• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
God of War Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 691 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the power of the Gods and embark on a merciless quest as Kratos, an ex-Spartan warrior driven to destroy Ares, the God of War. Armed with lethal double chainblades, Kratos must carve through mythology's darkest creatures including Medusa, Cyclops, the Hydra and more, while solving intricate puzzles in breathtaking environments. Driven by pure revenge, nothing can stop Kratos from achieving absolution. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. One of the best action titles on the PS2, God of War stands out as an ultraviolent masterpiece.
  2. 100
    An epic, movie quality score works in concert with elaborate, awe-inspiring scenery to blow you and whoever happens to be sitting in front of the television away.
  3. God of War's control and combo scheme is as much a work of art as the game's presentation, which rivals a Hollywood sand-and-sandals epic. And you rarely find puzzles this clever and well integrated in other hack-n-slash adventures.
  4. A superbly designed and executed action adventure game that is among the finest ever made.
  5. The amazing levels don't contribute to the game's magnificence alone. More so, it's the way in which the moving characters are all just right on the money.
  6. Don't miss out on this at any cost. If you need a bit more convincing, just remember: you get to have a threesome.
  7. Heart-in-mouth joy from this frantic and bloody hack-fest. [Jan 2007, p.106]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 209
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)O começo do que seria a melhor trilogia que já joguei,tudo é perfeito nele (para a época),a batalha final é épica,Kratos conquistou uma legião de fãs com este jogo,acho que foi o jogo que mais vezes zerei. Collapse
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    GRAPHICS perfect 10 -GAME PLAY perfect 10- STORY perfect 10-MUSIC perfect 10
    ---EPIC---
    best game for ps2 and probably best game ever.you
    will be amazed by the big monsters and gods from the greec myth so many actions .the best story ever for a game ,every body say that this could be a hollywood film you will live in ancient history like never been with amazing sound track from Gerard Morino .....a must play game Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    If theirs one word that describes God of War its Epic, the hack and slash gameplay is amazing. GOW has some of the best puzzles ive ever seen. The graphics where great for its time, this game has one of the best stories ever told. Kratos is a gods servant and must do what Ares tells him to do, but Ares takes it to far when he makes Kratos kill his own family, Kratos goes on an epic journey to kill the god of war Ares. If you love greek mythology or anything badass than this is the game for you. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Epic masterpiece, Kratos is even more monster than the brutality. The slick control is smooth and brilliant. Bloody,incredible and bold just wish more heroes had this kind of sense of humor. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    The best hack and slash game you'll play with amazing soundtrack and fantastic story also the characters in this game are good and you'll love every moment of gameplay Recommended Expand
  6. ERB
    Jul 29, 2013
    8
    God Of War is one of the best PS2 games you will ever play.I give story [5 points] and [3 points] for game play.Ans still playing this game even In 2013 is still satisfying. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2013
    5
    I am writing this review in 2013. I just played God of War for the first time, 8 years after its initial release.

    God of War is probably
    the most immature critically-acclaimed game I've ever played. Early on I noticed a pattern. If I see a man, he will soon die a bloody death in front of me. If I see a woman, and she has a shirt on, she will soon die a bloody death in front of me. If I see a woman and she does not have a shirt, she might make multiple appearances throughout the game (each time, with no shirt, for why else would a recurring female character exist in a testosterone-dominated game like this?) but she almost certainly will not die. If I see a monster approximately my size, I will kill it within seconds. And if I see a monster 100X my size, I will kill it, but only after a long, epic boss battle.

    Don't get me wrong, I understand the appeal of all of this to an extent. 300 is one of my guilty-pleasure movies, and there are certainly a lot of comparisons to be made between God of War and 300. These are unfair comparisons, of course, because GoW was released prior to 300. While I'm making unfair comparisons, I'd like to say that I didn't find the gameplay of God of War all that appealing, because I just kept thinking, "The combat in Arkham Asylum is so much better." And of course, while the visuals in God of War were no doubt epic for their time, they don't compare at all to the likes of, say, Uncharted or Bioshock Infinite.

    So I guess what I'm trying to say is that God of War did not age well, in my humble opinion. In fact, it may have pulled a Benjamin Button, because it seems very immature from where I'm sitting, in my post-Spec Ops: The Line, post-Flower, and post-Gone Home world. That sounded really pretentious, let's try again. God of War was no doubt great for its time, but as time marches on, it becomes clear that God of War, like the rest of us, is merely mortal.
    Expand

See all 209 User Reviews