• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
God of War Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 763 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the power of the Gods and embark on a merciless quest as Kratos, an ex-Spartan warrior driven to destroy Ares, the God of War. Armed with lethal double chainblades, Kratos must carve through mythology's darkest creatures including Medusa, Cyclops, the Hydra and more, while solvingUnleash the power of the Gods and embark on a merciless quest as Kratos, an ex-Spartan warrior driven to destroy Ares, the God of War. Armed with lethal double chainblades, Kratos must carve through mythology's darkest creatures including Medusa, Cyclops, the Hydra and more, while solving intricate puzzles in breathtaking environments. Driven by pure revenge, nothing can stop Kratos from achieving absolution. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. While playing God of War, I honestly found it difficult to resist the urge to simply genuflect and be humbled to be in the presence of such digital divinity, this god among games. [Apr 2005, p.122]
  2. The complete package, and I believe it’s the best game on the PS2. The gameplay is gripping and the story is so good, my wife wouldn’t let me play through the end of the game without her present.
  3. God of War's control and combo scheme is as much a work of art as the game's presentation, which rivals a Hollywood sand-and-sandals epic. And you rarely find puzzles this clever and well integrated in other hack-n-slash adventures.
  4. God of War is a stylish, gory and challenging action game that rewards you for skill and persistence. One of the best action titles to be released on the PlayStation 2 so far.
  5. The amazing levels don't contribute to the game's magnificence alone. More so, it's the way in which the moving characters are all just right on the money.
  6. With virtually no load times this game rivals some of the best Xbox games. The character models are excellent and really excel at instilling a sense of awe at the gargantuan proportions of some of the enemies and Gods.
  7. Heart-in-mouth joy from this frantic and bloody hack-fest. [Jan 2007, p.106]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 210
  1. TomL.
    Jan 31, 2009
    10
    Amazing!
  2. KhaledS.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    The best action game ever on ps2. Cratos is outstanding as a hero to play with. But I think he lacs in balance when he is on top of a bar or The best action game ever on ps2. Cratos is outstanding as a hero to play with. But I think he lacs in balance when he is on top of a bar or something. Sony should give the Balance as Prince of Persia has. Expand
  3. LV
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    The best game ever made for PS2.
  4. JamesC.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    By far the best game for the PS2. Beautiful storyline. Unique upgradeable combat moves. Can't think of any reason why people are going By far the best game for the PS2. Beautiful storyline. Unique upgradeable combat moves. Can't think of any reason why people are going as low as 1's or even 0's here. I'll be buying the PS3 solely for GOW3. Expand
  5. MikailaK.
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    Amazing--this may be the best PS2 action game released. There's so much detail and passion in this game and it shows in the details. The Amazing--this may be the best PS2 action game released. There's so much detail and passion in this game and it shows in the details. The final package easily blows away "Devil May Cry 3" and Kratos makes Dante look like a hippie. I've never had so much fun meting out punishment (except with "RE4"). The only complaints I have are minimal: a few frustrating camera views and that rather silly sex game (it kind of diminished the whole revenge-for-family angle, and didn't quite titillate me--maybe because I'm a girl). I also would've liked more than three boss fight; that final one was kind of a pushover. But other than that, this game is a gem. It's not as fun or as stunning as the superlative "Resident Evil 4" or even "Splinter Cell:: Chaos Theory", but it's definitely the best PS2 game out this year. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Before Shadow of the Colossus, the original God of War was my favorite PS2 game. And who could blame me? It's unbelievable!!

    Not only is
    Before Shadow of the Colossus, the original God of War was my favorite PS2 game. And who could blame me? It's unbelievable!!

    Not only is the action over-satisfyingly gory and intense, but the story of Kratos is surprisingly fascinating! The graphics, for its time, were the best in its genre. The mixture of Greek mythology and relentless violence is both intriguing and awesome!

    If you are looking for an extremely violent but unbelievably well executed action game, pick this up! It's a definite must-have for any hardcore gamer!
    Expand
  7. KavveenK.
    Mar 31, 2005
    0
    What's the use all u do is fight?

See all 210 User Reviews