• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
God of War Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 717 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the power of the Gods and embark on a merciless quest as Kratos, an ex-Spartan warrior driven to destroy Ares, the God of War. Armed with lethal double chainblades, Kratos must carve through mythology's darkest creatures including Medusa, Cyclops, the Hydra and more, while solving intricate puzzles in breathtaking environments. Driven by pure revenge, nothing can stop Kratos from achieving absolution. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. One of the best action titles on the PS2, God of War stands out as an ultraviolent masterpiece.
  2. 100
    An epic, movie quality score works in concert with elaborate, awe-inspiring scenery to blow you and whoever happens to be sitting in front of the television away.
  3. God of War's control and combo scheme is as much a work of art as the game's presentation, which rivals a Hollywood sand-and-sandals epic. And you rarely find puzzles this clever and well integrated in other hack-n-slash adventures.
  4. A superbly designed and executed action adventure game that is among the finest ever made.
  5. The amazing levels don't contribute to the game's magnificence alone. More so, it's the way in which the moving characters are all just right on the money.
  6. Don't miss out on this at any cost. If you need a bit more convincing, just remember: you get to have a threesome.
  7. Heart-in-mouth joy from this frantic and bloody hack-fest. [Jan 2007, p.106]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 209
  1. TomL.
    Jan 31, 2009
    10
    Amazing!
  2. VahndD.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    best game i've ever played. from the begiining till the end always shocked me. can't wait for the sequel. excellent job for the team.
  3. LV
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    The best game ever made for PS2.
  4. Uber_Owner
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing all the puzzles combos that you can do. Non stop combat mode they just keep coming....great graphics I love the story. The game is just all around amazing. Expand
  5. MikailaK.
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    Amazing--this may be the best PS2 action game released. There's so much detail and passion in this game and it shows in the details. The final package easily blows away "Devil May Cry 3" and Kratos makes Dante look like a hippie. I've never had so much fun meting out punishment (except with "RE4"). The only complaints I have are minimal: a few frustrating camera views and that rather silly sex game (it kind of diminished the whole revenge-for-family angle, and didn't quite titillate me--maybe because I'm a girl). I also would've liked more than three boss fight; that final one was kind of a pushover. But other than that, this game is a gem. It's not as fun or as stunning as the superlative "Resident Evil 4" or even "Splinter Cell:: Chaos Theory", but it's definitely the best PS2 game out this year. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Before Shadow of the Colossus, the original God of War was my favorite PS2 game. And who could blame me? It's unbelievable!!

    Not only is
    the action over-satisfyingly gory and intense, but the story of Kratos is surprisingly fascinating! The graphics, for its time, were the best in its genre. The mixture of Greek mythology and relentless violence is both intriguing and awesome!

    If you are looking for an extremely violent but unbelievably well executed action game, pick this up! It's a definite must-have for any hardcore gamer!
    Expand
  7. KavveenK.
    Mar 31, 2005
    0
    What's the use all u do is fight?

See all 209 User Reviews