• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 796 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 796

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SalmanS.
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    It is the best game I have ever played.
  2. Morb
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    Think Devil May Cry and Prince Of Persia Sand of time and your half way there.
  3. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Best PS2 game of the year. With great top-notch PS2 graphics that looks almost like an Xbox game. Great animation. Terrific atmosphere.The sound is the best great voice acting and stunning narration by Linda Hunt (I may be wrong but I think thats her name), awesome live orchesta music makes you love the game even more! The gameplay though the fighting may not be deep its very fun anyways. Best PS2 game of the year. With great top-notch PS2 graphics that looks almost like an Xbox game. Great animation. Terrific atmosphere.The sound is the best great voice acting and stunning narration by Linda Hunt (I may be wrong but I think thats her name), awesome live orchesta music makes you love the game even more! The gameplay though the fighting may not be deep its very fun anyways. The puzzles aren't the most complex Ico-calibur puzzlers but they're not overly simple it feels like a chore. There are only 3 bosses but dang are those bosses awesome! Also I must mention this game is very very violent and sensual (three-some mini-game) so its not for kids and what I love abvout the controversy is that its tasteful and not over used like its a gimmick which is kept true to fashion to what Greeks thought and did.This is a must-buy for anyone over the age of 17. Expand
  4. SteveB.
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    Pretty much perfect in every way imaginable! The graphics often reach cut scene standard and the fighting, violence, gore, sex ect are top notch! All you need in a game and more, a host of unlockables make it one of the most replayable games on the PS2 and the bosses are spectacular, nothing needs changing, nothing needs to get any better, if it was any closer to perfection, it would be godly!
  5. AdamD.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    Without a doubt, this is the best game I have ever had the pleasure of playing. Halo, GTA, Legend of Zelda... these are all great games, but the truest form of story, action, and sheer brilliant entertainment of this game make it a must own title on any system.
  6. ArasS.
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    this game is unbelieveable and kicks resident evils butt.
  7. ThonyM.
    Mar 14, 2006
    9
    great game, graphics, fun all that...wouldnt say as good of resident evil, but theyre different games entierly so cant really compare.
  8. AnonymousMC
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    i love this game
    i am very picky on what kind of games i play and this game is the best 1 i have ever played!!!!
    i would give this game a 20 but 10 is the highest
    i love the puzzles,graphics,fighting moves, the whole package! god of war is fuckin rad!!!
  9. BrendaT.
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    This has to be the best PS2 game released. The graphics are awesome, the skill levels challenging, the storyline great and flowing. There are only 2 problems...1). having to wait another year for GOW2 & 2). not being able to find another game that is as great as this!
  10. AnonymousMC
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Holy S***T is this the best game ever or the best porn game ever? Both. I thank the gods for showing me some hooters!!!!!!!!!!!! oh yeah i forgot and the best actoin game ever. This is a game you want to have and to keep forever. and when you get children give to them and then tell thats how babys are made.
  11. CharlesM.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Regardless of the jaded comments from other reviewers this game offers everything that a MATURE gamer could desire. The fighting style is second to none, the path and storyline are engaging to all who enjoy video games and provide the rush of achievement that other games today sadly lack. The movies are well thought out and could be put together on Adult Swim to provide a great after Regardless of the jaded comments from other reviewers this game offers everything that a MATURE gamer could desire. The fighting style is second to none, the path and storyline are engaging to all who enjoy video games and provide the rush of achievement that other games today sadly lack. The movies are well thought out and could be put together on Adult Swim to provide a great after hours new Greek myth. Play on easy for simple hack n slash gore fest fun, then play again on Spartan for a challenege and try God Mode if you think you are up to the test and feel like getting hacked apart like you cut the easier modes into pieces on. With all the accomplishments of the game to date God Of War 2 has a lot to live up to, but this true blue gamer honestly cannot wait to sink his teeth into the sequel. Expand
  12. MichaelC.
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    This is an incredible game, it has so many memorible moments. I don't think I'll ever forget the time I played for 6 hours straight to beat the end of the game. The gameplay is a bit button mashing, but you get some magic moves to mix it up. But the greatest aspect of God of War is the story, if you don't want to play to see the end of it, you need to be checked for a This is an incredible game, it has so many memorible moments. I don't think I'll ever forget the time I played for 6 hours straight to beat the end of the game. The gameplay is a bit button mashing, but you get some magic moves to mix it up. But the greatest aspect of God of War is the story, if you don't want to play to see the end of it, you need to be checked for a pulse, as it slowly reveals itself. Although I don't think it surpas's Resident Evil 4 as the best game of 2005, it still is worth every cent, my favorite PS2 game, and now it's 20$ there is no reason not to own this game, well unless you're a younger typ of audience, it is a very very mature game, more so than any game I've ever played. Expand
  13. MikeF.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Entertaining for hours. Very fun. I'm sad that I didn't learn about this game until recently, played it on my PS3 - with upscaling looked GREAT on 420p :)
  14. JessicaC.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    God of War for Play station two is such an awesome game! Before I played God of War I played Prince of Persia and thought it was the best game ever until I heard of God of War! I love the mythology in it and the awesome action! I love how you get the option to out it on Legendary. Super hard.
  15. Uber_Owner
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing all the puzzles combos that you can do. Non stop combat mode they just keep coming....great graphics I love the story. The game is just all around amazing.
  16. JasonC.
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    Great graphics for current gen, great gameplay, great story, great cutscenes.
  17. JefferyG.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    While playing God of War, I honestly found it difficult to resist the urge to simply genuflect and be humbled to be in the presence of such digital divinity, this god among games.
  18. Alex
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    God of War is one of those games that you don't realy have to pay attention to in order to enjoy. You could go through a good slice of the game without having to think too hard about what's going on. but, the various puzzle sequances scattered throughout the game keep it from getting monotounous or boring, and require you to actually plan out your next move. the only thing God of War is one of those games that you don't realy have to pay attention to in order to enjoy. You could go through a good slice of the game without having to think too hard about what's going on. but, the various puzzle sequances scattered throughout the game keep it from getting monotounous or boring, and require you to actually plan out your next move. the only thing keeping this game from a 10 is the sometimes awful (and other times just plain bad) voice acting on the part of Kratos' and Aries' characters. Expand
  19. KhaledS.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    The best action game ever on ps2. Cratos is outstanding as a hero to play with. But I think he lacs in balance when he is on top of a bar or something. Sony should give the Balance as Prince of Persia has.
  20. AlpaF.
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    Today i have bought this game and i can't stop playing it :D!!! Is one of the best games that I has play I all my life
  21. SamJ.
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Game of the year. Hands down. This game pushes the ps2 to its limit. Breathtaking visuals hardcore in-your-face gameplay and great live orchestra soundtrack. Not to mention the great voice overs and gritty overall ambiance. They nailed it.
  22. KyleH.
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    This game is by far the best game I have ever played on the PS2. It had all the elements you'd expect from a top rate title. The gameplay was excellent, both hack n' slash action & puzzle solving were fun & challenging. The audio and graphics were so good the game actually fooled me into thinking I was playing it on my Xbox! I was blown away.
  23. Nihil
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Who here thinks Tely S. is on some serious drugs? Is he kidding or what? Does he honestly believe that people are not simply laughing at his asinine review right now when not one review has graded this game below a 90? Simply put, God of War is the best action adventure game yet to come out on Playstation 2. You are armed with the Blade of Chaos, a weapon that I would loosely compare to Who here thinks Tely S. is on some serious drugs? Is he kidding or what? Does he honestly believe that people are not simply laughing at his asinine review right now when not one review has graded this game below a 90? Simply put, God of War is the best action adventure game yet to come out on Playstation 2. You are armed with the Blade of Chaos, a weapon that I would loosely compare to Jean Reno's whip in Onimusha 3 but oh, so much better! You wield this thing so flawlessly and devastate your enemy with such precision that is isn't rare to rack up 200-hit combos in the process of destroying a pack of undead skeletons or Gorgons or Minotaurs or any of a wealth of mythological enemies. You can also gain magic throughout the game, granted to you by different Gods such as Aphrodite and Poseidon and when used in combination with your Blades of Chaos, you are a force to be reckoned with! Let me just say that I absolutely adored this game as much as everyone else who's reviewed it here (with the exception of Tely S. who is obviously a prepubescent malcontent who is desperately in need of a nap) and you would be hard-pressed to find a more beautiful and entertaining action/adventure game on the Playstation 2. From the gorgeous scenery and set designs to the intricate detailing of the numerous mythological creatures you encounter to the haunting score that adds an ominous yet engaging atmosphere to each new environment, this game was put together so well that after you finally complete it you will shed a tear for you will not want it to be open. But, wait! There's more, even after you beat the game, you unlock a slew of bonus features that puts the replay value of this game through the roof. Whether it be a series of challenging side-quests, new costumes for your hero to adorn, or interviews with the games designers, there is plenty here for you to enjoy and experience once the end credits roll for the main game. Please, do yourself a favor and immediately do what ever it takes to add this game to your collection. You will not be sorry. Expand
  24. DRH.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Word.
  25. Jordan
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    This is probably the best game i have ever played.
  26. KamB.
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    Surprisingly intelligent game play and amazing graphics. I couldn't stop playing this game until I beat it. I did find that the game was a bit TOO easy to conquer making the other modes seem less worthwhile since you know what happens. Yes, there are other things to be unlocked in the harder modes but I still think the easy mode could have been a bit more challenging, or at least, Surprisingly intelligent game play and amazing graphics. I couldn't stop playing this game until I beat it. I did find that the game was a bit TOO easy to conquer making the other modes seem less worthwhile since you know what happens. Yes, there are other things to be unlocked in the harder modes but I still think the easy mode could have been a bit more challenging, or at least, given away LESS of the ending. However, I love this game, and I really hope a sequel is made. The story is what kept my going, so a sequel will need just as strong a story at this one. Expand
  27. WhiteWarrior
    Apr 17, 2005
    9
    This game is the quentisential game for those in dire need of stress release. I pity them who would refer to this game as a common "hack & slash" because it is so much more than that. This game succeeds in immersing the player in an immense world that never stops being eye-candy, and at no point is there the all too common dead spots in the game. A game of this calibur has been screaming This game is the quentisential game for those in dire need of stress release. I pity them who would refer to this game as a common "hack & slash" because it is so much more than that. This game succeeds in immersing the player in an immense world that never stops being eye-candy, and at no point is there the all too common dead spots in the game. A game of this calibur has been screaming to come out for at least a decade, and lets hope this is the start of something to be expected for mature rated games. Expand
  28. MikailaK.
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    Amazing--this may be the best PS2 action game released. There's so much detail and passion in this game and it shows in the details. The final package easily blows away "Devil May Cry 3" and Kratos makes Dante look like a hippie. I've never had so much fun meting out punishment (except with "RE4"). The only complaints I have are minimal: a few frustrating camera views and that Amazing--this may be the best PS2 action game released. There's so much detail and passion in this game and it shows in the details. The final package easily blows away "Devil May Cry 3" and Kratos makes Dante look like a hippie. I've never had so much fun meting out punishment (except with "RE4"). The only complaints I have are minimal: a few frustrating camera views and that rather silly sex game (it kind of diminished the whole revenge-for-family angle, and didn't quite titillate me--maybe because I'm a girl). I also would've liked more than three boss fight; that final one was kind of a pushover. But other than that, this game is a gem. It's not as fun or as stunning as the superlative "Resident Evil 4" or even "Splinter Cell:: Chaos Theory", but it's definitely the best PS2 game out this year. Expand
  29. GabeM.
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    God of War is on of the best game ever...it includes greek myths even more than some would learn in a class rooom of this subject.
  30. JoshC.
    May 18, 2005
    10
    It was the best game i've ever played and its plot was godlike!
  31. JohnnyS.
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    God of War is truly remarkable. It's combined all the elements of different games to turn this game into a gore-filled-puzzle-figuring-graphic-inspiring-ruthless-fighting-action-filled game. If you love great playability, superior graphics, and awesome fighting styles: This is for you! There are also many bloody and awesome fatalities in this game. In three words: Best Game Ever. God of War is truly remarkable. It's combined all the elements of different games to turn this game into a gore-filled-puzzle-figuring-graphic-inspiring-ruthless-fighting-action-filled game. If you love great playability, superior graphics, and awesome fighting styles: This is for you! There are also many bloody and awesome fatalities in this game. In three words: Best Game Ever. This is no lie, you won't be disapointed with this game! Expand
  32. PhilipA.
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    After completing the game, several 'behind the scenes' shorts become available. Playing all the way through the game left me - like many others I'm sure - ravenous for more and I watched the 'deleted monsters' and 'making of...' segments in awe. What the creators of the game repeatedly allude to is a time constraint that kept them from implementing all After completing the game, several 'behind the scenes' shorts become available. Playing all the way through the game left me - like many others I'm sure - ravenous for more and I watched the 'deleted monsters' and 'making of...' segments in awe. What the creators of the game repeatedly allude to is a time constraint that kept them from implementing all of the ideas they had. A pity, because what they did have a chance to do was create an engrossing, visually stunning spectacle from beginning to end. Graphics, soundtrack, gameplay and story-line (especially) are way above par and the whole of the game retained a very epic quality throughout. (Although, I found the final battle with Aries considerably dissappointing after a masterful plot build-up early on in the game.) Can't wait for God of War 2 -- hopefully they'll take their time with the next one and make it everything it can be. Expand
  33. MohammadS.
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    I don't know how any one gives this game less than 100% its the best game i played in my life JUST WAAAW.
  34. JakeR.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    This game is a miracle for the PS2. The system was dying, and this brought it back to life. This game is the only reason I still have a ps2. Its graphics are of the highest quality possible on the ps2, the ability to string togather attacks is sublime, and the cinematics seamlessly interwind with the compleling story. Sony owes Jaffe and his genius of a crew A LOT. Go, buy this game. If This game is a miracle for the PS2. The system was dying, and this brought it back to life. This game is the only reason I still have a ps2. Its graphics are of the highest quality possible on the ps2, the ability to string togather attacks is sublime, and the cinematics seamlessly interwind with the compleling story. Sony owes Jaffe and his genius of a crew A LOT. Go, buy this game. If you havent a ps2, you are sorely out of luck, as this is the ultimate in gaming. Marvelous. Expand
  35. WesleyE.
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    GTA may have innovated in game design, and Halo may have been fun to play, but to say that God of War is straight-up the best American game of the last 5 years is a very severe understatement.
  36. NiclasD.
    Apr 14, 2006
    9
    Probably the best game available on the PS2 God of War epitomizes the attempts of a combination of violence, sex, buttonbashing, difficulty, storytelling and narratives altogether told using Greek mythology - although the last hasn't been represented in most games... Seldom camera issues aside the game is hands down on of the best if not the best game of the year. Why the game Probably the best game available on the PS2 God of War epitomizes the attempts of a combination of violence, sex, buttonbashing, difficulty, storytelling and narratives altogether told using Greek mythology - although the last hasn't been represented in most games... Seldom camera issues aside the game is hands down on of the best if not the best game of the year. Why the game hasn't been awarded a 10 might occur to you as odd, as it is to me, but it feels weird giving a game based on rather simple elements such a grade - the counterargument is of course that the game and its elements are executed in such a damn good way. I'd give it a 9½ if half grades were possible. Expand
  37. DonC.
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    Phenomenal. Possibly the most polished game I've played. The design is excellent too - puzzles that don't get old, aren't too hard. Incredibly well balanced all-around.
  38. MatthewH.
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    1 of the best i have ever played when u play till u literly not notice that u hungy or tired and keep u entertained untill the end u got a winner. and if u get mad because its over u just want to get more.
  39. AdamW.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    A very fun game if you like fighting (somewhat button-mashing), (poorly animated) breasts, and massive amounts of gore. There's very little replay value except to unlock some of the amusing extras and secrets. The music is alright but I've heard better. The storyline and plot was kind of generic but was acceptable. You should rent this game.
  40. JamesC.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    By far the best game for the PS2. Beautiful storyline. Unique upgradeable combat moves. Can't think of any reason why people are going as low as 1's or even 0's here. I'll be buying the PS3 solely for GOW3.
  41. JamesB.
    Jun 23, 2007
    9
    This game has high definition movies -in-game movies called- and the puzzles and battles you nned to do to win are considerably difficult. I expect that this saga of games -God of War- wouldn't end, but it has to. I'm very anxious waiting for the 3rd game.
  42. VahndD.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    best game i've ever played. from the begiining till the end always shocked me. can't wait for the sequel. excellent job for the team.
  43. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    You buy a PS2 for reasons like this. Everything about this game is awesome. About 8 years after its initial release and it's still fun as ever. 2 or 3 problems but that's it
  44. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    If your looking for adventure, puzzle, and great combat, look no further. This is a fantastic game in all respects - it keeps you hooked from beginning to end. The pure scale of the environment is enough to warrant a purchase - the environment is vast and engaging. The difficulty level is perfectly tuned, the puzzles are difficult but not frustrating, and the battle scenes are intense andIf your looking for adventure, puzzle, and great combat, look no further. This is a fantastic game in all respects - it keeps you hooked from beginning to end. The pure scale of the environment is enough to warrant a purchase - the environment is vast and engaging. The difficulty level is perfectly tuned, the puzzles are difficult but not frustrating, and the battle scenes are intense and enjoyable in equal measure. All round God of War reaches near perfection and makes you really feel part of the Greek myth it emulates. It is true that there are minor issues with the fixed camera view, but this hardly detracts from the experience of the game as a whole. Also the game is a touch short ( can be finished in about 8 hours), but if you crank up the difficulty settings you soon realise that tactics are everything and the battle system requires skill and forethought. BUY IT Expand
  45. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    This isn't one of the best games for the PS2 for nothing, I still can't believe the PS2 is capable of these kind of graphics, don't get me wrong there aged by todays standards but back then these were top notch, the sound track and voice work are PHENOMENAL!!! and the gameplay might be simple but the puzzles and combat are extremely satisfying, this really captures what I love most aboutThis isn't one of the best games for the PS2 for nothing, I still can't believe the PS2 is capable of these kind of graphics, don't get me wrong there aged by todays standards but back then these were top notch, the sound track and voice work are PHENOMENAL!!! and the gameplay might be simple but the puzzles and combat are extremely satisfying, this really captures what I love most about Greek mythology the sex and violence, this game makes you feel like a bad ass slicing your way through enemies with a giant sword, taking on giant bosses, avoiding deadly traps, satisfying maidens, and solving puzzles, and the story is awesome, by now your asking yourself if this is so perfect why didn't I give it a perfect 10? the only flaw I can find with this is the first boss fight, it's just boring, that flaw aside this is still one of the best games I've ever played, and a must own that's just shy of perfection. Expand
  46. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    A lot of people say this is a button masher. Um ok? Well sure, if you sit there and mash the button. The same can be said about any game. That doesn't mean you're playing the game properly at all though. If you know how to play a beat 'em up properly and you understand the type of gameplay that's being utilized, you will love this game. The combos are interesting, each useful in varyingA lot of people say this is a button masher. Um ok? Well sure, if you sit there and mash the button. The same can be said about any game. That doesn't mean you're playing the game properly at all though. If you know how to play a beat 'em up properly and you understand the type of gameplay that's being utilized, you will love this game. The combos are interesting, each useful in varying situations, the leveling system is well implemented, the rate at which you unlock new weapons and abilities is very well done, and there's even a bit of exploration, although it's usually very simplistic and obvious. Those are the reasons I play the game, but there's also an added bonus of an interesting story, lore, and characters, as well as stunning visual effects. Expand
  47. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Epic masterpiece, Kratos is even more monster than the brutality. The slick control is smooth and brilliant. Bloody,incredible and bold just wish more heroes had this kind of sense of humor.
  48. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    absolutely amazing!!! i thing the people who are calling this a hack'n slash should first play this game and then look at the depth of its combat. great graphics,slick story and a great overall package...
  49. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    unbelievable, kudos to david jaffe and team , what an exhilarating experience, gripping and addictive, u can not stop untill u end it, u just get inside the character so much that if he is hurt , u feel the pain.
    Wow what a play !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  50. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    God of War is an amzing game that does not dissapoint. Everything is nearly flawless, the graphics are great for the PS2. The combat is very fluid and the best part of the game with many brutal kill animations. The plot holds out to be relatively strong with Kratos on a journey for vengeance. The set pieces are massive and detailed at the same time, God of War reaches epic proportions. TheGod of War is an amzing game that does not dissapoint. Everything is nearly flawless, the graphics are great for the PS2. The combat is very fluid and the best part of the game with many brutal kill animations. The plot holds out to be relatively strong with Kratos on a journey for vengeance. The set pieces are massive and detailed at the same time, God of War reaches epic proportions. The characters are all great too, especially Kratos. Kratos may be a cold-blooded killer but his tragic past makes you sympathize with him and he is a guy who you don't want mad at you. The only flaw is the platforming which can be a little irksome at times but not very. Overall, God of War is a great game to play, especially if you are into violence. "God of War" Score Breakdown: Presentation: 9.6, Graphics: 9.5, Sound: 9.5, Gameplay: 9.7, Lasting Appeal: 9.5. Verdict: 9.7 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
  51. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    The finest video game of the decade. The best story. The best gameplay and controls. I didn't like that kind of games before but this one makes me speechless.
  52. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Excellent game. It has a very good story, great gameplay, it's challenging, and it exceeds expectations for a hack and slash game. The only problem I had with the game is so few boss fights. I thought the minotaur and Ares fights were great and after watching what the studio had to cut out of the game, I kinda feel that they wanted to add more but they didn't have the budget. :(
  53. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    This Should be called God of PS2 Game ,because it's the best PS2 game ever .This Should be called God of PS2 Game ,because it's the best PS2 game ever .

    .......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
    Expand
  54. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    "God of War" is a PS2 action-adventure game from the creator of "Twisted Metal Black". Based on Greek mythology, it tells the story of Kratos, a Spartan warrior in service of the Olympian Gods. As the game begins, he is tasked with one final assignment, the destruction of Ares, the God of War. The journey takes on a personal meaning for Kratos since Ares had tricked him into killing his"God of War" is a PS2 action-adventure game from the creator of "Twisted Metal Black". Based on Greek mythology, it tells the story of Kratos, a Spartan warrior in service of the Olympian Gods. As the game begins, he is tasked with one final assignment, the destruction of Ares, the God of War. The journey takes on a personal meaning for Kratos since Ares had tricked him into killing his own family. "God of War" starts with a highly-kinetic battle on a ship which acts as the opening tutorial level. Its action is comparable to "Devil May Cry" but it also features adventure elements and innovative on-screen button prompts. The involving story is mainly told through crisp, highly-detailed CGI cutscenes. Visually, the graphics and animation are impressive for a PS2 game. And the voice acting and Hollywood-esque musical score are superb. "God of War" proudly wears its 'M' rating on its shoulder. Its features nudity, sexual situations and graphic violence. Fans of fast-paced action and adventure will find much to enjoy in this first installment of the popular series. It's a terrific achievement and one of the PS2's best exclusives. 9.5 out of 10 Expand
  55. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This game was awesome back when it came out. The boss fights were awesome but there was not as many as player would have like but this has been fixed in God of War 2.
  56. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    GRAPHICS perfect 10 -GAME PLAY perfect 10- STORY perfect 10-MUSIC perfect 10
    ---EPIC---
    best game for ps2 and probably best game ever.you will be amazed by the big monsters and gods from the greec myth so many actions .the best story ever for a game ,every body say that this could be a hollywood film you will live in ancient history like never been with amazing sound track from Gerard
    GRAPHICS perfect 10 -GAME PLAY perfect 10- STORY perfect 10-MUSIC perfect 10
    ---EPIC---
    best game for ps2 and probably best game ever.you will be amazed by the big monsters and gods from the greec myth so many actions .the best story ever for a game ,every body say that this could be a hollywood film you will live in ancient history like never been with amazing sound track from Gerard Morino .....a must play game
    Expand
  57. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    A different beast entirely from the series' later entries. Kratos is a reasonably sympathetic Byronic Hero. The atmosphere intentionally invokes Ray Harryhausen films, and gives you an idea of what those films might have been like with blood n guts and all that good stuff. The dialogue can be clumsy in places, but otherwise the story is sound. Some puzzles are real headscratchers, whileA different beast entirely from the series' later entries. Kratos is a reasonably sympathetic Byronic Hero. The atmosphere intentionally invokes Ray Harryhausen films, and gives you an idea of what those films might have been like with blood n guts and all that good stuff. The dialogue can be clumsy in places, but otherwise the story is sound. Some puzzles are real headscratchers, while others you'll barely have to think about. The combat, arguably the main draw of the series, is certainly less complex in this one. It feels more like an action adventure game than a hack n slash (Devil May Cry, Ninja Gaiden, et all) as far as the combat is concerned, but there's still quite a lot of combo potential. Expand
  58. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    Damn difficult game but still so awesome, good story, good fighting, everything is perfect, i have this game on PS3 re-mastered and its good never played in PS2 that shame but Graphics doesnt make a game, right?
  59. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    This game is a must buy if you own a ps2 the story is amazing and even the graphics are still ''good'' for a game from 2005 the combat is really good this game is a masterpiece!
  60. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. The gameplay is perfect, the story is great and you've just got to love Kratos, the main character. Many games have copied the gameplay of God of War and I think that says enough about the quality of it. The story is great, best in the series. The other God of War games have a decent story but the gameplay is even more extensive. Overal: if you like this genre, youThis game is amazing. The gameplay is perfect, the story is great and you've just got to love Kratos, the main character. Many games have copied the gameplay of God of War and I think that says enough about the quality of it. The story is great, best in the series. The other God of War games have a decent story but the gameplay is even more extensive. Overal: if you like this genre, you will love this game. If you don't like the genre, this game might change your mind. Expand
  61. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    The best hack and slash game you'll play with amazing soundtrack and fantastic story also the characters in this game are good and you'll love every moment of gameplay Recommended
  62. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    What can be said about one of the best hack ’n slash games ever made? Well, it’s a gorgeous game with some stunning and atmospheric graphics (even by today’s standards) which pulls you into the Greek mythological setting. Add to that some great sounds effects and you got a game that’s pleasing to the eyes and the ears. Though the music overall works well, it just seems to try way too hardWhat can be said about one of the best hack ’n slash games ever made? Well, it’s a gorgeous game with some stunning and atmospheric graphics (even by today’s standards) which pulls you into the Greek mythological setting. Add to that some great sounds effects and you got a game that’s pleasing to the eyes and the ears. Though the music overall works well, it just seems to try way too hard to be as bombastic as possible at times. This is particular noticeable when nothing is actually happening, which caused me more than once to wish the music would just take a diazepam and calm down a little.
    But the thing that really makes God of War the classic it has become, is the gameplay. Fluid combat against a multitude of enemies, great combos, intuitive controls, and some great, violent weaponry and godly magic, makes helping Kratos hack and slash his way through the levels in order to eventually defeat Ares in hope of getting rid of the nightmares and guilt that haunts him, an absolute joy. Along the way the action is broken up by some nice small, if not exactly intellectually overwhelming, puzzles, but they do a good job of pacing the game. Furthermore, this game is from an age when developers didn’t tell you everything you had to do at every turn through on-screen prompts, so sometimes you actually have to think a little yourself to solve the puzzles.
    Now, a lot of people point towards the God of War games when placing blame for the overuse of quicktime events we see in games today.
    I find this to be fundamentally unfair.
    In GoW the quicktime mechanic is an intricate part of the game, not unlike finishing- or special moves in beat ‘em ups, and it works very well indeed.
    Judging the quicktime events in this game by the very low standards used in games like Resident Evil 6, Black Ops 2 or the numerous other modern games, which basically use them by default whether warranted or not, is doing GoW a huge disservice.
    A lot of people have also pointed out that GoW was not original and it borrowed from a lot of other games. This is all true, but a game should not be judged on it's originality, but whether it sets out to do what it wants to. And the fact is, that GoW did and does this amazingly well.
    GoW is a classic and should find its rightful place in any hack ‘n slash or action game fans collection.
    Expand
  63. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Before Shadow of the Colossus, the original God of War was my favorite PS2 game. And who could blame me? It's unbelievable!!

    Not only is the action over-satisfyingly gory and intense, but the story of Kratos is surprisingly fascinating! The graphics, for its time, were the best in its genre. The mixture of Greek mythology and relentless violence is both intriguing and awesome! If you
    Before Shadow of the Colossus, the original God of War was my favorite PS2 game. And who could blame me? It's unbelievable!!

    Not only is the action over-satisfyingly gory and intense, but the story of Kratos is surprisingly fascinating! The graphics, for its time, were the best in its genre. The mixture of Greek mythology and relentless violence is both intriguing and awesome!

    If you are looking for an extremely violent but unbelievably well executed action game, pick this up! It's a definite must-have for any hardcore gamer!
    Expand
  64. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Uno de mis juegos más nostálgicos que he jugado. Posee una excelente virtud que lo hace un juego épico y merecido de jugar... Perdón: un juego NECESARIO de jugar. Excelente temática, impactante ambientación, escenarios de lucha magníficos y gran desarrollo de personajes, nada que le pueda faltar
  65. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    such a great game. greek mythology is very interesting, and its portrayed in such an epic way in this game. Kratos is one of the most powerful videogame characters ever and you certainly feel that when you play. the combat is the best part of this game, it feels so smooth and is easy to use and still feel badass. the story is also great and is very interesting to follow. the combat isn'tsuch a great game. greek mythology is very interesting, and its portrayed in such an epic way in this game. Kratos is one of the most powerful videogame characters ever and you certainly feel that when you play. the combat is the best part of this game, it feels so smooth and is easy to use and still feel badass. the story is also great and is very interesting to follow. the combat isn't exactly repetitive, but you soon figure out wich moves are most effective and just end up spanning them. that is the only downside to this game. the boss fights are awesome too, some of the best I've ever seen even to this date and that goes for all the god of war games Expand
  66. Feb 17, 2015
    10
    The thing that impresses me the most, is the replay value. I've never played other games before or after, that have so much replay value, this game just makes you come back to it over and over and over again, even when you have beaten the highest difficulty and beaten the challenge of the gods, it makes you play it again. The story is simply amazing. The character you play (Kratos) is theThe thing that impresses me the most, is the replay value. I've never played other games before or after, that have so much replay value, this game just makes you come back to it over and over and over again, even when you have beaten the highest difficulty and beaten the challenge of the gods, it makes you play it again. The story is simply amazing. The character you play (Kratos) is the most badass character you have ever controlled. The kill animations, cutscenes, dialogues and puzzles, all of them are gold. God of War is the game that explains why we love Videogames. Expand
  67. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    Absolutely the single biggest defining game of my gaming history. I've been an avid fan since the first release, and have converted from Xbox 360 to PS3, and now to PS4, all to follow the coming releases of this series. I borrowed my friend's PS3 to beat GoW3 several times, and then I bought a used PS3 solely to play the GoW collection (which included the remastered last-gen and PSPAbsolutely the single biggest defining game of my gaming history. I've been an avid fan since the first release, and have converted from Xbox 360 to PS3, and now to PS4, all to follow the coming releases of this series. I borrowed my friend's PS3 to beat GoW3 several times, and then I bought a used PS3 solely to play the GoW collection (which included the remastered last-gen and PSP titles), and GOW: Ascension, the 4th console release for the game.

    Needless to say, this is my favorite game series of all time. It has one of the most gripping, well thought-out storylines I've ever seen. The character development we've seen was artfully and movingly done, and the story was unique and creative. Every game has been on the forefront of graphics and game engine for its time. Every boss battle was awe-inspiring, the environments were beautifully humbling, and in my opinion, the combat system is unparalleled.

    No matter how vicious Kratos becomes, we always find ourselves agreeing with his decisions, mostly. ;)
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. While playing God of War, I honestly found it difficult to resist the urge to simply genuflect and be humbled to be in the presence of such digital divinity, this god among games. [Apr 2005, p.122]
  2. 98
    If you like to kill freaky things with your giant serrated knives, you'll love the s*** out of this... This videogame features sexual situations, bare breasts and excessive brutality. Good with that? Excellent!
  3. The game contains so much energy and conviction, so much skill and spirit. There came a point where I was totally lost to it, in the way you are to a great movie - to any powerful art form. [Apr 2005, p.50]