User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 561 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 561

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2015
    10
    The voice acting is simply amazing. Unlike most video games, much of the voice acting is done by fairly famous names, including Joe Pantoliano, Michael Rapaport, Kyle MacLachlan.This is a remarkable achievement of proportions we never imagined possible. It has single-handedly changed the way we see all video game entertainment and the repercussions it should have for the industry are staggering
  2. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    The days before Grand Theft Auto became a world of sexual themes was certainly a good one even if I am now shaking my head at the amount of strong language featured here. The graphics here are a bit under par if I do say so myself but the gameplay itself is top notch. Grand Theft Auto III is quite simply put a fun romp through a huge city. It's incredibly innovate yet outlandish at theThe days before Grand Theft Auto became a world of sexual themes was certainly a good one even if I am now shaking my head at the amount of strong language featured here. The graphics here are a bit under par if I do say so myself but the gameplay itself is top notch. Grand Theft Auto III is quite simply put a fun romp through a huge city. It's incredibly innovate yet outlandish at the same time and that is what defines GTA. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    It's a legendary game. It's my favorite game. Atmosphere of GTA3 will be always in my soul. Thank you Rockstar for created this masterpiece!

    "Crime does pay!" (Claude)
  4. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    THIS GAME IS SO AWESOME ! The only thing I complain about is the controls other than that this game is awesome ! It has cool graphics great gameplay and variety for weapons ! GET THIS GAME ON THE PSN
  5. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    Revolutionized gaming as we know it. The world didn't know how ready it was for this game when it dropped all those years ago. I'm not sure it has aged well, but when this game launched it was a 10, and there was no question about it.
  6. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Players are put at the heart of their very own gangster movie, and let loose in a fully-realised 3 dimensional city with a cast of hundreds, 50 plus vehicles, ranging from sports cars to ice cream trucks and from boats to buses, 3 hours of music, including opera, reggae, house, drum and bass, pop and disco, and a huge array of street ready weapons.
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grand Theft Auto III is one of a kind. With a 3D and 2D Third Person View, epic artwork for the Heads Up Display and 3D models like no other in the time, Grand Theft Auto III has nailed the best Graphic Design I have ever seen that comes from the year it was made. Sure, there are other good designs like the Elder Scrolls at the time but the artwork on the box and in game makes me go "Holy f*ckin' ****

    The gameplay has again, a 3D and 2D Third Person View, making this as view-customizable as Fallout. The free roam is quick but locked places can take time to UNlock the locations. Although there aren't many character customization options (-1), there is quite an array of weapons available to the player. Unlike San Andreas, it was a shame that the game had a garage without any modification options, making the vehicles barely customizable (-1).

    However, I like the way when you kick someone, you actually get money unlike the nowadays Grand Theft Auto where it automatically drops out of the victim's wallet after being killed. Not to mention geting stacks of money only worth up to $50.

    Grand Theft Auto III will always be one game withing my heart, even in this year of 2014.
    Expand
  8. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    I love all the characters in this game, I love Claude, I love almost everything in this game. GTA V and GTA IV don't have that feeling I have with older GTA games. If you see this game on sale, GET IT!!! Steam can have my $3.74 for this game :)
  9. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    The Best in the Grand Theft Auto Series gorgeous graphics good story line awesome controls great characters i think this is the Citizen Kane of gaming in my opinion i recommend playing this awesome game
  10. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Grand Theft Auto 3 was a huge leap forward for videogame history as it featured one of the first fully 3D open world environments and a good story mode.
  11. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I sold my n 64 and 30 some odd games plus a ps1 and some more games to buy a PS2 and GTA 3. It was worth it. I Love how revolutionary this game was. I brought open real worlds gaming to the millennium. Boy gaming wise this started will an earthquake that shocked the gaming industry. One of the most innovative titles i have ever had the grace to play. Plus the main character does not haveI sold my n 64 and 30 some odd games plus a ps1 and some more games to buy a PS2 and GTA 3. It was worth it. I Love how revolutionary this game was. I brought open real worlds gaming to the millennium. Boy gaming wise this started will an earthquake that shocked the gaming industry. One of the most innovative titles i have ever had the grace to play. Plus the main character does not have an annoying voice nor does he say cheesy cliches. Expand
  12. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    the two firsts gta games were nothing special,but in the third game and with another generation they made something really special and terrific,this game would change this series forever.
  13. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Si bien para mí "Grand Theft Auto" empezó en Vice City, "Grand Theft Auto III" es legendario y digno de cualquier espectador que siga disfrutando de una de mis consolas favoritas: la legendaria PlayStation 2, y ¿Por qué es mi favorita? Porque juegos como "Gand Theft Auto III" se presentaron para esta increíble consola. Impresionante lo que se es capaz de hacer en este mapa y me acuerdoSi bien para mí "Grand Theft Auto" empezó en Vice City, "Grand Theft Auto III" es legendario y digno de cualquier espectador que siga disfrutando de una de mis consolas favoritas: la legendaria PlayStation 2, y ¿Por qué es mi favorita? Porque juegos como "Gand Theft Auto III" se presentaron para esta increíble consola. Impresionante lo que se es capaz de hacer en este mapa y me acuerdo hace mucho tiempo la primera vez que lo jugué casi estaba por llorar porque directamente era hermoso lo que pasaba por mis ojos. "Grand Theft Auto" manda. Expand
  14. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    The second game after MGS 2 that started the 3D era. Playing this game really see how crime really dangerous is, so kids learn not to copy these actions or you might end up in jail. The game is exciting,
    good to kill civilians and things to do are superb. Classic.
  15. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    EN: Grand Theft Auto III isn't just a superb game, he's also the most influential and revolutionary title of its generation and was able to become the ground zero of modern third-person gaming.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto III não só um jogo soberbo, ele também o título mais influente e revolucionário de sua geração e foi capaz de se tornar o marco zero dos jogos modernos em terceira pessra
    EN: Grand Theft Auto III isn't just a superb game, he's also the most influential and revolutionary title of its generation and was able to become the ground zero of modern third-person gaming.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto III não só um jogo soberbo, ele também o título mais influente e revolucionário de sua geração e foi capaz de se tornar o marco zero dos jogos modernos em terceira pessra pessoa
    Expand
  16. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    GTA III is the 3rd installment in the GTA series. The game remains one of the most contrevisial games ever, the game is violent and cool, the story is the best thing about the game and the gameplay now isn't that unique and the graphics is what everybody is about but this game came out in 2001 and those were the best graphics for those years. GTA III is an amazing game and it's incrediblyGTA III is the 3rd installment in the GTA series. The game remains one of the most contrevisial games ever, the game is violent and cool, the story is the best thing about the game and the gameplay now isn't that unique and the graphics is what everybody is about but this game came out in 2001 and those were the best graphics for those years. GTA III is an amazing game and it's incredibly alot and I mean alot of fun. 10/10 Collapse
  17. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    A mediocre shooter/gangster game where you can kill people on the streets without any reason. I would say, games like this should be banned because they teach kids that being a criminal is fun. And that's a dangerous thing. Criminals should be in prison, that's the normal state of events, and you should teach kids that.
  18. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    As a game Grand Theft Auto III certainly has its flaws’, including fairly poor controls as well as some horrendous difficulty spikes. Very few games however claim to be as influential on video game design to the point where, more than a decade after its release, games are still imitating its formula.
  19. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto III is, quite simply, one of the greatest video game accomplishments in history. It single-handedly invented the sandbox genre, and it's my favorite video game of all time. It gets nearly everything it tries to do right, and in doing so, made history. The open ended gameplay is always fun, but that's what most people focus on, but who could blame them? Before GTA III,Grand Theft Auto III is, quite simply, one of the greatest video game accomplishments in history. It single-handedly invented the sandbox genre, and it's my favorite video game of all time. It gets nearly everything it tries to do right, and in doing so, made history. The open ended gameplay is always fun, but that's what most people focus on, but who could blame them? Before GTA III, gamers had never played anything like this before. However, there is a story here revolving around structured missions that shouldn't be missed. GTA III combines action/adventure and driving games flawlessly. With its respectable amount of vehicle and weapon choices, alongside the size of the map and the progressively tougher story missions, this is an extremely varied game that will almost sate anyone's appetite for a lengthy adventure to sink their teeth into. The story itself is, admittedly, nothing special, but with the sheer size of this game (for its time), to even incorporate a flowing narrative is, without a doubt, something to marvel. That's basically how I saw this game when it was released; something I was absolutely in awe at. The controls are spot on for driving, walking around, punching random pedestrians, etc., but the targeting system for aiming weapons will leave a bad taste with some gamers. Does that make it bad? No. Once you learn how to use it (along with conserving health and armor) you can get through any mission with minimal trouble. Any reviewer who could possibly label this masterpiece as a bad game simply has no business reviewing video games. That Sleeping Dogs, Crackdown, Infamous games you've been playing? All of those owe GTA III, big time. This game is the blueprint for sandbox games, and a damn fine model to go from, at that. Even games like the Tony Hawk franchise took note of the open world design in later entries, and it's hard to say that GTA III didn't have a hand in inspiring any of the games I've mentioned above. It's simply a monumental title that must be played by anyone who's mature enough to handle its visceral, gritty violence. I'll be the first to admit that it's not perfect, but it's so, so close to it, and is easily my favorite game in the GTA series. I'd even dare say that if you give this game a bad review, you had no business playing video games in general. GTA III has so much great going for it, you'll easily overlook the bad if you simply just take the time to get used to it. Which sadly, a minority of people won't. Their loss. 10/10. Expand
  20. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Cool am Ivan is 0% right. GTA III is the best PlayStation 2 game ever so dont listen to um..."Cool" am Ivan. The story-line is breathtaking and has a awesome set of missions, including Toni Cipriani!
  21. Dec 16, 2012
    7
    Amazing game. Good graphics and big city, for its times, and very good plot. The gameplay is great because you can do a lot of things (although it isn't even comparable to GTA San Andreas). 100% recommended.
  22. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    **** yeah, **** I played this when I was six and I swear to god, I saw Jesus. Maybe not literally but I saw what video games could be. I saw what every gamer should see. It's amazing.
  23. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Clearly one of the best games ever made. This game is one of the greatest games ever created. Story is great and the main character's silent is nice too, Graphics are overall nice. Gameplay became the basis for every GTA game followed.
    Every person who will rank this game lower than 9 - he/she can go f*** himself/herself.
  24. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    This is of course one of the greatest games of all time both in its own merits and for its innovations for gaming as a whole. Unfortunately however, the PS2 controls make this game extremely awkward to play. nlike the PC version, you can't choose between classic and PC-style controls. Obviously this game would be much easier with a mouse and keyboard but despite the auto-aim even the startThis is of course one of the greatest games of all time both in its own merits and for its innovations for gaming as a whole. Unfortunately however, the PS2 controls make this game extremely awkward to play. nlike the PC version, you can't choose between classic and PC-style controls. Obviously this game would be much easier with a mouse and keyboard but despite the auto-aim even the start of the game can be difficult due to the awkward camera (both in car and on foot), clunky movement and looking around. To turn the camera you go into first person and can't do anything, and the sensitivity is too low. The game is an iconic masterpiece but the controls make it almost unplayable. It owuld be nice to at least be able to use the PC style controls with a controller. Expand
  25. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    play this absolutely epic truly the greatest playstation 2 game ohnestly endless fun great atmosphre. fun missions and for its time good graphics. if i had to complain it would be the character models a bit fuzzy
  26. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    GTA III is a classic , Rockstar's creativity to make an open-world/sandbox game at that time was innovative. You can send hours goofing on the streets killing,destroying or crashing cars , set with an interesting story that will not be forgotten for those that payed attention. GTA III delivers enough to satisfy last generation and current/future generation alike.
  27. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    This Game Is Alright For Gamers. I Would Rather Play This Game If I Had Nothing To Do Though. But It Is A Good Game. i Just Wish The Voice, Sound And Lighting Would Improve.
  28. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    If someone were to play this game, having played GTAIV and its subsequent add-ons, you would definitely see how dated and sloppy some areas of GTAIII can be. But at the time of its release, it was an absolute landmark in gaming. It set the standard for open world games as know it and introduced game-play elements that are now common ground. It can be hard to appreciate this game as much asIf someone were to play this game, having played GTAIV and its subsequent add-ons, you would definitely see how dated and sloppy some areas of GTAIII can be. But at the time of its release, it was an absolute landmark in gaming. It set the standard for open world games as know it and introduced game-play elements that are now common ground. It can be hard to appreciate this game as much as it should be appreciated, considering it is definitely outdated nowadays, but respect is still deserved for one of the greatest games ever made. Bring on GTA5! Expand
  29. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    When i heard this was coming out for the PS2, i turned my nose up at it. I wasn't a GTA fan i hated the birds-eye view. After a few months of my cousin pestering me to get it off my friend, i did. I tell you now i loved it, i have NEVER EVER played a game where its ok to cruise, listen to music and kill people. This game was brilliant. The maps were huge, the missions vaired. The rise fromWhen i heard this was coming out for the PS2, i turned my nose up at it. I wasn't a GTA fan i hated the birds-eye view. After a few months of my cousin pestering me to get it off my friend, i did. I tell you now i loved it, i have NEVER EVER played a game where its ok to cruise, listen to music and kill people. This game was brilliant. The maps were huge, the missions vaired. The rise from a street punk to a top gangster was just pure brilliance. Expand
  30. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This is an infinitely replayable game that has so much to do. You are crazy if you don't like this game. It is so fun because you can do anything in this game, whether it is free roaming the Liberty City streets or playing the missions.
  31. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    One of the very first games I ever played. I can remember many a weekend playing this game endlessly. It was fun, the cars were cool, the missions were rewarding and it had one of the most important devices in any GTA game; the idea of being able to go wherever you want, when you want and do what you want. Whether I was blasting pedestrians with a shotgun, doing an insane stunt or beingOne of the very first games I ever played. I can remember many a weekend playing this game endlessly. It was fun, the cars were cool, the missions were rewarding and it had one of the most important devices in any GTA game; the idea of being able to go wherever you want, when you want and do what you want. Whether I was blasting pedestrians with a shotgun, doing an insane stunt or being chased by the police, this game always had a special place in my heart. Only drawback was that even for 2001, the graphics looked primitive. But apart from that, the best GTA on the PS2. Expand
  32. Dec 16, 2010
    9
    Grand Theft Auto III was the revolutionary video game in 2001, but now some people say this game is dog &$#@, but not really!The 18 content is not really 18!The violence is not extreme and no sex!But Foul language is WTF.The action blazes,but with some small bugs!This review is short and this game isn't perfection like Super Mario Galaxy and Ocarina of Time!Those are perfect!
  33. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    The game that transformed the genre and the industry~ I remember staying at a friends place, me and a few others taking turns to play this game I could never forget how much fun this game has brought me over time and how long it stayed relevant and fun.
  34. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Too all those people who are calling the game bad: Sure, everything about GTA III is dated. The graphics are horrible by todays standard. The AI is, too. But when GTA III first came out, it was revolutionary. It's still a great game, and fun just to run around the city and get a six star wanted level. It's still a very good game, by 2001's standards.
  35. MikeB
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    This was a good game considering the time it was made. GTA 3 can't be compared to GTA SanAndreas or GTA4, because of graphics and range of vehicles, and weapons. People who are saying it is bad are most likely comparing it to brand new games. If you compare it to games that were made in that time period, you will probally find it is a good game. It could use some work though, like This was a good game considering the time it was made. GTA 3 can't be compared to GTA SanAndreas or GTA4, because of graphics and range of vehicles, and weapons. People who are saying it is bad are most likely comparing it to brand new games. If you compare it to games that were made in that time period, you will probally find it is a good game. It could use some work though, like your character doesn't even talk in GTA3. Expand
  36. TenzinR
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best game ever! Brought meaning to the term sandbox game, it didnt invent it but it perfected it. The reason I bought my ps2 plain and simple
  37. DesmondLo
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    Most best action-adventure in Sixth generation era. I don't care about controversy.
  38. JohnnyV
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    a masterpiece. endless replay value, a great story, amazing audio, nice graphics, and a lot of style.
  39. MatthewC.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    I'm only 10 but i like all GTA games and this is the first GTA game i ever played and it's awesome!!!! I'm getting a PSP and GTA Liberty City Stories and Vice City Stories for my birth day which is in less than 2 weeks. This is a Must have game!!!
  40. SteveS
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    The fact is, GTA III is the video game equivalent of Nirvana's Nevermind. This is the one that broke the mold and changed the entire industry. Love it or hate it, you have to appreciate the fact that GTA III is just as important as Super Mario Bros., The Legend of Zelda, Pac-Man or Space Invaders.
  41. TimG
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Who cares about the controversy?!?!?! Get to grips DASHEL J its a game and probably the bet I've ever played on so stop whining!!!
  42. JesusC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    7
    It's a decent game, but it's also a little stale a little more than 4 hours in.
  43. Kewlkat
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    "Beyond the initial draw of 'something unexpected' and the occasional recurrence of a shamefully base desire to clumsily, chaotically, and downright ridiculously murder heaps of random clones wandering the drab streets of Liberty City, I can think of nothing worthy of praise in this over-inflated piece of trash." If you understood a single word I quoted above, than this game is"Beyond the initial draw of 'something unexpected' and the occasional recurrence of a shamefully base desire to clumsily, chaotically, and downright ridiculously murder heaps of random clones wandering the drab streets of Liberty City, I can think of nothing worthy of praise in this over-inflated piece of trash." If you understood a single word I quoted above, than this game is too much fun for you. Sorry. :( Expand
  44. DashelJ.
    Jul 27, 2007
    3
    Grand Theft Auto III and its successors comprise the worst examples of controversy mistaken for ingenuity that the gaming industry has ever seen. If you block out the hype and the imbecilic reviews in an honest attempt to judge this game for what it is worth, you would surely arrive at a score no more than 2 or 3 points higher than the one I have submitted. Beyond the initial draw of Grand Theft Auto III and its successors comprise the worst examples of controversy mistaken for ingenuity that the gaming industry has ever seen. If you block out the hype and the imbecilic reviews in an honest attempt to judge this game for what it is worth, you would surely arrive at a score no more than 2 or 3 points higher than the one I have submitted. Beyond the initial draw of 'something unexpected' and the occasional recurrence of a shamefully base desire to clumsily, chaotically, and downright ridiculously murder heaps of random clones wandering the drab streets of Liberty City, I can think of nothing worthy of praise in this over-inflated piece of trash. Expand
  45. AkeemG.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Out of all the grand theft auto games that have been made this one has the best atmosphere. Staunton, Portland, and Shoreside Vale are still the best places to be out of all of the grand theft auto games.Another couple of things that makes this the best grand theft auto is the fast paced action that goes on when you decide to go beserk on the cops.The cops in this game are more ruthless Out of all the grand theft auto games that have been made this one has the best atmosphere. Staunton, Portland, and Shoreside Vale are still the best places to be out of all of the grand theft auto games.Another couple of things that makes this the best grand theft auto is the fast paced action that goes on when you decide to go beserk on the cops.The cops in this game are more ruthless than any other cops in any other grand theft auto game, hearing them yell stuff like GET DOWN ON THE GROUND NOW!! at you all the time really makes you excited.Plain and simply said,this is the most fun grand theft auto game around,I just wish that there wre some hunter helicopters and army Jets to fly though. Expand
  46. JohnS.
    Feb 24, 2007
    8
    This game is pretty good, but not perfect. Good use of open-endedness though. Cool Am Ivan, there is no Boggsville. Theres a ghost area that was used for the opening act of GTA 3, but it isnt solid and can be gotten there by dodo going north of shorside vale. There is no blacksmith and no swords and no boss battle there. Don't believe this liar. And the game doesn't suck, either.
  47. PhilipP.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    The reason I give a ten is not because its the best game out because it isn't but because I really thing this game changed the revolution of the gaming world it was amazing and still is 10/10.
  48. KanameS.
    Dec 20, 2006
    0
    This game royally sucked. This had to have been the worst game I've ever played. Aside from the fact that the game is totally overrated, there was no real plot to it and I believe that this game should be burned and never seen again. I stand with my rating.
  49. KashiK.
    Oct 22, 2006
    4
    This game sucks. Yeah, it's fun to "explore" the world but THE WORLD IS SMALL. It's interactive, detailed, and has alot of people to kill for no reason. Killing people gets fun for about 1-3 hours then you will TRY to get past the story. I was in shock on how lousy the story was. This game is recommended to people that are just stupid only. DO NOT GET THIS GAME!
  50. Mr.x
    Aug 29, 2006
    0
    Bad art no original music and bad sound bad acting encurages savage behavior hmmm can I sue that they wasted my time? lol
  51. LouisM.
    Aug 20, 2006
    6
    Mediocre. I picked it up after having much experience with GTAs 1 and 2, with high expectations. The environment is detailed, varied, interesting, and with passable interactivity. There's a wonderful variety and sufficient volume of music included. The missions, however, are abysmal. Perhaps the worst I have ever seen in a game. Almost all are incredibly formulaic, and amount to "go Mediocre. I picked it up after having much experience with GTAs 1 and 2, with high expectations. The environment is detailed, varied, interesting, and with passable interactivity. There's a wonderful variety and sufficient volume of music included. The missions, however, are abysmal. Perhaps the worst I have ever seen in a game. Almost all are incredibly formulaic, and amount to "go to these locations with this time limit". Some missions must be thoroughly scoped (i.e., memorizing the positions of all important locations you must visit) and thus retried many times before victory is even possible, which to me seems ludacrous. Also, I'm very fond of GTA2, so I think the "respect" system and choice of gang you show your allegiance to was much more effective and advanced than the mission structure of this game, which is far more linear. Also, skirmishes between gangs on the streets do not occur often enough. Having to go through enemy territory on certain missions while being shot up is incredibly frustrating, given the already often excessive difficulty. The mechanics (especially shooting) are poorly designed and frustrating. Also, the inability to simply start a mission again from the beginning with the same equipment is bizzare. It's an okay game on the whole, but was and still is incredibly overrated and overappreciated. I really don't see how such a flawed game recieved such universally high reviews. Expand
  52. JavierF.
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    The game is cool because it has a lot of violence and i like to kill people in the game and that is the best game ever.
  53. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    I beg you, if you have played Vice City and/or San Andreas do not play this game because you will think less of it, although it is a masterpiece.
  54. JamesN.
    Apr 19, 2006
    4
    I never understood this game. The one thing I will give it credit for is the incredibly in-depth world it allows you to explore. But there is nothing more than that. I get a little tired of the "let's shoot everything" formula. And the story was never all that great. I love violence, but this just gets redundant. This game was not the revolutionary game everyone made it out to be. I never understood this game. The one thing I will give it credit for is the incredibly in-depth world it allows you to explore. But there is nothing more than that. I get a little tired of the "let's shoot everything" formula. And the story was never all that great. I love violence, but this just gets redundant. This game was not the revolutionary game everyone made it out to be. And game developers, please stop trying to copy this game, it's been done to hell. Expand
  55. JoshV.
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    1st of all i read some of the ratings for this game and i was suprised. this game set a standard for gaming and you cant get mad if you was broke and couldnt get the game when it first came out and got it like a year ago when vice city and and san andreas came out. if you get it that late you shouldnt expect it to be the best game in the world. you should probably get it just to see what 1st of all i read some of the ratings for this game and i was suprised. this game set a standard for gaming and you cant get mad if you was broke and couldnt get the game when it first came out and got it like a year ago when vice city and and san andreas came out. if you get it that late you shouldnt expect it to be the best game in the world. you should probably get it just to see what the storyline is so you wont get confused in san andreas. if you just want a good game just get san andreas.Peace Expand
  56. JennyW.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    It's fun cause you can't spell slaughter with out laughter!
  57. BrianD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    1
    Horrible game. The controls are clunky and the story might as well have been made by a 5 year old. It gets 1 point because killing random people is fun for about 4-5 hours, but even mass homicide gets old quick in this game.
  58. JohnB.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    This game revolutionized gaming in a way few games did. It enabled an environment where you were free to roam and do ANYTHING you want! Not only that, but its sequels didn't ruin a thing, Vice City and San Andreas were great games. May this franchise last forever and developers, stop trying to make cheap ripoffs like The Getaway and True Crime Streets of LA. You will never compare to This game revolutionized gaming in a way few games did. It enabled an environment where you were free to roam and do ANYTHING you want! Not only that, but its sequels didn't ruin a thing, Vice City and San Andreas were great games. May this franchise last forever and developers, stop trying to make cheap ripoffs like The Getaway and True Crime Streets of LA. You will never compare to Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  59. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    The criminal underworld backdrop is always fun to have as a storyline, but the gameplay of GTA 3 is fun with or without it.
  60. EdwardB.
    Sep 7, 2005
    5
    I have a love hate relationship with this game. Love: Great big cities with many areas to search. Love: Ability to shoot,crash, burn, bash and destroy. Love: realistic environment Love: Ability to steal cars and drive fast as hell and smash and run over people and things. Hate: Radio- horrible music repetitive turned it off second day playing. Hate: Repetitive sayings of pedistrians over I have a love hate relationship with this game. Love: Great big cities with many areas to search. Love: Ability to shoot,crash, burn, bash and destroy. Love: realistic environment Love: Ability to steal cars and drive fast as hell and smash and run over people and things. Hate: Radio- horrible music repetitive turned it off second day playing. Hate: Repetitive sayings of pedistrians over and over they say the same thing by the end of the game if you hear, "my mothers my sister" one more time .... your going to kill someone. Hate: Most missions are just too dam hard..period. I repeat get ready to be unbelivably frustrated and pissed. To add insult to injury when you dont succed on missions (there are many you will not succeed on -like all of them) you have to drive back to the mission trigger location so by the 10th time of doing a mission ( some missions take over 10 to 15 minutes) your swearing more then the game. Hate: Cops are too aggressive they progressively get worse up to 6 levels but by level 2 to 3 they dont stop coming. You cant outrun them as they pop out of no where...unlike Driver which you can. Hate: Targeting system on guns ....this is crap A enemy can be right on you and you cant get him. If mulitple enemie s gather around you forget it. This all adds up to a incredibly frustrating and annoying game...I played Hitman2, rockstars MANHUNT, and the Suffering right before this game and I do not know how this got a higher rating then these other games. I can't see someone playing this game for more then a month and not throwing up -this game gets very repetitive. I played it for two weeks, using cheats ( you will too or you'll be playing it for a year ) and getting 70% that was way enough for me...forever. Expand
  61. ryane.
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    Fun game.
  62. pierreb.
    Jun 11, 2005
    0
    This game was not worth my money.
  63. MikelR.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    How could you not like it?
  64. JordanT.
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    This game is pretty easy. I beat the game 3 times. But low difficulty games doesn't give much exitement. But think about. You won't have to cus with stress and anger.
  65. MarkG.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    A classic title that should be in every gamer's collection. Its success is evident in the endless clones and comparisons that continue even today. Replayability well beyond hundreds of hours.
  66. AndyS.
    Dec 29, 2004
    7
    This is definitely a great game, but when it comes to the story, just like the other GTA's, it's not to addctive. All in all, the gam is good, but it needs more color. Comparing it to the new GTA's, Vice City, as well as San Andreas, it doesn't even make a 6.5.
  67. MatthieuR.
    Dec 16, 2004
    10
    The greatest videogame ever made.
  68. MarkusL.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Great Game. A big upgrade from GTA 2. Its the first game I could beat on my own. Its a must have.
  69. Fdmint
    Nov 6, 2004
    6
    Someone said the game is pointless ... yeah ..why doesn`t Fido just runs away with Maria ..an live happily ever after ???? ...AND MY Question : What ever happened with 8-Ball the demo-expert , "your' friend ?....and the 3 cities are very big U move very slow betwen them ...AND : I was told that there was no 4-th city !!!!!!!! or somebody was talking about that ghost city { wich is an Someone said the game is pointless ... yeah ..why doesn`t Fido just runs away with Maria ..an live happily ever after ???? ...AND MY Question : What ever happened with 8-Ball the demo-expert , "your' friend ?....and the 3 cities are very big U move very slow betwen them ...AND : I was told that there was no 4-th city !!!!!!!! or somebody was talking about that ghost city { wich is an error ? right ? } ...and I like the shot-gun..but it`s to ...i mean U can destroy a car with only 2 shots ...thats to much !!!! AND Another of my Questions : What happened with Donald Love ?? I mean in the last of his mission..that`s just a cut-seen ..he dissapears !!!..where does he go ? and why does he leave ?? Expand
  70. SquirtB.
    Nov 6, 2004
    8
    Dyam.This Game Is F-ed Up Good.Although Having To Feed The Character Every Once In A While Is Quite Annoying,But Overall Its Good.Story Line Is Great.Graphics Are Neutral.Met Up To My Expectations.But They Really Have To Do Something About Those Ugly Characters Of Theirs.Well,Basically.This Game Is Definitely Worth Playing.
  71. AndrewD.
    Oct 9, 2004
    8
    Doesn't get 10 from me because it gets a bit repetitive (kill that guy, run from cops,etc...) and I think that the fisrt island gets boring after being stuck on the same mission on shoreside vale for 1 month.
  72. SeanB.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Dark, intriguing, addicting. Nice to play when youre having a bad day. Story is probably the best on any platform for any game ever in eternity- even though I thought it ended kind of abruptly.
  73. JakeH.
    Jun 3, 2004
    5
    ok man here it goes they need better fighting styles better mini shitty game things or whatever the RC shit stuff plus whats with two stars when you kill one cop totally gay man get em to fix it I might not bust the games in half like GTA 3 and vice city peace it...
  74. JamieM.
    May 7, 2004
    0
    This game would be excellent if i knew how to go.
  75. AlecMichaud
    Apr 8, 2004
    0
    i hated this game cause itlicked nuts and u getall this money and wat do u do wit it besides by shitty guns and in the whole game the little faggot never even talked and he sat around and jack off all day and never even killed anyone little bitch
  76. JustinM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    9
    Big game, lots of replay value, a must have.
  77. KevinS.
    Mar 13, 2004
    9
    I love this game because it is fun and it's always somethin' to do.
  78. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    9
    A lot of fun.
  79. ApuN.
    Jan 30, 2004
    5
    Good game, 1st city is good but got boring after. plus whats up with old grannys pulling you out of the tank:S
  80. PIRANHAg.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    Rockstar guys I LUV YOU. Simply Perfect.
  81. KyleK.
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    This an awesome game because you can kill anyone you want drive anywhere but can't fly.This has very good missions good graphics but not as good as vice city though i gave it a 10. That's how good it is.
  82. GaborA.
    Nov 11, 2003
    4
    The most overrated game of all time (besides Vice City). Elements of every game are adapted, but in the most pathetic and simplistic manner. Driving is boring, and racing impossible. Combat is like a pathetic platform game. If you want large environments play Tony Hawk where at least interesting play can be done in them.
  83. AgassiV.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    This game is cool and fantastic to play and when you go and play you can't stop playing this cool game.
  84. DonnyF.
    Aug 8, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome for those who say it sucks YOU SUCK!!!!!!
  85. ShaunR.
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    A real good game with excelent gameplay and great characters.
  86. coolamIvan
    Jul 5, 2003
    3
    like i sed before, i was really excited to be able to go to the fourth city but when i got there... it wook forever too load and even though you got to use sqords... it had very bad collision detection. first 3 cties are ok but 4th city sucks. after all i went through to get there and it was a let down... and thats the bottom line cause' i told it to you!
  87. DarrylC.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Great game the best game i have ever bought and i have 75 of them. No matter how many times you play it you just want more.
  88. JonathanF.
    Jul 1, 2003
    10
    This is no doubt the best game in the world. S.T., Jone B. and Someguy, I think you must be looking at the code, not the game.
  89. KevinW.
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    I love this movie. Its awesome.
  90. PhoebeR.
    Jun 21, 2003
    5
    This game was ok. Ok so the gameplay and freedom is fantastic, but the graphics are SO PLAYSTATION ONE. Rockstar should maybe put a bit more effort into the graphics and make a better storyline with missions that arn't all the same!
  91. ScottV.
    May 27, 2003
    10
    It's the best game ever made PERIOD!!!!!!!
  92. chuck76
    May 12, 2003
    10
    Oooh 0 out of 10 how clever you are. Every video game is pointless you could be out saving whales or preventing rain forests from being cut down, but I imagine if you've got time to go on-line and give hokey scores for a game then you probably don't do that either. Still how funny is it that even with your false scores and plenty of others I'm sure the game still scores so highly.
  93. JoneB.
    Apr 23, 2003
    1
    This game get's an 1 fore it's violence, the rest sucks.
  94. Chuck76
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    Probably my favourite game of all time! Pick up and play, go on a mission or just murder people(if you want to, you sicko!). Can't be touched in my eyes.
  95. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    Easily the most fun game I have ever played and I've been playing video games since pong. Easy to pick up and play, fun to explore, even fun when you fail.
  96. Someguy
    Mar 22, 2003
    0
    The most horrible game ever!!! When i used the tank i already got busted and when some guy fights me i have to fight back rite?once punched him i got a wanted level like wtf is this sh*t it should be in the toliet. The graphics suk. Stay away from this game when u see it!!
  97. E.G.
    Mar 17, 2003
    3
    The worst graphics I've ever seen. NICE FLIPPER HANDS!!!!!! What a joke. What happened to realism??? Rockstar needs to learn from ubi soft (splinter cell ring a bell??)
  98. ConsuelaS.
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 3 is the best game ever envented. I am really hooked on the game when I play it. My cousin always yells at me for staying on it too long and but I end up having to get of off the game because my cousin ends up beating me up. Thankyou for taking the time to read my comments,
  99. DarylR.
    Mar 7, 2003
    9
    This game was the greatest game ever with GTA Vice City!!!!!!!
  100. NathanN.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    I love this game. You can do anything you want. Kill an old woman, steal a cop car, go on a killing spree, anything.
  101. Sep 20, 2013
    0
    GTA III is the 3rd installment in the GTA series. The game remains one of the most contrevisial games ever, the game is violent and cool, the story is the best thing about the game and the gameplay now isn't that unique and the graphics is what everybody is about but this game came out in 2001 and those were the best graphics for those years. GTA III is an amazing game and it's incrediblyGTA III is the 3rd installment in the GTA series. The game remains one of the most contrevisial games ever, the game is violent and cool, the story is the best thing about the game and the gameplay now isn't that unique and the graphics is what everybody is about but this game came out in 2001 and those were the best graphics for those years. GTA III is an amazing game and it's incredibly alot and I mean alot of fun. 10/10 Collapse
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The end-all, be-all of console action games. Period...For me GTA3 is the best action game I have ever played on a console system and I highly recommend it to adults (the intended audience of this game) who know the difference between good and evil.
  2. An insanely deep game that offers a lot to do outside of the 70+ missions. If you understand that it's just a game and that these selfsame actions are not healthy in the real world, you'll enjoy a well-developed world disguised as a deviously fun game.
  3. Adding to the frustration is the fact that your targeting system is practically useless, and the vehicle physics model is annoyingly floaty. [Jan 2002, p.78]