User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1357 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Bolo
    Dec 5, 2004
    10
    This game is really fun... u can swim !
  2. MuratN.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Words can't describe how class this game is. Rockstar's done a great job. Looking foward to the next gta already!!
  3. TJ
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    Who Ever Made This Game They Need To Make A Grand Theft Auto San Andreas 2
  4. Carl
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    GTA San Andreas is the best GTA I've ever played and i played all GTAs except GTA london and the new feature like fat stamina and muscle are very cool and finally u can SWIM this is the coolest new feature in GTA San Andreas i think.
  5. Carl
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    GTA San Andreas is the best GTA I've ever played and i played all GTAs except GTA london and the new feature like fat stamina and muscle are very cool and finally u can SWIM this is the coolest new feature in GTA San Andreas i think.
  6. JJJames
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    The best game ever.
  7. KyleK.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    WHAT THE! Im blown away at how there is so many things to do and it's long. This is way better than GTA 3 So what the hell are the metacritic people doin, 96 score c'mon its way better than gta 3 anyway u do ur stupid calculations but san andreas is the best. I know y u put GTA 3 so high because it was a new "revolution" in the GTA series. But again i say it's the best in WHAT THE! Im blown away at how there is so many things to do and it's long. This is way better than GTA 3 So what the hell are the metacritic people doin, 96 score c'mon its way better than gta 3 anyway u do ur stupid calculations but san andreas is the best. I know y u put GTA 3 so high because it was a new "revolution" in the GTA series. But again i say it's the best in its genre. Wicked game. Expand
  8. PaulC.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    WOW!
  9. JackD.
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    This was the best game I ever played!
  10. AlexanderH.
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    I think this is one of the most brilliantly precieved games ever thought of, and one of the best games I have ever played. DOT. There is absolutly no way you can not love, or at least, like, the abiltiy to chooose and do whatever you please whenever you want., including the missions. GTA:Vice City was good. GTA3 was great. (yeah, I thought GTA3 was better than Vice City) This game is I think this is one of the most brilliantly precieved games ever thought of, and one of the best games I have ever played. DOT. There is absolutly no way you can not love, or at least, like, the abiltiy to chooose and do whatever you please whenever you want., including the missions. GTA:Vice City was good. GTA3 was great. (yeah, I thought GTA3 was better than Vice City) This game is unbelievable on all levels. And you have to admit, there is a little control freak in all of us! Expand
  11. JasonM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    IT ROCKS.
  12. BenJ.
    Nov 5, 2004
    9
    I was bitterly disappointed with Vice City; it struck me as a carbon copy of GTA3 but with a few, rather bland, bells of whistles attached. However this is game is just amazing - I've played for four hours and only bothered to play 4 missions, the rest of the time I've been soaking up everything else there is to do...and I've only tackled a fifth of the overall map! A I was bitterly disappointed with Vice City; it struck me as a carbon copy of GTA3 but with a few, rather bland, bells of whistles attached. However this is game is just amazing - I've played for four hours and only bothered to play 4 missions, the rest of the time I've been soaking up everything else there is to do...and I've only tackled a fifth of the overall map! A staggering game and top marks to Rock Star....you are all fantastic! Expand
  13. BoomerSooner
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Anyone that gives this a low score doesn't know what they're talking about. It's better than a 98...X-Box fans can go play Halo, their only game, and be jealous of this incredible game.
  14. TaylorC.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is by far the greatest game ever made. If you don't have a copy, I ORDER you to get one. Now!
  15. SteveL.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    Amazing.... just amazing, the size of the game blows my mind, the missions are fun, and the things to do are endless.
  16. EasyE
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME IS DA SH.T!
  17. Elliott
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Plenty of new stuff, it's actually overwhelming how great this game is.
  18. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    In an overall fantastic game. GTA: SA puts you in the shoes of Carl Johnson (CJ) as he looks to make a name for himself in the state of San Andreas (based on parts of California and Nevada). The graphics are good, the storyline is epic, with 20+ hours of storyline missions, not to mention side missions, games, races, exploring, having fun, etc., etc., etc. GTA: SA has a little somethingIn an overall fantastic game. GTA: SA puts you in the shoes of Carl Johnson (CJ) as he looks to make a name for himself in the state of San Andreas (based on parts of California and Nevada). The graphics are good, the storyline is epic, with 20+ hours of storyline missions, not to mention side missions, games, races, exploring, having fun, etc., etc., etc. GTA: SA has a little something for everyone (over the age of 17), and it's a fantastic game. One of the most fun that I've ever played. This is like every preceding GTA on steroids, with voice talent including the likes of Samuel L. Jackson, Ice-T, Peter Fonda, and James Woods. The plot is fantastic, and one of the best in video game history. It's a better plot than any preceding GTA, and any one following it, including IV. Hey, the 20 million people who bought this can't be wrong, right? A masterpiece from all accounts. Expand
  19. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Missions, side missions, taxi missions, paramedic missions, vigilante missions, freighting, courier missions, tags to spray, snapshots to take, horseshoes to find, oysters to find, gang territories, shops, unique jumps, clothing choices, gym workouts, girlfriends, guns, safehouses, casinos, a HUGE map, and, of course, whatever the heck you want!! My favorite video game of all time, by far...
  20. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game from start to finish. Great characters, story, controls, graphics, everything about this game is wonderful. Easily the best game ever made on the PS2. Wish Rockstart would up the graphics to release on PSN, but again, best game ever made on PS2.
  21. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This game is perfection and my favorite ps2 game. The multiplayer, the free roam and the story made me spent so many hours of fun in this game, and now i still play it and love it. You could do everything like doing a tattoo or changing your hair style. Having a gang and the cheat codes where also some of the factors for this perfect game. How to describe this game by words, good actionThis game is perfection and my favorite ps2 game. The multiplayer, the free roam and the story made me spent so many hours of fun in this game, and now i still play it and love it. You could do everything like doing a tattoo or changing your hair style. Having a gang and the cheat codes where also some of the factors for this perfect game. How to describe this game by words, good action and great gameplay made this so fun and enjoyable to play to everyone and it's easy to see why everyone love this GTA game in particular. The city was so big and interesting to explore and you just couldn't get enough of it! Expand
  22. May 16, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite games.Very fun to drive around and explore since the map is so large. The voice acting story and soundtrack are good However, the shooting mechanics are the worst I have ever seen. It's almost impossible to hit someone.best gta game ever.
  23. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This game in my opinion is R* BEST WORK. The amount of things you can do in this game is phenomenal. There is just so much replay value in this game. If tired of missions, ride in a tank blowing stuff up. Tired of riding tanks, take to the air.

    R* has taken the best of GTA3 and VC to make one of the best games of all time.
  24. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Not only the, besT PS 2 game. Its the best gamr ever. Gta iv was a setback. San andreas is gonna be remember forever.....foreals no Denning it..best story in gta
  25. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    GTA San Andreas is a masterpiece, I can easily say it is the best game I have ever played. If you have not played this game you must try it. Below I list why I would highly recommend this game.

    Story: This game has a huge and interesting story with excellent voice acting from some famous actors It also has great humour and shocking plot twists. Music: The music selection is excellent
    GTA San Andreas is a masterpiece, I can easily say it is the best game I have ever played. If you have not played this game you must try it. Below I list why I would highly recommend this game.

    Story: This game has a huge and interesting story with excellent voice acting from some famous actors It also has great humour and shocking plot twists.

    Music: The music selection is excellent with amazing music from all genres but specificity 90s gangster rap.

    Gameplay: This is the biggest reason San Andreas is so highly rated, you will never get bored because the story missions never feel repetitive or boring and it includes a huge list of side activities which I cannot list in this review because their is just too much content in this game.
    Expand
  26. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Lo inmejorable ha sido mejorado en este increíble y un de mis juegos favoritos de todos los tiempos y de muchos también: "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas" es uno de los videojuegos más impresionantes de todos los tiempos, Rockstar se lució como ninguna otra compañía: gráficos mejorados e impresionantes, mejor jugabilidad, impresionante mapa (que es gigante) y puedes hacer cualquier variedadLo inmejorable ha sido mejorado en este increíble y un de mis juegos favoritos de todos los tiempos y de muchos también: "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas" es uno de los videojuegos más impresionantes de todos los tiempos, Rockstar se lució como ninguna otra compañía: gráficos mejorados e impresionantes, mejor jugabilidad, impresionante mapa (que es gigante) y puedes hacer cualquier variedad en ese estado que abarca Los Santos, San Fierro y Las Venturas. San Andreas es pura pasión y llorarás de la majestuosidad de este tan deseado videojuego. Expand
  27. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    I´ve been playing this game since it came out (and this is 2014), and guess what? Still playing it. The game is a legend. Even some books (all kind of) refers to them. This game is a game, that probably started the (WHOLE) thing with being interested in making RPG Games like this. Everytime im playing this, im always think "Sigh.. Where are all the good GTA Games like this anymore?" AndI´ve been playing this game since it came out (and this is 2014), and guess what? Still playing it. The game is a legend. Even some books (all kind of) refers to them. This game is a game, that probably started the (WHOLE) thing with being interested in making RPG Games like this. Everytime im playing this, im always think "Sigh.. Where are all the good GTA Games like this anymore?" And this game, even if it´s 10 years old, it still beats GTA V. Expand
  28. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    The best game on the Playstation 2 for me, a all time classic and a very special memory of my childhood, sure the graphics look dated now and there are probably some flaws in game but at the time it was special, it was brilliant and it made the way for all the great games to follow, and one thing is for sure, the grand theft auto series wouldnt be as good as it is now without San andreas.
  29. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is one of my favourite games of all time, it really capture los angeles and the california area i reckon, the gameplay was awesome and the story surpasses any other game made during its time, 10/10 yes, grove street for life.
  30. JamesD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    If San Andreas has made one thing clear, it is that the GTA experience can be enormous. The locations, the characters, the variety, it all makes for a game which is so awe inspiring and entertaining that putting it down is extremely difficult. I can't believe the arrogance of some of these user critics and the NY times. What on earth are you guys saying, are you trying to diss a game If San Andreas has made one thing clear, it is that the GTA experience can be enormous. The locations, the characters, the variety, it all makes for a game which is so awe inspiring and entertaining that putting it down is extremely difficult. I can't believe the arrogance of some of these user critics and the NY times. What on earth are you guys saying, are you trying to diss a game to try and be different from the popular view? Did the New York Times not receive their bribe? Truth and honest says to me that this game is completely defined with one of the best games I have ever played Expand
  31. ConnerMcleod
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    a 15 out of 10, sh**t this games kick mayor a**, I normqlly never curse but after playin´ GTASA I gotta say G*dDamn, f*ckin´A. I consider my self a gamer, played all the other Gta and gta´s clones(truecrime) but let me tell U this game will suck U rigth in. There´s nothing like it and belive U me, play it without the cheats you´ll feel the rewards as ua 15 out of 10, sh**t this games kick mayor a**, I normqlly never curse but after playin´ GTASA I gotta say G*dDamn, f*ckin´A. I consider my self a gamer, played all the other Gta and gta´s clones(truecrime) but let me tell U this game will suck U rigth in. There´s nothing like it and belive U me, play it without the cheats you´ll feel the rewards as u get´m, the girlfriend as U find them, u can actually live in the game U can go play at any casino, go to the race track an bet, or play old arcades at any convinience store, but the game itself it´s genuine motherf*cker...give me a hell yeah Expand
  32. SabinoS.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    I like this game beacuse i like killing.
  33. Dante
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    This is actually the first gta i played - i just wanted to see what all the hype was about - i AM a gamer - perhaps old school - buts thats what make gta:sa all the more impressive. its a classic game and no amount of review copy would do it just - there just arent enough adjectives to mtch the depth of gameplay in the this awsome entertainment package. if you have any type of gamingThis is actually the first gta i played - i just wanted to see what all the hype was about - i AM a gamer - perhaps old school - buts thats what make gta:sa all the more impressive. its a classic game and no amount of review copy would do it just - there just arent enough adjectives to mtch the depth of gameplay in the this awsome entertainment package. if you have any type of gaming console that would support this game - get gta:sa and you will own a defining game of our time - how can a game with such mediocre graphics dominate the PS2? simple - its an incredible game - everything to do and forever to do it. a masterpiece. Expand
  34. JakeW.
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    Dude I play this game all the f...ing time!! I love the fact that you can have girlfriends and all that sh.t! It f...ing rules!!!
  35. May 19, 2012
    9
    Awards: The Best Game of 2004, The Best Sandbox Game of 2004, The Best Single Player Experience of 2004 . The best selling game of PS2 is even one of the best game ever. GTA San Andreas is an open world game, that deserves the place for one of the best GTA ever. Story with gangsters never been so awesome, and the gameplay is a terrific sandbox. This game is even drama, because of theAwards: The Best Game of 2004, The Best Sandbox Game of 2004, The Best Single Player Experience of 2004 . The best selling game of PS2 is even one of the best game ever. GTA San Andreas is an open world game, that deserves the place for one of the best GTA ever. Story with gangsters never been so awesome, and the gameplay is a terrific sandbox. This game is even drama, because of the murder of CJ's mothers, and some secrets. It haves some cool extras: drive an transportation airplane, a huge beautiful world, new weapons etc. This game is almost perfect! (9.8) Expand
  36. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    It's the best game in the series, there are lots of activities to do, though CJ is not as convincing as Niko, San Andreas proves to be better than GTA IV. A fascinating story with three huge cities and vast rural areas, solid gameplay, variety of vehicles and transportation, the player can travel on foot, by car or by plane and by boat. Immense missions that are not repetitive andIt's the best game in the series, there are lots of activities to do, though CJ is not as convincing as Niko, San Andreas proves to be better than GTA IV. A fascinating story with three huge cities and vast rural areas, solid gameplay, variety of vehicles and transportation, the player can travel on foot, by car or by plane and by boat. Immense missions that are not repetitive and impressive cast with excellent graphics for the PS2, and a spectacular voice acting. San Andreas is one of the greatest games of its generation. Expand
  37. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Still the best gta to this date. GTA IV sucks compared to this and watch gta 5 suck compared to it also. Comparing GTA IV to SA is like comparing a potatoe to a computer. SA is a very very good game. So worth the 10 if you ask me. Im hoping R* does something good for its 10th ani unlike the crappy 10th ani for GTA 3 where all it got was ported to mobiles and not ps3. I love SA and stillStill the best gta to this date. GTA IV sucks compared to this and watch gta 5 suck compared to it also. Comparing GTA IV to SA is like comparing a potatoe to a computer. SA is a very very good game. So worth the 10 if you ask me. Im hoping R* does something good for its 10th ani unlike the crappy 10th ani for GTA 3 where all it got was ported to mobiles and not ps3. I love SA and still play it to this day. Who says classics are bad? Expand
  38. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This is the best GTA game so far and no other has beat it. I love this game, and it loves me back. We like to cuddle and touch each other in the wrong places, we smell each others bawls, we suck each other, OMG! But really, this games awesome.
  39. VincentV.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    The best game ever made...until the sequel.
  40. DanB.
    Mar 1, 2006
    9
    the game works best if you just forget the story and make up your own objectives and play it for the free roaming beauty it is, cool cars, you can get a tattoo but not enough clothes.
  41. DonkeyKongX
    Oct 26, 2004
    8
    I HIGHLY DOUBT GTA SAN ANDREAS IS BETTER THAN HALF LIFE 2, THAT IS IMPOSSIBLE, GTA VC got boring after like 2 months, Because it was just the same as GTA III, and GTA SA WILL BE BETTER ON PC, AND HALF LIFE 2, HALO 2, F.E.A.R., S.T.A.L.K.E.R., AND FAR CRY ARE SO MUCH BETTER THAN GTA!
  42. PaulC.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    WOW!
  43. CarlosG.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    The best game ever putos !
  44. RickoL.
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    Wow! This is mint!
  45. ApocalypseB.
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    There are many reasons to like/dislike a game. Reasons to dislike this range from being quirky to inhumane morals! Some gamers prefered Gta3 over Vice city as they were emotionally attached to that game. And indeed some prefered Vice city over San Andreas for the same reason. Fair enough, but when some hate this game because the main character is black, that is totally brain-dead! There are many reasons to like/dislike a game. Reasons to dislike this range from being quirky to inhumane morals! Some gamers prefered Gta3 over Vice city as they were emotionally attached to that game. And indeed some prefered Vice city over San Andreas for the same reason. Fair enough, but when some hate this game because the main character is black, that is totally brain-dead! Personally i think this is the best Gta ever made! It has the perfect formula for a sand box game and the play area is absolutely MASSIVE! The terrible voice acting and average graphics are annoying (maybe get actual black people to voice-act?), but the humour is back in effect, which went array in Vice City. Although I can relate to Vice City more (being an eighties man) and is still one of my favourite games of all time. There is no arguement that San Andreas is by far the more advanced and enjoyable game by the sheer weight of things to do! But two player is rubbish! Expand
  46. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    San Andreas stepped away from GTA III and Vice City by actually focusing on the gameplay much more that previous titles. The rpg elements added also keep the game fresh compared previous titles. I didn't really care for the story at all, and the ghetto setting is much worse than Vice City's to me... but GTA has never been about plot to me, so that doesn't really take anything away fromSan Andreas stepped away from GTA III and Vice City by actually focusing on the gameplay much more that previous titles. The rpg elements added also keep the game fresh compared previous titles. I didn't really care for the story at all, and the ghetto setting is much worse than Vice City's to me... but GTA has never been about plot to me, so that doesn't really take anything away from the game. I give it a 10 compared to other Grand Theft Autos, and an 8 against everything else. Its a fun game. Expand
  47. May 27, 2012
    10
    Not a best game in GTA .. but Best game in history of R* .. Seriously .. Hat's Off R* North .. u r my dream Company . Lovable game ....... 1000000000000000000000000000 likes for game
  48. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    San Andreas is a good game, there's no doubt about it. But it was a re-used formula which was becoming outdated. All you haters can be repulsed by GTA IV's realism and actual meaning, but San Andreas' shallow Ganglang message is no comparison. Its poor physics and odd characters are so unreal that it really can take you out of the game - but Vice City was still good. There's a differenceSan Andreas is a good game, there's no doubt about it. But it was a re-used formula which was becoming outdated. All you haters can be repulsed by GTA IV's realism and actual meaning, but San Andreas' shallow Ganglang message is no comparison. Its poor physics and odd characters are so unreal that it really can take you out of the game - but Vice City was still good. There's a difference between outright Saints Row-esque stupidity and crazy fun which has its limits. Expand
  49. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    It's the best game in the series, there are lots of activities to do, though CJ is not as convincing as Niko, San Andreas proves to be better than GTA IV. A fascinating story with three huge cities and vast rural areas, solid gameplay, variety of vehicles and transportation, the player can travel on foot, by car or by plane and by boat. Immense missions that are not repetitive andIt's the best game in the series, there are lots of activities to do, though CJ is not as convincing as Niko, San Andreas proves to be better than GTA IV. A fascinating story with three huge cities and vast rural areas, solid gameplay, variety of vehicles and transportation, the player can travel on foot, by car or by plane and by boat. Immense missions that are not repetitive and impressive cast with excellent graphics for the PS2, and a spectacular voice acting. San Andreas is one of the greatest games of its generation. Expand
  50. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Well,what can i say about this game
    ITS F***ing Amazing!!
    the plot is awesome,the gameplay is ok
    the graphics are...meh,they could be better
    but the world of san andreas was impressive in his moment
    San Andreas Rules!!
  51. LordVader
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    Awesome game, this is easily the best of the GTA games, excellent graphic and fantastic playability but what's with trashing the Xbox? The game is coming to that console as well so what's the big deal? I think some people need to grow up abit.
  52. SidE.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The best game there is out! i cant wait to see what rockstar can conjure up next. Right when you think it can get any better they suprise us again. congratulations its another victory for rockstar!!!!
  53. Kevin
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Excellent! The best game in the series and the main character is finally cool unlike Tommy.
  54. CurtisS.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    GTA san andreas is the BEST game in tha world. It is so realistic to the real freakin world!!! I rate it 10!
  55. AlexS.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    Very great game.....it was everything I expected.
  56. KurtisH.
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    i think this game is really good but the problem is that the grhpics arnt that good compared to like vice city and everythign but over all its a really good game.
  57. someguy
    Aug 2, 2007
    8
    It adds a ton of features but doesn't really change the overall gameplay.
  58. DanS.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    This is the most amazing thing i have ever played. gta san andreas has set a standard for all rpgs and any game for that matter. san andreas has changed the whole video game world and lets you interact with almost anything you can think of.
  59. 64J.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    It kicks ass.
  60. ChrisB.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass!!!
  61. RomanS.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Amazing...
  62. AaronT.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    If only some of the movie sequels could evolve as well as the entire GTA series has. The most enjoyable gaming experience I have had since the original Mario Bros. on the NES.
  63. StephenM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    IT it brill, im glued to my ps2 nearly all day, the only time i cum off is for the toliet, food and for the p.c, o yer, also for school.
  64. KarlK.
    Oct 13, 2004
    9
    It looks awesome although this is coming froma diehard rockstar fan but still the fact that you can swim opens up so many new possibilities and being able to change the look of your person makes it awesome too.
  65. JimB.
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    It's TIGHT!
  66. RectalR.
    Nov 6, 2004
    9
    Awesome!
  67. BigBilly
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    It's the best game ever.
  68. KieranL.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Brilliant, gang warfare is too tedious and annoying when you are concentrating on the missions.
  69. RyanS.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    This game is the bomb!!!!!!
  70. BertH.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    No arguments needed....... The Game speaks well for itself. Can't imagine what games will be like in 20 or even 10 years from now.
  71. DaDefJam
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    It's a timeless classic, even better than Vice City.
  72. BobP.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    This greatly expands on the last GTA with a landscape six times the size of the last, with no loading in-between areas, most of the missions are of greater depth and quality than the best in vice city. Voice acting is consistent all-around, instead of just the main character. The RPG-like stats system is a nice addition and not just an extra chore to do. The customization of your This greatly expands on the last GTA with a landscape six times the size of the last, with no loading in-between areas, most of the missions are of greater depth and quality than the best in vice city. Voice acting is consistent all-around, instead of just the main character. The RPG-like stats system is a nice addition and not just an extra chore to do. The customization of your character is also extremely well done. The control of vehicles and aiming is about at vice city level to start with, then as you gain stats, it gets better (though I haven't gotten to the point of aircraft yet). The mini-games are all well thought out and implemented. To say its just a rehash just shows you havent really played it or its predecessor. Expand
  73. RyanO.
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    GTA san andreas is the best game i have ever played so far.There is so much stuff to do.I think rockstar should make another gta game.
  74. dudeerr
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    whats up with these bitches who don't like the game it is fucken awsome. so much new shit so fun I am only on like the tenth mission and I am loving every bit of it. dumfucks like chimp and john h can go fuck themselves this game is badass
  75. AtariJaguarFetish
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The graphics in this game are so awesome, rivaling Driver 2's on PS1, which is saying a lot. I love the pop-up which brings me back to the days of twitch gaming, where you needed fast reflexes to win. The control almost rivals Syphon Filter 2 and Tenchu 2's control, which we all know had the best control ever. The water effects almost surpass Cobra Triangles water on the NES, The graphics in this game are so awesome, rivaling Driver 2's on PS1, which is saying a lot. I love the pop-up which brings me back to the days of twitch gaming, where you needed fast reflexes to win. The control almost rivals Syphon Filter 2 and Tenchu 2's control, which we all know had the best control ever. The water effects almost surpass Cobra Triangles water on the NES, which still to this day has the best water effects ever. When it rains in the game, it almost looks as good as the rain in Saturn games, which did rain better than even Intellivision. Not even the PS2, Dreamcast nor XBOX can touch the graphics, control and gameplay here. Yes, I would have to say this is the best Atari Jaguar game I've ever played, maybe all month. Expand
  76. IvaP.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    My closest friend lost his marriage because of the GTA series, but he wouldn't have it anyway. He won't be remarrying for the next 2 years after the release of San Andreas. I've played it too... great graphics and that non-linear gameplay that makes you never want to touch a linear game again. Better than sex! Not that i've had it before. :)
  77. DannyC.
    Oct 27, 2004
    9
    The only bad thing I can say so far is that I will have to buy it again next year when it comes out on the Xbox. This is only my 2nd game for the PS2, and the graphics are killin my eyes! Definitley a big step up from Vice City!
  78. RicardoA.
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!
  79. FrankJ.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    I love it. it gives me great pleasure in blowing off a hookers head, and even recreating the beloved texas chainsaw massacre on cops. meow. 10 out of 10. game over.
  80. AdamW.
    Oct 29, 2004
    9
    Let's get one thing straight: this is a GTA game. The core gameplay is essentially the same. You can still steal cars, run missions, shoot people etc. You either like the GTA style or you don't. Assuming you do, there is a LOT to like here. The game is absolutely HUGE. So much area, and so much else to do above and beyond the core missions. The reviewer who said to rentLet's get one thing straight: this is a GTA game. The core gameplay is essentially the same. You can still steal cars, run missions, shoot people etc. You either like the GTA style or you don't. Assuming you do, there is a LOT to like here. The game is absolutely HUGE. So much area, and so much else to do above and beyond the core missions. The reviewer who said to rent this game is dead wrong. While you could possibly complete the core story in that time, there is so much else to do in this game that you would be doing yourself a disservice. Expand
  81. WayneH.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the best car and action game ever.Truly amazing. Anyone who hasnt got it GET IT!
  82. JussiK.
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    GTA: San Andreas totally rules!
  83. GraemeL.
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    This game is the best. it has every game in 1 nearly and it is the best game out.
  84. FredH.
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    For those of you that are saying this game is not great because it is the same kind of game as it's predecessors, listen up: All sequels are the same kind of game as it's predecessors! What else do you want in it? Pokemon and Aliens?!
  85. Salmon
    Oct 30, 2004
    8
    Hey, it´s GTA...let´s add 1-2 scoring points if you´re a respected reviewer. It isn´t without flaws people. The control of the main character while running around is still kinda stiff and sloppy. The framerate isn´t really that good. Really weak texturing around the cities. The small map (in the left corner) is still getting people dizzy. Pretty low Hey, it´s GTA...let´s add 1-2 scoring points if you´re a respected reviewer. It isn´t without flaws people. The control of the main character while running around is still kinda stiff and sloppy. The framerate isn´t really that good. Really weak texturing around the cities. The small map (in the left corner) is still getting people dizzy. Pretty low resolution. The Sims-related stuff in the game isn´t that great at all. Well, the rest is just great with this game, but everyone goes crazy like "it´s the best game on the PS2!!11!"...well hello, it´s time to wake up and see the Vice City-upgrade for what it is. Therefore...my score stops at...8. Expand
  86. DjA.
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    What with people who don't like this game I oculdn't ask for anything more. At first I was disappoited until got farther in the game then I realized all the sh.t this game has...it's awesome.
  87. BannaHammic
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Its gon be PIMPI'n FO shizzle my dizzo'e fo shiz.
  88. PatrickMead
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    How can you not give it anything but a 10 all the other GTA's have been everything that I excpected them to be but this one I think will be the mother of all GTA's. I think every fan will be blown away and stuned by what you can do in this game it's going to be amazing. I can't wait to play it. It will be the best GTA ever made by rockstar and I hope there will be moreHow can you not give it anything but a 10 all the other GTA's have been everything that I excpected them to be but this one I think will be the mother of all GTA's. I think every fan will be blown away and stuned by what you can do in this game it's going to be amazing. I can't wait to play it. It will be the best GTA ever made by rockstar and I hope there will be more to come in the future guy's keep up the awsome work peace. Expand
  89. Rob-O
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Danny D.... a step backwards? How can you say that? As much as I love VC and 3, this is a huge improvement. If anything it's a bit too ambitious for the little ol' ps2.
  90. DanD.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    I gotta agree with Jason S on this one, it is very near to the sims that would be a bad thing. the game can easily consume 100+ hours of gameplay and the storyline is jus so original its mindblowing. loved 3 and VC but this game has raised the bar for all game developers and nothing (part fom possibly need for speed underground 2) can compare. every detail of the game has been enhancedI gotta agree with Jason S on this one, it is very near to the sims that would be a bad thing. the game can easily consume 100+ hours of gameplay and the storyline is jus so original its mindblowing. loved 3 and VC but this game has raised the bar for all game developers and nothing (part fom possibly need for speed underground 2) can compare. every detail of the game has been enhanced greatly right down to the AI of the pedestrians . BEST game EVER! Expand
  91. MarcusBagdog
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    Stop dissing the Xbox owners, the majority of us aren't PS2 haters. I love the GTA series (and my PS2, Xbox and GC), and this third installment was amazing. The only downside is that it didn't amaze me the way that GTA3 did, but it was still a terrific game.
  92. MatS.
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    Nothing can beat this free roaming game. including the plot twists and the visuals this game kicks ass.
  93. KoriR.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Best game ever.
  94. CodyG.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    This game is the BEST game in the whole world!!
  95. BenjaminDanielW.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    The game is apsolutly wonderful! I like the compability very much! The graphic is for a pure 10, while the sound is 9. But the gameplay is superb (10), so I gave it 10!
  96. LeeC.
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    Best GTA ever period.
  97. DustinC.
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    Awesome game. Huge, huge, huge. Tons of stuff to do - even when you're done the missions there is everything else: photos, tags, jumps, minigames, races, etc. Best gameplay ever. The only reason I gave 9 instead of 10 is that the graphics are not up to the standard of everything else, what is with the blocky hands?
  98. PaulS.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    Top banana.
  99. RickN.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    San Andreas does have its faults - targeting enemies, bland graphics, some rough animation etc. why do I still give it a 10 then? Because the sheer size and things to do in the game outweigh any flaw this game has, its huge, and due to this it is a game you could easily play for days and days on end. Be prepared to book a lot of time off work and say goodbye to your friends for a while.
  100. BobB.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    One of the best games i have played. I think that it is the best of the grand theft auto series.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.