• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2005
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 234

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Krajws
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    Nothing better exists.
  2. BerS.
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    The best GT ever, and thats the bottom line.
  3. KevinD.
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    This game kick ass.
  4. MikeP.
    Mar 20, 2005
    9
    Very good game with very nice graphics.
  5. Mark
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Truly amazing.
  6. Navarra32Memento
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    This game embeds the pleasure to drive. Each car is a real driving experience that you will never forget. So good..
  7. BenW.
    Feb 16, 2006
    8
    The best GT game yet, but i can still think of plenty of improvements i'd like to see in GT5. Car damage would be a good start. Also a bigger variety of cars would be good, the selection of R34 skylines is massive, but it's missing things like cossies and RS turbo's. The B-Spec mode is quite good, and comes in handy when you wnat to make a cup of tea half way through an The best GT game yet, but i can still think of plenty of improvements i'd like to see in GT5. Car damage would be a good start. Also a bigger variety of cars would be good, the selection of R34 skylines is massive, but it's missing things like cossies and RS turbo's. The B-Spec mode is quite good, and comes in handy when you wnat to make a cup of tea half way through an endurance race. The music in GT4 is great, although annoyingly i can't seem to find some of the tracks for love nor money, Nitro by dieselboy + kaos is a great tune, but was made solely for GT4, you can't even download it! The makers of GT4 need to look at other games and take some notes. Modifications such as those available on need for speed would be good, and the rally mode needs to be more like colin mcrae rally (the handling on the rally mode is pretty crap really). The introduction of the pit crew is a vast improvement over GT3, now the car doesn't magically levitate and change the tyres all by itself without actually removing the wheels first. Bring on the PS3 and GT5! Expand
  8. LouisS.
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    This game will keep you amused for hours on end! There is so much crammed into the small disc, it will take ages to complete the whole game! The 4 years they spent on this one were so well spent, I would get a PlayStation3 just to have a go at it. If you don't have this game then it will be the best buy you have ever made!
  9. anonymousanonymous
    Sep 6, 2007
    6
    The roster is way too much complete, offering you about 20 to 40 evos, skylines, etc. Why so many versions of the same car when half of them have exactly the same stats and drive the same? Also, once you're able to have at least a few dozens of millions there's hardly a challenge from the AI, managing to beat all the cars in the first two laps since any car you buy you'll The roster is way too much complete, offering you about 20 to 40 evos, skylines, etc. Why so many versions of the same car when half of them have exactly the same stats and drive the same? Also, once you're able to have at least a few dozens of millions there's hardly a challenge from the AI, managing to beat all the cars in the first two laps since any car you buy you'll obviously want it tuned to the max. One more thing, there are hardy people who would race for 24h consecutively (unless they don't got a life) Even though there's b-spec, that's kinda boring to let the AI win for you. Especially considering that Endurance races still feature 5 ops to contend with. Games like TD LeMans (PSX) is an example of a gaming/racing challenge despite it's low graphics and soundtrack. Hope the producers and programmers wake up and smell the coffee before delivering GT5 or it too will be an even bigger disappointment. Expand
  10. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    You talk about an awsome driving game!This game is like a perfect version of Gran turismo 3.I can't tell you how much I enjoy every part of this game.For a deep single player game,you have it here.This is by far a better racing game then anything on the market before it.Lasting appeal is Gran Turismo 4 and one that will be remembered for a long time.A game that has a big piece in gamingYou talk about an awsome driving game!This game is like a perfect version of Gran turismo 3.I can't tell you how much I enjoy every part of this game.For a deep single player game,you have it here.This is by far a better racing game then anything on the market before it.Lasting appeal is Gran Turismo 4 and one that will be remembered for a long time.A game that has a big piece in gaming history.Great game! Expand
  11. BenN.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    Quality !
  12. AnonymousMC
    Jul 26, 2004
    0
    Man, if only this game could be made on actual next -generation hardware instead of 4 year old hardware that was outdated when it came out, it might be ok. Too bad Sony pays off everyone so that games that could be great can't be seen on good hardware. GT3 looked just like GT2, pop- up, graininess and all, and GT4 will look the same way. Don't be fooled by the screenshots. TheMan, if only this game could be made on actual next -generation hardware instead of 4 year old hardware that was outdated when it came out, it might be ok. Too bad Sony pays off everyone so that games that could be great can't be seen on good hardware. GT3 looked just like GT2, pop- up, graininess and all, and GT4 will look the same way. Don't be fooled by the screenshots. The XBOX couldn't do that and as we all know it is about 3 or 4 times as powerful as the PS2. Find a different reason to back a company than because of its out of date name. Forza will kill this game because people that love cars will actually be able to see what the cars look like today, not what they looked like in '98 when the PS2, oops I mean PS1 came out. Sorry, I get the graphics engines mixed up when I see them. LOSERS! Expand
  13. Bloodforge
    May 22, 2006
    4
    Complete disapointment. I was really psyched for this game to come out last year, but when I got it the day it came out it was a huge disapointement. The game doesn't add anything new to Gran Turismo, its the same game we have been playing for years, just more tracks and cars(most of which are useless or slight variations of other cars). The graphics are ok though, but one thing that Complete disapointment. I was really psyched for this game to come out last year, but when I got it the day it came out it was a huge disapointement. The game doesn't add anything new to Gran Turismo, its the same game we have been playing for years, just more tracks and cars(most of which are useless or slight variations of other cars). The graphics are ok though, but one thing that really bugs the hell out of me is that no shadows are cast on the cars, this makes the cars look like they don't belong in the environement when i just drive overtop a tree shadow like its painted onto the track. I think I only managed to keep interest for a week or two, if that. If you want a racing sim that actually improves on the ideas found in the Gran Turismo series, pick up Forza on XBOX instead, much better game. Expand
  14. Bud
    Sep 23, 2006
    2
    Apart from more new cars being available, this is a step back in every respect rom gran Turismo 3. The courses are narrower, pointlessly winding, there is more sand, you can't turn off tire wear, more features are locked, there are no cheat codes...I give this an F. The people making this game are clueless.
  15. May 13, 2013
    7
    It's a really nice game, i have to say... but there is just something missing there. Is it more cars? Is it more tracks? Is it more innovation? I don't know.
  16. JamieR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    Graphics, realistic driving, fast cars, it's brilliant, but it would be better if it didn't go on for so long as it gets boring after a while (a very long while) that shows how long this game goes on for. One of the best points is that you can put a memory stick into the PS2s USB socket and take pictures of your cars and put them on your mms.
  17. JacobT
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    This game is ruely amazing, with brilliant physics and the sheer size of the game itself put it in a class of its own. If this game gets 89/100, imagine what gt5 will be like. if that ever comes......
  18. benjib.
    Aug 30, 2005
    9
    Extreme attention to detail, best racing game around, but i would have given this game a 10, if the cars have damage every time they crash.
  19. AnonymousMC
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    this is gonna be THE game of 05 when it lands in Oz in March!!! It has all the right elements to be great, more cars, more tracks and graphics that make GT3 look like a Mega Drive game.How much further can the ps2 be pushed? It is gonna ROCK!!!
  20. MarkoK.
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Gran turismo 4ever.
  21. sam
    Sep 5, 2005
    6
    Great game. however with little improvements on gt3 other than visuals. but graetly let down by load witch can be upwards of 20mins.
  22. JonasB.
    Dec 13, 2005
    7
    I am a hardcore Gran Turismo fan. Played through GT2 twice and GT3 once. I love the realism and drifting abilities. But the Career Mode has seen better days. 24 hour races is just too much, but people defend that by saying that i can use my cooperative driver (B-spec). Then i remind myself of the whole Gran Turismo concept which is "The Real Driving Simulator". Watching a race is not I am a hardcore Gran Turismo fan. Played through GT2 twice and GT3 once. I love the realism and drifting abilities. But the Career Mode has seen better days. 24 hour races is just too much, but people defend that by saying that i can use my cooperative driver (B-spec). Then i remind myself of the whole Gran Turismo concept which is "The Real Driving Simulator". Watching a race is not driving. Music is bad as always but who cares? It's all about cars and racing anyway. The feeling of the cars is two thumbs up, no discussion. Drifting and taking corners has never seen this realism in a game before. You can customize your car with the regular GT parts; brakes, suspension, turbo, engine, clutch, transmission, weight reduction, tyres, rims, mufflers e.t.c... a new thing to GT4 is that you can add a wing to any car (for adjustable downforce), that's great except it mostly look horrible. But it's very functional. You can take a stock car and tune it to perfection and then beat the hardcore racecars with similar weight, power, torque and drivetrain. Expand
  23. Anthony
    Feb 24, 2005
    8
    The driving experience is still not as solid as promised. Maybe it's my wheel, but it's touchy and over-sensitive when it doesn't need to be, and not sensitive enough when you want it to be. The graphics are absolutely stunning, though not "photo real" as the screenshots leads one to believe. I agree that the soundtrack is a bit weak and doesn't produce the adrenaline The driving experience is still not as solid as promised. Maybe it's my wheel, but it's touchy and over-sensitive when it doesn't need to be, and not sensitive enough when you want it to be. The graphics are absolutely stunning, though not "photo real" as the screenshots leads one to believe. I agree that the soundtrack is a bit weak and doesn't produce the adrenaline rush that one would like. The sheer number of tracks and cars to choose from in arcade mode alone is worth the price. Expand
  24. MarkW.
    Feb 28, 2005
    9
    The graphics and the frame rate in particular are stunning. No, the computer controlled cars are brainless and there is no collision physics of any kind but the driving physics, variety of cars, track quality and extremely detailed car tuning (unique to Gran Turismo) along with the aforementioned incredible frame rate make this a must buy. It truly has infinite replay value. Also worth The graphics and the frame rate in particular are stunning. No, the computer controlled cars are brainless and there is no collision physics of any kind but the driving physics, variety of cars, track quality and extremely detailed car tuning (unique to Gran Turismo) along with the aforementioned incredible frame rate make this a must buy. It truly has infinite replay value. Also worth mentioning is the photo mode which is highly addictive and rewarding. Copying pictures to a USB drive and uploading them to a PC is surprisingly enjoyable and has to be a first for a console video game. The glitch list for this game is quite small considering it's size and scope. Expand
  25. JaycenA.
    Feb 8, 2005
    3
    You Expect good things with a game that took 4 years to make. They copied a bit of Sega GT and improved the Graphics bumped up car numbers but it's the same ol same ol. I think I'll Have to take a closer look at Forza now.
  26. KaydW.
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    You may think im a bit of a wimp, but It had me crying from the moment i watched the opening movie. I was sitting in my seat screaming Awesome! at nearly every frame i saw. To experience it in its true form however youll need the gt pro steering wheel. Simply put its the most beautifully developed and best game ever.
  27. FragglesT.
    Mar 16, 2005
    8
    I'm going to try not to rehash everything said. First of all, the game is beautiful, the car list is much improved over GT3, etc. Now maybe it's just me, but the AI has seemed to have gotten worse. This of course is exacerbated by two key things: the increase in rolling start races, and the horrible changes to the rally mode. Let's start with the first. The Gran Turismo I'm going to try not to rehash everything said. First of all, the game is beautiful, the car list is much improved over GT3, etc. Now maybe it's just me, but the AI has seemed to have gotten worse. This of course is exacerbated by two key things: the increase in rolling start races, and the horrible changes to the rally mode. Let's start with the first. The Gran Turismo series generally has two types players: those who mod their cars and prefer to race against their own times and be so far ahead of the CPU that you can lap them in a two-lap race. The other type is the kind that prefers to have a really challenging race, where any mistake will cost them the race as they are maybe just a little undermatched to the CPU, but their driving skills are far superior. The problem is that the rolling start races, which of course always have the CPU "Ringer" at the front are ridiculous, and they force the user to seriously mod their cars way above the class they're racing in just to be able to catch up to the ringer, which, incidentally, is even faster in this game.Take for example one of the classic car challenges, which is a series race. I was in a 650-700 hp Chevelle SS, lightened, all drivetrain upgrades, etc. On the Nurburgring they had a rolling start. By the time I reached the start line so that I could fully accelerate (they limit you to 50 initalliy), the rest of the pack was right in front of me, while the '67 Cobra with 400 hp was 7-8+ seconds in front by the first turn. I was never actually able to pass him, due in part to the other CPU cars battering into me numerous times and cutting me off in the early part of the track. This is crappy for an individual race, but then in the context of a series, it's even worse. If my car is upgraded so that I can make up 8-15 sec. diff. from the start of a rolling race, then what happens when it's a standing start. I am way way ahead of everybody. So you either have races where you'll never catch up, or where you could sit at the start while the CPU does 2 laps, and still beat them. Of course, the ringer has also been tinkered with, and unfairly so. In this same series, the first standing start I was way ahead from the beginning. In the second standing start race, the ringer shot out to a 5 sec. lead going into the first turn, and then accelerated about two times faster as before. Total crap. Also, they completely ruined the fun of the rally mode because they are too lazy to do a damage model. So, since yes, damage is important in all racing and especially rallying, they impose a 5 sec. penalty (where you're limited to 31 mph for 5 sec.) any time the front half of your car touched the wall or the CPU. Now I might be able to deal with this, except that the CPU driving is so horrible that many times you'll hit something b/c he cuts you off or any other such nonsense. Additionally, the CPU gets no penalties. I can't tell how much fun it was for me when I was drifting around a turn and the CPU (following a normal line, not drifting) plowed into my side three times in the turn as it drove through me, and as my car spun off balance, I knicked his bumper and was rewarded with a 5 sec. penalty. Sweet. My other big gripe is that contrary to what one critic said about driving medium range cars for a while, that's BS. He obviously didn't play the very first rally, with an Easy difficulty which you only need your B (first) license for, and you get a 760hp Cadillac Cien for winning. Also, b/c of the Used Car Showrooms, you can start off with a much nicer car right from the start than if you were forced to buy new. In all, loads of fun, but there are some extremely frustrating problems. Props on the inclusion of city tracks in the rally mode. Expand
  28. AnonymousMC
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    In GT1 and GT2 the faceles cpu drivers were ok but in fourth (?) one could realy use some charecters. It would ad to whole racing experience if you for example entered in "supercar series" and would notice that there is your old rival from sundaycup, but instead of lupo he has espirit.

    Also, no repaints or custom paints?

    And what about the carwash ?! No ladies ?!
  29. RickN.
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    The size of the game, as always, is definately enough to keep you playing for a good long time and the graphics are top-notch. But for a game that is so obcessed with being the ultimate driving simulator, you'd think they would've included realistic crashes, rather than bouncing off cars/barriers like a souped-up bumper car. That said, it's still a cracking game.
  30. Nelboy
    Mar 29, 2005
    7
    I never bothered with GT3 because I had better games to play, such as burnout- Which actually has realistic crashes! The AI in GT4 is unimpressive. they just take the same route all the time. I am glad there's more choice to the music than in GT2 because, while I do like some rock music, I much prefer hard trance, and the music in GT4 comes close, although they could've had more I never bothered with GT3 because I had better games to play, such as burnout- Which actually has realistic crashes! The AI in GT4 is unimpressive. they just take the same route all the time. I am glad there's more choice to the music than in GT2 because, while I do like some rock music, I much prefer hard trance, and the music in GT4 comes close, although they could've had more tracks. 5 second penalties?!!! what the hell is all that about?! I can just image the lead GT4 programmer at his desk one friday, who is given the task to make the races challenging. And all that asshole comes up with is speed- reducing penalties for hiting walls and other cars- and if other cars hit you (of which they don't get a penalty). you could be going as slow as 20mph when you hit the wall, but there's the penalty- ARRGH! Nurburgring 24 hour endurance race?!! The only way I'm doing that is having a go for about 4-5 hours a day and then leave it paused overnight! At least the cars you win are not randomly chosen. Overall, the game is worth spending the money on, but there are some serious issues to be sorted out, such as having high- speed crashes instead of penalties- and in endurance races over 4 hours long, the ability to save the time used so-far would be good. Expand
  31. JoshuaB.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    The game is the most best racing game I've had the chance to play.The frist game was cool.This is even better. I had to give it a strong 10!
  32. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    7
    I have been a huge fan of the Gran Turismo series ever since the first title was released on the PSone. This game is one of the games I was waiting on for a LONG time with high hopes. You will notice that the graphics are slightly better than Gran Turismo 3's, but not by any HUGE step. The controls are the same, obviously. Gameplay is very similar, except now, the handeling is a lot I have been a huge fan of the Gran Turismo series ever since the first title was released on the PSone. This game is one of the games I was waiting on for a LONG time with high hopes. You will notice that the graphics are slightly better than Gran Turismo 3's, but not by any HUGE step. The controls are the same, obviously. Gameplay is very similar, except now, the handeling is a lot better, and there are more cars to choose from. There are also a few extra modes, including a Picture Mode, where you can take a picture of your current car in front of a backdrop of one of many real or fake locations around the world. However, I found the picture mode to be pointless, myself. Its definitley a fun game, and its worth it if you are a Gran Turismo fan, but at the end of the day, it feels almost like an expansion for Gran Turismo 3. Other than that, its a great simulation racing game, and I reccommend it to fans of the genre. Expand
  33. NoieC.
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    love the b-spec it is your friend, this isn't just a game read the cover its a driving simulator, gran turismo 4 is great, go out and buy it or play at a friends just get in ur gt4 time its good for you.
  34. mattm
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    best racing game there is, at some times the difficulty can be too hard and the b-spec is pointless to include in the game
  35. EthanR
    Mar 17, 2009
    5
    Theres something missing in this beautiful, ultra realistic game. That thing is FUN! Man. I don't play videogames to simulate real life! I PLAY them to escape life. SO why would i want to play an ultra realistic driving game. Simply put. The game is BORING!
  36. RiggS.
    Jan 27, 2005
    5
    Beautiful graphics aside (and they are stunning); why bother playing a competitive title like GT4 if you cannot play online? Developers please note: you are either online multiplayer or nothing at all!
  37. JacobH.
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    An awsome racing game.
  38. JohnM.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    A game so good you'll play the demo everyday until you get it.
  39. [Anonymous]
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    Easily the best in an phenomenal series that breaks the trend of pop culture that's been infecting the pure car game genre. Underground racers need not apply. This game is for real gearheads.
  40. TaylorH.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    A great game.
  41. RalfW.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    This game is very realistic.
  42. DavidF.
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    Best game ever made so far ! :) 10/10
  43. Warmonger
    Feb 23, 2005
    8
    Good but not what I was expecting!! poor soundtrack. The music was better in GT3- definitely PS2's last hurrah!!
  44. Mobius
    Feb 23, 2005
    8
    There is no denying that this game is a looker and has the cars and traks, but it is just a stop gap until they re release it with online multiplayer. dont be taken for a ride and wait for the online version.
  45. MarkM.
    Feb 24, 2005
    9
    NOTE: If this game doesn
  46. Steven
    Feb 25, 2005
    5
    Been playing for a couple days now, and I can't say that it's all that amazing, I've been waiting for a while,and I was hoping they'd finish the game. The AI follows a track on every course, and once you get ahead it's hard to fall behind. Previous Turismo games had the same problem, so maybe I shouldn't be whining, but it's frustrating to see such a Been playing for a couple days now, and I can't say that it's all that amazing, I've been waiting for a while,and I was hoping they'd finish the game. The AI follows a track on every course, and once you get ahead it's hard to fall behind. Previous Turismo games had the same problem, so maybe I shouldn't be whining, but it's frustrating to see such a monster franchise unable to make believable AI. When I'm taking a corner, I don't think it's very professional of another driver to slam into me for no apparent reason other than I'm in their pre-determined track. I once saw a car get turned sideways and then it sat there doing nothing because it couldn't figure out where it was. The graphics are very well done, (not really that hard of a feat anymore though), and the game controls well. The physics are terrible when it comes to collisions, and the no-damage is a huge fault as well. Pick it up if you're into cars and like to look at them for a long time. Tthe game is unconcerned with a real race, the designers set out to make a game that would show off their incredible detail to car models. It doesn't achieve much else. Oh, and the music is among the worst I've heard since the last game, Need for Speed: Underground has a better soundtrack. Expand
  47. PhilipY.
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    The real driving simulator has become even realer than before. The grafic is quite the same I think but it´s way moor fun to play this than GT3. There are some things I miss but this is enough for me to survive until Granturismo 5 hits PS3. It's a gr8 game, but not as "grantastic"as GT2 was.
  48. LanceK.
    Mar 14, 2005
    10
    Real driving and great fun. the controlling is easier and the graphics are 10 times better than the last one. I really love the muscle cars that are available on the gt4.
  49. JohnR
    Mar 17, 2005
    9
    Amazing game, so much better than GT3.
  50. SunnyS.
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    Essential to your PS2 as your brain is to your nervous system.
  51. ReneS.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    This is definitely the best GTon the market...No is is not a new ballgame but the best and beautifullest Gt game ever....And thats al wat I ask from a game....It must be better then its predecessors...En GT4 definitely is.
  52. Simon
    Apr 2, 2005
    8
    They've ruined the rally with cars with less grip than my granny, the 5 second penalties suck the ai is inconsistent the driving missions are stupid, if you want a fun easy game get something else, the amount of cars is stunning with some real classics, still the best racing game, even tho rough round the edges, is gt5 going to be the same again tho?
  53. AnthonyP.
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    Grand Turismo is the best game ever.
  54. Sam
    May 28, 2005
    8
    It's not the best car game, or the best game ever but it's better than 3 which i was dissapointed with, and the lack of personaltiy that Marcus B. pointed out is a shame, and it's not always fast, but there are tons of cars, the visuals are awesome compared to the screens i saw for Gears of War for Xbox 360, and car dorks and GT dorks should definitely get this game.
  55. MarcusB.
    May 5, 2005
    7
    Okay game. It's deep and beautiful, but has absolutely ZERO personality. Feels like car Pokemon, which is about as exciting as paint drying. After a while, I don't really care to unlock the 217th cersion of the Lancer Evolution or Honda Civic Rally super-duper SE xi edition Turbo...
  56. BenG.
    Aug 10, 2005
    8
    Great game with a few improvements over GT3. Absolutely hate the autosave!!! I wish I could add other spoilers, paint used cars, add vinyl, bodykits, and wider rims/tires to certain cars. I also want to take my custom cars out into a free-roaming city like in Midnight Club. I'm a hardcore car guy, but obviously this game was made by hardcore Japanese people who are predominantly into Great game with a few improvements over GT3. Absolutely hate the autosave!!! I wish I could add other spoilers, paint used cars, add vinyl, bodykits, and wider rims/tires to certain cars. I also want to take my custom cars out into a free-roaming city like in Midnight Club. I'm a hardcore car guy, but obviously this game was made by hardcore Japanese people who are predominantly into Japanese cars....very disappointing that I can't drive a Dodge Challenger or a Trans Am. I can, however, drive 10,000 almost-different EVO Lancers, NSX's, and Skylines. Expand
  57. MatthewP.
    May 26, 2006
    9
    good cars should have a online mode better than gran turismo 3.
  58. JamieT.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    One great game! It isn't the greatest game of all time but it is one great game.
  59. DJCgames
    Apr 12, 2009
    8
    A very good and enjoyable game. Great graphics, a never ending selection of cars. very good and challenging tracks. The only problem is that there's no damage model and the al is unrealistic. Other than that a highly reccomended title
  60. AnonymousMC
    Apr 21, 2004
    1
    oh no !!!!!!!!!!!!
    this game has failed big time !!!
    Ive got gt 3 a spec which is hot, but ive just got back from japan where i played this at a games show and i was in disbelief at how poor it was compared to the a spec version,i dont know whether this is because it will be different to the actual released game but they said it wasnt going to be that much different.If this is really the
    oh no !!!!!!!!!!!!
    this game has failed big time !!!
    Ive got gt 3 a spec which is hot, but ive just got back from japan where i played this at a games show and i was in disbelief at how poor it was compared to the a spec version,i dont know whether this is because it will be different to the actual released game but they said it wasnt going to be that much different.If this is really the case i am going to cry because this is one of the games ive been looking forward to for ages.boo hoo.
    Expand
  61. AnonymousMC
    May 31, 2004
    10
    I remember talking to a couple of friends while playing Gran Turismo 3 some years ago, and saying, "This game is hands down the best in every way! Guys, just imagine how amazing Gran Turismo 4 would be..." Well flash forward to the present and my imagination couldn't even brace itself for what I've seen of GT4. A game that exceedes the boundries of the imagination, is a game thatI remember talking to a couple of friends while playing Gran Turismo 3 some years ago, and saying, "This game is hands down the best in every way! Guys, just imagine how amazing Gran Turismo 4 would be..." Well flash forward to the present and my imagination couldn't even brace itself for what I've seen of GT4. A game that exceedes the boundries of the imagination, is a game that I want to own. I can't wait! Expand
  62. AnonymousMC
    Jun 13, 2004
    7
    From what I played of this game at E3 I'm not impressed. The handling hasn't made any great strides from the third game, and the graphics don't come close to living up to the expectations they've created. The Nurburgring is nowhere near as good as on Project Gotham, and the grand canyon rally just looks silly when you see it running, with the pasted in photo backdrops.
  63. AlexS.
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Best racing simulator to date. Period.
  64. NickL.
    Feb 25, 2005
    8
    This game is a great two player game but a letdown from gt3 and gt2 single player mode. had a lot of expectations of this thinking it was going to have high graphics but it just has new tracks and new cars same graphics.
  65. DavidT.
    Feb 27, 2005
    7
    I love the franchise...but do i love this game? yes and no....the tracks are beautiful....the cars are outstanding....you really feel the speed and the realism...and i love the car selection...besides the cars that have no purpose in a game like this...but it does add variety. theres the photo mode...where you can go in and take stunning pictures of your car in different cities around the I love the franchise...but do i love this game? yes and no....the tracks are beautiful....the cars are outstanding....you really feel the speed and the realism...and i love the car selection...besides the cars that have no purpose in a game like this...but it does add variety. theres the photo mode...where you can go in and take stunning pictures of your car in different cities around the world. which really has no purpose, but it is fun to do once in a while. i also like the fact that you can buy used cars...but make sure you change there oil before you drive them. and the ice and snow stages are remarkable. on the downside...i have waited which seems ages for this game to hit the shelves...i do not notice any improved AI in this game...also, when i hit a car and im doing 236mph i do expect that car to at least spin out and myself spin out, none of that here, you barely even realize that you hit the other car. i want you readers and gamers to listen to the cars. ive noticed that alot of so called gaming magazines and websites praising the game for how real the cars sound...listen to the cars... when i hop in a muscle car i dont expect the car to rev up like a tricked out honda. i expect a growl and a roar....none of that here. i may be too criticle on this review...but i cant give a game a 9 or a 10 if it doesnt deserve it. another thing....laguna seca has hardly any grass...laguna seca is a brown desolate looking place....why does it look so green and lush in gran turismo...i was really let down when i saw that. and am i going crazy...or does the hp seem to keep changing...i dont mean it dropping after using the car so many times...i mean right there when you buy it...when u buy a car the hp says one thing...when you go into your garage and check the car out it says another? i hate to be critical...but this is supposed to be a real driving simulator...and for 4 years in development i would expect improvement...not a gran turismo 3.5...there are so many other major flaws with this game...but im too tired to list them... well im off...its getting late...and i have alot of gran turismo 4 to be playing....hey, i only said there was alot wrong with it, never said i didnt like it...lol...good nite Expand
  66. M.K.
    Feb 28, 2005
    9
    Everyone out there seems to be some what disappointed about Gt4. GT4 is what GT3 could have been. Gt3 was great, but Gt4 is greater. Some people moan about graphics that it is similar to Gt3. Get yourself an HDTV and hook up component cables. You'll definitely notice the difference! In fact, there are only handfull of games that support 1080i, and GT4 is only one for PS2. I cannot Everyone out there seems to be some what disappointed about Gt4. GT4 is what GT3 could have been. Gt3 was great, but Gt4 is greater. Some people moan about graphics that it is similar to Gt3. Get yourself an HDTV and hook up component cables. You'll definitely notice the difference! In fact, there are only handfull of games that support 1080i, and GT4 is only one for PS2. I cannot believe that developers pulled 1080i with 60fps on PS2! I don't think Forza will be able to do that. (they downed to 30 fps already.) It's beutiful to look at. Gameplay is still solid racer. B-spec mode is great when you get tired for races. I let cpu do the race while I go have a cig or catch Sportscenter. When I come back, I get money. Overall sound seems better than gt3. Music seems to be more suiting for racing than Gt3. So many people complain about the car damage. Have people played NFS: High Stakes? In simulation, it's pain in the butt to fix your car after every race. AI racers are good racers with precision, but rather dumb when it comes to competiting. Only one mode that I miss is online mode. I'm not really into online experience with consoles, but I was hoping gt4's sell-your-car mode can help. However, it doesn't interfere with car collecting frezy gt4 has to offer. If you love cars, get it. I was getting chills when I saw Delorean in the DMC shop! Too bad it doesn't have as much as european cars and american cars as I hoped for, but there is a car for almost everyone's taste. Muscles, Exotics, Rice rockets,even cars like Ford T, and Mercedez' first car. It's a great game, but not a truest simulation. Physics is still the best I've seen. It even improved over Gt3. Cars feel heavy like they should be and some cars like NSX understeers and some oversteers. Truest simulations are way too difficult to enjoy through TV screen and GT4 is a fun sim to let you enjoy cars. Stop complainin and enjoy! Expand
  67. MattB.
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    This game is the best racing simulation in the whole universe.
  68. AI
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    I am a casual gamer, but a serious driver. I found the experience is very realistic.
  69. BenJ.
    Jul 14, 2005
    7
    You can't beat Gran Turismo for a quality blend of simulation and arcade feel, quality track and car models, and the sheer scope of the game. However, the game is lagging behind the industry when it comes to just about everything else you'd want to see in a driving game (multiple play modes, damage, competent AI, compelling single player progression). It's a great "gotta You can't beat Gran Turismo for a quality blend of simulation and arcade feel, quality track and car models, and the sheer scope of the game. However, the game is lagging behind the industry when it comes to just about everything else you'd want to see in a driving game (multiple play modes, damage, competent AI, compelling single player progression). It's a great "gotta get 'em all" car game, but how long is that going to keep its fan base happy while the rest of the industry marches on? Expand
  70. BrianB.
    Jul 19, 2005
    5
    I've learned here, that ultra-realism doesn't usually equal ultra-fun. If I had unlimited free time to practice driving, I could probably get pretty good at this one in like 6 months or so. At that point, this game would probably be a lot of fun. If you're incarcerated for some reason, give it a try (provided the doctors/prison guards let you have a tv and a console). Not I've learned here, that ultra-realism doesn't usually equal ultra-fun. If I had unlimited free time to practice driving, I could probably get pretty good at this one in like 6 months or so. At that point, this game would probably be a lot of fun. If you're incarcerated for some reason, give it a try (provided the doctors/prison guards let you have a tv and a console). Not good for a 5-day rental. Expand
  71. TomL.
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    Simply Epic.
  72. EdwardK
    Jul 28, 2008
    8
    Gran Turismo 4 (GT4) is a game that creates an imcomplete, but accurate racing reality. The vast amount of cars are satisfying, but can be repetitive with many different versions of a same car (the Nissan Skyline GT-R, for example). The tracks in the game bring back memories as the game features "original" tracks like the High Speed Ring, and more "real" tracks summon the great Gran Turismo 4 (GT4) is a game that creates an imcomplete, but accurate racing reality. The vast amount of cars are satisfying, but can be repetitive with many different versions of a same car (the Nissan Skyline GT-R, for example). The tracks in the game bring back memories as the game features "original" tracks like the High Speed Ring, and more "real" tracks summon the great experience. New features like the Photo Mode and the B-Spec Director's Mode are welcome additions to GT4. However, the simplicity of the additions can leave the Photo Mode as recreation and the B-Spec as a timesaver. The layout of the game is gorgeous, but the grand prominence of white isn't always that pleasing to the eyes. Expand
  73. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    To start off, this game was and still is fun to play. The graphics on the cars are really good and you feel that the developers took their time on it. The game play is the same as always, so theres nothing more to say; its straight forward easy to get into. The amount of content in the game from the over 800 cars to the numerous amount of tracks to choose from, this game doesn't ever getTo start off, this game was and still is fun to play. The graphics on the cars are really good and you feel that the developers took their time on it. The game play is the same as always, so theres nothing more to say; its straight forward easy to get into. The amount of content in the game from the over 800 cars to the numerous amount of tracks to choose from, this game doesn't ever get boring. One thing that bugged me though, was the endurance events, especially the 24hr ones. How do you expect a person to stay up for 24 hours, or 9 if you do directors mode with pit stops? Other than that, this game was and still is a great piece of gaming that doesn't disappoint. Expand
  74. May 22, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best racing games ever it has graphics that one of my friends said was "xbox 360 quality" it's great by its self but it's even better if you have the car set thing it's a fun 9/10 ps2 game.
  75. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I've spent half of my life on this game. Despite the lack of Ferrari or Porsche, despite having way too many japanese cars, this game is the best racing game on Playstation 2 and the best Gran Turismo yet. There is so much to learn and to do in this game if you love cars or just driving !
  76. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Definetely the drive of your life! It's an amazing game. Amazing! It has everything a car lover needs! Circuits, realistic driving, cars, lots of cars! The game is never boring at all and has the right difficulty. I am not a racing fanatic, but I loved it and still enjoy it a lot! So far still better than Gran Turismo 5 and surely the best installment in the Grant Turismo series.

    If you
    Definetely the drive of your life! It's an amazing game. Amazing! It has everything a car lover needs! Circuits, realistic driving, cars, lots of cars! The game is never boring at all and has the right difficulty. I am not a racing fanatic, but I loved it and still enjoy it a lot! So far still better than Gran Turismo 5 and surely the best installment in the Grant Turismo series.

    If you like similation, this game is for you. You will need to learn how to drive correctly and many races are long enough to keep the interest high for months!
    This game is close to perfection, because it makes you wanna drive and drive for hours!
    If you buy the official GT steering wheel, you will increase the fun!
    Expand
  77. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    Gran Turismo 4 is the recipe Polyphony Digital and Sony should stick to, no deviation just refinement. This game had it all including 54 tracks (to date the most tracks of any Gran Turismo game), 721 cars and a career mode that is insanely huge and challenging. I never completed this game which is not a criticism, just a testament to how large the game is. Sedan, Rally, Open Wheeler,Gran Turismo 4 is the recipe Polyphony Digital and Sony should stick to, no deviation just refinement. This game had it all including 54 tracks (to date the most tracks of any Gran Turismo game), 721 cars and a career mode that is insanely huge and challenging. I never completed this game which is not a criticism, just a testament to how large the game is. Sedan, Rally, Open Wheeler, Touring Cars this game was as diverse as it was huge. The multiplayer was also great with the car selection being half the fun going through 80 manufacturers to pick the best car.

    The only problem I had with this game when it came out was its lack of damage, which if included would've made the game a perfect console racer in its day, instead of the only the best. It is still enjoyable to return to approaching a decade after its release which for a car game is testament to the vastness that is Gran Turismo 4.
    Expand
  78. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Best racing game you can get on Playstation 2.

    The graphics are great, awesome performance system, good racing/menu music, many interesting cars, and good old and new courses! I like the car sounds too, but it is not the best.

    Another thing that i really like is that you can drive in many ways. The licences, missions, rally, a-spec and b-spec, and endurance racing!
  79. May 17, 2015
    9
    GRAPHICS! THESE GRAPHICS! Best racing game you can find. Year 2005? Are you kidding me? Best racing simulator, there is no other. License system, good old unlocking cars and 24 hours events. Beautiful.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Whilst the game can offer a certain joy of ownership for a fraction of the cost, those who are not passionately interested in motoring in general won’t want to put the required effort in.
  2. 93
    Some professional race drivers even use the incredibly life-like tracks in this game to prepare themselves for the real thing.
  3. 100
    Blows by the competition like it was sitting on jack stands, and is the new high-water mark by which all other driving games will be judged.