Gran Turismo 4 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2005
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 251
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anonymousanonymous
    Sep 6, 2007
    6
    The roster is way too much complete, offering you about 20 to 40 evos, skylines, etc. Why so many versions of the same car when half of them have exactly the same stats and drive the same? Also, once you're able to have at least a few dozens of millions there's hardly a challenge from the AI, managing to beat all the cars in the first two laps since any car you buy you'll The roster is way too much complete, offering you about 20 to 40 evos, skylines, etc. Why so many versions of the same car when half of them have exactly the same stats and drive the same? Also, once you're able to have at least a few dozens of millions there's hardly a challenge from the AI, managing to beat all the cars in the first two laps since any car you buy you'll obviously want it tuned to the max. One more thing, there are hardy people who would race for 24h consecutively (unless they don't got a life) Even though there's b-spec, that's kinda boring to let the AI win for you. Especially considering that Endurance races still feature 5 ops to contend with. Games like TD LeMans (PSX) is an example of a gaming/racing challenge despite it's low graphics and soundtrack. Hope the producers and programmers wake up and smell the coffee before delivering GT5 or it too will be an even bigger disappointment. Expand
  2. May 13, 2013
    7
    It's a really nice game, i have to say... but there is just something missing there. Is it more cars? Is it more tracks? Is it more innovation? I don't know.
  3. sam
    Sep 5, 2005
    6
    Great game. however with little improvements on gt3 other than visuals. but graetly let down by load witch can be upwards of 20mins.
  4. JonasB.
    Dec 13, 2005
    7
    I am a hardcore Gran Turismo fan. Played through GT2 twice and GT3 once. I love the realism and drifting abilities. But the Career Mode has seen better days. 24 hour races is just too much, but people defend that by saying that i can use my cooperative driver (B-spec). Then i remind myself of the whole Gran Turismo concept which is "The Real Driving Simulator". Watching a race is not I am a hardcore Gran Turismo fan. Played through GT2 twice and GT3 once. I love the realism and drifting abilities. But the Career Mode has seen better days. 24 hour races is just too much, but people defend that by saying that i can use my cooperative driver (B-spec). Then i remind myself of the whole Gran Turismo concept which is "The Real Driving Simulator". Watching a race is not driving. Music is bad as always but who cares? It's all about cars and racing anyway. The feeling of the cars is two thumbs up, no discussion. Drifting and taking corners has never seen this realism in a game before. You can customize your car with the regular GT parts; brakes, suspension, turbo, engine, clutch, transmission, weight reduction, tyres, rims, mufflers e.t.c... a new thing to GT4 is that you can add a wing to any car (for adjustable downforce), that's great except it mostly look horrible. But it's very functional. You can take a stock car and tune it to perfection and then beat the hardcore racecars with similar weight, power, torque and drivetrain. Expand
  5. Nelboy
    Mar 29, 2005
    7
    I never bothered with GT3 because I had better games to play, such as burnout- Which actually has realistic crashes! The AI in GT4 is unimpressive. they just take the same route all the time. I am glad there's more choice to the music than in GT2 because, while I do like some rock music, I much prefer hard trance, and the music in GT4 comes close, although they could've had more I never bothered with GT3 because I had better games to play, such as burnout- Which actually has realistic crashes! The AI in GT4 is unimpressive. they just take the same route all the time. I am glad there's more choice to the music than in GT2 because, while I do like some rock music, I much prefer hard trance, and the music in GT4 comes close, although they could've had more tracks. 5 second penalties?!!! what the hell is all that about?! I can just image the lead GT4 programmer at his desk one friday, who is given the task to make the races challenging. And all that asshole comes up with is speed- reducing penalties for hiting walls and other cars- and if other cars hit you (of which they don't get a penalty). you could be going as slow as 20mph when you hit the wall, but there's the penalty- ARRGH! Nurburgring 24 hour endurance race?!! The only way I'm doing that is having a go for about 4-5 hours a day and then leave it paused overnight! At least the cars you win are not randomly chosen. Overall, the game is worth spending the money on, but there are some serious issues to be sorted out, such as having high- speed crashes instead of penalties- and in endurance races over 4 hours long, the ability to save the time used so-far would be good. Expand
  6. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    7
    I have been a huge fan of the Gran Turismo series ever since the first title was released on the PSone. This game is one of the games I was waiting on for a LONG time with high hopes. You will notice that the graphics are slightly better than Gran Turismo 3's, but not by any HUGE step. The controls are the same, obviously. Gameplay is very similar, except now, the handeling is a lot I have been a huge fan of the Gran Turismo series ever since the first title was released on the PSone. This game is one of the games I was waiting on for a LONG time with high hopes. You will notice that the graphics are slightly better than Gran Turismo 3's, but not by any HUGE step. The controls are the same, obviously. Gameplay is very similar, except now, the handeling is a lot better, and there are more cars to choose from. There are also a few extra modes, including a Picture Mode, where you can take a picture of your current car in front of a backdrop of one of many real or fake locations around the world. However, I found the picture mode to be pointless, myself. Its definitley a fun game, and its worth it if you are a Gran Turismo fan, but at the end of the day, it feels almost like an expansion for Gran Turismo 3. Other than that, its a great simulation racing game, and I reccommend it to fans of the genre. Expand
  7. EthanR
    Mar 17, 2009
    5
    Theres something missing in this beautiful, ultra realistic game. That thing is FUN! Man. I don't play videogames to simulate real life! I PLAY them to escape life. SO why would i want to play an ultra realistic driving game. Simply put. The game is BORING!
  8. RiggS.
    Jan 27, 2005
    5
    Beautiful graphics aside (and they are stunning); why bother playing a competitive title like GT4 if you cannot play online? Developers please note: you are either online multiplayer or nothing at all!
  9. Steven
    Feb 25, 2005
    5
    Been playing for a couple days now, and I can't say that it's all that amazing, I've been waiting for a while,and I was hoping they'd finish the game. The AI follows a track on every course, and once you get ahead it's hard to fall behind. Previous Turismo games had the same problem, so maybe I shouldn't be whining, but it's frustrating to see such a Been playing for a couple days now, and I can't say that it's all that amazing, I've been waiting for a while,and I was hoping they'd finish the game. The AI follows a track on every course, and once you get ahead it's hard to fall behind. Previous Turismo games had the same problem, so maybe I shouldn't be whining, but it's frustrating to see such a monster franchise unable to make believable AI. When I'm taking a corner, I don't think it's very professional of another driver to slam into me for no apparent reason other than I'm in their pre-determined track. I once saw a car get turned sideways and then it sat there doing nothing because it couldn't figure out where it was. The graphics are very well done, (not really that hard of a feat anymore though), and the game controls well. The physics are terrible when it comes to collisions, and the no-damage is a huge fault as well. Pick it up if you're into cars and like to look at them for a long time. Tthe game is unconcerned with a real race, the designers set out to make a game that would show off their incredible detail to car models. It doesn't achieve much else. Oh, and the music is among the worst I've heard since the last game, Need for Speed: Underground has a better soundtrack. Expand
  10. MarcusB.
    May 5, 2005
    7
    Okay game. It's deep and beautiful, but has absolutely ZERO personality. Feels like car Pokemon, which is about as exciting as paint drying. After a while, I don't really care to unlock the 217th cersion of the Lancer Evolution or Honda Civic Rally super-duper SE xi edition Turbo...
  11. AnonymousMC
    Jun 13, 2004
    7
    From what I played of this game at E3 I'm not impressed. The handling hasn't made any great strides from the third game, and the graphics don't come close to living up to the expectations they've created. The Nurburgring is nowhere near as good as on Project Gotham, and the grand canyon rally just looks silly when you see it running, with the pasted in photo backdrops.
  12. DavidT.
    Feb 27, 2005
    7
    I love the franchise...but do i love this game? yes and no....the tracks are beautiful....the cars are outstanding....you really feel the speed and the realism...and i love the car selection...besides the cars that have no purpose in a game like this...but it does add variety. theres the photo mode...where you can go in and take stunning pictures of your car in different cities around the I love the franchise...but do i love this game? yes and no....the tracks are beautiful....the cars are outstanding....you really feel the speed and the realism...and i love the car selection...besides the cars that have no purpose in a game like this...but it does add variety. theres the photo mode...where you can go in and take stunning pictures of your car in different cities around the world. which really has no purpose, but it is fun to do once in a while. i also like the fact that you can buy used cars...but make sure you change there oil before you drive them. and the ice and snow stages are remarkable. on the downside...i have waited which seems ages for this game to hit the shelves...i do not notice any improved AI in this game...also, when i hit a car and im doing 236mph i do expect that car to at least spin out and myself spin out, none of that here, you barely even realize that you hit the other car. i want you readers and gamers to listen to the cars. ive noticed that alot of so called gaming magazines and websites praising the game for how real the cars sound...listen to the cars... when i hop in a muscle car i dont expect the car to rev up like a tricked out honda. i expect a growl and a roar....none of that here. i may be too criticle on this review...but i cant give a game a 9 or a 10 if it doesnt deserve it. another thing....laguna seca has hardly any grass...laguna seca is a brown desolate looking place....why does it look so green and lush in gran turismo...i was really let down when i saw that. and am i going crazy...or does the hp seem to keep changing...i dont mean it dropping after using the car so many times...i mean right there when you buy it...when u buy a car the hp says one thing...when you go into your garage and check the car out it says another? i hate to be critical...but this is supposed to be a real driving simulator...and for 4 years in development i would expect improvement...not a gran turismo 3.5...there are so many other major flaws with this game...but im too tired to list them... well im off...its getting late...and i have alot of gran turismo 4 to be playing....hey, i only said there was alot wrong with it, never said i didnt like it...lol...good nite Expand
  13. BenJ.
    Jul 14, 2005
    7
    You can't beat Gran Turismo for a quality blend of simulation and arcade feel, quality track and car models, and the sheer scope of the game. However, the game is lagging behind the industry when it comes to just about everything else you'd want to see in a driving game (multiple play modes, damage, competent AI, compelling single player progression). It's a great "gotta You can't beat Gran Turismo for a quality blend of simulation and arcade feel, quality track and car models, and the sheer scope of the game. However, the game is lagging behind the industry when it comes to just about everything else you'd want to see in a driving game (multiple play modes, damage, competent AI, compelling single player progression). It's a great "gotta get 'em all" car game, but how long is that going to keep its fan base happy while the rest of the industry marches on? Expand
  14. BrianB.
    Jul 19, 2005
    5
    I've learned here, that ultra-realism doesn't usually equal ultra-fun. If I had unlimited free time to practice driving, I could probably get pretty good at this one in like 6 months or so. At that point, this game would probably be a lot of fun. If you're incarcerated for some reason, give it a try (provided the doctors/prison guards let you have a tv and a console). Not I've learned here, that ultra-realism doesn't usually equal ultra-fun. If I had unlimited free time to practice driving, I could probably get pretty good at this one in like 6 months or so. At that point, this game would probably be a lot of fun. If you're incarcerated for some reason, give it a try (provided the doctors/prison guards let you have a tv and a console). Not good for a 5-day rental. Expand
  15. Feb 9, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ---THIS IS MY OPINION, IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, THEN, DON'T BOTHER---

    Overrated, that's all i got to say.

    Graphics: 8/10

    The graphics look gorgeous considering its a game from 2005, beatiful models and tracks considering its a PS2. However, the lack of a cockpit camera its really a minus, and doesn't help that the game boasts 1080i when it reality its just a upscaling. Argh.

    Story/Career Mode 2/10

    The game boasts a lot of cars... So?. The game is extremely tedious, and repeating events over and over isn't fun, its just tedious. When you do get to the good stuff, it still feels rather unearned, given you are forced to grind your way through the game. It doesn't help (again) that you have to start with some ***** coupe that is so slow even my mum could drive faster. Another thing that takes away point is that until you own the car you can't drive the car which is a joke.

    Gameplay 6/10

    A lot of fun, but its still pretty flawed. The game contains 0 collision detection which is a joke for a simulation game. The game contains awful engine noises, that while something minor, gets grating after a while. The game is also contains the 24 Hours of Le Mans, which, let me talk to Polyphony Digital, who is going to bother with such a task?!. Regardless, the physics are great for a PS2 game and the racing is still up there. Another thing is that feels a bit pad out at times, with multiple Daihatsus (yay... i guess?).

    OVERALL: A really fun game when you get fast cars. Otherwise, one giant borefest and a dissapointment.

    RATING: 5/10
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#74 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Whilst the game can offer a certain joy of ownership for a fraction of the cost, those who are not passionately interested in motoring in general won’t want to put the required effort in.
  2. 93
    Some professional race drivers even use the incredibly life-like tracks in this game to prepare themselves for the real thing.
  3. 100
    Blows by the competition like it was sitting on jack stands, and is the new high-water mark by which all other driving games will be judged.