God of War PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 950 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 950
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    This isn't one of the best games for the PS2 for nothing, I still can't believe the PS2 is capable of these kind of graphics, don't get me wrong there aged by todays standards but back then these were top notch, the sound track and voice work are PHENOMENAL!!! and the gameplay might be simple but the puzzles and combat are extremely satisfying, this really captures what I love most aboutThis isn't one of the best games for the PS2 for nothing, I still can't believe the PS2 is capable of these kind of graphics, don't get me wrong there aged by todays standards but back then these were top notch, the sound track and voice work are PHENOMENAL!!! and the gameplay might be simple but the puzzles and combat are extremely satisfying, this really captures what I love most about Greek mythology the sex and violence, this game makes you feel like a bad ass slicing your way through enemies with a giant sword, taking on giant bosses, avoiding deadly traps, satisfying maidens, and solving puzzles, and the story is awesome, by now your asking yourself if this is so perfect why didn't I give it a perfect 10? the only flaw I can find with this is the first boss fight, it's just boring, that flaw aside this is still one of the best games I've ever played, and a must own that's just shy of perfection. Expand
  2. May 21, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Epic masterpiece, Kratos is even more monster than the brutality. The slick control is smooth and brilliant. Bloody,incredible and bold just wish more heroes had this kind of sense of humor.
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    God of War is an amazing video game which all Greek Myth fans, action fans and fans of violent bloody games will enjoy. The game has a casual length with a decent storyline, character and environmental setting. The music and sound effects are well made and go well with the game. Although not as refined as other action games, this game will surely suffice for any lack of action games youGod of War is an amazing video game which all Greek Myth fans, action fans and fans of violent bloody games will enjoy. The game has a casual length with a decent storyline, character and environmental setting. The music and sound effects are well made and go well with the game. Although not as refined as other action games, this game will surely suffice for any lack of action games you may of add and can start your journey into the rest of the series. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2016
    9
    God Of War is among the best action games of all time, excellent story, perfect combat, great graphics, and an overall amazing experience. Buy this game on sight.
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    this game shows everything good that happens in playstaiton 2,it had excellent graphics(for the time)and an amazing original story,the only problem is that isn't an open world game.
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    God of War is one of the most satisfying action games around. The story rooted in Greek mythology is awesome, as is the music. The gameplay is solid and intuitive, full of weapons to use and difficult challenges to conquer. The only issue with this game are the qte, which just suck. It's a great game in general.
  8. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    The best hack and slash game you'll play with amazing soundtrack and fantastic story also the characters in this game are good and you'll love every moment of gameplay Recommended
  9. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    You buy a PS2 for reasons like this. Everything about this game is awesome. About 8 years after its initial release and it's still fun as ever. 2 or 3 problems but that's it
  10. ERB
    Jul 29, 2013
    8
    God Of War is one of the best PS2 games you will ever play.I give story [5 points] and [3 points] for game play.Ans still playing this game even In 2013 is still satisfying.
  11. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    such a great game. greek mythology is very interesting, and its portrayed in such an epic way in this game. Kratos is one of the most powerful videogame characters ever and you certainly feel that when you play. the combat is the best part of this game, it feels so smooth and is easy to use and still feel badass. the story is also great and is very interesting to follow. the combat isn'tsuch a great game. greek mythology is very interesting, and its portrayed in such an epic way in this game. Kratos is one of the most powerful videogame characters ever and you certainly feel that when you play. the combat is the best part of this game, it feels so smooth and is easy to use and still feel badass. the story is also great and is very interesting to follow. the combat isn't exactly repetitive, but you soon figure out wich moves are most effective and just end up spanning them. that is the only downside to this game. the boss fights are awesome too, some of the best I've ever seen even to this date and that goes for all the god of war games Expand
  12. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    If theirs one word that describes God of War its Epic, the hack and slash gameplay is amazing. GOW has some of the best puzzles ive ever seen. The graphics where great for its time, this game has one of the best stories ever told. Kratos is a gods servant and must do what Ares tells him to do, but Ares takes it to far when he makes Kratos kill his own family, Kratos goes on an epic journeyIf theirs one word that describes God of War its Epic, the hack and slash gameplay is amazing. GOW has some of the best puzzles ive ever seen. The graphics where great for its time, this game has one of the best stories ever told. Kratos is a gods servant and must do what Ares tells him to do, but Ares takes it to far when he makes Kratos kill his own family, Kratos goes on an epic journey to kill the god of war Ares. If you love greek mythology or anything badass than this is the game for you. Expand
  13. May 22, 2015
    8
    I first played God of War in early 2015 and I can reassure anyone who hasn't yet played it or hasn't done so since it launched; this game withstands the test of time. Not only is the combat intense (and very bloody), but the dungeon design is superb for the most part. You'll spend the majority of the game in a giant temple on a titan's back. How epic is that? Also, the puzzles areI first played God of War in early 2015 and I can reassure anyone who hasn't yet played it or hasn't done so since it launched; this game withstands the test of time. Not only is the combat intense (and very bloody), but the dungeon design is superb for the most part. You'll spend the majority of the game in a giant temple on a titan's back. How epic is that? Also, the puzzles are genereally fun and the music is as epic as the story. As for the bad, well, it can get frustrating. I'm not even referring to the repetitive combat but the parts where, say, you have to walk across a thin piece of wood and jump over a spinning blade. Thankfully these parts aren't too frewuent but parts like those are very annoying. Also, difficult curves are annoying (where one fight is randomly far more difficult than ones before and after it). LAstly, the bosses, although few, are downright awesome! Expand
  14. Dec 17, 2015
    9
    Gameplay : 9
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 9
  15. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    God of war started one bloodiest, goriest and over-the-top game series. Very satisfying and addictive gameplay. Epic music and story. Not much of a replay value and there could have been more boss fights.
  16. Apr 11, 2016
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)O começo do que seria a melhor trilogia que já joguei,tudo é perfeito nele (para a época),a batalha final é épica,Kratos conquistou uma legião de fãs com este jogo,acho que foi o jogo que mais vezes zerei.
  17. Jul 20, 2012
    8
    While it's less smooth in terms of gameplay than the later titles, this is still probably my favorite in the series. I don't get why people are calling it such a short game. I've beaten it twice and both times took me over 8 hours, not including mistakes. It doesn't feel rushed or thrown together at all, I actually feel that Pandora's Temple is one of the most intriguing and well designedWhile it's less smooth in terms of gameplay than the later titles, this is still probably my favorite in the series. I don't get why people are calling it such a short game. I've beaten it twice and both times took me over 8 hours, not including mistakes. It doesn't feel rushed or thrown together at all, I actually feel that Pandora's Temple is one of the most intriguing and well designed areas in a videogame. Some of the segments toward the end can be very frustrating, is my only complaint. Expand
  18. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    The finest video game of the decade. The best story. The best gameplay and controls. I didn't like that kind of games before but this one makes me speechless.
  19. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Uno de mis juegos más nostálgicos que he jugado. Posee una excelente virtud que lo hace un juego épico y merecido de jugar... Perdón: un juego NECESARIO de jugar. Excelente temática, impactante ambientación, escenarios de lucha magníficos y gran desarrollo de personajes, nada que le pueda faltar
  20. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  21. Oct 3, 2015
    10
    EL NACIMIENTO DE UN DIOS DE LOS VIDEJUEGOS . God of War tuvo toda lo necesario para ser el mejor juego de ps2 y uno de los mejores de la historia, Graficos imponentes(Para esa consola), una historia atrapadora,BSO sublime , muchisima sangre, un enemigo mas que digno como Ares, poderes increíbles y el carisma del personaje principal (Kratos) . SIMPLEMENTE GRACIAS SONY POR CREAR TAL OBRAEL NACIMIENTO DE UN DIOS DE LOS VIDEJUEGOS . God of War tuvo toda lo necesario para ser el mejor juego de ps2 y uno de los mejores de la historia, Graficos imponentes(Para esa consola), una historia atrapadora,BSO sublime , muchisima sangre, un enemigo mas que digno como Ares, poderes increíbles y el carisma del personaje principal (Kratos) . SIMPLEMENTE GRACIAS SONY POR CREAR TAL OBRA MAESTRA EN 2005 Expand
  22. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = Very clever in it's execution, and espiacially for game with so much blood, gore, and medusa boobs. One hell of an acton game!
  23. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    God of War is an amzing game that does not dissapoint. Everything is nearly flawless, the graphics are great for the PS2. The combat is very fluid and the best part of the game with many brutal kill animations. The plot holds out to be relatively strong with Kratos on a journey for vengeance. The set pieces are massive and detailed at the same time, God of War reaches epic proportions. TheGod of War is an amzing game that does not dissapoint. Everything is nearly flawless, the graphics are great for the PS2. The combat is very fluid and the best part of the game with many brutal kill animations. The plot holds out to be relatively strong with Kratos on a journey for vengeance. The set pieces are massive and detailed at the same time, God of War reaches epic proportions. The characters are all great too, especially Kratos. Kratos may be a cold-blooded killer but his tragic past makes you sympathize with him and he is a guy who you don't want mad at you. The only flaw is the platforming which can be a little irksome at times but not very. Overall, God of War is a great game to play, especially if you are into violence. "God of War" Score Breakdown: Presentation: 9.6, Graphics: 9.5, Sound: 9.5, Gameplay: 9.7, Lasting Appeal: 9.5. Verdict: 9.7 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
  24. Mar 25, 2016
    8
    God of War is a great hack and slash, that any PS2 or PS3 owner should play.

    STORY: The story follows Kratos, a spartan warrior that killed his own family because the God Ares tricked him to do it. This causes Kratos to have nightmares every day of his life and to get rid of does nightmares he assists the Gods of Olympus and he will do anything that they say in exchange of losing those
    God of War is a great hack and slash, that any PS2 or PS3 owner should play.

    STORY: The story follows Kratos, a spartan warrior that killed his own family because the God Ares tricked him to do it. This causes Kratos to have nightmares every day of his life and to get rid of does nightmares he assists the Gods of Olympus and he will do anything that they say in exchange of losing those horrible nightmares.

    PRESENTATION: For a PS2 game God of War looks very nice, the models, animations and backgrounds
    look very good for a PS2 game and if you play it on the PS3 (like i did) the HD treatment helps the look of the game by a massive amount. The voice acting isn't bad either and the framerate (at least in the PS3 version) is very consistent, not to mention the fantastic soundtrack. God of War presentation is very solid, well done and for a PS2 game, it still holds pretty well by today's standards.

    GAMEPLAY: God of War is a Hack and Slash, which roughly translates to: Beat the ever living **** out of anything that stands in your way!!!.

    This game makes you feel like a badass and that is no more apparent that in the first level where you (no joke) impale a giant 3 headed hydra into the pole of a ship and the rest of the game follows suit. In God of War your main weapon is the Chaos Blades, but along the way you will get different weapons from the different Gods. Every time you defeat a Boss, an enemy or pretty much any destructible object, you will get what i call "red souls", you use this to upgrade your different weapons and there are other types of ·souls like the green variation which replenishes your health and the blue variation which replenishes the magic bar that you use to do certain special attacks that the Gods give you along the way.

    I mentioned that you can upgrade your weapons and abilities, but i didn't mention that you can also extend your life and magic meters by finding...eye balls and feathers?...ok..., you find this things in chests and when you collect enough of them your life or magic will increase.

    Oh man, all of these and i haven't even mentioned the 4 main components of God of War. Let's knock out the easy one first:

    Exploration:...you explore places...with some platforming and mini-fights thrown in for good measure. Is also here where you can find checkpoints, the only way to save your game.

    Boss Battles: These fights are great, they are all different in terms of pattern, strategy and strength, the 2 things that all of them have in common is that they always have a quick time event and the fact that they are soooooooooo much fun.

    Puzzles: In my opinion this is one of the game's flaws because these puzzles are not only easy, bland and uninspired, but 70-80% of them are just: drag an item to a certain place and rarely do they have variety.

    Fighting: This is the best part of the game, you basically do combinations with the square and triangle buttons to do many different combos and block incoming attacks with the um....block button, but with your different weapons and upgrades the variety is throw the roof and there is nothing more satisfying than grabbing a guy and separating him in 2 pieces!!!.

    Overall God of War is a great game with amazing music and graphics (for the PS2), very good story, fun boss battles, incredible variety, genius fighting system and while the puzzles may not be that great, they serve to mix things up in order for the game to not get repetitive. With that said God of War gets an 8/10.
    Expand
  25. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    "God of War" is a PS2 action-adventure game from the creator of "Twisted Metal Black". Based on Greek mythology, it tells the story of Kratos, a Spartan warrior in service of the Olympian Gods. As the game begins, he is tasked with one final assignment, the destruction of Ares, the God of War. The journey takes on a personal meaning for Kratos since Ares had tricked him into killing his"God of War" is a PS2 action-adventure game from the creator of "Twisted Metal Black". Based on Greek mythology, it tells the story of Kratos, a Spartan warrior in service of the Olympian Gods. As the game begins, he is tasked with one final assignment, the destruction of Ares, the God of War. The journey takes on a personal meaning for Kratos since Ares had tricked him into killing his own family. "God of War" starts with a highly-kinetic battle on a ship which acts as the opening tutorial level. Its action is comparable to "Devil May Cry" but it also features adventure elements and innovative on-screen button prompts. The involving story is mainly told through crisp, highly-detailed CGI cutscenes. Visually, the graphics and animation are impressive for a PS2 game. And the voice acting and Hollywood-esque musical score are superb. "God of War" proudly wears its 'M' rating on its shoulder. Its features nudity, sexual situations and graphic violence. Fans of fast-paced action and adventure will find much to enjoy in this first installment of the popular series. It's a terrific achievement and one of the PS2's best exclusives. 9.5 out of 10 Expand
  26. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This game was awesome back when it came out. The boss fights were awesome but there was not as many as player would have like but this has been fixed in God of War 2.
  27. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    A lot of people say this is a button masher. Um ok? Well sure, if you sit there and mash the button. The same can be said about any game. That doesn't mean you're playing the game properly at all though. If you know how to play a beat 'em up properly and you understand the type of gameplay that's being utilized, you will love this game. The combos are interesting, each useful in varyingA lot of people say this is a button masher. Um ok? Well sure, if you sit there and mash the button. The same can be said about any game. That doesn't mean you're playing the game properly at all though. If you know how to play a beat 'em up properly and you understand the type of gameplay that's being utilized, you will love this game. The combos are interesting, each useful in varying situations, the leveling system is well implemented, the rate at which you unlock new weapons and abilities is very well done, and there's even a bit of exploration, although it's usually very simplistic and obvious. Those are the reasons I play the game, but there's also an added bonus of an interesting story, lore, and characters, as well as stunning visual effects. Expand
  28. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    This game is the best i have ever played awesome bosses, puzzles and especially awesome combat after playing all three GOWs this one is still the best because of the way it got me so hooked. I personall love greek mythology and think this presented it amazingly. The hydra was just awesome
  29. Jul 22, 2016
    9
    What a classic. I picked this up only because I love Greek Mythology, but I was surprised at the quality of it. I enjoyed it from start to finish.

    Compared with GOW2, it has better puzzles, story, pacing, atmosphere and soundtrack which is why I enjoyed it more. But they both are much better than GOW3 for sure.
  30. Mar 19, 2016
    10
    I was extremly amazed when i first played this game back in 2005, fighting,weapons,levels,puzzle elements, and the characters showed how much this game just changed everything for gamers, well done to santa monica studios.
  31. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    Great game, but even at high difficulties it seems a bit repetitive and a pointless button mash. I mean, Devil may Cry has the best fighting system I've ever seen, and God Of War has a really great gameplay but it's not as deep, It feels more like a button mash. I'd give it an 8.5. Great game, after all, one of the best games of PS2.
  32. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Excellent game. It has a very good story, great gameplay, it's challenging, and it exceeds expectations for a hack and slash game. The only problem I had with the game is so few boss fights. I thought the minotaur and Ares fights were great and after watching what the studio had to cut out of the game, I kinda feel that they wanted to add more but they didn't have the budget. :(
  33. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    If your looking for adventure, puzzle, and great combat, look no further. This is a fantastic game in all respects - it keeps you hooked from beginning to end. The pure scale of the environment is enough to warrant a purchase - the environment is vast and engaging. The difficulty level is perfectly tuned, the puzzles are difficult but not frustrating, and the battle scenes are intense andIf your looking for adventure, puzzle, and great combat, look no further. This is a fantastic game in all respects - it keeps you hooked from beginning to end. The pure scale of the environment is enough to warrant a purchase - the environment is vast and engaging. The difficulty level is perfectly tuned, the puzzles are difficult but not frustrating, and the battle scenes are intense and enjoyable in equal measure. All round God of War reaches near perfection and makes you really feel part of the Greek myth it emulates. It is true that there are minor issues with the fixed camera view, but this hardly detracts from the experience of the game as a whole. Also the game is a touch short ( can be finished in about 8 hours), but if you crank up the difficulty settings you soon realise that tactics are everything and the battle system requires skill and forethought. BUY IT Expand
  34. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    as for a new title in Sony PlayStation this just nailed each and every game in all console division. the cut scenes are awesome as for PlayStation 2 .loved the blood and gore kills and one of the best story. Kratos is one of the main character that represent the PlayStation division. just feel the graphics quite low after completing god of war II. still my first PS2 game and has theas for a new title in Sony PlayStation this just nailed each and every game in all console division. the cut scenes are awesome as for PlayStation 2 .loved the blood and gore kills and one of the best story. Kratos is one of the main character that represent the PlayStation division. just feel the graphics quite low after completing god of war II. still my first PS2 game and has the hardest challenges of all!! Expand
  35. Jun 25, 2016
    9
    A huge improvement over the first one.
    good:
    Enjoyable puzzles
    great music
    lovely art direction
    excellent pacing
    Good boss fights

    Bad:
    still some cheap deaths
    pointless weapons and abilities
    abandoning new mechanics just after they are introduced
  36. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    absolutely amazing!!! i thing the people who are calling this a hack'n slash should first play this game and then look at the depth of its combat. great graphics,slick story and a great overall package...
  37. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)O começo do que seria a melhor trilogia que já joguei,tudo é perfeito nele (para a época),a batalha final é épica,Kratos conquistou uma legião de fãs com este jogo,acho que foi o jogo que mais vezes zerei.
  38. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    Es un muy buen juego, tiene una historia aceptable, pero en parte predicable. Lo malo es que es muy lineal el juego, y la música es muy aburrida, es como si fuera todo lo mismo. Pero todo lo demás esta bien, los sonidos muy bien hechos, excelentes gráficos, buen voice-acting, controles muy cómodos, buenos cutscenes, buena ambientación del juego y extremadamente divertido y adictivo, yEs un muy buen juego, tiene una historia aceptable, pero en parte predicable. Lo malo es que es muy lineal el juego, y la música es muy aburrida, es como si fuera todo lo mismo. Pero todo lo demás esta bien, los sonidos muy bien hechos, excelentes gráficos, buen voice-acting, controles muy cómodos, buenos cutscenes, buena ambientación del juego y extremadamente divertido y adictivo, y tiene puzzles que a veces te puede costar bastante pensarlos, la verdad es que lo recomiendo, no solo por el estilo de pelea, si no que te deja con ganas de jugarlo y pasarlo una y otra y otra vez!, Tiene cosas malas, como el quick reaction system, de apretar rapidamente un boton que si lo fallas, perdes, o moris, cosa que te deja (en mi opinion) un sabor muy amargo en la boca, y tambien apretar repetida y rapidamente un mismo boton, eso tambien no es bueno, sobretodo para el joystick, pero no hay que negar que es un clasico de esta consola. Recomendable para el que le encantan juegos de aventura y accion! Expand
  39. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    What can be said about one of the best hack ’n slash games ever made? Well, it’s a gorgeous game with some stunning and atmospheric graphics (even by today’s standards) which pulls you into the Greek mythological setting. Add to that some great sounds effects and you got a game that’s pleasing to the eyes and the ears. Though the music overall works well, it just seems to try way too hardWhat can be said about one of the best hack ’n slash games ever made? Well, it’s a gorgeous game with some stunning and atmospheric graphics (even by today’s standards) which pulls you into the Greek mythological setting. Add to that some great sounds effects and you got a game that’s pleasing to the eyes and the ears. Though the music overall works well, it just seems to try way too hard to be as bombastic as possible at times. This is particular noticeable when nothing is actually happening, which caused me more than once to wish the music would just take a diazepam and calm down a little.
    But the thing that really makes God of War the classic it has become, is the gameplay. Fluid combat against a multitude of enemies, great combos, intuitive controls, and some great, violent weaponry and godly magic, makes helping Kratos hack and slash his way through the levels in order to eventually defeat Ares in hope of getting rid of the nightmares and guilt that haunts him, an absolute joy. Along the way the action is broken up by some nice small, if not exactly intellectually overwhelming, puzzles, but they do a good job of pacing the game. Furthermore, this game is from an age when developers didn’t tell you everything you had to do at every turn through on-screen prompts, so sometimes you actually have to think a little yourself to solve the puzzles.
    Now, a lot of people point towards the God of War games when placing blame for the overuse of quicktime events we see in games today.
    I find this to be fundamentally unfair.
    In GoW the quicktime mechanic is an intricate part of the game, not unlike finishing- or special moves in beat ‘em ups, and it works very well indeed.
    Judging the quicktime events in this game by the very low standards used in games like Resident Evil 6, Black Ops 2 or the numerous other modern games, which basically use them by default whether warranted or not, is doing GoW a huge disservice.
    A lot of people have also pointed out that GoW was not original and it borrowed from a lot of other games. This is all true, but a game should not be judged on it's originality, but whether it sets out to do what it wants to. And the fact is, that GoW did and does this amazingly well.
    GoW is a classic and should find its rightful place in any hack ‘n slash or action game fans collection.
    Expand
  40. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    One word: Kickass..........................................................................................................................................
  41. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    GRAPHICS perfect 10 -GAME PLAY perfect 10- STORY perfect 10-MUSIC perfect 10
    ---EPIC---
    best game for ps2 and probably best game ever.you will be amazed by the big monsters and gods from the greec myth so many actions .the best story ever for a game ,every body say that this could be a hollywood film you will live in ancient history like never been with amazing sound track from Gerard
    GRAPHICS perfect 10 -GAME PLAY perfect 10- STORY perfect 10-MUSIC perfect 10
    ---EPIC---
    best game for ps2 and probably best game ever.you will be amazed by the big monsters and gods from the greec myth so many actions .the best story ever for a game ,every body say that this could be a hollywood film you will live in ancient history like never been with amazing sound track from Gerard Morino .....a must play game
    Expand
  42. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    I was reading the negative reviews of this game and its just like... Oh this game's music is horrible. Then turn the music off. "It's too hard and there is so much blood..." First of all games dont suck because there hard and this is god of war, there is tons of blood. No that that done with we can review this awesome game. The story is good but the game lacks a lot of cutscenes so youI was reading the negative reviews of this game and its just like... Oh this game's music is horrible. Then turn the music off. "It's too hard and there is so much blood..." First of all games dont suck because there hard and this is god of war, there is tons of blood. No that that done with we can review this awesome game. The story is good but the game lacks a lot of cutscenes so you will find you self a few hours brefor something happens. The game presents it self well though. The music is awesome not much to complain about, The gameplay is superb and the QTE's can be hard but are extremely satisfying. The blades of chaos are extremely good but late game you will prbabaly ditch them for the artemis sword. The puzzles will get you thinking. The magic isnt really that notable becuase you use it when its needed. The graphics are ok but its ps2 game y'know? Kratos is an extremely deep and badass character while the supporting characters, um support. The only notable characters are Kratos, athena, and Ares who has an epic flame beard by the way. The game is worth renting, as its not that notable but if you really like it buy it. The bosses all have a puzzle to solve in order to beat them, like the hydra boss you have to impale each head when you down it. However ares is the boss you really want to fight. The diffculty isnt to bad but the part in underworld is frustrating as hell. The art design is completly good, you will feel like your in ancient greece. And did i mention theres is a sex minigame and boobies! So if you like boobs, sex blood and gore, hack and slash, and flame beards than this game is for you Expand
  43. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    A different beast entirely from the series' later entries. Kratos is a reasonably sympathetic Byronic Hero. The atmosphere intentionally invokes Ray Harryhausen films, and gives you an idea of what those films might have been like with blood n guts and all that good stuff. The dialogue can be clumsy in places, but otherwise the story is sound. Some puzzles are real headscratchers, whileA different beast entirely from the series' later entries. Kratos is a reasonably sympathetic Byronic Hero. The atmosphere intentionally invokes Ray Harryhausen films, and gives you an idea of what those films might have been like with blood n guts and all that good stuff. The dialogue can be clumsy in places, but otherwise the story is sound. Some puzzles are real headscratchers, while others you'll barely have to think about. The combat, arguably the main draw of the series, is certainly less complex in this one. It feels more like an action adventure game than a hack n slash (Devil May Cry, Ninja Gaiden, et all) as far as the combat is concerned, but there's still quite a lot of combo potential. Expand
  44. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Before Shadow of the Colossus, the original God of War was my favorite PS2 game. And who could blame me? It's unbelievable!!

    Not only is the action over-satisfyingly gory and intense, but the story of Kratos is surprisingly fascinating! The graphics, for its time, were the best in its genre. The mixture of Greek mythology and relentless violence is both intriguing and awesome! If you
    Before Shadow of the Colossus, the original God of War was my favorite PS2 game. And who could blame me? It's unbelievable!!

    Not only is the action over-satisfyingly gory and intense, but the story of Kratos is surprisingly fascinating! The graphics, for its time, were the best in its genre. The mixture of Greek mythology and relentless violence is both intriguing and awesome!

    If you are looking for an extremely violent but unbelievably well executed action game, pick this up! It's a definite must-have for any hardcore gamer!
    Expand
  45. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. The gameplay is perfect, the story is great and you've just got to love Kratos, the main character. Many games have copied the gameplay of God of War and I think that says enough about the quality of it. The story is great, best in the series. The other God of War games have a decent story but the gameplay is even more extensive. Overal: if you like this genre, youThis game is amazing. The gameplay is perfect, the story is great and you've just got to love Kratos, the main character. Many games have copied the gameplay of God of War and I think that says enough about the quality of it. The story is great, best in the series. The other God of War games have a decent story but the gameplay is even more extensive. Overal: if you like this genre, you will love this game. If you don't like the genre, this game might change your mind. Expand
  46. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    O sucesso dessa trilogia foi por causa desse primeiro jogo, muito massa, batalhas muito épicas, chefões épicos e claro gráfico muito muito massa para a época.
  47. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    unbelievable, kudos to david jaffe and team , what an exhilarating experience, gripping and addictive, u can not stop untill u end it, u just get inside the character so much that if he is hurt , u feel the pain.
    Wow what a play !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  48. MitchellT.
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Honestly, one of the best games I've ever played. Graphics are some of the best, great animation, AMAZING score, and just fun as hell to play. My only complaints, the game felt too short and seemed to a might bit too easy (on normal mode anyway - this has been subsequently remedied on GOD mode). In either case, buy or rent this game. It is awesome.
  49. SomeGuy
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    Brilliant! I revisited this game after almost a year and it's still as fun, exciting and compelling as it was the first time. Even now I'm discovering heaps of new things. It's not just a hack 'n' slash fest, the game also has some really clever puzzles and the story is told magnificently. An all-round masterpiece.
  50. VanessaR.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    I've still got about 1/4 to go - game play is brilliant, graphics, story, music and animation is very well done. Already have the second god of war waiting to be played!
  51. MartyB.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    This game kicks ass.
  52. ChrisS.
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    Really fun and visually exciting game. As for Ahmed not getting what he expected, its called researching the game. If you wanted a free roaming game, you should of read up on the game before buying. This game will give you a rush. Excellent.
  53. TylerN.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    I'll be honest, I am not a "pro-gamer". I typically don't like video games, but God of War is by far my favorite game to date. Much better than Halo 2.
  54. MarcD.
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    Finally...a character which transcends it's field of entertainment. Besides the fact that God Of War is a remarkable gaming achievement, the most impressive point to note is how brilliant and layered the Kratos is. Characters this deep belong on the top teir of RPGs, not action adventure games. It just adds a whole lot of satisfaction to the experience when you play through as such Finally...a character which transcends it's field of entertainment. Besides the fact that God Of War is a remarkable gaming achievement, the most impressive point to note is how brilliant and layered the Kratos is. Characters this deep belong on the top teir of RPGs, not action adventure games. It just adds a whole lot of satisfaction to the experience when you play through as such an amazing literary character. My fave gaming character for sure. Expand
  55. PodR.
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Thuis game has the ultimate gameplay and so perfect graphics....And it involves my favourite Greek mythology.
  56. RobD.
    May 6, 2005
    9
    I'm not quite finished but this game is so fun. It's not as compelling as Resident Evil 4, but pretty damn cool. It's not frustratingly difficult, but it's held my attention.
  57. CavadorC.
    Jul 5, 2005
    9
    Awesome game.
  58. MorganC.
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    This game made me remember why I bought my PS2. Stunning visuals meet a divine combat system in the clash between vengeful demigod and his former master.
  59. Sanurai
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    This game is the most awesome game ever! It is great to play with your girlfriend. Seriously, this girl helped a brutha out, yo. We slayed those baddies like pancakes on a hot summer day. We caused more chaos than a herd of buffalo through a small town. We destroyed more of the earth than the Bush administration. We enjoyed the difficulty of the game and the puzzles, the visuals harkened This game is the most awesome game ever! It is great to play with your girlfriend. Seriously, this girl helped a brutha out, yo. We slayed those baddies like pancakes on a hot summer day. We caused more chaos than a herd of buffalo through a small town. We destroyed more of the earth than the Bush administration. We enjoyed the difficulty of the game and the puzzles, the visuals harkened back to those thrillin' dayz of yesteryear. Expand
  60. AnonymousMC
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    This is the type of game that reminds people why they started playing in the first place. Fun and enternaining on what unfourtunatly seems to be in second place in terms of importance on the industry theses days.
    Even with some minor flaws, this is without a doubt one of the best games around and a good influence on recent titles. Comparing this to completely different genres like Halo
    This is the type of game that reminds people why they started playing in the first place. Fun and enternaining on what unfourtunatly seems to be in second place in terms of importance on the industry theses days.
    Even with some minor flaws, this is without a doubt one of the best games around and a good influence on recent titles. Comparing this to completely different genres like Halo makes no sense at all.
    Expand
  61. Mr.Anonymous
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    Apparently, there are major differences between "blatant ripoff" and "improving upon a successful formula". God of War is the latter. It combines the successful elements of action games (Devil May Cry), platforming (Prince of Persia). The combination was so well, so incredible that God of War is one of the best games of this decade. God of War is packed with gorgeous visuals, intense bossApparently, there are major differences between "blatant ripoff" and "improving upon a successful formula". God of War is the latter. It combines the successful elements of action games (Devil May Cry), platforming (Prince of Persia). The combination was so well, so incredible that God of War is one of the best games of this decade. God of War is packed with gorgeous visuals, intense boss fights (which requires strategy, timing, and button-mashing, of course), and relaxing (not too easy, not too hard) puzzles. The puzzles are a nice way to slow the pace down, keep yourself cool after minutes of button mashing. But of course, button mashing alone does not work (unless you're playing on the easy difficulty - shame for you). God of War is best played on normal difficulty and above, where you'll have to time every dodge, think fast (whether you should dodge or block - some attacks parry your guard, some attacks have a wide area of effects which makes dodging useless). Also, you have to think whether to use a normal attack or a strong attack, and sometimes, throw in a magic attack (some magic attacks render you invulnerable to enemies' attacks). Simply put, God of War is a highly addictive action-platforming game that every fan of the genre should enjoy. Expand
  62. RJ
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    And i thought prince of persia: warrior within was morbid, this game has excellent effects and very violent...I LOVE IT!
  63. Melissa
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    10!! Most emphatically 10. Great story, combined with beautiful art, a fantistically full and complex hero, brutal combos, and gruesome finishing moves, God of War takes all other games in this genre and banishes them to Hades. Obviously, TelyS hasn't yet graduated from Reader Rabbit Learns Phonics.
  64. JohannT.S.
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    Those who don't like this game are fools. Impertinent fools! Listen to me now and believe me later, this game has redefined video games. So get your hands off your boys and give in mofo, give in.
  65. AnonymousMC
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    Ahmed A. is a real dickhead for giving this game a 1, this guy most really not know anything about gaming, or he is just a real hater who is just unhappy with life it self. He probably just started playing video games when playstation 2 came out. I bet he never played Atari 2600 or 5200, Kellicovision, Intelavision, The First Nintendo, Neo Geo, Genisis, Turbo Graphics 16, Atari Jaguar orAhmed A. is a real dickhead for giving this game a 1, this guy most really not know anything about gaming, or he is just a real hater who is just unhappy with life it self. He probably just started playing video games when playstation 2 came out. I bet he never played Atari 2600 or 5200, Kellicovision, Intelavision, The First Nintendo, Neo Geo, Genisis, Turbo Graphics 16, Atari Jaguar or any other system I forgot, shot he probably never been to an arcade. This guy just doesn't have a clue, rating this game a 1? This guy is crazy, everyone please do not go off of his inexperianced rating. The first hot game he probably played was GTA 3 or Final Fantasy X or something. This game is a 10, rent if you don't believe me and then rate it and you'll say the same thing about Ahmed A. as me. Expand
  66. Cavador
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    Simply outstanding.
  67. Andrew
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    Excellent game ! Great fun, some annoyance in the, at times, limited view. Some fantastic scenes and battles gloriously realised. Highly Recomended.
  68. Robotron3000
    Apr 22, 2005
    8
    Basically this game is Onimusha-in-ancient-Greece. It is very good, but lack some of the edge of the Onimusha series, especially graphics wise. Kratos looks like a mixture of 'random rock-singer' and a wrestler which is a shame. With greater art direction this game could have been truly divine.
  69. JeffM.
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    Simply astounding. I wish there were words good enough to describe how good this game is. Greek mythology was previously a rather untapped idea well for video games (must be over 50 games based on WWII out), but this one will satisfy all who crave such a game save the weak of heart. And maybe even some of the not so weak; this is a very, VERY brutal game. I can't even begin to count Simply astounding. I wish there were words good enough to describe how good this game is. Greek mythology was previously a rather untapped idea well for video games (must be over 50 games based on WWII out), but this one will satisfy all who crave such a game save the weak of heart. And maybe even some of the not so weak; this is a very, VERY brutal game. I can't even begin to count the gruesome fatalities in this game from cleaving a minotaur's head in two through its mouth to snapping a siren's neck backwards, to taking a harpy out of the air, stomping on its back and literally plucking off its wings like a fly with a swift, upward motion. It doesn't hurt that the game looks absolutely gorgeous while you do all this, either. This is the best-looking PS2 game to date, rivaling a good number of XBox games and showing everyone before the next console war that this old dog still has a few tricks. Luckily, the graphics' high quality matches extremely well-done voiceovers, grand orchestral scores, and tight controls that, along with the rather up close and personal combat, inserts you into Kratos' being and allows you to play like no other game has thusfar. Resident Evil 4 had an early game of the year bid, but all I can think about is how Kratos would mutilate Leon far more than a chainsaw ever could, and how puny "Lord" Saddler seems as an antagonist compared to Ares, God of War. Expand
  70. MikeyP.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    This game is one of the most satisfying gaming experiences I've ever had. Writing this user comment proves it. I have never done something like this before and thought I never would. But God of War is just that good that I felt forced to write in. If you haven't bought it yet, you're wasting your time.
  71. Jayman
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Best game I have played. Took me 3 days straight to finish. No game has ever kept my interest to finish so quickly. The average for me(usually with days/weeks off in between) to finish is 1-2 months. Wow!!!! Great story, great weapons, and awesome mini-movies.
  72. DaveC.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    Greatness!!
  73. Andyman
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    The mark of a great game is its ability to appeal to players who normally don't care for the genre. The mark of a great gaming experience is its ability to make its players forget that they ever disliked the genre. God of War is that once-in-a-lifetime experience, and should be required playing for all gamers - players and developers alike.
  74. MatthewF.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    This is the best game i own and have played. It was kinda short but great graphics and storyline. I haven't beaten GOD mode yet.
  75. EliM.
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    I am not usually a game freak but ever since i played this game i been so stuck in it since its full of action.
  76. Brent
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    Damn this game is as addictive as crack man.
  77. DrorS.
    Apr 8, 2005
    9
    i played it for 3 days straight i dont have a memory card so i left my playstation on for 3 days while i was playing it until i finally finished the game i just could not stop.
  78. FredF.
    Apr 8, 2005
    8
    It´s a good game, but looks like I'm playing a new episode of Prince of Persia. Sincerely, I was waiting for something diferent.
  79. SamF.
    May 11, 2005
    9
    It doesn't beat Resident Evil 4 for game of the year, which gets a prefect 10, but GoW is still very enjoyable. I'm not entirely sure why it gets that point off. I sometimes got annoyed by the fighting and it felt linear and repetitive at times; a puzzle, a battle, a puzzle, a battle. Even with some slight problems it is one of the best PS2 games.
  80. MatthewA.
    May 1, 2005
    10
    The best game EVER made.........EVER!
  81. JonathanT.
    May 29, 2005
    10
    Wow. Just wow. Didn't know Playstation games you look this good, better yet PLAY this good. Get it people - it will remind you of why you bought that Sony console in the first place.
  82. LingX.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Phenomenal game! better than the Prince of Persia series! you'd be able to do almost all of the combo/weapons all the time unlike in POP. great story, great graphics (even with the ps2), great gameplay, great goodies. a perfect 10/10 game.
  83. HVCgduy
    May 7, 2005
    10
    It was truly wonderful ripping enimies apart.
  84. Bobthevermonter
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    Masterpeice i cant et enough i crave more g2g i need to play....
  85. MarkM.
    Jun 24, 2005
    8
    This game is definitely visually stunning -- perhaps the best graphics I've seen on the PS2. And the mature themes and original story bring something more to the game than just the same fight/cutscenet/fight mentality. But the reason I only gave it an 8 was because of the button-mashing nature of the game, and the bosses. I'm not a big fan of the boss concept, mainly because I This game is definitely visually stunning -- perhaps the best graphics I've seen on the PS2. And the mature themes and original story bring something more to the game than just the same fight/cutscenet/fight mentality. But the reason I only gave it an 8 was because of the button-mashing nature of the game, and the bosses. I'm not a big fan of the boss concept, mainly because I find more frustrating than rewarding. While I have no problems with a challenging enemy or situation, spending up to an hour trying to figure out how to kill one thing just doesn't do it for me. IMHO, that whole concept should be scraped, and replaced with puzzles that challenge the mind, more than the fingers. But even that aside, it's still a great game that I recommend for older gamers -- it is NOT a game for kids. Expand
  86. CharlieW.
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    This is the first game in a long time where everything comes together to give a genuinely great gaming experience. The graphics are top-notch. The action is intense. The music swells. The storyline could easily be considered a lost epic in Greek mythology. Top to bottom, this game is excellent.
  87. ChristianC.
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    You know what im ganna say by the rating I gave to the game anyways sothis game is very good it seems they did really good on the graphics and im impressed by the story line but some gay parts that you might think thats stupid im not ganna say because some of you might say DONT KILL IT FOR ME! whell this is one of the best PS2 games I ever played its a game you would want to be between You know what im ganna say by the rating I gave to the game anyways sothis game is very good it seems they did really good on the graphics and im impressed by the story line but some gay parts that you might think thats stupid im not ganna say because some of you might say DONT KILL IT FOR ME! whell this is one of the best PS2 games I ever played its a game you would want to be between adventure,hack'n slash, tine RPG with a great story! Expand
  88. Taylor
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Best 3rd person action game ever Bar None.
  89. KungF.
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    One of the best games i've played in a long time.
  90. PaulJ.
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    This is by far one of the greatest games ever made.
  91. Thinkablefire
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    The graphics is definitely stunning. This game truley shows the true capabilities of the PS2. This game combines the elements of what makes a game truley spectacular. Fighting style, storyline, and playability is awsome.
  92. MikeJ.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    This game is amazing.it gives you some of the best game play around. i would give this game a 9.5 but i cant. the reason is it does have some invisible walls.nontheless its the best game one the ps2 and should not be missed.If you have a ps2 dont miss your self on this great game,because if you do it would be very foolish.
  93. AhmedH.
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    Spectacular graphics, awosome boss battles and the best damn ps2 game i have ever played.
  94. Vince
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    This is by far the best game ever made in any console at any time!!! WOW! There is soo much to say ill just keep it simple: go buy it! Everything in this game is absolutely perfect!
  95. TomL.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Amazing!
  96. WilliamK.
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    Utlimate hack and slash game. A bit short, and with too few boss fights, but what is there is top rate.
  97. DavidM.
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    This is a fun and hard game that has lots of puzzles and fighting.
  98. DanB.
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    A classic game just enough puzzles and gore to keep everybody happy, sweet graphics and good story.
  99. MitchN.
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Out of all the games I"ve played this is one of the better ones and the goariest ones. It's even better than Kingdom Hearts!
  100. SeanB.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    God of War gives me something that I never expected from it, even though it may very well be the finest game in the massive library of the PlayStation 2. God of War feels like a solid, current-gen quality game, but it manages to capture the feeling that hooked us all on games in the first place. The first time I strung together a 70 Hit Combo on Medusa, God of War took a place in my heart God of War gives me something that I never expected from it, even though it may very well be the finest game in the massive library of the PlayStation 2. God of War feels like a solid, current-gen quality game, but it manages to capture the feeling that hooked us all on games in the first place. The first time I strung together a 70 Hit Combo on Medusa, God of War took a place in my heart forever. For anyone wondering whether or not the industry is slipping away from its roots, God of War gives you an answer. This is what games should be, because it's what they always have been. Pure entertainment and a sense of pride and accomplishment. Mix that with an epic story and just a dash (ok, about 14 pounds) of blood and sex, not to mention the greatest anti-hero in the history of video games, and you have the best game of the current generation of consoles. Needless to say, God of War comes recommended. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Game Informer
    100
    While playing God of War, I honestly found it difficult to resist the urge to simply genuflect and be humbled to be in the presence of such digital divinity, this god among games. [Apr 2005, p.122]
  2. 98
    If you like to kill freaky things with your giant serrated knives, you'll love the s*** out of this... This videogame features sexual situations, bare breasts and excessive brutality. Good with that? Excellent!
  3. Play Magazine
    95
    The game contains so much energy and conviction, so much skill and spirit. There came a point where I was totally lost to it, in the way you are to a great movie - to any powerful art form. [Apr 2005, p.50]