• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 9, 2001
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 276 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 276

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeM.
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the best and will always be the best. It challenges your patience as well as your skill.
  2. Jack
    Aug 13, 2001
    9
    Been playing this game far too much (according to my girlfriend.) It is great. Graphics are great, the driving is great. Only thing that bugs me is the computer controlled cars AS (Artificial stupidity). I mean they follow a preprogrammed course, and that's it. In a game this great every little weakness shines through, and while otherwise a great game the AI can be sometimes pretty annoying.
  3. Benzino
    Sep 20, 2001
    10
    Without a doubt the best racing game ever. It will take months to beat this game and that's if you play 24/7. It's not a perfect game but has there ever been a perfect game? The best graphics ever and one of the hardest games to complete!
  4. NaamanB.
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    The most superior racing sim to date!! Visuals are 1st class, music is plausible, engine noises actually sound like the real thing and is different for each of the 150 cars. Realism is unrivaled; even the famed Skip Barber Racing School gave tips. Addiction factor is very good if you know what you are doing. A hard game, a Playstation hallmark.
  5. WilliamW.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    Forget 11, this game deserves a 20. It is the best racing ever. Quite possibaly the best game of all time.
  6. Kewlkat
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Imagine the most graphically enhanced racing game on ps2 with unmatched precision controls and an unbeatable single player mode. Now top it off with fantasy cars you will never be able to drive in real life, and a song playlist that's to die for. Ok, are you finished? Ok, now go buy Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec, and don't be surprised your expectations were topped.
  7. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Even by the standards of the day, GT3 A-Spec has unbelievable graphics and unmatched driving physics. Framerate is smooth, there are a lot of cars to choose from, a full range of adjustable driving assists and some of the most realistic driving you will ever come across in a racing game. The licesnes are fun and gold medal is actually difficult unlike most modern games. There are a lot ofEven by the standards of the day, GT3 A-Spec has unbelievable graphics and unmatched driving physics. Framerate is smooth, there are a lot of cars to choose from, a full range of adjustable driving assists and some of the most realistic driving you will ever come across in a racing game. The licesnes are fun and gold medal is actually difficult unlike most modern games. There are a lot of cars that are hugely detailed (although admittedly some cars do look noticeably better than others) and controls are simple, responsive and make every corner satisfying. The choice of tracks is dissapointing but you still get some decent ones like Mazda Laguna Seca. The amount of content in this game, the replay value and addictiveness of trying to beat best times even on livesnses where you drive in a straight line and stop inside a box means that it's a game which can be enjoyed at any point, anytime. The attention to detail combined with its simplicity but hidden complexity in trying to get best times makes it both accessible, fun and hardcore. If they added more tracks this would be the ultimate simulator for its time. All it would be missing is interior view. Expand
  8. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Incredible game, amazing graphics for the time and pretty much the best driving simulator that had come out at the time. This game had insane hype and it's one of those rare cases where a game this hyped lives up to it and then some.
  9. CrazyDude
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    This is by far the worst game ever and I'm being completely honest with you. I give it 10 out of 10 and my cat ate it. Your Friend, Spanky.
  10. Themag
    Nov 3, 2004
    6
    I, sadly, have played it TOO LONG!! So, there's no "challenge" playing it any longer. But, I had a lot of fun during my "practise-hours" indeed. Great game though. As for now, I DEFINITELY have to get my hands on the followwer to the series. GT 4!!! But, of course, that game isn't available for a couple of month's.. =/
  11. EdgardG.
    Jun 23, 2005
    3
    I seem to be the only one who didnt like this game. The car is going 60mph and it seems like its going 20. If u like speed and action youll hate this game, but if u like graphics, youll like it....I HATED IT. It came with my ps2 and i played it once or twice! Its wicked boring!
  12. ToddT.
    Aug 7, 2001
    3
    Great graphics, but lacked something. Found the game to be very boring. Owned it for 5 days and traded it in for "Wild Wild Racing," which is a totally awesome and underrated game!!
  13. JamieR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    5
    This game is no where near as good as gt4 and i can't believe people are saying it is. To start off with it takes a while to get going since you only have 18K to start with and you can only get one decent car which handles rubbish anyway. And the endurance races are anoying because you have to drive all of it. And the variety of cars okay but again not as good gt4. So basically if This game is no where near as good as gt4 and i can't believe people are saying it is. To start off with it takes a while to get going since you only have 18K to start with and you can only get one decent car which handles rubbish anyway. And the endurance races are anoying because you have to drive all of it. And the variety of cars okay but again not as good gt4. So basically if you are looking for a good racing sim, forget GT3, get GT4. Expand
  14. ArkyR.
    May 4, 2002
    1
    I gave it a 1 because there are no guns. YOU NEED GUNS!
  15. LilG.
    Jun 14, 2002
    9
    Buy this game! Buy a gameshark too! Way to hard. Awesome graphics!
  16. Erin
    Jan 22, 2002
    2
    Excellent graphics, but the game play sucks.
  17. PhilN>
    May 3, 2002
    1
    It sucks. It's way too long to get money and it's boring.
  18. SteveB.
    Jul 18, 2003
    5
    Great game but there is a lack of cars due to the removal of the used car section.
  19. Hype
    Jul 4, 2004
    3
    Bad sense of speed, bad AI, not very realistic.
  20. JasonL.
    Jun 17, 2002
    1
    Overall sucks.
  21. Midnightclubrules(Sam)
    Sep 27, 2004
    5
    Some entertaining moments and beatiful graphics, are genrally overcome by the frustrating controls and experience. Long ive MC2.
  22. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Ever since this game, every racing game has been compared to it. It's just the greatest racing game ever. So much has been rightfully said. If you have yet to play it, wtf
  23. Oct 8, 2012
    5
    This game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter saysThis game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter says you are going about 70mph, it looks more like 40 mph. A passable game. Expand
  24. NateMiracle
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    New, phat, fast cars. Better graphics, and music. Additional tracks but only 150+ cars. but still an addictive racing game!
  25. SashaK.
    Dec 1, 2001
    8
    GT3 kicks ass! What is up with all these formulas and stuff? From GT 1 all the way up the game was based on typical cars racing like the scca. While the graphics in part 3 are amazing I miss the 500 car selection from part 2. Cars that no one cares about have been put in this game for no reason they took out the Eclipse which was in the lineup in both of earlier parts. IN part 2 a certain GT3 kicks ass! What is up with all these formulas and stuff? From GT 1 all the way up the game was based on typical cars racing like the scca. While the graphics in part 3 are amazing I miss the 500 car selection from part 2. Cars that no one cares about have been put in this game for no reason they took out the Eclipse which was in the lineup in both of earlier parts. IN part 2 a certain amount of hp is allowed in every race and that was cool because it kept a challenge in the game. While talks about tougher A.I I?ve had no problem with the game. The soundtrack is terrible there is no real racing music. Rock is NOT racing music Techno and some rap IS racing music. But all an all GT3 could have seen a LOT better but its still a great game. Expand
  26. DavidS.
    Aug 30, 2001
    8
    Overall, the game is beatiful! Great graphics, sounds, and lighting effects. There aren't as many cars as before, but 150+ is still plenty. On the downside, it takes way too long to acquire enough money for a car that competes. Also, I'm disappointed that the used car lot is gone now. It's a great game, but it feels like the first GT with better graphics. Nothing new here, Overall, the game is beatiful! Great graphics, sounds, and lighting effects. There aren't as many cars as before, but 150+ is still plenty. On the downside, it takes way too long to acquire enough money for a car that competes. Also, I'm disappointed that the used car lot is gone now. It's a great game, but it feels like the first GT with better graphics. Nothing new here, but I'd still recommend it! Expand
  27. TicfordGuy
    Jan 14, 2002
    9
    The Graphics and the different varieys of cars are great. Get the Ford Falcon XR8 (tickford) It ROARS!!!
  28. BrianB.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    Just bought this game and I can't put the damn controller down, I haven't put any other game in my ps2 since.
  29. B.S.
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    Great but the shadows that go over your car sometimes really bug me! You should rent before you buy... There really isn't to much to say about a perfect game.
  30. EdwinM.
    Jun 30, 2002
    10
    This game, although flawed in some ways, is the best console racing game I have ever played. The physics are great. The graphics are good, though not as good as, say, Project Gotham Racing or RalliSport Challenge for the XBOX. There are nowhere near as many cars as in GT2, and the ability to do racing modification is missed. There is also no used car lot. The AI could use some work, but This game, although flawed in some ways, is the best console racing game I have ever played. The physics are great. The graphics are good, though not as good as, say, Project Gotham Racing or RalliSport Challenge for the XBOX. There are nowhere near as many cars as in GT2, and the ability to do racing modification is missed. There is also no used car lot. The AI could use some work, but it's not all that bad. Overall, this is a great game. All that's left to say is: Bring on Gran Turismo 4!!! Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. GT3 simply is one of the best looking racers to date on any system. In fact, it's one of the best looking games available for the PS2, even being two years past its initial release date.
  2. Better physics, smarter opponents, and a huge leap in its visual presentation make GT3 a racer well worth playing.
  3. The gameplay is rock solid and the graphical upgrade makes everything feel fresh and new.