Gran Turismo 4 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2005
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 285 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 285
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Jul 26, 2004
    0
    Man, if only this game could be made on actual next -generation hardware instead of 4 year old hardware that was outdated when it came out, it might be ok. Too bad Sony pays off everyone so that games that could be great can't be seen on good hardware. GT3 looked just like GT2, pop- up, graininess and all, and GT4 will look the same way. Don't be fooled by the screenshots. TheMan, if only this game could be made on actual next -generation hardware instead of 4 year old hardware that was outdated when it came out, it might be ok. Too bad Sony pays off everyone so that games that could be great can't be seen on good hardware. GT3 looked just like GT2, pop- up, graininess and all, and GT4 will look the same way. Don't be fooled by the screenshots. The XBOX couldn't do that and as we all know it is about 3 or 4 times as powerful as the PS2. Find a different reason to back a company than because of its out of date name. Forza will kill this game because people that love cars will actually be able to see what the cars look like today, not what they looked like in '98 when the PS2, oops I mean PS1 came out. Sorry, I get the graphics engines mixed up when I see them. LOSERS! Expand
  2. Bloodforge
    May 22, 2006
    4
    Complete disapointment. I was really psyched for this game to come out last year, but when I got it the day it came out it was a huge disapointement. The game doesn't add anything new to Gran Turismo, its the same game we have been playing for years, just more tracks and cars(most of which are useless or slight variations of other cars). The graphics are ok though, but one thing that Complete disapointment. I was really psyched for this game to come out last year, but when I got it the day it came out it was a huge disapointement. The game doesn't add anything new to Gran Turismo, its the same game we have been playing for years, just more tracks and cars(most of which are useless or slight variations of other cars). The graphics are ok though, but one thing that really bugs the hell out of me is that no shadows are cast on the cars, this makes the cars look like they don't belong in the environement when i just drive overtop a tree shadow like its painted onto the track. I think I only managed to keep interest for a week or two, if that. If you want a racing sim that actually improves on the ideas found in the Gran Turismo series, pick up Forza on XBOX instead, much better game. Expand
  3. Bud
    Sep 23, 2006
    2
    Apart from more new cars being available, this is a step back in every respect rom gran Turismo 3. The courses are narrower, pointlessly winding, there is more sand, you can't turn off tire wear, more features are locked, there are no cheat codes...I give this an F. The people making this game are clueless.
  4. Sep 25, 2015
    0
    poor play is much worse than the need for speed when it comes to graphics bad gameplay is bad as far as I'm concerned devieron not get this title you recomieno not play this game that you will regret
  5. JaycenA.
    Feb 8, 2005
    3
    You Expect good things with a game that took 4 years to make. They copied a bit of Sega GT and improved the Graphics bumped up car numbers but it's the same ol same ol. I think I'll Have to take a closer look at Forza now.
  6. AnonymousMC
    Apr 21, 2004
    1
    oh no !!!!!!!!!!!!
    this game has failed big time !!!
    Ive got gt 3 a spec which is hot, but ive just got back from japan where i played this at a games show and i was in disbelief at how poor it was compared to the a spec version,i dont know whether this is because it will be different to the actual released game but they said it wasnt going to be that much different.If this is really the
    oh no !!!!!!!!!!!!
    this game has failed big time !!!
    Ive got gt 3 a spec which is hot, but ive just got back from japan where i played this at a games show and i was in disbelief at how poor it was compared to the a spec version,i dont know whether this is because it will be different to the actual released game but they said it wasnt going to be that much different.If this is really the case i am going to cry because this is one of the games ive been looking forward to for ages.boo hoo.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2017
    2
    Beaucoup plus de voitures que dans le 3, nous voilà donc revenu au niveau du 2 ou presque... Hélas, la conduite n'a pas évolué d'un iota alors que la concurrence commence à pointer (enfin) le bout de son capot...

    ça sent décidément la fin de règne pour la série GT qui végète dans le train-train de la médiocrité rétrograde (qui n'avance pas, recule). Le comportement routier avoue son
    Beaucoup plus de voitures que dans le 3, nous voilà donc revenu au niveau du 2 ou presque... Hélas, la conduite n'a pas évolué d'un iota alors que la concurrence commence à pointer (enfin) le bout de son capot...

    ça sent décidément la fin de règne pour la série GT qui végète dans le train-train de la médiocrité rétrograde (qui n'avance pas, recule). Le comportement routier avoue son (grand) âge, l'intelligence artificielle n'a pas d'intelligence, les collisions sont toujours aussi pathétiques et les effets sonores ont de grosses difficultés à masquer leur indigence. Une suite qui se repose donc sur ses acquis vieillissants pour ne pas dire dépassés.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#15 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Whilst the game can offer a certain joy of ownership for a fraction of the cost, those who are not passionately interested in motoring in general won’t want to put the required effort in.
  2. 93
    Some professional race drivers even use the incredibly life-like tracks in this game to prepare themselves for the real thing.
  3. 100
    Blows by the competition like it was sitting on jack stands, and is the new high-water mark by which all other driving games will be judged.