Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 9, 2001
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 281

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Themag
    Nov 3, 2004
    6
    I, sadly, have played it TOO LONG!! So, there's no "challenge" playing it any longer. But, I had a lot of fun during my "practise-hours" indeed. Great game though. As for now, I DEFINITELY have to get my hands on the followwer to the series. GT 4!!! But, of course, that game isn't available for a couple of month's.. =/
  2. JamieR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    5
    This game is no where near as good as gt4 and i can't believe people are saying it is. To start off with it takes a while to get going since you only have 18K to start with and you can only get one decent car which handles rubbish anyway. And the endurance races are anoying because you have to drive all of it. And the variety of cars okay but again not as good gt4. So basically if This game is no where near as good as gt4 and i can't believe people are saying it is. To start off with it takes a while to get going since you only have 18K to start with and you can only get one decent car which handles rubbish anyway. And the endurance races are anoying because you have to drive all of it. And the variety of cars okay but again not as good gt4. So basically if you are looking for a good racing sim, forget GT3, get GT4. Expand
  3. SteveB.
    Jul 18, 2003
    5
    Great game but there is a lack of cars due to the removal of the used car section.
  4. Midnightclubrules(Sam)
    Sep 27, 2004
    5
    Some entertaining moments and beatiful graphics, are genrally overcome by the frustrating controls and experience. Long ive MC2.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    5
    This game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter saysThis game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter says you are going about 70mph, it looks more like 40 mph. A passable game. Collapse
  6. AnthonyM.
    Oct 3, 2001
    7
    The base engine is as usual great. I-link idea is absolutely astounding! I-link support WELL lets not talk about it. Worth every dime when U figure it out.
  7. GiancarloS.
    Feb 5, 2002
    7
    It's a Grand game, but it's missing the fun of Grand Theft, this game has the best graphics, great sound and a lot of depth....But not that much fun.
  8. AndrewC.
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    This game should only interest those who love cars. As much as I love the gorgeous visuals and want to love the gameplay, it's just too realistic. When I want to turn left, I have to perfectly slow down, corner, and speed up with absolute precision. When I need to earn a license, I have to constantly retry each challenge over and over. It's eternally frustrating for somebody This game should only interest those who love cars. As much as I love the gorgeous visuals and want to love the gameplay, it's just too realistic. When I want to turn left, I have to perfectly slow down, corner, and speed up with absolute precision. When I need to earn a license, I have to constantly retry each challenge over and over. It's eternally frustrating for somebody like me who is not particularly good at this kind of simulation. I'll take Burnout or Mario Kart any day. Expand
  9. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    7
    This game is fun and addicting at first, but you get bored faster than you should. It does have depth though. The building up of cars is fun, but to race certain courses you need to get licenses that are hard to get. Plus, you race the same 7 or 8 courses over and over with different cars, and against harder opponents. It gets lame. Fun at first though. Its cheap now, so you really This game is fun and addicting at first, but you get bored faster than you should. It does have depth though. The building up of cars is fun, but to race certain courses you need to get licenses that are hard to get. Plus, you race the same 7 or 8 courses over and over with different cars, and against harder opponents. It gets lame. Fun at first though. Its cheap now, so you really can't go wrong. Expand
  10. skys
    May 26, 2008
    7
    whilst its true that gt3 looks great with all its bell's and whistles its hard for me to ignore how lame the ai is, if this games a sim then it has to be banger racing, but then you'd want to see some twisted metal after hitting the wall or another car which you dont get, so what exactly is being simulated perhaps its the top speed of some dull car you have to drive around in whilst its true that gt3 looks great with all its bell's and whistles its hard for me to ignore how lame the ai is, if this games a sim then it has to be banger racing, but then you'd want to see some twisted metal after hitting the wall or another car which you dont get, so what exactly is being simulated perhaps its the top speed of some dull car you have to drive around in for hours, dose anyone actually bother with half the crap cars put in some of these driving games, it would be nice to feel like the main aspects of racing were dealt with before banding the word simulation around, a whole lot of tuneing options and technical shpeel carnt do anything to rectify the unreal way in which the bot cars behave, maybe the guys and girls at gt hq should concentrate on what matters and prune away the crap giving us less so we can have more =) Expand
  11. Nov 6, 2014
    7
    It's an OK racing game, i enjoyed Gran Turismo 2 and 4 much more than 3. What i like about this game are the graphics, and some new cars and courses that never was on Gran Turismo 2, and great licenses.

    The racing on this game was too repetive, for example on many tournaments you will find the same 20 lap-course, it gets boring to play the same course 20 laps again and again...
  12. Oct 8, 2012
    0
    This game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter saysThis game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter says you are going about 70mph, it looks more like 40 mph. A passable game. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. GT3 simply is one of the best looking racers to date on any system. In fact, it's one of the best looking games available for the PS2, even being two years past its initial release date.
  2. Better physics, smarter opponents, and a huge leap in its visual presentation make GT3 a racer well worth playing.
  3. The gameplay is rock solid and the graphical upgrade makes everything feel fresh and new.