User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1347 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Bolo
    Dec 5, 2004
    10
    This game is really fun... u can swim !
  2. MuratN.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Words can't describe how class this game is. Rockstar's done a great job. Looking foward to the next gta already!!
  3. TJ
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    Who Ever Made This Game They Need To Make A Grand Theft Auto San Andreas 2
  4. Carl
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    GTA San Andreas is the best GTA I've ever played and i played all GTAs except GTA london and the new feature like fat stamina and muscle are very cool and finally u can SWIM this is the coolest new feature in GTA San Andreas i think.
  5. Carl
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    GTA San Andreas is the best GTA I've ever played and i played all GTAs except GTA london and the new feature like fat stamina and muscle are very cool and finally u can SWIM this is the coolest new feature in GTA San Andreas i think.
  6. JJJames
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    The best game ever.
  7. KyleK.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    WHAT THE! Im blown away at how there is so many things to do and it's long. This is way better than GTA 3 So what the hell are the metacritic people doin, 96 score c'mon its way better than gta 3 anyway u do ur stupid calculations but san andreas is the best. I know y u put GTA 3 so high because it was a new "revolution" in the GTA series. But again i say it's the best in WHAT THE! Im blown away at how there is so many things to do and it's long. This is way better than GTA 3 So what the hell are the metacritic people doin, 96 score c'mon its way better than gta 3 anyway u do ur stupid calculations but san andreas is the best. I know y u put GTA 3 so high because it was a new "revolution" in the GTA series. But again i say it's the best in its genre. Wicked game. Expand
  8. PaulC.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    WOW!
  9. JackD.
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    This was the best game I ever played!
  10. AlexanderH.
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    I think this is one of the most brilliantly precieved games ever thought of, and one of the best games I have ever played. DOT. There is absolutly no way you can not love, or at least, like, the abiltiy to chooose and do whatever you please whenever you want., including the missions. GTA:Vice City was good. GTA3 was great. (yeah, I thought GTA3 was better than Vice City) This game is I think this is one of the most brilliantly precieved games ever thought of, and one of the best games I have ever played. DOT. There is absolutly no way you can not love, or at least, like, the abiltiy to chooose and do whatever you please whenever you want., including the missions. GTA:Vice City was good. GTA3 was great. (yeah, I thought GTA3 was better than Vice City) This game is unbelievable on all levels. And you have to admit, there is a little control freak in all of us! Expand
  11. JasonM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    IT ROCKS.
  12. BenJ.
    Nov 5, 2004
    9
    I was bitterly disappointed with Vice City; it struck me as a carbon copy of GTA3 but with a few, rather bland, bells of whistles attached. However this is game is just amazing - I've played for four hours and only bothered to play 4 missions, the rest of the time I've been soaking up everything else there is to do...and I've only tackled a fifth of the overall map! A I was bitterly disappointed with Vice City; it struck me as a carbon copy of GTA3 but with a few, rather bland, bells of whistles attached. However this is game is just amazing - I've played for four hours and only bothered to play 4 missions, the rest of the time I've been soaking up everything else there is to do...and I've only tackled a fifth of the overall map! A staggering game and top marks to Rock Star....you are all fantastic! Expand
  13. BoomerSooner
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Anyone that gives this a low score doesn't know what they're talking about. It's better than a 98...X-Box fans can go play Halo, their only game, and be jealous of this incredible game.
  14. TaylorC.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is by far the greatest game ever made. If you don't have a copy, I ORDER you to get one. Now!
  15. SteveL.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    Amazing.... just amazing, the size of the game blows my mind, the missions are fun, and the things to do are endless.
  16. EasyE
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME IS DA SH.T!
  17. Elliott
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Plenty of new stuff, it's actually overwhelming how great this game is.
  18. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    In an overall fantastic game. GTA: SA puts you in the shoes of Carl Johnson (CJ) as he looks to make a name for himself in the state of San Andreas (based on parts of California and Nevada). The graphics are good, the storyline is epic, with 20+ hours of storyline missions, not to mention side missions, games, races, exploring, having fun, etc., etc., etc. GTA: SA has a little somethingIn an overall fantastic game. GTA: SA puts you in the shoes of Carl Johnson (CJ) as he looks to make a name for himself in the state of San Andreas (based on parts of California and Nevada). The graphics are good, the storyline is epic, with 20+ hours of storyline missions, not to mention side missions, games, races, exploring, having fun, etc., etc., etc. GTA: SA has a little something for everyone (over the age of 17), and it's a fantastic game. One of the most fun that I've ever played. This is like every preceding GTA on steroids, with voice talent including the likes of Samuel L. Jackson, Ice-T, Peter Fonda, and James Woods. The plot is fantastic, and one of the best in video game history. It's a better plot than any preceding GTA, and any one following it, including IV. Hey, the 20 million people who bought this can't be wrong, right? A masterpiece from all accounts. Expand
  19. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Missions, side missions, taxi missions, paramedic missions, vigilante missions, freighting, courier missions, tags to spray, snapshots to take, horseshoes to find, oysters to find, gang territories, shops, unique jumps, clothing choices, gym workouts, girlfriends, guns, safehouses, casinos, a HUGE map, and, of course, whatever the heck you want!! My favorite video game of all time, by far...
  20. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game from start to finish. Great characters, story, controls, graphics, everything about this game is wonderful. Easily the best game ever made on the PS2. Wish Rockstart would up the graphics to release on PSN, but again, best game ever made on PS2.
  21. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This game is perfection and my favorite ps2 game. The multiplayer, the free roam and the story made me spent so many hours of fun in this game, and now i still play it and love it. You could do everything like doing a tattoo or changing your hair style. Having a gang and the cheat codes where also some of the factors for this perfect game. How to describe this game by words, good actionThis game is perfection and my favorite ps2 game. The multiplayer, the free roam and the story made me spent so many hours of fun in this game, and now i still play it and love it. You could do everything like doing a tattoo or changing your hair style. Having a gang and the cheat codes where also some of the factors for this perfect game. How to describe this game by words, good action and great gameplay made this so fun and enjoyable to play to everyone and it's easy to see why everyone love this GTA game in particular. The city was so big and interesting to explore and you just couldn't get enough of it! Expand
  22. May 16, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite games.Very fun to drive around and explore since the map is so large. The voice acting story and soundtrack are good However, the shooting mechanics are the worst I have ever seen. It's almost impossible to hit someone.best gta game ever.
  23. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This game in my opinion is R* BEST WORK. The amount of things you can do in this game is phenomenal. There is just so much replay value in this game. If tired of missions, ride in a tank blowing stuff up. Tired of riding tanks, take to the air.

    R* has taken the best of GTA3 and VC to make one of the best games of all time.
  24. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Not only the, besT PS 2 game. Its the best gamr ever. Gta iv was a setback. San andreas is gonna be remember forever.....foreals no Denning it..best story in gta
  25. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    GTA San Andreas is a masterpiece, I can easily say it is the best game I have ever played. If you have not played this game you must try it. Below I list why I would highly recommend this game.

    Story: This game has a huge and interesting story with excellent voice acting from some famous actors It also has great humour and shocking plot twists. Music: The music selection is excellent
    GTA San Andreas is a masterpiece, I can easily say it is the best game I have ever played. If you have not played this game you must try it. Below I list why I would highly recommend this game.

    Story: This game has a huge and interesting story with excellent voice acting from some famous actors It also has great humour and shocking plot twists.

    Music: The music selection is excellent with amazing music from all genres but specificity 90s gangster rap.

    Gameplay: This is the biggest reason San Andreas is so highly rated, you will never get bored because the story missions never feel repetitive or boring and it includes a huge list of side activities which I cannot list in this review because their is just too much content in this game.
    Expand
  26. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Lo inmejorable ha sido mejorado en este increíble y un de mis juegos favoritos de todos los tiempos y de muchos también: "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas" es uno de los videojuegos más impresionantes de todos los tiempos, Rockstar se lució como ninguna otra compañía: gráficos mejorados e impresionantes, mejor jugabilidad, impresionante mapa (que es gigante) y puedes hacer cualquier variedadLo inmejorable ha sido mejorado en este increíble y un de mis juegos favoritos de todos los tiempos y de muchos también: "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas" es uno de los videojuegos más impresionantes de todos los tiempos, Rockstar se lució como ninguna otra compañía: gráficos mejorados e impresionantes, mejor jugabilidad, impresionante mapa (que es gigante) y puedes hacer cualquier variedad en ese estado que abarca Los Santos, San Fierro y Las Venturas. San Andreas es pura pasión y llorarás de la majestuosidad de este tan deseado videojuego. Expand
  27. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    I´ve been playing this game since it came out (and this is 2014), and guess what? Still playing it. The game is a legend. Even some books (all kind of) refers to them. This game is a game, that probably started the (WHOLE) thing with being interested in making RPG Games like this. Everytime im playing this, im always think "Sigh.. Where are all the good GTA Games like this anymore?" AndI´ve been playing this game since it came out (and this is 2014), and guess what? Still playing it. The game is a legend. Even some books (all kind of) refers to them. This game is a game, that probably started the (WHOLE) thing with being interested in making RPG Games like this. Everytime im playing this, im always think "Sigh.. Where are all the good GTA Games like this anymore?" And this game, even if it´s 10 years old, it still beats GTA V. Expand
  28. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    The best game on the Playstation 2 for me, a all time classic and a very special memory of my childhood, sure the graphics look dated now and there are probably some flaws in game but at the time it was special, it was brilliant and it made the way for all the great games to follow, and one thing is for sure, the grand theft auto series wouldnt be as good as it is now without San andreas.
  29. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is one of my favourite games of all time, it really capture los angeles and the california area i reckon, the gameplay was awesome and the story surpasses any other game made during its time, 10/10 yes, grove street for life.
  30. JamesD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    If San Andreas has made one thing clear, it is that the GTA experience can be enormous. The locations, the characters, the variety, it all makes for a game which is so awe inspiring and entertaining that putting it down is extremely difficult. I can't believe the arrogance of some of these user critics and the NY times. What on earth are you guys saying, are you trying to diss a game If San Andreas has made one thing clear, it is that the GTA experience can be enormous. The locations, the characters, the variety, it all makes for a game which is so awe inspiring and entertaining that putting it down is extremely difficult. I can't believe the arrogance of some of these user critics and the NY times. What on earth are you guys saying, are you trying to diss a game to try and be different from the popular view? Did the New York Times not receive their bribe? Truth and honest says to me that this game is completely defined with one of the best games I have ever played Expand
  31. ConnerMcleod
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    a 15 out of 10, sh**t this games kick mayor a**, I normqlly never curse but after playin´ GTASA I gotta say G*dDamn, f*ckin´A. I consider my self a gamer, played all the other Gta and gta´s clones(truecrime) but let me tell U this game will suck U rigth in. There´s nothing like it and belive U me, play it without the cheats you´ll feel the rewards as ua 15 out of 10, sh**t this games kick mayor a**, I normqlly never curse but after playin´ GTASA I gotta say G*dDamn, f*ckin´A. I consider my self a gamer, played all the other Gta and gta´s clones(truecrime) but let me tell U this game will suck U rigth in. There´s nothing like it and belive U me, play it without the cheats you´ll feel the rewards as u get´m, the girlfriend as U find them, u can actually live in the game U can go play at any casino, go to the race track an bet, or play old arcades at any convinience store, but the game itself it´s genuine motherf*cker...give me a hell yeah Expand
  32. SabinoS.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    I like this game beacuse i like killing.
  33. Dante
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    This is actually the first gta i played - i just wanted to see what all the hype was about - i AM a gamer - perhaps old school - buts thats what make gta:sa all the more impressive. its a classic game and no amount of review copy would do it just - there just arent enough adjectives to mtch the depth of gameplay in the this awsome entertainment package. if you have any type of gamingThis is actually the first gta i played - i just wanted to see what all the hype was about - i AM a gamer - perhaps old school - buts thats what make gta:sa all the more impressive. its a classic game and no amount of review copy would do it just - there just arent enough adjectives to mtch the depth of gameplay in the this awsome entertainment package. if you have any type of gaming console that would support this game - get gta:sa and you will own a defining game of our time - how can a game with such mediocre graphics dominate the PS2? simple - its an incredible game - everything to do and forever to do it. a masterpiece. Expand
  34. JakeW.
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    Dude I play this game all the f...ing time!! I love the fact that you can have girlfriends and all that sh.t! It f...ing rules!!!
  35. May 19, 2012
    9
    Awards: The Best Game of 2004, The Best Sandbox Game of 2004, The Best Single Player Experience of 2004 . The best selling game of PS2 is even one of the best game ever. GTA San Andreas is an open world game, that deserves the place for one of the best GTA ever. Story with gangsters never been so awesome, and the gameplay is a terrific sandbox. This game is even drama, because of theAwards: The Best Game of 2004, The Best Sandbox Game of 2004, The Best Single Player Experience of 2004 . The best selling game of PS2 is even one of the best game ever. GTA San Andreas is an open world game, that deserves the place for one of the best GTA ever. Story with gangsters never been so awesome, and the gameplay is a terrific sandbox. This game is even drama, because of the murder of CJ's mothers, and some secrets. It haves some cool extras: drive an transportation airplane, a huge beautiful world, new weapons etc. This game is almost perfect! (9.8) Expand
  36. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    It's the best game in the series, there are lots of activities to do, though CJ is not as convincing as Niko, San Andreas proves to be better than GTA IV. A fascinating story with three huge cities and vast rural areas, solid gameplay, variety of vehicles and transportation, the player can travel on foot, by car or by plane and by boat. Immense missions that are not repetitive andIt's the best game in the series, there are lots of activities to do, though CJ is not as convincing as Niko, San Andreas proves to be better than GTA IV. A fascinating story with three huge cities and vast rural areas, solid gameplay, variety of vehicles and transportation, the player can travel on foot, by car or by plane and by boat. Immense missions that are not repetitive and impressive cast with excellent graphics for the PS2, and a spectacular voice acting. San Andreas is one of the greatest games of its generation. Expand
  37. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Still the best gta to this date. GTA IV sucks compared to this and watch gta 5 suck compared to it also. Comparing GTA IV to SA is like comparing a potatoe to a computer. SA is a very very good game. So worth the 10 if you ask me. Im hoping R* does something good for its 10th ani unlike the crappy 10th ani for GTA 3 where all it got was ported to mobiles and not ps3. I love SA and stillStill the best gta to this date. GTA IV sucks compared to this and watch gta 5 suck compared to it also. Comparing GTA IV to SA is like comparing a potatoe to a computer. SA is a very very good game. So worth the 10 if you ask me. Im hoping R* does something good for its 10th ani unlike the crappy 10th ani for GTA 3 where all it got was ported to mobiles and not ps3. I love SA and still play it to this day. Who says classics are bad? Expand
  38. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This is the best GTA game so far and no other has beat it. I love this game, and it loves me back. We like to cuddle and touch each other in the wrong places, we smell each others bawls, we suck each other, OMG! But really, this games awesome.
  39. Dec 23, 2012
    6
    It's alright. Very fun to drive around and explore since the map is so large. The voice acting story and soundtrack are top-notch as well. However, the shooting mechanics are the worst I have ever seen. It's almost impossible to hit someone.
  40. ChrisP.
    Nov 11, 2005
    4
    I'll give Rockstar this, they love reusing the same formula over and over again. When I first played GTA 3, my jaw dropped, I was in awe. When I played GTA:SA, I shrugged. The graphics haven't changed much since GTA 3. The music, well, I suppose it suits it. I'm just curious how many times you can run over a prostitute in a golf cart until it starts to bore you. Personally, I'll give Rockstar this, they love reusing the same formula over and over again. When I first played GTA 3, my jaw dropped, I was in awe. When I played GTA:SA, I shrugged. The graphics haven't changed much since GTA 3. The music, well, I suppose it suits it. I'm just curious how many times you can run over a prostitute in a golf cart until it starts to bore you. Personally, I got all that out of my system in Vice City. Only thing that keeps this game from getting an even lower score is the ability to jack a tractor. If that wasn't present, I probably would've given it a 1. Yes, I enjoyed it that much. Expand
  41. Dec 17, 2011
    3
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas has several flaws that are hard to overlook. The basic idea of the Grand Theft Auto Series is to complete task for different people that for the most part are illegal. You have to kill, steal, and commit other crimes to make more money all while avoiding the cops. Past games have been very successful but San Andreas is not. First off, the City of San AndreasGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas has several flaws that are hard to overlook. The basic idea of the Grand Theft Auto Series is to complete task for different people that for the most part are illegal. You have to kill, steal, and commit other crimes to make more money all while avoiding the cops. Past games have been very successful but San Andreas is not. First off, the City of San Andreas is simply too big. Bigger is not always better. It takes ridiculous lengths to travel to some parts of the city, and there really is no actual reason to have such a big city. There is an actual highway system which is basically the developers saying "Our city is too big and boring to drive through, so we make this nice highway to speed up going through all the horrible travel times." Why not just make a smaller city that you actually enjoyed driving through? It may seem not like a big deal, but really it blows my mind that players have to sit there and hop on an express way to their next objective. Going on the same theme of the massive city, there is simply too many pointless things in this game. One feature is having to eat food or else you get thin and weak. This doesn't add anything to the game, just giving players an annoying task to go find food every so often. Also buying food actually take an absurd time, walking up and taking your order. Why have this? All this is doing is wasting my time when I want to be driving the express way for 10 minutes. Every skill has a level feature. The more you use something or do something, the higher your skill becomes. Yet again this adds no strategy or use to the game. A better feature would have been having to pick and choose which gun skills to increase, like pick the shotgun skill and you can do amazing damage up close, but are penalized for far range shots. You know, make the player actually have to decide something. Not just driving around and leveling up your driving skill randomly. Its like "oh thats cool I guess." One feature is the ability to swim, which actually is useful simply because you don't instantly die if you fall in water. Most others are gimmicky nothings. You can have a girlfriend and go on dates, which is completely retarded. Would you rather get into a high speed police chase, or go out with an npc to a hamburger joint? What is the point besides "Hey look at ANOTHER thing you can do besides play the actual game." There are bars where you can play a badly implemented pool game. You can literally ride a bicycle faster then most cars. You can buy houses, which is useful because you will need many places to save or else you are spending 7 minutes driving down Los Santos Freeway to save. You can go try and find all 100 graffiti points, or the 50 oysters in the ocean, or the 50 horseshoes hidden in the game. Isn't that great? Over 200 collectables that you are expected to find in a city that takes a good 20 minutes to drive from one end to another. Basically the developers way of saying "Here is something for you to look up online." Hiding 100 packages in GTA3 was feasible because you could spend 15 minutes and have checked a decent portion of the map off. If they literally expected players to find 200 small items in San Andreas then I truly don't know what to think. ANOTHER feature is the ability to fight rival gangs in turf battles, which is great because your turfs will be attacked and taken over when you're stuck on the freeway 10 minutes away. If you like Dance Dance Revolution type games, then don't worry because you can load up GTA:SA, drive to a certain location, then play the dancing mini game. Why? As the developers must have thought, why the hell not? More and more is better. With all this added nonsense, there IS a GTA game in there, but its hard to find. GTA: SA is not good. All the extra features are irrelevant, and the map size alone is enough to ruin the game. Don't buy this game even if it's on sale for 50% off at the dollar store. Expand
  42. Mike
    Nov 29, 2005
    4
    Ends up rehashing the same overused formula. More of the same--with no improvements. Lackluster and uninnovative.
  43. MasterCheif
    Nov 19, 2004
    3
    The graphics for this game hurts my eyes. Sure it may be big but it sucks. It does so many things but it does them so poorly. This game is like a bunch diffferent thinngs smushed together to make one big mess. Halo2 is much better. GTA San Andreas = overrated
  44. GeorgeC.
    Aug 23, 2009
    1
    One of the worst game I've ever played... Missions sucks, CJ sucks, graphics sucks!!! This is not a good game, it is boring and you get annoyed after playing 30 minutes!! Stay away from San Andreas!
  45. nathant
    Nov 6, 2004
    5
    i havent played the game, so i wont bash it or nething.

    is this all ps2 has left? some GTA series that is honastly overrated? wow go shoot people. steal something here. grab a random tank. drive a tractor through the city. seriously, if u want to kill someone, go become a gangsta. how many gta games are they gunna come out with that are basically the same except in different
    i havent played the game, so i wont bash it or nething.

    is this all ps2 has left? some GTA series that is honastly overrated? wow go shoot people. steal something here. grab a random tank. drive a tractor through the city. seriously, if u want to kill someone, go become a gangsta. how many gta games are they gunna come out with that are basically the same except in different locations. maybe ps2 would like to make a new, revolutionary game that isnt based on some past series

    just a suggestion
    Collapse
  46. CactuarChocobo
    Jun 30, 2004
    0
    Like all the other GTA games, I expect this one will be buried under all the hype surrounding it too. Let's face the facts, people! GTA sucked! Only the gameplay was OK! It's like nobody saw the graphics of all the games! I had an eyesore just looking at the horrible Vice City! I would have given a 3/10 but looks like people have started treating this game likegod again. Too bad.
  47. HalF.
    Oct 27, 2004
    3
    Man, whaa happen? GTA III was so much fun, Vice City expanded on that with some new features, but now this series is really started to be run into the ground. I guess I'm just finally getting sick of these types of games. Call it Tony Hawk's Pro Skater syndrome... what started as a fun game ruined by too many releases of the same old stuff. I don't want to be playing the Man, whaa happen? GTA III was so much fun, Vice City expanded on that with some new features, but now this series is really started to be run into the ground. I guess I'm just finally getting sick of these types of games. Call it Tony Hawk's Pro Skater syndrome... what started as a fun game ruined by too many releases of the same old stuff. I don't want to be playing the same game over and over again for the next 10 years. It's time to move on. Expand
  48. VincentV.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    The best game ever made...until the sequel.
  49. CharlesH.
    Dec 8, 2004
    6
    This game is so very tedious. I suspect that it has enough fundamentally benine attractions to intice it's clientel but it is basically a game not worthy of those who can see past the new aspects such as the gangs and the areoplanes, and special bar metres. I admit this game has a lot to offer, but the story line is so controversial, and to be perfectly honest crap it offers no real This game is so very tedious. I suspect that it has enough fundamentally benine attractions to intice it's clientel but it is basically a game not worthy of those who can see past the new aspects such as the gangs and the areoplanes, and special bar metres. I admit this game has a lot to offer, but the story line is so controversial, and to be perfectly honest crap it offers no real excitement, this game is the opitomy of boredom. However, i do take enjoyment of watching the commoners flock to buy this thrivellous game. Expand
  50. IacopoS.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    I mean, vice city was good... and the one before even better... but this one is too much. i remember i could play gta for hours, and this starts to be boring after a while... there's too much stuff to do. great game, but this is way too much. too real to be a game. i'll go back playing pacman.
  51. RobertA.S.
    Jan 8, 2005
    0
    The same shame as always! Graphics sucks! IA of traffic cars is better even in midtowmn madness 2 because the cars appears randomly, not following a path for each car, if you want to underestand what I'm meaning, let a traffic car to disspaear and then follow it. Hope next GTA will change the game engine.
  52. JaneD.
    Aug 7, 2005
    0
    Pathetic graphics (I would think a 2.4 GHz machine with 1.5 G of ram could actually make characters you could see instead of vague outlines), camera angles that suck and are too hard to control (try driving with one hand, controlling the camera with the other, then finding a third hand to do a drive-by!), too much driving in the missions (I suck at driving and if I wanted a driving game Pathetic graphics (I would think a 2.4 GHz machine with 1.5 G of ram could actually make characters you could see instead of vague outlines), camera angles that suck and are too hard to control (try driving with one hand, controlling the camera with the other, then finding a third hand to do a drive-by!), too much driving in the missions (I suck at driving and if I wanted a driving game there are plenty out there- why not let you choose whether to be the gunner or driver?), and nearly impossible missions (drive from point A to point B without a scratch- even though every driver seems to be a psycho that will violate all traffic laws for the fun of it! or even better, play with a stupid little RC plane!) I'm glad this was a gift, because I would hate to have wasted my own money on this. Expand
  53. DanB.
    Mar 1, 2006
    9
    the game works best if you just forget the story and make up your own objectives and play it for the free roaming beauty it is, cool cars, you can get a tattoo but not enough clothes.
  54. Mat
    Nov 29, 2004
    6
    Don't get me wrong the GTA series has been a great series and there are plenty of new features in San Andreas, but it is way to similar to the other GTA games... my opinion go get Vice City (same basic game... lower price)
  55. RobD
    Dec 23, 2004
    2
    1. it is a piece of dog shit
    2. What is all the fuss about it is only a game where you can shoot people you can do that in any fps.
    3 PS2 don't deserve this game hold on the console is shit as well maybe it should be on it.
  56. Fighter17
    Dec 25, 2004
    6
    Good game, but it is the same as the other two Grand Theif Auto games. After 3 hours of play, I really what to play something else. I didn't like the game at all.
  57. Martin
    Dec 3, 2004
    1
    After one week my cd got a big scratch so now i cant play it. it happen while i was playing.
  58. JimD.
    Oct 25, 2004
    6
    I am tired of this same old formula..what was once a great concept is now just redone and not nearly as well. The graphics although fluid, look dated and tried, and the voiceovers are very cut and pastey...CONTROL would be a nice addition to this game. Nice try for the subject matter but it really limits the audience to a specific group and most of those are over the age of 19 and not I am tired of this same old formula..what was once a great concept is now just redone and not nearly as well. The graphics although fluid, look dated and tried, and the voiceovers are very cut and pastey...CONTROL would be a nice addition to this game. Nice try for the subject matter but it really limits the audience to a specific group and most of those are over the age of 19 and not into this...A huge step backwards for this franchise. Expand
  59. DonkeyKongX
    Oct 26, 2004
    8
    I HIGHLY DOUBT GTA SAN ANDREAS IS BETTER THAN HALF LIFE 2, THAT IS IMPOSSIBLE, GTA VC got boring after like 2 months, Because it was just the same as GTA III, and GTA SA WILL BE BETTER ON PC, AND HALF LIFE 2, HALO 2, F.E.A.R., S.T.A.L.K.E.R., AND FAR CRY ARE SO MUCH BETTER THAN GTA!
  60. BigJimmy
    Oct 26, 2004
    1
    Same old overrated recycled garbage as the past two games. The first one was fun, but more of the same, again? Boring!
  61. JerradH.
    Oct 31, 2004
    5
    The reviewers are certainly right when they say the world is huge and there's lots to do. Shame the world doesn't look particularly good, and the things to do aren't all that interesting, and at times, frankly boring. In other words, more of the same. GTA is one of the most overrated series to ever exist. If it didn't have all the shock value, this series would've The reviewers are certainly right when they say the world is huge and there's lots to do. Shame the world doesn't look particularly good, and the things to do aren't all that interesting, and at times, frankly boring. In other words, more of the same. GTA is one of the most overrated series to ever exist. If it didn't have all the shock value, this series would've died out and been considered mediocre at best. Expand
  62. DannyD.
    Jan 13, 2005
    5
    A step backwards, Vice City more colourful, interseting and compact. The story in San Andreas is awful. And where is Tommy!
  63. DemonicAngel
    Jan 8, 2005
    4
    This game is just yet another reuse of the GTA formula, with a load of unnecessary "features" tagged on to give the illusion of great depth. The gameplay gets old after a couple of hours, the controls are plain shoddy, and the whole experience just feels like it was hastily thrown together to cash in on the success of the GTA brand. Rockstar's graphics and sound people should be very This game is just yet another reuse of the GTA formula, with a load of unnecessary "features" tagged on to give the illusion of great depth. The gameplay gets old after a couple of hours, the controls are plain shoddy, and the whole experience just feels like it was hastily thrown together to cash in on the success of the GTA brand. Rockstar's graphics and sound people should be very happy with the work they've done, but the game programmers should all be ashamed of themselves. Not worth the effort. Expand
  64. BuddyLee
    Feb 14, 2005
    5
    I cant play this around my kid, he's two and i dont want him to hear this crap. [Ed: Yet you want us to hear it?] At first the language did not bother me, but the more i played it, the more it bothers me. I have traded it in so i can buy something (ANYTHING) else. other than the language, this game is better than GTA3, but not up there with Vice City.
  65. JamesN.
    Feb 7, 2005
    5
    This game is a great game for children over the age of 18 it should not be given to children under age. this game is also a discrimantion of black people and the thats the reason for my low rating.
  66. I.Lynch
    Mar 11, 2006
    4
    The main problem with this game isnt the dated graphics, the repetitive drive n shoot gameplay or the cliched story. its that ignorant mothers are buying it for their 10 year old kids.
  67. RamiW.
    May 24, 2006
    0
    is that how much you guys love this game all you do is kill people for money to complete objectives. I've never agreed with a critic this much but I agree with the new york times even though its still a fair rating.
  68. FuckinG@ng$t@
    Nov 1, 2004
    0
    I rated this game a 0, because HONESTLY, its so mother fucking incredible, I wanted to rate it 100 out of 10, but its not possible with the given digits :( what a motherfucking masterpiece. I just moved from San Francisco to atlanta, so its good to visit "home" evey now and then. MAN cali is still pimpin it UP! and fuck the rest of the US. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL LOAD OF JIZZLE!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVEI rated this game a 0, because HONESTLY, its so mother fucking incredible, I wanted to rate it 100 out of 10, but its not possible with the given digits :( what a motherfucking masterpiece. I just moved from San Francisco to atlanta, so its good to visit "home" evey now and then. MAN cali is still pimpin it UP! and fuck the rest of the US. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL LOAD OF JIZZLE!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! (im planning to enterprise the sale of "take my virginity, CJ" t-shirts. rockstar fo life) Expand
  69. PaulC.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    WOW!
  70. poopheadpeeonyou
    Nov 6, 2004
    0
    this is the worst game in the world, even mario should get better ratings then this game. Why is everyone so hyped up about it?!?!?!
    I think that rockstar and rockster north have just gone downhill since gta 1 came out in '98. Big dissapointment.
    I HATE GRAND THEFT AUTO SAN ANDREAS!!!

    BIG DISSAPOINTMENT!!!

    DON"T GET THE GAME!!!
  71. TomA.
    Dec 22, 2004
    5
    The GTA series is a grand series no doubt, but, and its a big but, why do all the games have to be excactly the same, instead of making the game better in general, they've just added more little things to do. The graphics are poor, and there are frame rate issues. If it's a game where you just want to go around shooting people fine, but the abbility to carry a gun around The GTA series is a grand series no doubt, but, and its a big but, why do all the games have to be excactly the same, instead of making the game better in general, they've just added more little things to do. The graphics are poor, and there are frame rate issues. If it's a game where you just want to go around shooting people fine, but the abbility to carry a gun around doesn't make a good game. If you want a game with guns get Halo 2, or if you want an RPG get KOTOR or Fable, or anything that is better than this heap of baggage. Expand
  72. GordonFreeman
    Dec 27, 2004
    0
    Pure crap, this game looks like crap, plays like crap, GTA 3 was better, Vice City was the worst, it shud get like -200 score, this game is overrated like mad, and deseves to burn in hell, the graphics are like PlayStation 1's DragonBallGT: Final Bout, seriously its a complete Re-Hash...just cuz it is a GTA game reviewers gave the score really high, when it is absolute junk. [Ed: Pure crap, this game looks like crap, plays like crap, GTA 3 was better, Vice City was the worst, it shud get like -200 score, this game is overrated like mad, and deseves to burn in hell, the graphics are like PlayStation 1's DragonBallGT: Final Bout, seriously its a complete Re-Hash...just cuz it is a GTA game reviewers gave the score really high, when it is absolute junk. [Ed: HL-2 fanboy, Gordon??] Expand
  73. Chimp
    Oct 26, 2004
    5
    Not much new. 98? give me a friggin break.
  74. TommyV.
    Oct 27, 2004
    6
    Not bad, not great. I've only had it for one day. This game is perfect for white kids who have low self esteem and feel they have to lash out at the world. Maybe Rockstar should introduce a child characture. It worked for Cosby. Still, the game looks slick for a PS2 offering.
  75. CarlosG.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    The best game ever putos !
  76. RickoL.
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    Wow! This is mint!
  77. ApocalypseB.
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    There are many reasons to like/dislike a game. Reasons to dislike this range from being quirky to inhumane morals! Some gamers prefered Gta3 over Vice city as they were emotionally attached to that game. And indeed some prefered Vice city over San Andreas for the same reason. Fair enough, but when some hate this game because the main character is black, that is totally brain-dead! There are many reasons to like/dislike a game. Reasons to dislike this range from being quirky to inhumane morals! Some gamers prefered Gta3 over Vice city as they were emotionally attached to that game. And indeed some prefered Vice city over San Andreas for the same reason. Fair enough, but when some hate this game because the main character is black, that is totally brain-dead! Personally i think this is the best Gta ever made! It has the perfect formula for a sand box game and the play area is absolutely MASSIVE! The terrible voice acting and average graphics are annoying (maybe get actual black people to voice-act?), but the humour is back in effect, which went array in Vice City. Although I can relate to Vice City more (being an eighties man) and is still one of my favourite games of all time. There is no arguement that San Andreas is by far the more advanced and enjoyable game by the sheer weight of things to do! But two player is rubbish! Expand
  78. josuerocha
    Aug 11, 2009
    6
    A good game, which has a good story and interesting, something good to explore ...

    But ... What was to be perfect by their degree of realism, has become a horrible piece of puppet show, where people look stupid without emotion, without any charisma, to lose all the "life" in play "dead" ... Honestly, a cop show without enough capacity to bring something fun and sad to see (or play)
    A good game, which has a good story and interesting, something good to explore ...

    But ... What was to be perfect by their degree of realism, has become a horrible piece of puppet show, where people look stupid without emotion, without any charisma, to lose all the "life" in play "dead" ...

    Honestly, a cop show without enough capacity to bring something fun and sad to see (or play) ... Also tired of me just happy using Cheat ... Too tired to look rough and ridiculous scenes that follow the course of San Andreas ...

    This "wonderful" game could be VERY best of times, no doubt ...
    Expand
  79. SomeoneSpecial
    Nov 22, 2004
    3
    I was very dissapointed in this game cuz i thought it was gonna be better. But it really wasnt. It got boring after 10 minutes. It is the same as Vice City. I have a XBOX and PS2 and I suggest you should get Halo 2 that is the real game to get.........Halo 2.....best game ever!
  80. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    San Andreas stepped away from GTA III and Vice City by actually focusing on the gameplay much more that previous titles. The rpg elements added also keep the game fresh compared previous titles. I didn't really care for the story at all, and the ghetto setting is much worse than Vice City's to me... but GTA has never been about plot to me, so that doesn't really take anything away fromSan Andreas stepped away from GTA III and Vice City by actually focusing on the gameplay much more that previous titles. The rpg elements added also keep the game fresh compared previous titles. I didn't really care for the story at all, and the ghetto setting is much worse than Vice City's to me... but GTA has never been about plot to me, so that doesn't really take anything away from the game. I give it a 10 compared to other Grand Theft Autos, and an 8 against everything else. Its a fun game. Expand
  81. Dec 14, 2011
    6
    This game was OK. I just thought it was a BIT too much hhmmmmmmmmm.........................................
  82. May 27, 2012
    10
    Not a best game in GTA .. but Best game in history of R* .. Seriously .. Hat's Off R* North .. u r my dream Company . Lovable game ....... 1000000000000000000000000000 likes for game
  83. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    San Andreas is a good game, there's no doubt about it. But it was a re-used formula which was becoming outdated. All you haters can be repulsed by GTA IV's realism and actual meaning, but San Andreas' shallow Ganglang message is no comparison. Its poor physics and odd characters are so unreal that it really can take you out of the game - but Vice City was still good. There's a differenceSan Andreas is a good game, there's no doubt about it. But it was a re-used formula which was becoming outdated. All you haters can be repulsed by GTA IV's realism and actual meaning, but San Andreas' shallow Ganglang message is no comparison. Its poor physics and odd characters are so unreal that it really can take you out of the game - but Vice City was still good. There's a difference between outright Saints Row-esque stupidity and crazy fun which has its limits. Expand
  84. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    It's the best game in the series, there are lots of activities to do, though CJ is not as convincing as Niko, San Andreas proves to be better than GTA IV. A fascinating story with three huge cities and vast rural areas, solid gameplay, variety of vehicles and transportation, the player can travel on foot, by car or by plane and by boat. Immense missions that are not repetitive andIt's the best game in the series, there are lots of activities to do, though CJ is not as convincing as Niko, San Andreas proves to be better than GTA IV. A fascinating story with three huge cities and vast rural areas, solid gameplay, variety of vehicles and transportation, the player can travel on foot, by car or by plane and by boat. Immense missions that are not repetitive and impressive cast with excellent graphics for the PS2, and a spectacular voice acting. San Andreas is one of the greatest games of its generation. Expand
  85. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Well,what can i say about this game
    ITS F***ing Amazing!!
    the plot is awesome,the gameplay is ok
    the graphics are...meh,they could be better
    but the world of san andreas was impressive in his moment
    San Andreas Rules!!
  86. LordVader
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    Awesome game, this is easily the best of the GTA games, excellent graphic and fantastic playability but what's with trashing the Xbox? The game is coming to that console as well so what's the big deal? I think some people need to grow up abit.
  87. SidE.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The best game there is out! i cant wait to see what rockstar can conjure up next. Right when you think it can get any better they suprise us again. congratulations its another victory for rockstar!!!!
  88. Kevin
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Excellent! The best game in the series and the main character is finally cool unlike Tommy.
  89. CurtisS.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    GTA san andreas is the BEST game in tha world. It is so realistic to the real freakin world!!! I rate it 10!
  90. AlexS.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    Very great game.....it was everything I expected.
  91. KurtisH.
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    i think this game is really good but the problem is that the grhpics arnt that good compared to like vice city and everythign but over all its a really good game.
  92. someguy
    Aug 2, 2007
    8
    It adds a ton of features but doesn't really change the overall gameplay.
  93. DanS.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    This is the most amazing thing i have ever played. gta san andreas has set a standard for all rpgs and any game for that matter. san andreas has changed the whole video game world and lets you interact with almost anything you can think of.
  94. 64J.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    It kicks ass.
  95. ChrisB.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass!!!
  96. RomanS.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Amazing...
  97. AaronT.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    If only some of the movie sequels could evolve as well as the entire GTA series has. The most enjoyable gaming experience I have had since the original Mario Bros. on the NES.
  98. StephenM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    IT it brill, im glued to my ps2 nearly all day, the only time i cum off is for the toliet, food and for the p.c, o yer, also for school.
  99. KarlK.
    Oct 13, 2004
    9
    It looks awesome although this is coming froma diehard rockstar fan but still the fact that you can swim opens up so many new possibilities and being able to change the look of your person makes it awesome too.
  100. JimB.
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    It's TIGHT!
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.