God of War PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 842 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 842

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    5
    I am writing this review in 2013. I just played God of War for the first time, 8 years after its initial release.

    God of War is probably the most immature critically-acclaimed game I've ever played. Early on I noticed a pattern. If I see a man, he will soon die a bloody death in front of me. If I see a woman, and she has a shirt on, she will soon die a bloody death in front of me. If I
    I am writing this review in 2013. I just played God of War for the first time, 8 years after its initial release.

    God of War is probably the most immature critically-acclaimed game I've ever played. Early on I noticed a pattern. If I see a man, he will soon die a bloody death in front of me. If I see a woman, and she has a shirt on, she will soon die a bloody death in front of me. If I see a woman and she does not have a shirt, she might make multiple appearances throughout the game (each time, with no shirt, for why else would a recurring female character exist in a testosterone-dominated game like this?) but she almost certainly will not die. If I see a monster approximately my size, I will kill it within seconds. And if I see a monster 100X my size, I will kill it, but only after a long, epic boss battle.

    Don't get me wrong, I understand the appeal of all of this to an extent. 300 is one of my guilty-pleasure movies, and there are certainly a lot of comparisons to be made between God of War and 300. These are unfair comparisons, of course, because GoW was released prior to 300. While I'm making unfair comparisons, I'd like to say that I didn't find the gameplay of God of War all that appealing, because I just kept thinking, "The combat in Arkham Asylum is so much better." And of course, while the visuals in God of War were no doubt epic for their time, they don't compare at all to the likes of, say, Uncharted or Bioshock Infinite.

    So I guess what I'm trying to say is that God of War did not age well, in my humble opinion. In fact, it may have pulled a Benjamin Button, because it seems very immature from where I'm sitting, in my post-Spec Ops: The Line, post-Flower, and post-Gone Home world. That sounded really pretentious, let's try again. God of War was no doubt great for its time, but as time marches on, it becomes clear that God of War, like the rest of us, is merely mortal.
    Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    I have to admit this was a good game when I played the HD remake on PS3, but it just got so very boring after a while. I stopped playing when I was almost done with the Temple of Pandora, I just felt that that section was just a gimmick just so that the developers could extend the game's length. There were really no cutscenes during that part and it felt really pointless. I liked some ofI have to admit this was a good game when I played the HD remake on PS3, but it just got so very boring after a while. I stopped playing when I was almost done with the Temple of Pandora, I just felt that that section was just a gimmick just so that the developers could extend the game's length. There were really no cutscenes during that part and it felt really pointless. I liked some of the combos but I'm not really one to remember all the buttons you have to mash to perform a specific combo and often found myself just using two or three of them. Overall, the game is good but lacks: subtitles, good graphics (even after the HD re-release), more cutscenes (I never thought I would be asking for this but, yeah...) and a more engaging story-line. I think GoW: Ascension gets a bit more in-depth into the anger of Kratos and I think that should have been achieved through the original. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    God of war is a good action game and while there are better action games it is still worth a ride.
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    Even if I do admire this game for its technologic standards and detail programming, story and combat system, I really never liked this game. I'll be really honest: the game is excellent graphically and the combat is still good, and the story is very well done and it's not there just to make an appearance. But still...the game is a big button masher, with just pressing one or two buttonsEven if I do admire this game for its technologic standards and detail programming, story and combat system, I really never liked this game. I'll be really honest: the game is excellent graphically and the combat is still good, and the story is very well done and it's not there just to make an appearance. But still...the game is a big button masher, with just pressing one or two buttons everytime, with almost no tactics or thought in the process. There aren't many weapons either, but even then you'll just use one or two tops, because it's always a button mashing game. The good thing is that the game has also puzzles inside and they are actually done very good and I had a lot of fun trying to solve them, even if not many. Second: the game has almost no replayabilty whatsoever. You finish the game once, and there's nothing else to do (except the 10 room challenge thingie). It's not a short game sure...but even Devil May Cry had much more longevity and secrets in comparison! I just expected more content from a game that apparently they say it's perfect, yet once you finish there's just nothing else to do, except restart on another difficulty (which is a cheap way to say "it's longer because it's harder"). And third, which isn't a real flaw, but more of a thought...I think the game is just very admired because of the gore. Let's be honest, everybody loves to rip enemies apart and even I enjoyed tear my enemies in pieces. But that gets tiring and, in all honesty, it's not impressive, and yet this is one of the core details of the game and probably one of the main reasons why it's loved so much (apart the good story, which IS good and has a nice twist, even if predictable). Personally, this game is not meant for me: it didn't leave an impression to me and the lack of content didn't make me want to restart the game, getting dust on the shelf once I finished it. It Is an impressive game for its time and if you're very curious about this game, you could give it a look. Just don't spend full price on it though. It's not worth the entire price. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    This game was a startling surprise for it's day. A fresh and unique experience with a some-what interesting story, though. Gameplay was decent, and sometimes the game grew a little boring. Not the best game in the world, but still I enjoyed the game. I liked it actually. I'd recommend it.
  6. JosephS
    Sep 11, 2009
    5
    This game was incredibly fun until the second half, where it feels like you're simply running through obstacle courses more than anything, which were far more annoying than they were fun or challenging. The fighting itself is awesome, although they did overdo it on the button mashing. The one glaringly *huge* flaw you will likely find with this game are the minigames that involve use This game was incredibly fun until the second half, where it feels like you're simply running through obstacle courses more than anything, which were far more annoying than they were fun or challenging. The fighting itself is awesome, although they did overdo it on the button mashing. The one glaringly *huge* flaw you will likely find with this game are the minigames that involve use of the thumbsticks. For certain enemies, finishers involve rotating a thumbstick in certain directions, in accordance to the icon on the screen. Nice idea, but they implemented this HORRIBLY. I've found that nearly half the time that you actually rotate the thumbstick in the *correct* direction, it marks it as a miss since it is *so* picky about your response, and the enemy throws you off of them and you take damage. *Extremely* annoying. And considering there is a boss in this game in which the ONLY way to kill him is to successfully complete this irritating mini game a number of times over, I absolutely cannot give this game anything higher than a 5. Yeah, it really is that big of a deal. It is highly disappointing that the developers allowed something so little to become such an astronomically huge issue. This game is far more frustrating than fun. And there really is no excuse for that. Not in a game that was otherwise so incredible. Expand
  7. BrianP.
    Nov 21, 2008
    6
    Its a very good game but its a RIP OFF of Great Games like Prince Of Persia, Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden. Eg: Save Point Concept, Puzzles are a total RIP OFF of Prince Of Persia Sands Of Time & Legacy Of Kain. Also the first level is a blatant Rip Off Of Prince Of Persia Warrior Within. Combat is just Like Devil May Cry all Style and with extra QTEs Quick Time Events. So why is GOW Its a very good game but its a RIP OFF of Great Games like Prince Of Persia, Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden. Eg: Save Point Concept, Puzzles are a total RIP OFF of Prince Of Persia Sands Of Time & Legacy Of Kain. Also the first level is a blatant Rip Off Of Prince Of Persia Warrior Within. Combat is just Like Devil May Cry all Style and with extra QTEs Quick Time Events. So why is GOW called the Best PS2 Game? Why is it rated higher than the Above mentioned games? Simple. Because its a combination of all the Above mentioned games. Also its RIPPED OFF the concept but there is no denying that it has made it BETTER. So people liking Gore and Blood, GOW is a must play. People liking only Original Games like me, Hell no, stay away from God Of War. Expand
  8. MGSFan
    Nov 21, 2008
    6
    A really good game. But it has RIPPED OFF many concepts from games like Prince Of Persia, Legacy Of Kain, Devil May Cry etc. For eg: The save point is a Cheap RIP OFF of Prince Of Persia Sands Of Time. Combat is like Devil May Cry. Puzzles are also RIP OFF of Prince Of Persia and LEGACY OF KAIN. Overall, the only reason because GOD Of War may be better than the above mentioned games is A really good game. But it has RIPPED OFF many concepts from games like Prince Of Persia, Legacy Of Kain, Devil May Cry etc. For eg: The save point is a Cheap RIP OFF of Prince Of Persia Sands Of Time. Combat is like Devil May Cry. Puzzles are also RIP OFF of Prince Of Persia and LEGACY OF KAIN. Overall, the only reason because GOD Of War may be better than the above mentioned games is ONLY BECAUSE its a COMBINATION OF ALL THESE GREAT GAMES. However its still a Pretty Good Game with Awesome Combat and Greek Mythology. Easily one of the BEST PS2 games but only because of games like Prince Of Persia, Devil May Cry. If not for these games GOW would be shit. Expand
  9. JoshH.
    Oct 8, 2007
    7
    A little redundant and lacking in variety. Decent play though. Halo is better.
  10. NelsonD.
    Sep 12, 2007
    7
    Its entertaining but Rygar: The Legendary Adventure is WAY better, IMO. I think its because of the better atmosphere/enviroment and music. God of War's levels are too bleak and bland for me (though im sure this is might be the intended effect).
  11. PaulV.
    Apr 11, 2007
    5
    Most overrated PS2 game ever. The combat mechanic is fun for a while, but wears off fast. There are too few enemy types (I thought that changing the colour of the enemy to change it's difficulty was left back in the days of 8 bit palette changes). There is almost no story, and the game ends just when you feel like it's getting started. Don't buy the hype.
  12. Warmonger
    Mar 3, 2007
    6
    Too aggravating, mostly because of the numerous, stupid! Jumping puzzles. Just after beating this game, I wondered why I even bothered...I was totally frustrated half the time, (terrible jumping puzzles!!) this definitely took a lot of the enjoyment for me, out of the game. Oh it was fun alright, when you weren't jumping around and dying, and believe me you'll die a 100 deaths Too aggravating, mostly because of the numerous, stupid! Jumping puzzles. Just after beating this game, I wondered why I even bothered...I was totally frustrated half the time, (terrible jumping puzzles!!) this definitely took a lot of the enjoyment for me, out of the game. Oh it was fun alright, when you weren't jumping around and dying, and believe me you'll die a 100 deaths in this game. the check points we're abundant but are old school ..you should be allowed to save anywhere. The enemies we're fun.... the platforming sucked!. It did have a great story line though, which is what kept me going, too bad the game play ( too much platforming) didn't follow suit... way too frustrating, even on easy, you need a lot of patience with this one! God of War 2, if it's anything like this...... they can have it! Expand
  13. JohnG.
    Feb 15, 2006
    5
    Nice Gameplay but the story line is way out of tact..An outrage to the Greek Community.
  14. DemonicAngel
    Dec 31, 2005
    7
    I'm not a big fan of the hack-and-slash genre, but God of War received such universally high praise that I figured I'd probably end up enjoying it. I turned out to be mistaken. It's a very polished game, and it was moderately fun in small doses, but after a couple of hours of beating the hell out of swarms of repetitive enemies I felt no desire at all to continue any I'm not a big fan of the hack-and-slash genre, but God of War received such universally high praise that I figured I'd probably end up enjoying it. I turned out to be mistaken. It's a very polished game, and it was moderately fun in small doses, but after a couple of hours of beating the hell out of swarms of repetitive enemies I felt no desire at all to continue any further. Still, SCEA deserve a lot of credit for trying something original. A rent-first if you're unfamiliar with the genre, but a definite buy if you enjoy similar games, like the Devil May Cry series. Expand
  15. MoonW.
    Jul 14, 2005
    5
    Hack n slash in a sleek package. Cant move camera or interact (that much) with world. Also cant fall off ledges etc. Good for the younger player, older players soon bored of hack n slash.
  16. KaiserSosay
    Jul 5, 2005
    5
    Yeah it has pretty graphics, naked chicks, and a decent story. But when it comes down to it, GoW is just another hack & slash with lots of blood spraying everywhere. The most annoying thing is the inability to control your camera angle. I know that's the standard MO for action games on the PS2, but as advanced as video games have become, there is no excuse for making a game where you Yeah it has pretty graphics, naked chicks, and a decent story. But when it comes down to it, GoW is just another hack & slash with lots of blood spraying everywhere. The most annoying thing is the inability to control your camera angle. I know that's the standard MO for action games on the PS2, but as advanced as video games have become, there is no excuse for making a game where you can't control the camera angle. Please let this annoying feature die before being carried over into PS3 games. Expand
  17. Mike.
    Jun 25, 2005
    6
    GoW is solid, but definitely doesn't deserve such a high score. Button-mashing and boredom immediatly come to mind, and blood effects so chessy its makes you lagh. And the all-powerful Pandora's Box special power made me want to toss out the game out of sheer anger that the designers couldn't think of something a bit less generic.*wouldn't Kratos's clothes and GoW is solid, but definitely doesn't deserve such a high score. Button-mashing and boredom immediatly come to mind, and blood effects so chessy its makes you lagh. And the all-powerful Pandora's Box special power made me want to toss out the game out of sheer anger that the designers couldn't think of something a bit less generic.*wouldn't Kratos's clothes and weapons stay the same size?*Still, it's a fun game, and the boss fights are creative. So it gets a 6. Expand
  18. TonyG.
    Mar 29, 2005
    7
    Great hack & slash! GOOD: Killer storyline! Scenery is spectacular, motion and modeling are first rate. Gameplay mechanics are fun. You have a lot of unique moves to choose from, and each has its own place in the game. BAD: You can cheat your way around far too many encounters. While boss battles and cage matches are great, standard encounters suffer from too many "dead points" where you Great hack & slash! GOOD: Killer storyline! Scenery is spectacular, motion and modeling are first rate. Gameplay mechanics are fun. You have a lot of unique moves to choose from, and each has its own place in the game. BAD: You can cheat your way around far too many encounters. While boss battles and cage matches are great, standard encounters suffer from too many "dead points" where you can hide your character and attack without fear of reprisal. For example, if you are stuck in a hallway with a bunch of enemies, simply turn around and walk away. In most battles, there will be a limit beyond which they will not follow you. All you need to do is stand just outside of that range and blast away. OVERALL: Great game, but not perfect. If you like hack & slash or Greek Mythology, you'll love this game. Expand
  19. TelyS.
    Mar 27, 2005
    6
    Phenomenal production values aside, the game is nothing more than boring button tapping combos against recycled LOTR monster rejects mixed with annoying platform elements with camera issues. Price of Persia, anyone? Nothing new or innovative, unless you count the Clash of the Titans inspired nude scenes.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. While playing God of War, I honestly found it difficult to resist the urge to simply genuflect and be humbled to be in the presence of such digital divinity, this god among games. [Apr 2005, p.122]
  2. 98
    If you like to kill freaky things with your giant serrated knives, you'll love the s*** out of this... This videogame features sexual situations, bare breasts and excessive brutality. Good with that? Excellent!
  3. The game contains so much energy and conviction, so much skill and spirit. There came a point where I was totally lost to it, in the way you are to a great movie - to any powerful art form. [Apr 2005, p.50]