Grand Theft Auto III PlayStation 2

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 635 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 635
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2016
    4
    GTA 3 is a terrible game. Compared to any of the other 3D GTA games, this is by far the worst. I get that it is one of the pioneers, but that doesn't change any of my criticisms for the game. The main character doesn't even talk, he just follows orders from whoever tells him what to do. The driving experience is poor as well. Cars take damage far too easily, and when a car flips over, itGTA 3 is a terrible game. Compared to any of the other 3D GTA games, this is by far the worst. I get that it is one of the pioneers, but that doesn't change any of my criticisms for the game. The main character doesn't even talk, he just follows orders from whoever tells him what to do. The driving experience is poor as well. Cars take damage far too easily, and when a car flips over, it explodes. You can't even swim in this game! The controls are a mess, and by far the worst aspect of the game is the gun controls. You can't even freely aim your gun! The main character just holds it at is waist and it looks like he is fapping instead of shooting a gun. Overall this is a horrible game. Play Vice City or Liberty City Stories instead. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2016
    0
    For this game's fault i haven't touched videogames in 20 years, the characters are ugly, the driving sucks, the shooting sucks, the roaming sucks, this game is about nothing, thanks to this game, the industry it's in the sorry state it's in now.
  3. Jan 12, 2016
    0
    Almost same score than gta san andreas? ... This is pathetic cause is 100% more limited than the last gta of ps2.

    You can't ride bisycles here, buy clothes, if you want to fly you cant take an airplane and fly the world you have to use glitchs in the game, you can't buy nothing apart of weapons, You cant increase your stats to run more time, not even go to a gym or eat, cant swim and
    Almost same score than gta san andreas? ... This is pathetic cause is 100% more limited than the last gta of ps2.

    You can't ride bisycles here, buy clothes, if you want to fly you cant take an airplane and fly the world you have to use glitchs in the game, you can't buy nothing apart of weapons, You cant increase your stats to run more time, not even go to a gym or eat, cant swim and much more things..

    For the moment this game went on sale was very good but as best ps2 game of gta lacks too much.
    Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    A mediocre shooter/gangster game where you can kill people on the streets without any reason. I would say, games like this should be banned because they teach kids that being a criminal is fun. And that's a dangerous thing. Criminals should be in prison, that's the normal state of events, and you should teach kids that.
  5. DashelJ.
    Jul 27, 2007
    3
    Grand Theft Auto III and its successors comprise the worst examples of controversy mistaken for ingenuity that the gaming industry has ever seen. If you block out the hype and the imbecilic reviews in an honest attempt to judge this game for what it is worth, you would surely arrive at a score no more than 2 or 3 points higher than the one I have submitted. Beyond the initial draw of Grand Theft Auto III and its successors comprise the worst examples of controversy mistaken for ingenuity that the gaming industry has ever seen. If you block out the hype and the imbecilic reviews in an honest attempt to judge this game for what it is worth, you would surely arrive at a score no more than 2 or 3 points higher than the one I have submitted. Beyond the initial draw of 'something unexpected' and the occasional recurrence of a shamefully base desire to clumsily, chaotically, and downright ridiculously murder heaps of random clones wandering the drab streets of Liberty City, I can think of nothing worthy of praise in this over-inflated piece of trash. Expand
  6. KanameS.
    Dec 20, 2006
    0
    This game royally sucked. This had to have been the worst game I've ever played. Aside from the fact that the game is totally overrated, there was no real plot to it and I believe that this game should be burned and never seen again. I stand with my rating.
  7. KashiK.
    Oct 22, 2006
    4
    This game sucks. Yeah, it's fun to "explore" the world but THE WORLD IS SMALL. It's interactive, detailed, and has alot of people to kill for no reason. Killing people gets fun for about 1-3 hours then you will TRY to get past the story. I was in shock on how lousy the story was. This game is recommended to people that are just stupid only. DO NOT GET THIS GAME!
  8. Mr.x
    Aug 29, 2006
    0
    Bad art no original music and bad sound bad acting encurages savage behavior hmmm can I sue that they wasted my time? lol
  9. JamesN.
    Apr 19, 2006
    4
    I never understood this game. The one thing I will give it credit for is the incredibly in-depth world it allows you to explore. But there is nothing more than that. I get a little tired of the "let's shoot everything" formula. And the story was never all that great. I love violence, but this just gets redundant. This game was not the revolutionary game everyone made it out to be. I never understood this game. The one thing I will give it credit for is the incredibly in-depth world it allows you to explore. But there is nothing more than that. I get a little tired of the "let's shoot everything" formula. And the story was never all that great. I love violence, but this just gets redundant. This game was not the revolutionary game everyone made it out to be. And game developers, please stop trying to copy this game, it's been done to hell. Expand
  10. BrianD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    1
    Horrible game. The controls are clunky and the story might as well have been made by a 5 year old. It gets 1 point because killing random people is fun for about 4-5 hours, but even mass homicide gets old quick in this game.
  11. pierreb.
    Jun 11, 2005
    0
    This game was not worth my money.
  12. JamieM.
    May 7, 2004
    0
    This game would be excellent if i knew how to go.
  13. AlecMichaud
    Apr 8, 2004
    0
    i hated this game cause itlicked nuts and u getall this money and wat do u do wit it besides by shitty guns and in the whole game the little faggot never even talked and he sat around and jack off all day and never even killed anyone little bitch
  14. GaborA.
    Nov 11, 2003
    4
    The most overrated game of all time (besides Vice City). Elements of every game are adapted, but in the most pathetic and simplistic manner. Driving is boring, and racing impossible. Combat is like a pathetic platform game. If you want large environments play Tony Hawk where at least interesting play can be done in them.
  15. coolamIvan
    Jul 5, 2003
    3
    like i sed before, i was really excited to be able to go to the fourth city but when i got there... it wook forever too load and even though you got to use sqords... it had very bad collision detection. first 3 cties are ok but 4th city sucks. after all i went through to get there and it was a let down... and thats the bottom line cause' i told it to you!
  16. JoneB.
    Apr 23, 2003
    1
    This game get's an 1 fore it's violence, the rest sucks.
  17. Someguy
    Mar 22, 2003
    0
    The most horrible game ever!!! When i used the tank i already got busted and when some guy fights me i have to fight back rite?once punched him i got a wanted level like wtf is this sh*t it should be in the toliet. The graphics suk. Stay away from this game when u see it!!
  18. E.G.
    Mar 17, 2003
    3
    The worst graphics I've ever seen. NICE FLIPPER HANDS!!!!!! What a joke. What happened to realism??? Rockstar needs to learn from ubi soft (splinter cell ring a bell??)
  19. KyleB.
    Nov 6, 2002
    0
    The game made to deter people from the playstation 2. This game could quite possibly be the worst game I have ever played, I have played some very bad games. The very plot of the game is both pethetic and illy prepared. The story of revenge has gotten to be one of the lamest and most predictable with a very lame plot twists. The sole fact the game is based on lust and ilegal activites. The game made to deter people from the playstation 2. This game could quite possibly be the worst game I have ever played, I have played some very bad games. The very plot of the game is both pethetic and illy prepared. The story of revenge has gotten to be one of the lamest and most predictable with a very lame plot twists. The sole fact the game is based on lust and ilegal activites. the game has got to be one of the worst looking games ever on the ps2 save for rune. The games only saving grace is the freedom of action which will be brought to a sudden end because of the swift justice brought about from Liberty Citys finest! The weapons are both unintresting and leave alot more to the immangination. This game should not be bought, possibly only to be rented, but only on a cheap night! Expand
  20. CoolAmIvan
    Sep 10, 2002
    3
    Hey ''geoff c.'' u think im stupid?? well there is a town called boggeville. its codename for the 4th city. I know the secret how to get there. and in the 4th city there is a blacksmith and u you can use swords. there is also a big fight with this dude that takes forever to load. maybe u should know what ur tokin aboot before u go tellin me that im stupid. now go play Hey ''geoff c.'' u think im stupid?? well there is a town called boggeville. its codename for the 4th city. I know the secret how to get there. and in the 4th city there is a blacksmith and u you can use swords. there is also a big fight with this dude that takes forever to load. maybe u should know what ur tokin aboot before u go tellin me that im stupid. now go play ur 3 cities loser because u will never know the secret to boggsville!!!! hahahah! !!!!! muhahaha!!!! Expand
  21. CoolamIvan
    Jul 12, 2002
    3
    It sucks how you have to wtach all the cutscenes each time you enter a new town (especially the long cutscene when you enter boggsville), and it is very linear. And i hate the blacksmith at the items store, he always buys things from you for 1/4 of what they are actually worth. plus it is very short, kinda like diablo but not as good at all. it gets sooo boring when it has to load each It sucks how you have to wtach all the cutscenes each time you enter a new town (especially the long cutscene when you enter boggsville), and it is very linear. And i hate the blacksmith at the items store, he always buys things from you for 1/4 of what they are actually worth. plus it is very short, kinda like diablo but not as good at all. it gets sooo boring when it has to load each battle for about 1 min. before actually fighting. stay away from this trash pile, stay far, far away. Expand
  22. Adder
    Jun 15, 2002
    1
    It's a very bad game. When I started it, it worked very SLOW. It shocked. And it even went stock. So if there is someone who had the same problem, please HELP me with this so I can rate this very good game much higher!
  23. JonasW.
    Feb 4, 2002
    3
    The game is straight up stupid and dull.
  24. DennyD.
    Dec 25, 2001
    0
    The action is great; graphics are great; machine response to player action is superb, but the sexual content and foul language were not necessary to make it a great game. I rate it in the toilet where it belongs.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The end-all, be-all of console action games. Period...For me GTA3 is the best action game I have ever played on a console system and I highly recommend it to adults (the intended audience of this game) who know the difference between good and evil.
  2. An insanely deep game that offers a lot to do outside of the 70+ missions. If you understand that it's just a game and that these selfsame actions are not healthy in the real world, you'll enjoy a well-developed world disguised as a deviously fun game.
  3. Next Generation Magazine
    80
    Adding to the frustration is the fact that your targeting system is practically useless, and the vehicle physics model is annoyingly floaty. [Jan 2002, p.78]