The Guy or... other indie games, when you die in this game, it's on you, not shoddy programming. 2. It's amazingly over-the-top. Like some weird mix of Fist of the North Star, Western movies, and Streets of Rage, the game knows how to make you say
    It is a damn shame this game flopped (thank you ign).

    Positives

    1. It's difficult while being fair. Unlike games such as I Wanna Be The Guy or... other indie games, when you die in this game, it's on you, not shoddy programming.

    2. It's amazingly over-the-top. Like some weird mix of Fist of the North Star, Western movies, and Streets of Rage, the game knows how to make you say "What".

    3. It's funny in a medium where most attempts to be funny fall on their faces. It's not afraid to be politically incorrect, not afraid to sound goofy, and not afraid to offend.

    Negatives

    1. Though some would say the casino adds "color" and "flavor" to the game, I think it's just a waste of time.

    2. Uh... you can see through textures?

    I don't have much negative to say about God Hand. 9 out of 10. You should buy it as a reminder of when Capcom didn't suck.
    Expand
  8. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    i can't believe the critics opinion on this game it is one of the most underrated games of all time a true master piece it is funny gameplay smooth and addictive story not that good but the game play is just the bomb of this game it is one of my favorite games of all time
  9. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    What a fantastic game. Here's a quick run down of what's so great. 100% customizable move set. Great dodging system where you get up close and must deal with individual attacks, then get back on the offensive. All animations can be cancelled, making the combat smooth - cancel when you miss, cancel when you hit and want to interrupt your own attack with another - and cancel when you areWhat a fantastic game. Here's a quick run down of what's so great. 100% customizable move set. Great dodging system where you get up close and must deal with individual attacks, then get back on the offensive. All animations can be cancelled, making the combat smooth - cancel when you miss, cancel when you hit and want to interrupt your own attack with another - and cancel when you are hit yourself, so you get back to your ready stance. Brilliant! Dynamic difficulty - the better you are, the harder the game gets, and if you are struggling, it gets a bit easier. That way, everybody is challenged by this game, it just gets harder and harder! Great variety of enemies and enemy attacks - all fair, with wind up animations and audio cues, so it's always fair. Beat the game, and unlock all moves in the shop for your game+ as well as some totally new ones for your 2nd play through. Also bonus costumes, and 50 unique challenges to beat. Great comedy and enemy design, funny dialogue, lots of game references, and really catchy music. Pretty much the best game on the PS2, and still stands up today. Get it! Collapse
  10. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I can't believe the idiots at IGN think that God Hand is terrible. First off, the game is not terrible. And second, I think it really has a great elemental styles of comedy references from Chappelle's Show to an homage to Shinji Mikami's Devil May Cry. I played the game on the Playstation 2 Classics on PSN and I haven't stop playing for hours when every boss battle shows up. It was reallyI can't believe the idiots at IGN think that God Hand is terrible. First off, the game is not terrible. And second, I think it really has a great elemental styles of comedy references from Chappelle's Show to an homage to Shinji Mikami's Devil May Cry. I played the game on the Playstation 2 Classics on PSN and I haven't stop playing for hours when every boss battle shows up. It was really an honor for Clover Studio (now Platinum Games, home of Bayonetta) to make an over-the-top fighting-like action game that wants you to test your fists and strength also break out some finishing nanuevers like the God Stomp and all those types. I thought Okami was better than God Hand, I was wrong. But they both share some great moments, though. I think Capcom did what they did and it's one of the best underrated games that doesn't suck. Expand
  11. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Best beat em up game ever made. The best game Capcom ever had and it wont get another one like this cause they let go of the best game devs that ever existed. The game is pure fun with solid soild gameplay.
  12. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    Awesome game. I love it enough to edit the review score. DURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Brutal and funny game for me. The graphic isn't too good but the game is. It has some funny moves like ball buster and something like that and im very proud that I finish the game in hard mode.
  14. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun, its funny and awesome at the same time. I loved the fact that you are able to create combos and the roulette system is fun as f**k. One for the ages this game, often overlooked but always awesome
  15. May 22, 2011
    10
    As far as brawlers go, this takes the cake, possibly forever. TOO over the top you say! It's a video game. There's no such thing as TOO over the top. You want to kick a demon in the groin, go ahead. Maybe you would like to barrel kick a group of thugs, no one's stopping you. This game sets the bar for brawlers. I am glad some game developers realize games are supposed to be fun. Pick thisAs far as brawlers go, this takes the cake, possibly forever. TOO over the top you say! It's a video game. There's no such thing as TOO over the top. You want to kick a demon in the groin, go ahead. Maybe you would like to barrel kick a group of thugs, no one's stopping you. This game sets the bar for brawlers. I am glad some game developers realize games are supposed to be fun. Pick this gem up before it's gone forever. Expand
  16. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    The best beat-em-up/action EVER. God Hand is hilariously underrated. I don't know why. It's FUN FUN FUN and challenging. Really, the game is unique.. The fact that you can TOTALLY customise moves means that you can change the fighting style to match YOUR personal warrior more than ever before.
  17. HarriLaitinen
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    God Hand is the best brawler on the PS2. I don't understand how this game can get critised about the camera when God of War gets 100% and you can't even see where you are going! Again God of War get's points for a good fighting system when in thruth it is not even customisable. You have maybe 30-50 moves in GOW where as in God Hand you have more like 100 moves that you canGod Hand is the best brawler on the PS2. I don't understand how this game can get critised about the camera when God of War gets 100% and you can't even see where you are going! Again God of War get's points for a good fighting system when in thruth it is not even customisable. You have maybe 30-50 moves in GOW where as in God Hand you have more like 100 moves that you can set into a combo of your choosing. I really don't see why people praise such a mediocore game as GOW and don't see the genious in such a awesome game as God Hand. Expand
  18. SomeOne
    Apr 8, 2009
    9
    God Hand is a fantastic game. The fact that you can fully customise your combos and movelist means that you can change the game to match YOUR fighting style more than ever before. This is a good thing because the game is challenging, and unlike some games where button mashing may get you somewhere, button mashing in God Hand won't even get you past the first few enemies. It requires God Hand is a fantastic game. The fact that you can fully customise your combos and movelist means that you can change the game to match YOUR fighting style more than ever before. This is a good thing because the game is challenging, and unlike some games where button mashing may get you somewhere, button mashing in God Hand won't even get you past the first few enemies. It requires real skill, and when you become one with the fighting engine and start dominating with combos that you created yourself it's incredibly satisfying. The characters and dialogue are so funny I was in stitches for most of the game. There are heaps of other great ideas in this game, for example instead of only getting upgrade points through fighting, you can take them to a casino and try to increase the amount. 300 points short of a new upgrade? Go to the Blackjack table and get that upgrade sooner rather than later! You can even bet on Chihuahua Races, which is so much fun it could be a game on it's own. The graphics aren't high quality (great art style though) but the sound definitely is! I'm totally addicted to this game, I got it for 24 Aussie dollars and it's paid for itself ten times over already! I think Edge put it best when they said you will either love it or hate it, but either way you have to play it at least once. So go play it! Expand
  19. Shane
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    God Hand might be the most underrated game of its time. The game is just pure fun, from the goofy dialogue and voice acting to the surpisingly in-depth combat system, God Hand is the polar opposite of games that take themselves seriously. Chris Roper's review and score of the game lack any accuracy and should not dissuade you from giving it a try. For such a difficult game God Hand might be the most underrated game of its time. The game is just pure fun, from the goofy dialogue and voice acting to the surpisingly in-depth combat system, God Hand is the polar opposite of games that take themselves seriously. Chris Roper's review and score of the game lack any accuracy and should not dissuade you from giving it a try. For such a difficult game that's primarily about punching people, God Hand is likely to charm the daylights out of you. Expand
  20. RobS
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    God Hand is old school hard straight from the beginning. If you are persistent and never give up, you will be rewarded with one of the most amazing brawling experiences ever released on any system. This game is not just a mindless button mash either, so don't expect to win just by smashing the same button over and over through the game like so many other brawlers, your quick reflexes God Hand is old school hard straight from the beginning. If you are persistent and never give up, you will be rewarded with one of the most amazing brawling experiences ever released on any system. This game is not just a mindless button mash either, so don't expect to win just by smashing the same button over and over through the game like so many other brawlers, your quick reflexes and masterful use of the stunning array of moves available to you will be rewarded with a genuinely FUN and hilarious over the top action experience. Where else can you boot demons in the groin then kick them into outer space? Expand
  21. RichardA
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Not be it for you to take any sort of guidance off someone who thinks Chaos Legion was an amazing slash 'em up and completed Megaman X7 on his own volition but this game comes under my top 10 favourite games of all time. It's not because of the frustrating and constant dying which just ends up being funny after the twelfth time the same fat ninja does the spinney blade thing at Not be it for you to take any sort of guidance off someone who thinks Chaos Legion was an amazing slash 'em up and completed Megaman X7 on his own volition but this game comes under my top 10 favourite games of all time. It's not because of the frustrating and constant dying which just ends up being funny after the twelfth time the same fat ninja does the spinney blade thing at you just after you've got out of one fight with three guys. It's not because of the humour that makes the game it's only little laughing stoke, drenched in liquid awesome. It's because of the places you can go after you beat it the first time. If you're anything like me then you aren't happy with the total annihilation of medium difficulty and beating Easy makes you feel like a weakling, even though you're destined to die at least once a level on easy. No, if you're anything like me you will complete easy and medium, put the controller down and then pick it up again after a few seconds because you just want to SEE if you can get through hard mode. Then you think that it'd be a good idea to try a kick-me sign run, a run through the game that stops you from using your special abilities. The game could last you months and months and could even totally destroy your social life if you wanted try a hard mode kick me sign run which can only be described as "mental". Expand
  22. [Anonymous]
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    This game is hilariously underrated, and anyone turned off by negative reviews should give it a second thought. Initially, you may be turned off by the fact that the game essentially throws you right into the middle of things, with no idea of what to do, but tinker around with it, and you'll find a rewarding combo system, with clever (albeit irreverant) humor and dialog. Plus the This game is hilariously underrated, and anyone turned off by negative reviews should give it a second thought. Initially, you may be turned off by the fact that the game essentially throws you right into the middle of things, with no idea of what to do, but tinker around with it, and you'll find a rewarding combo system, with clever (albeit irreverant) humor and dialog. Plus the soundtrack is great. Expand
  23. Nick
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    God Hand is criminally underrated -- quite frankly I'm embarrassed for Roper's now infamous 3/10 score. The game not only captures the fun of classic beat 'em ups (as noted by James here), but it surpasses it. Like one of Capcom's earlier titles, Resident Evil 4 (yes I know God Hand was technically developed by Clover; put a sock in it), the camera is fixed behind the God Hand is criminally underrated -- quite frankly I'm embarrassed for Roper's now infamous 3/10 score. The game not only captures the fun of classic beat 'em ups (as noted by James here), but it surpasses it. Like one of Capcom's earlier titles, Resident Evil 4 (yes I know God Hand was technically developed by Clover; put a sock in it), the camera is fixed behind the character's back. Also like Resident Evil 4, the game features an unorthodox control scheme; it's frustrating to get the hang of but incredibly rewarding once mastered. And master it you must, even if you play it on easy mode. Beware, folks: God Hand ain't for sissies. The difficulty level is completely dynamic; on normal mode, it fluctuates between 1, 2, 3, and DIE (1 for suckers; DIE for masters). If you take a beating, the enemy level drops; if you dish one out, the enemy level rises. In its difficulty, its over-the-top moves, its humor, and awesomely bad dialog, God Hand is like gaming of yore. If you're searching for a slow, plodding game riddled with unskippable cutscenes, avoid this game at all costs. If you don't think games are Serious Business and want something fun and challenging, pick up God Hand. Expand
  24. DanL.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    The graphics arent good, but Godhand more than makes up for it by being a really funny and challenging game. It's awesome!
  25. AdamS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    One of the finest and funniest scolling beat-em-ups ever, frankly. Any game with the line "I'm Alexander the Great!" deserves a gold star.
  26. DylanP.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    Sure, there's not a lot of polish here. It doesn't matter; you'll be too busy enjoying beating the ever-loving crap out of everything in sight. Easily one of the most pure fun games on PS2. Well worth the 20 bucks it'll run you--in fact, it's a better 20 dollar game than God of War or Kingdom Hearts 2.
  27. ZachL.
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    I spent 18 hours playing this game on hard mode, and I am impressed. It's sad that companies are actively staying away from making hard games, like Battle Toads. This game is great and the best game I played since RE4. Pick it up.
  28. ThomasW.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    This game's a gem. It's nothing too deep, no pretentions; God Hand is just a fun, challenging game about brawling. If you can dig that, then you'll love it.
  29. JamesG.
    Oct 17, 2006
    8
    This is probably the most fun I've had playin a beat em up since streets of rage. It captures all the fun of the early 90's games with over the top moves and other moves that will just make you laugh. There are some elements to the game that are frustrating, for example when you go through three quarters of the level only to be defeated then have to redo the whole thing. It can This is probably the most fun I've had playin a beat em up since streets of rage. It captures all the fun of the early 90's games with over the top moves and other moves that will just make you laugh. There are some elements to the game that are frustrating, for example when you go through three quarters of the level only to be defeated then have to redo the whole thing. It can turn into some button bashing, but you still have to think about it the majority of the time. The game doesn't warrant 9 or 10 in my eyes, which are left to games which are near perfect rather than a tongue-in-cheek effort to re-create whats missing from so many beat-em-ups. Overall i feel its a truly rewarding game, just challenging enough, but not too hard and if you don't take your gaming too seriously this is a fun and addictive game. Expand
  30. AaronM.
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    Terrific game so far. I picked it up and played it for about 5 hours straight! Haven't done that in awhile. Great fighting and very weird and hilarious!
  31. OverburN
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    God of War, Street Fighter, Devil May Cry.... all in one. With this said, let me go into details, in this game you will probably be doing alot more button mashing than formulating combos, but combos can be achieved. It is more hand-to-hand combat with the ability to pick up weapons and wail on opponents. It is very fast paced action and all moves can be initiated very quickly, such as God of War, Street Fighter, Devil May Cry.... all in one. With this said, let me go into details, in this game you will probably be doing alot more button mashing than formulating combos, but combos can be achieved. It is more hand-to-hand combat with the ability to pick up weapons and wail on opponents. It is very fast paced action and all moves can be initiated very quickly, such as dodging, which you should do alot. The entire right thumbstick is dedicated to dodging styles. One thing this game has over the other three games I named is the camera. This game puts you right there with the action, Resident Evil 4 closeness. I love everything about this game and am prepared to give it a 10, but giving credit to awesome stories put into other games, I have to let this one fall -1 for a lack thereof. Expand
  32. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    What a fantastic game. Here's a quick run down of what's so great. 100% customizable move set. Great dodging system where you get up close and must deal with individual attacks, then get back on the offensive. All animations can be cancelled, making the combat smooth - cancel when you miss, cancel when you hit and want to interrupt your own attack with another - and cancel when you areWhat a fantastic game. Here's a quick run down of what's so great. 100% customizable move set. Great dodging system where you get up close and must deal with individual attacks, then get back on the offensive. All animations can be cancelled, making the combat smooth - cancel when you miss, cancel when you hit and want to interrupt your own attack with another - and cancel when you are hit yourself, so you get back to your ready stance. Brilliant! Dynamic difficulty - the better you are, the harder the game gets, and if you are struggling, it gets a bit easier. That way, everybody is challenged by this game, it just gets harder and harder! Great variety of enemies and enemy attacks - all fair, with wind up animations and audio cues, so it's always fair. Beat the game, and unlock all moves in the shop for your game+ as well as some totally new ones for your 2nd play through. Also bonus costumes, and 50 unique challenges to beat. Great comedy and enemy design, funny dialogue, lots of game references, and really catchy music. Pretty much the best game on the PS2, and still stands up today. Get it! Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. The sound is truly what sets it apart from the rest. From the crazy background sounds you get after some Techniques, to the insanely hilarious dialogue you get in cutscenes, the sound is what kept me going until the end. [JPN Import]
  2. Still, God Hand is a guilty pleasure in that it's so embarrassingly poor in its basic design, yet totally awesome in its combat. [Nov. 2006, p.118]
  3. 70
    It's more suited as a light snack and won't satisfy your hunger for a gourmet feat of beat-em-up goodness. [Nov 2006, p.93]