Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 9, 2001
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 279

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2015
    8
    If you're looking for a realistic racing game, if you're looking for a graphically pleasing game, if you're looking for a game that let's you beef up your cars, then look no further, because Gran Tourismo 3 fits all of the above.
  2. Nov 6, 2014
    7
    It's an OK racing game, i enjoyed Gran Turismo 2 and 4 much more than 3. What i like about this game are the graphics, and some new cars and courses that never was on Gran Turismo 2, and great licenses.

    The racing on this game was too repetive, for example on many tournaments you will find the same 20 lap-course, it gets boring to play the same course 20 laps again and again...
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    This is the best racing game i have ever played!
    featuring over 180 cars, with an incredible graphics (for a ps2 game).
    the physics is really great.
    this game is really the first GT game that change my life forever.
    ive even learned to drive from gt3.
    the best racing game that i have ever played (over 400 hours on it)
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    4
    I can't wrap my head around that this game has a 95 on Metacritic. Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec is just plain overrated. The visuals, car designs, and soundtrack are really good, but that's all. The controls are awkward and sluggish. When you move left (or right), you are locked in moving left until you move right. You try it for yourself and see how it is. But I must be seeing things because II can't wrap my head around that this game has a 95 on Metacritic. Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec is just plain overrated. The visuals, car designs, and soundtrack are really good, but that's all. The controls are awkward and sluggish. When you move left (or right), you are locked in moving left until you move right. You try it for yourself and see how it is. But I must be seeing things because I think I'm the only one who's mentioned this. You might say that I need a better car (since I just started playing), but that right there is another problem. Any drivingracing game should never be that dependent on the car selection. That is a life lesson on racing games. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Ever since this game, every racing game has been compared to it. It's just the greatest racing game ever. So much has been rightfully said. If you have yet to play it, wtf
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I remember this game well, it's still the best racing game that I've ever played. I've spent countless hours on this game for years. So many cars to buy, so many championships, I don't think I've ever got to complete it fully due to the difficulty to gain the 'S' license, but the game itself is so diverse. There's something for everyone. Highly enjoyable, beautiful songs, beautifulI remember this game well, it's still the best racing game that I've ever played. I've spent countless hours on this game for years. So many cars to buy, so many championships, I don't think I've ever got to complete it fully due to the difficulty to gain the 'S' license, but the game itself is so diverse. There's something for everyone. Highly enjoyable, beautiful songs, beautiful graphics for 2001.. A triumph. Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2012
    5
    This game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter saysThis game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter says you are going about 70mph, it looks more like 40 mph. A passable game. Expand
  8. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Even by the standards of the day, GT3 A-Spec has unbelievable graphics and unmatched driving physics. Framerate is smooth, there are a lot of cars to choose from, a full range of adjustable driving assists and some of the most realistic driving you will ever come across in a racing game. The licesnes are fun and gold medal is actually difficult unlike most modern games. There are a lot ofEven by the standards of the day, GT3 A-Spec has unbelievable graphics and unmatched driving physics. Framerate is smooth, there are a lot of cars to choose from, a full range of adjustable driving assists and some of the most realistic driving you will ever come across in a racing game. The licesnes are fun and gold medal is actually difficult unlike most modern games. There are a lot of cars that are hugely detailed (although admittedly some cars do look noticeably better than others) and controls are simple, responsive and make every corner satisfying. The choice of tracks is dissapointing but you still get some decent ones like Mazda Laguna Seca. The amount of content in this game, the replay value and addictiveness of trying to beat best times even on livesnses where you drive in a straight line and stop inside a box means that it's a game which can be enjoyed at any point, anytime. The attention to detail combined with its simplicity but hidden complexity in trying to get best times makes it both accessible, fun and hardcore. If they added more tracks this would be the ultimate simulator for its time. All it would be missing is interior view. Collapse
  9. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    This was the only Gran Turismo I owned and I thought it was very good. The graphics at the time were phenomenal and the car selection was deep. I am not a fan of racing games as this was one of the only ones I've ever owned, but it was definitely a title worth having. The only downfall I think was that you had to do some pretty repetitive tasks to accumulate money. The big thing I wantedThis was the only Gran Turismo I owned and I thought it was very good. The graphics at the time were phenomenal and the car selection was deep. I am not a fan of racing games as this was one of the only ones I've ever owned, but it was definitely a title worth having. The only downfall I think was that you had to do some pretty repetitive tasks to accumulate money. The big thing I wanted to see in this game though that wasn't present was damage on the cars, I've been told that this would cost the creators too much? Expand
  10. May 29, 2012
    8
    Amazing third part of the series. As usual, includes more cars, more tracks and more features than previous games. However, GT3 don't have anything new aside from the amazing graphics. They could have implemented some kind of damage system, more night tracks or some weather effects. Still, the best racing game in PS2.
  11. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    now i wasnt into GT 1 or 2 very much but 3 just changed my whole view of this series . its a driving sim done to pretty much perfection . you get over 500 cars a ton of tracks the controls are fantastic steering wheel or controler i found worked great. the graphics in there day looked fantastic and the music was pretty good some nice tracks like the cult's she sells sanctaury and more.now i wasnt into GT 1 or 2 very much but 3 just changed my whole view of this series . its a driving sim done to pretty much perfection . you get over 500 cars a ton of tracks the controls are fantastic steering wheel or controler i found worked great. the graphics in there day looked fantastic and the music was pretty good some nice tracks like the cult's she sells sanctaury and more. there are a ton of races in this game and to complete it will take you a long long time . i spent over 100 hours i9n this game and it stands to me the best racing game ever made . Expand
  12. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    One of the best racing games ever made for the Playstation 2. Killer soundtrack, great graphics, and fast cars make this game legendary for the racing genre.
  13. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Incredible game, amazing graphics for the time and pretty much the best driving simulator that had come out at the time. This game had insane hype and it's one of those rare cases where a game this hyped lives up to it and then some.
  14. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec is a nice racing simulator game. The games graphics showcase what the PlayStation 2 can do, from the design of the cars (which are identical to their real life counterparts) to the lovely track design. The racing is smooth and the cars handle great. You can also tune them up with turbo's, better suspension and tyres. There are a selection of events to try out in theGran Turismo 3: A-Spec is a nice racing simulator game. The games graphics showcase what the PlayStation 2 can do, from the design of the cars (which are identical to their real life counterparts) to the lovely track design. The racing is smooth and the cars handle great. You can also tune them up with turbo's, better suspension and tyres. There are a selection of events to try out in the Simulation (Career) mode like endurance races, Formula 1 races (Fictional Polyphony designed F1 racers)and Rally stages. Also there is an arcade mode to try out if you want to have some fun or play some multiplayer. There are a nice selection of courses ranging from real life to fictional circuits like Laguna Seca and Deep Forest Raceway. A couple of complains though drag this game down: The endurance events are an eyesore and boring (some endurance events have you racing for 2.5 hours), the Test Course is a boring race track to race around (basically its just a big Oval) and no skill needed to drive round it, there are 150 cars or so to buy (or win) and race, which is considerably lower than the previous installment's 600 cars (Gran Turismo 2) and because there is no damage in the game, you can pretty much smash into other racers or walls and survive. However Gran Turismo 3 is a great racing game and should appeal to fans of car simulator games. Expand
  15. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    I need to understand why there was so much hype for this game.Why did it get so high reviews?I've played it over and over,like I do all games before I review,and I took in account the year it came out,the innovations it had-everything.I have to tell you that this game does not deserve more than a straight up 8.That is the perfect score but everybody was so oooh and eeeh over thisI need to understand why there was so much hype for this game.Why did it get so high reviews?I've played it over and over,like I do all games before I review,and I took in account the year it came out,the innovations it had-everything.I have to tell you that this game does not deserve more than a straight up 8.That is the perfect score but everybody was so oooh and eeeh over this game.Same with the first one.Gran Turismo 2 is the best of the bunch,because it's game play was tight as can be with over 500 cars in 1999.also there was no competition against Gran turismo 3, at the time,at all.If there would of just been 1 good driving game back in 2001 it would of been a whole different story.Then Sega Gt 2002 came out which had nothing on this game until PGR 2 came out in 2003 and that was finally a driving game that took the crown from Gran Turismo 3-in a heartbeat!I know games and I know that this game in an 8 and who ever is reading this,if your interested in getting a driving game,simulation or not,get any of the 3 forza games or the burnout games,whatever is to your tastes.Don't get this unless you want to play a game for hours and hours and get no enjoyment from it.Like driving around the block for no reason,to go no where,get what I'm saying. Expand
  16. Reggie
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    I finished Grand Turismo 3 and then went to 4 and i was totally dissapointed. Very Choppy Feel and the smoothness was totally taken away. i went back and played 3 again. it is the best game ever. The Cars look sooo realistic and the way it drives down the track is amazing. The bumbs, the curves, the skidding? Common, u dont get that in any of the newer driving games, especially like GT 3. I finished Grand Turismo 3 and then went to 4 and i was totally dissapointed. Very Choppy Feel and the smoothness was totally taken away. i went back and played 3 again. it is the best game ever. The Cars look sooo realistic and the way it drives down the track is amazing. The bumbs, the curves, the skidding? Common, u dont get that in any of the newer driving games, especially like GT 3. Dont get me wrong, The need for speeds, Midnight DUD edition and some other driving games are ok but the GT 3 has a realistic reaslism that you wont find even on todays Systems. EVEN ON A OLDER TV IT'S STILL ENJOYABLE. i think i made my point. Good night all. I got 15 laps to run. Expand
  17. JanneJ
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    Very great and addictive game. The reason for 9 is that there isnt enough cars comparing to GT2 or GT4. It is so fun!
  18. skys
    May 26, 2008
    7
    whilst its true that gt3 looks great with all its bell's and whistles its hard for me to ignore how lame the ai is, if this games a sim then it has to be banger racing, but then you'd want to see some twisted metal after hitting the wall or another car which you dont get, so what exactly is being simulated perhaps its the top speed of some dull car you have to drive around in whilst its true that gt3 looks great with all its bell's and whistles its hard for me to ignore how lame the ai is, if this games a sim then it has to be banger racing, but then you'd want to see some twisted metal after hitting the wall or another car which you dont get, so what exactly is being simulated perhaps its the top speed of some dull car you have to drive around in for hours, dose anyone actually bother with half the crap cars put in some of these driving games, it would be nice to feel like the main aspects of racing were dealt with before banding the word simulation around, a whole lot of tuneing options and technical shpeel carnt do anything to rectify the unreal way in which the bot cars behave, maybe the guys and girls at gt hq should concentrate on what matters and prune away the crap giving us less so we can have more =) Expand
  19. SqueM.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Whoever says it's not as good or didn't like this game, you should be ashamed of yourself. This game is the best, even better than any of the Gran Turismo 1,2 and 4 and the Tourist Trophy game. This is when the PS2 reached the peak of the system's popularity. Without this, the PS2 wouldn't be as popular today. For people that said the car is slow, that's what NA Whoever says it's not as good or didn't like this game, you should be ashamed of yourself. This game is the best, even better than any of the Gran Turismo 1,2 and 4 and the Tourist Trophy game. This is when the PS2 reached the peak of the system's popularity. Without this, the PS2 wouldn't be as popular today. For people that said the car is slow, that's what NA and Turbo engines are for. Then, your car will be very fast. I hereby named Gran Turismo 3 the best racing game ever to grace a system (even better than Need for Speed, although that is an good racing game though). Expand
  20. Kewlkat
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Imagine the most graphically enhanced racing game on ps2 with unmatched precision controls and an unbeatable single player mode. Now top it off with fantasy cars you will never be able to drive in real life, and a song playlist that's to die for. Ok, are you finished? Ok, now go buy Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec, and don't be surprised your expectations were topped.
  21. JevanieM.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    It's an addictive game play it once and you can't stop playing it.
  22. JamieR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    5
    This game is no where near as good as gt4 and i can't believe people are saying it is. To start off with it takes a while to get going since you only have 18K to start with and you can only get one decent car which handles rubbish anyway. And the endurance races are anoying because you have to drive all of it. And the variety of cars okay but again not as good gt4. So basically if This game is no where near as good as gt4 and i can't believe people are saying it is. To start off with it takes a while to get going since you only have 18K to start with and you can only get one decent car which handles rubbish anyway. And the endurance races are anoying because you have to drive all of it. And the variety of cars okay but again not as good gt4. So basically if you are looking for a good racing sim, forget GT3, get GT4. Expand
  23. AndrewC.
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    This game should only interest those who love cars. As much as I love the gorgeous visuals and want to love the gameplay, it's just too realistic. When I want to turn left, I have to perfectly slow down, corner, and speed up with absolute precision. When I need to earn a license, I have to constantly retry each challenge over and over. It's eternally frustrating for somebody This game should only interest those who love cars. As much as I love the gorgeous visuals and want to love the gameplay, it's just too realistic. When I want to turn left, I have to perfectly slow down, corner, and speed up with absolute precision. When I need to earn a license, I have to constantly retry each challenge over and over. It's eternally frustrating for somebody like me who is not particularly good at this kind of simulation. I'll take Burnout or Mario Kart any day. Expand
  24. VagelisT.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    The best driving sim. I have ever play! Far away better than GT4.
  25. AlejandromartinezA.
    Jun 23, 2005
    9
    Esta bie bergas este juego.
  26. EdgardG.
    Jun 23, 2005
    3
    I seem to be the only one who didnt like this game. The car is going 60mph and it seems like its going 20. If u like speed and action youll hate this game, but if u like graphics, youll like it....I HATED IT. It came with my ps2 and i played it once or twice! Its wicked boring!
  27. CrazyDude
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    This is by far the worst game ever and I'm being completely honest with you. I give it 10 out of 10 and my cat ate it. Your Friend, Spanky.
  28. BobJ.
    Feb 27, 2005
    8
    Pros: excellent gameplay, the most realistic driving game ever, refined graphics, simple controls cons: needs more simple cars like camrys and accords overview: it would have gotten my full recomendations if it had more simple cars, but if your looking for supercars and high performance exotics, this is your best buy.
  29. StephenC.
    Dec 28, 2004
    8
    This game is okay if you want car games, and you can spend as long as you want on a single track. This game is highly improved from previous versions, such as Gran Turismo 2, which I would rate 6. This has been improved on one disc, and has an impressive range of cars, from Class C (City) to Class S (Speed). This game is okay, but the Liscense it too hard to achieve.
  30. Themag
    Nov 3, 2004
    6
    I, sadly, have played it TOO LONG!! So, there's no "challenge" playing it any longer. But, I had a lot of fun during my "practise-hours" indeed. Great game though. As for now, I DEFINITELY have to get my hands on the followwer to the series. GT 4!!! But, of course, that game isn't available for a couple of month's.. =/
  31. Cheetah
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Great game,..very real and amazing graphics for a race simulator. also, the car customization is pro!!!
  32. RazorX.
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    Absolutely, unbelievably, cool! This game is the best I've seen on PS2.
  33. Midnightclubrules(Sam)
    Sep 27, 2004
    5
    Some entertaining moments and beatiful graphics, are genrally overcome by the frustrating controls and experience. Long ive MC2.
  34. KevH.
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    It's The Best.
  35. RickJ
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    This is by far the best racing game out I love all of the cars. I just can't wait until GTA4 comes out.
  36. Hype
    Jul 4, 2004
    3
    Bad sense of speed, bad AI, not very realistic.
  37. MarkMD
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    Lets just say Race on.
  38. DavidH.
    May 2, 2004
    10
    This is the best racing game ever. And it will be, until GT4 comes out.
  39. JustinM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    9
    Not much to dislike here, this game is so awesome, but GT4 will blow it away.
  40. TyC.
    Feb 23, 2004
    10
    This game is by far THE BEST driving game around. It has the perfect, most realistic controls. I can't believe it is this good. ***Hint: On one car, you can 'tweak' it, and this car will now go over 1111 mph!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It doesn't just show it on the meter, it realisticly does!!! Amazing!!!
  41. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    Spanish Comment: Que buen juego... que buenas graficas... buena musica, buen simulador... de los juegos que me han dejado mas contento de comprar este! Recomendadisimo!
  42. ArmanA.
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    This game is the most incredible game I had ever bought.I had a friend who wanted to buy a PS2 and wondered what game will he buy?"Well why don't you try GT3 A-Spec?"So he bought it! Until Know he's been playing it again and again! Now he love cars because of this game.Because this game is unexplainable because it is almost near perfection, like stability control,engine This game is the most incredible game I had ever bought.I had a friend who wanted to buy a PS2 and wondered what game will he buy?"Well why don't you try GT3 A-Spec?"So he bought it! Until Know he's been playing it again and again! Now he love cars because of this game.Because this game is unexplainable because it is almost near perfection, like stability control,engine modification,weight reduction and many modification upgrades.That's what we want from a car. That's why it worth a 10 STAR!! Expand
  43. SeabronS.
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    I have the game, and I like it very much.So far I have 42 cars most of them I have bought.I also have 2 indy cars, their the fastest car on the game.
  44. BillboB.
    Jul 21, 2003
    10
    This is the best ever racing game!!!! The cars and tracks are stunning and the graphics are unreal. This game RULES!
  45. SteveB.
    Jul 18, 2003
    5
    Great game but there is a lack of cars due to the removal of the used car section.
  46. MikeJ.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    The greatest game ever.
  47. AshleyT.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    The best.
  48. NaamanB.
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    The most superior racing sim to date!! Visuals are 1st class, music is plausible, engine noises actually sound like the real thing and is different for each of the 150 cars. Realism is unrivaled; even the famed Skip Barber Racing School gave tips. Addiction factor is very good if you know what you are doing. A hard game, a Playstation hallmark.
  49. JimC.
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    One of the best racing game ever made.
  50. JoeM.
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the best and will always be the best. It challenges your patience as well as your skill.
  51. MatthewW.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    This game is da bomb. Definitely the best driving simulator ever. the cars are tight and the course are bril, i can't wait to get a steering wheel.;->
  52. RyanM.
    Apr 9, 2003
    8
    I love the variety of cars you can choose from. Fun, great graphics and overall its a good game if your a diehard fan.
  53. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    7
    This game is fun and addicting at first, but you get bored faster than you should. It does have depth though. The building up of cars is fun, but to race certain courses you need to get licenses that are hard to get. Plus, you race the same 7 or 8 courses over and over with different cars, and against harder opponents. It gets lame. Fun at first though. Its cheap now, so you really This game is fun and addicting at first, but you get bored faster than you should. It does have depth though. The building up of cars is fun, but to race certain courses you need to get licenses that are hard to get. Plus, you race the same 7 or 8 courses over and over with different cars, and against harder opponents. It gets lame. Fun at first though. Its cheap now, so you really can't go wrong. Expand
  54. JZ
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    I'm a mechanic in real life, and this is my favorite racing game by far. The realism is un matched!!!
  55. junior
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    É o melhor dos jogaos de corrida. ate fui.
  56. AnthonyL.
    Mar 22, 2003
    8
    It's realy fun but when u played like for 30 minutes u will start to get realy bbbbooooorrrreeeedddd.
  57. JoshM.
    Mar 18, 2003
    10
    THIS GAME IS THE BOMB!!!!!
  58. LennyB.
    Mar 5, 2003
    10
    This is the best game in the world so far. When i just bought the game i was hooked on it for so long. Even now (almost 3 years after i bought it), I have just mastered the art of drifts. I can drift any track u throw at me except test course. I am also near perfect at tuning. sorry if you take this as bragging but i am listing a few of the numerous things there are to do in this wonderful game.
  59. CozinzladKFC
    Feb 28, 2003
    9
    A masterpiece. You know the score allready, superlative graphics, challenging realisitic handling and longitivity. Just need to work on the AI cars in GT4 as they are predictable on GT3 and this is the only gripe.
  60. Beavis
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    Cool.
  61. NateMiracle
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    New, phat, fast cars. Better graphics, and music. Additional tracks but only 150+ cars. but still an addictive racing game!
  62. TomP.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    I fell completely in love with this game the second I picked up my DUALSHOCK2. The music is amazing, the gameplay is intense and gripping, and the graphics are realistic and vibrant. The realism of the cars and the eviroments of this game are amazing and bring out the Sony Playstation 2's real abilities. And at only $30 (in Canada anyways...) it is practically a steal. This game will I fell completely in love with this game the second I picked up my DUALSHOCK2. The music is amazing, the gameplay is intense and gripping, and the graphics are realistic and vibrant. The realism of the cars and the eviroments of this game are amazing and bring out the Sony Playstation 2's real abilities. And at only $30 (in Canada anyways...) it is practically a steal. This game will get your adrenaline flowing and your heart beating, and it will get your skills as a driver to soar. Gran Turismo 3 is the most technically and graphically advanced game you will ever play and have ever played on the PS2 (unless of course there may be plans of a GT4...) Pick this game up, you'll be glad you did. Expand
  63. VirusMan
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    I started off with a distinct dislike of any/all racing games. My friend showed me GT3 and after a few races I was hooked. The music, graphics and gameplay is superb. GT3 is by far the best racing game available.
  64. B.S.
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    Great but the shadows that go over your car sometimes really bug me! You should rent before you buy... There really isn't to much to say about a perfect game.
  65. EricC.
    Oct 2, 2002
    10
    This was the first next-gen game that I ever saw or played. And when I turned on my PS2 for the first time and saw GT3, all doubts I had for the system left me completely. I have never seen any game that has come this close to making anything this realistic. The driving is completely accurate to the real thing. The controls and great car music only add to what is already fantastic. If you This was the first next-gen game that I ever saw or played. And when I turned on my PS2 for the first time and saw GT3, all doubts I had for the system left me completely. I have never seen any game that has come this close to making anything this realistic. The driving is completely accurate to the real thing. The controls and great car music only add to what is already fantastic. If you don't like cars or racing, then there are still crappy, lower level car shoot'em ups (a.k.a., Twisted Metal: Black) to satisfy your needs. Attempts for racing games to be better than the GT series, like Project Gotham, have yet to reach this level of greatness. GT3 can only be beat by GT4 as being the best racing game ever made. Expand
  66. Timmy
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    This is the most awesome game ever. And I say f... Edwin M. You and your XBOX suck. PGR isn't realistic, and what the hell is a Kudos?
  67. SeanK.
    Aug 4, 2002
    10
    This is a very good game but at first it is really hard to get into it. But when you start getting it becomes very fun. Example: Get the F090/S indy car very fast and good handling.
  68. RobertG.
    Aug 1, 2002
    10
    This game rocks! Yeah, it's hard at first to get money... but hey, THAT'S LIFE! You just have to stick to it... after a week, I was to the point where I was winning all the cool, fast cars. NISSAN SKYLINES RULE!!!
  69. EricB.
    Jul 7, 2002
    9
    Cool, realistic but it gets boring once you try to get money.
  70. EdwinM.
    Jun 30, 2002
    10
    This game, although flawed in some ways, is the best console racing game I have ever played. The physics are great. The graphics are good, though not as good as, say, Project Gotham Racing or RalliSport Challenge for the XBOX. There are nowhere near as many cars as in GT2, and the ability to do racing modification is missed. There is also no used car lot. The AI could use some work, but This game, although flawed in some ways, is the best console racing game I have ever played. The physics are great. The graphics are good, though not as good as, say, Project Gotham Racing or RalliSport Challenge for the XBOX. There are nowhere near as many cars as in GT2, and the ability to do racing modification is missed. There is also no used car lot. The AI could use some work, but it's not all that bad. Overall, this is a great game. All that's left to say is: Bring on Gran Turismo 4!!! Expand
  71. [Anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2002
    9
    This game is not for renting, only buying. It rocks!!! Although, it does take a really long time to get money, and the cars are hard to drive. The realism is unbelieveable, even for a game that came out last year!! I love this game, but beware if you are not good at racing games.
  72. JasonL.
    Jun 17, 2002
    1
    Overall sucks.
  73. LilG.
    Jun 14, 2002
    9
    Buy this game! Buy a gameshark too! Way to hard. Awesome graphics!
  74. PeterD.
    May 12, 2002
    9
    Fun to start, then gets (a bit) boring...but...find the Polyphony 001/2, and it turns into the best F1 simulation you are ever likely to play. Monaco is an unbelieveable experience - you have to get a 1'11'.89 to know what I REALLY mean. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because this feature is frustratingly minimal. They should do a GT3 F1 exclusive edition or Fun to start, then gets (a bit) boring...but...find the Polyphony 001/2, and it turns into the best F1 simulation you are ever likely to play. Monaco is an unbelieveable experience - you have to get a 1'11'.89 to know what I REALLY mean. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because this feature is frustratingly minimal. They should do a GT3 F1 exclusive edition or something...I wouldnt leave the house. Expand
  75. ArkyR.
    May 4, 2002
    1
    I gave it a 1 because there are no guns. YOU NEED GUNS!
  76. PhilN>
    May 3, 2002
    1
    It sucks. It's way too long to get money and it's boring.
  77. LaramieS.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    This game has the best graphics. And it's real technical like you actually have to hit the brakes for a turn but on some games you can make a 180 hair-pin at like 150 mph. I like this game because you can win cars that you cant buy or even look at till you won em like the GT500 and the GTO and the DIABLO GT, the McLaren F1 and all of the F1 cars. The one bad thing is in the begining This game has the best graphics. And it's real technical like you actually have to hit the brakes for a turn but on some games you can make a 180 hair-pin at like 150 mph. I like this game because you can win cars that you cant buy or even look at till you won em like the GT500 and the GTO and the DIABLO GT, the McLaren F1 and all of the F1 cars. The one bad thing is in the begining its a little hard to rack up the credits. Expand
  78. NickB.
    Apr 6, 2002
    10
    I played this game 13 hours str8.
  79. Jesse
    Mar 3, 2002
    9
    Cool ass but gets boring once you get into, professional league like 20 laps that's insane. And Endurance races suck ass due to their length. Mini is the best car in the game.
  80. TheOne
    Mar 1, 2002
    8
    The game would be a lot better if it had some of the older muscle cars like the Mustang GT500.
  81. B.Erickson
    Feb 26, 2002
    10
    KICK ASS!!!!
  82. PsychoMantis
    Feb 20, 2002
    9
    A nice showcase of the PS2's graphic power, the musical tracks, despite their variety, all work well. As do the sound effects. Some may complain about the control in the game but if this is a racing sim, not an arcade type racer. No jumps, no barrel rolls just mostly realistic racing and sweet ass cars. This isn't exactly my most treasured game i own but it still warrants a A nice showcase of the PS2's graphic power, the musical tracks, despite their variety, all work well. As do the sound effects. Some may complain about the control in the game but if this is a racing sim, not an arcade type racer. No jumps, no barrel rolls just mostly realistic racing and sweet ass cars. This isn't exactly my most treasured game i own but it still warrants a purchase from the general public. Expand
  83. GiancarloS.
    Feb 5, 2002
    7
    It's a Grand game, but it's missing the fun of Grand Theft, this game has the best graphics, great sound and a lot of depth....But not that much fun.
  84. MarcusLindberg
    Jan 27, 2002
    10
    This is the best f**king game in the hole world, i would to gave it a 20 but i sadly can't. The soundtrack is almost the best thing i the hole game, Judas Priest and Jimi Hendrix and Motley Crue! It's to good to be true. The graphics is amasing! By the way, i really want beat up the Sasha K. down to a huge meatcrusher. Gues why!
  85. Erin
    Jan 22, 2002
    2
    Excellent graphics, but the game play sucks.
  86. TicfordGuy
    Jan 14, 2002
    9
    The Graphics and the different varieys of cars are great. Get the Ford Falcon XR8 (tickford) It ROARS!!!
  87. AutobahnS.
    Jan 13, 2002
    9
    OK this is the only game I actually "need", there is one thing I hate about it is that there a not enough cars.
  88. BrianB.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    Just bought this game and I can't put the damn controller down, I haven't put any other game in my ps2 since.
  89. RamirezDJ
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    Yah, it´s good!
  90. WilliamW.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    Forget 11, this game deserves a 20. It is the best racing ever. Quite possibaly the best game of all time.
  91. ChrisS.
    Dec 5, 2001
    10
    I would give it an 11 but I cant. GT3 is by far the greatest racing game ever created. The graphics are crisp and they even have the engine tones down to a tee. And by the way Sasha K. there were 611 cars in GT2. Hey if you live in cal. challenge me. I've beaten every racing game ever produced for PS-1 and so far for PS-2!
  92. ChrisB.
    Dec 5, 2001
    9
    Man! What a cool game. Not flawless but the only racing game to have right now. The music? I think it's great! Glad it's not the usual techno bull.
  93. Pedro
    Dec 4, 2001
    10
    Since I have gotten GT3, I have virtually forgotten my other games. Needless to say, this is one of the BEST games I have EVER played!
  94. SashaK.
    Dec 1, 2001
    8
    GT3 kicks ass! What is up with all these formulas and stuff? From GT 1 all the way up the game was based on typical cars racing like the scca. While the graphics in part 3 are amazing I miss the 500 car selection from part 2. Cars that no one cares about have been put in this game for no reason they took out the Eclipse which was in the lineup in both of earlier parts. IN part 2 a certain GT3 kicks ass! What is up with all these formulas and stuff? From GT 1 all the way up the game was based on typical cars racing like the scca. While the graphics in part 3 are amazing I miss the 500 car selection from part 2. Cars that no one cares about have been put in this game for no reason they took out the Eclipse which was in the lineup in both of earlier parts. IN part 2 a certain amount of hp is allowed in every race and that was cool because it kept a challenge in the game. While talks about tougher A.I I?ve had no problem with the game. The soundtrack is terrible there is no real racing music. Rock is NOT racing music Techno and some rap IS racing music. But all an all GT3 could have seen a LOT better but its still a great game. Expand
  95. JoshC.
    Nov 29, 2001
    10
    A 10 for a sweet ass game, but I?m still waiting for some more exterior mod's, I'd like to see some Rice in the game, where are all the bodykits and big ass spoilers haha.
  96. NathanA.
    Nov 28, 2001
    10
    Best Mother F.....n Game i Have Ever Played.
  97. GregL.
    Nov 17, 2001
    9
    They should include more cars and some street races and cars with (N.O.S.) boost.
  98. ShawnH.
    Nov 15, 2001
    10
    I just rented this game for 5 days and was crying when I had to return it.The no damage part sucks, but hey, look at the graphics!!
  99. Hoagie
    Nov 15, 2001
    9
    It kicks ASS!
  100. MattR.
    Nov 12, 2001
    10
    The game is well executed, the soundtrack is good.
  101. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    Even by the standards of the day, GT3 A-Spec has unbelievable graphics and unmatched driving physics. Framerate is smooth, there are a lot of cars to choose from, a full range of adjustable driving assists and some of the most realistic driving you will ever come across in a racing game. The licesnes are fun and gold medal is actually difficult unlike most modern games. There are a lot ofEven by the standards of the day, GT3 A-Spec has unbelievable graphics and unmatched driving physics. Framerate is smooth, there are a lot of cars to choose from, a full range of adjustable driving assists and some of the most realistic driving you will ever come across in a racing game. The licesnes are fun and gold medal is actually difficult unlike most modern games. There are a lot of cars that are hugely detailed (although admittedly some cars do look noticeably better than others) and controls are simple, responsive and make every corner satisfying. The choice of tracks is dissapointing but you still get some decent ones like Mazda Laguna Seca. The amount of content in this game, the replay value and addictiveness of trying to beat best times even on livesnses where you drive in a straight line and stop inside a box means that it's a game which can be enjoyed at any point, anytime. The attention to detail combined with its simplicity but hidden complexity in trying to get best times makes it both accessible, fun and hardcore. If they added more tracks this would be the ultimate simulator for its time. All it would be missing is interior view. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. GT3 simply is one of the best looking racers to date on any system. In fact, it's one of the best looking games available for the PS2, even being two years past its initial release date.
  2. Better physics, smarter opponents, and a huge leap in its visual presentation make GT3 a racer well worth playing.
  3. The gameplay is rock solid and the graphical upgrade makes everything feel fresh and new.