God of War II PlayStation 2

God of War II Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 738 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2007 PS2 Game of the Year] God of War saw Kratos, a mortal warrior, set upon an epic quest to dethrone a God. But his journey did not end there. In God of War II, Kratos sits atop his Olympus throne, as the new God of War – far more ruthless than Ares ever was. To end his[Metacritic's 2007 PS2 Game of the Year] God of War saw Kratos, a mortal warrior, set upon an epic quest to dethrone a God. But his journey did not end there. In God of War II, Kratos sits atop his Olympus throne, as the new God of War – far more ruthless than Ares ever was. To end his continued torment, Kratos must journey to the far reaches of the earth and defeat untold horrors and alter that which no mortal, or god has ever changed, his fate. God of War II sets an epic stage for a devastating mythological war to end all wars. In God of War II, players retake the role of Kratos. Armed with the deadly blades and blistering rage, players are aided by new breath-taking magic and new brutal combat moves. The journey takes them through vividly striking environments where they are faced with a labyrinth of challenging puzzles and mini-games intricately woven into the story. The violent world of Greek mythology comes to life in gory detail as Kratos encounters new mythical characters, and compete in epic boss battles in his quest. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 100
    How could God of War II possibly live up to the successes of its predecessor? The answer, my friends, is astonishing, because GoW II completely eclipses its forefather by adding even more of the stuff that we loved, namely: blood, puzzles, cinematic presentation and fifteen minute long combos.
  2. A masterpiece of action gaming. Story, production values, gameplay, ... it’s the whole package, and it runs just beautifully on the PS3 too in case you’re interested. Unless you absolutely hate action gamers, you’ll absolutely love God of War II.
  3. It doesn’t reinvent the wheel but for some 12 hours we’re seeing tighter, nimbler combat, fantastic level designs, and great gameplay. GOW II is undoubtedly better than its prequel and ultimately one of the best games on any last generation console.
  4. Accompanying all of the great gameplay and astounding visuals is an amazing score. The music behind God of War II is as epic as any other component, and it serves to make the game a much more intense and immersive experience.
  5. God of War II begins with a bang louder than a falling Kraken and does not let up for the next dozen or so hours you will spend engrossed in its mythos.
  6. An addictive, relentlessly fun thrill ride that'll make you feel like the toughest, most brutal thing in the ancient world.
  7. Edge Magazine
    70
    Its biggest problem is its length, and that its formula can’t quite endure its sequel-dose duration. Whether or not it’s overlong in terms of play hours may be a matter of preference, but it feels slightly stretched during its final third, exposing its shallowness a little in the process. [Apr 2007, p.80]

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 108
  2. Negative: 5 out of 108
  1. May 7, 2012
    10
    The best God of War game in the franchise to date.
  2. SashaG
    Jan 8, 2009
    10
    Best game I ever played on the PS2 -the graphics and sound design are such high quality, it sometimes seems its being played on a PS3. The Best game I ever played on the PS2 -the graphics and sound design are such high quality, it sometimes seems its being played on a PS3. The way the viewpoint changes is really cinematic, and I think the difficulty levels in normal mode are just right. Great tribute to Greek Mythology. Excellent game. Expand
  3. LokiT.
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    This is quite easily one of the best games I have EVER played. It one ups the first one by a factor of ten, it has better cut scenes, better This is quite easily one of the best games I have EVER played. It one ups the first one by a factor of ten, it has better cut scenes, better acting, better story, better action sequences, puzzles, etc. The graphics look better than most next gen games I have seen. This is worth buying a component video cable for. In fact, it's a must for the game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2015
    10
    No doubt is in my top 3 of ps2 games, the game is fantastic is made ​​a life on the PS2 in your order , graphs even better than the first gameNo doubt is in my top 3 of ps2 games, the game is fantastic is made ​​a life on the PS2 in your order , graphs even better than the first game , brutal gameplay a more well-crafted plot and more ambitious, heads every 30 minutes of gameplay , which will not let you breathe a moment , few games can combine and improve everything that was already good in the first and further stress the franchise among the great franchises of games, god of war 2 is fantastic do not miss the chance play . Expand
  5. JordanAmazing
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    This is an excellent game, one of the best I've ever played. Even the graphics surprised me, because I played it on my PS3 and I thoughtThis is an excellent game, one of the best I've ever played. Even the graphics surprised me, because I played it on my PS3 and I thought it was a PS3 game. The puzzles got kind of annoying, I had to use a guide online for some of them. The ending was somewhat good and somewhat bad. I really wanted to kill Zeus, but the ending just made me want to reserve the GOW3 next year. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    There's no real "in-depth" explanation that can be associated with reviewing this game.

    All I can really analyze is what, besides the
    There's no real "in-depth" explanation that can be associated with reviewing this game.

    All I can really analyze is what, besides the amazing use of Greek-lore and brutal combat system, makes the game's story its strong point.

    God of War II does what games today can not often comes close to. It makes the player WANT what Kratos wants. It gives the player Kratos' need for revenge. This was the driving force behind myself playing this game. God of War II does an EXCELLENT job in making sure the gamer won't just play the story like it's a chore; they make the gamer WANT revenge. The most surprising thing about this is that they don't convey that need through an immense exchange and emphasis of Kratos' "inner feelings". They build up the desire through making the player hate every enemy, and their destruction through one of the most metal combat systems of the game's time. Of course, the main flaw in the game is it's repetitiveness during it's middle, but I'd easily recommend this game to anyone who prefers beat'em'ups.
    I'd rate this game an 8.5 if I could, but rounding up is the next best thing.
    Expand
  7. BobBob
    Apr 7, 2007
    0
    This game is nothing more than a tedious, button mashing arcade game with cumbersome camera angles which make it difficult to truly enjoy the action.

See all 108 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007