User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1710 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Salmon
    Oct 30, 2004
    8
    Hey, it´s GTA...let´s add 1-2 scoring points if you´re a respected reviewer. It isn´t without flaws people. The control of the main character while running around is still kinda stiff and sloppy. The framerate isn´t really that good. Really weak texturing around the cities. The small map (in the left corner) is still getting people dizzy. Pretty low Hey, it´s GTA...let´s add 1-2 scoring points if you´re a respected reviewer. It isn´t without flaws people. The control of the main character while running around is still kinda stiff and sloppy. The framerate isn´t really that good. Really weak texturing around the cities. The small map (in the left corner) is still getting people dizzy. Pretty low resolution. The Sims-related stuff in the game isn´t that great at all. Well, the rest is just great with this game, but everyone goes crazy like "it´s the best game on the PS2!!11!"...well hello, it´s time to wake up and see the Vice City-upgrade for what it is. Therefore...my score stops at...8. Expand
  2. ASIS
    Oct 29, 2004
    9
    This is an incredible game. i was kinda dissapointed at the graphical aspect of the character textures, not much of a change, but after 10 minutes i completely forgot about the graphics and focused on some amazing gameplay. As someone who did grow up in south central LA during the riots and gang wars , it does impress me to see a game like this. all the things you have to do are amazingThis is an incredible game. i was kinda dissapointed at the graphical aspect of the character textures, not much of a change, but after 10 minutes i completely forgot about the graphics and focused on some amazing gameplay. As someone who did grow up in south central LA during the riots and gang wars , it does impress me to see a game like this. all the things you have to do are amazing compared to the past 2 gta incarnations on the ps2. storyline wise, just as good as i expected it if not better. as for xbox owners, simple, dont like it, then dont play it. Expand
  3. MarkC.
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    So much do I wish I didn't have to work.
  4. SidE.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The best game there is out! i cant wait to see what rockstar can conjure up next. Right when you think it can get any better they suprise us again. congratulations its another victory for rockstar!!!!
  5. Solo
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Everyone that has rated this game 5 or lower hasn't played this game. This game is one of the best games I have ever played, but there is always those hatin a** nerds that try to find things wrong with a game. Attention all nerds this game is just to cool for you and your pocket protectors.
  6. DeonF.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass. It's the best action adventure game ever. i made sure i picked it up on the first day for my collection.
  7. BigBilly
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    It's the best game ever.
  8. OGLoc
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    I personally think that this game is outstanding. i was never able to get into the previous GTA games and actually play them as they were meant with the missions and all. however with san andreas i have not been able to put the game down since i bought it. i think that the game was very well done and the virtual limitless boundries of the game are great. i would highly recommend this game I personally think that this game is outstanding. i was never able to get into the previous GTA games and actually play them as they were meant with the missions and all. however with san andreas i have not been able to put the game down since i bought it. i think that the game was very well done and the virtual limitless boundries of the game are great. i would highly recommend this game to anyone who is not offended by four letter words or general gang language. Expand
  9. DanielM.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Better than the other GTA's and any other crime game.
  10. JoshM.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    This game is the best yet!
  11. KieranL.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Brilliant, gang warfare is too tedious and annoying when you are concentrating on the missions.
  12. AndreB.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Great Game! The Best ever made. I didn't think they could've pulled it off, but dammit, I was dead wrong. If u own a PS2 and dont have this in a library, U need a reality check.
  13. JohnS.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the shizzzznittt hecks yea the rocks my socks.
  14. JustinS.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    I played this game at a friends house and it was awsome. I am going to buy it as soon as i can get the money for it, it is well worth the $50.00 it cost.
  15. KhanhN.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is TIGHT!
  16. JerryG.
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    First off to those complaining bout the game being the same old game, what do u expect? Its a Grand Theft Auto game. Their not gonna change something that works so great as GTA does. Now about the game, this game is huge and is amazing how much detail went into the game. You have so many more options on what to do with C.J. I would tell anyone with a PS2 to get this game.
  17. BIGSmoke
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    Best game i have ever played in my life. it is totally different from GTA3 ans vice city. the missions are way more fun and the country and all the tractors and stuff are really fun. there is so much to do. Plus this time you can acually swim!! This game will be the best game ever!! who cares about halo2. can u do a drive by in halo 2 how about ride dirtbike and atvs or have your own Best game i have ever played in my life. it is totally different from GTA3 ans vice city. the missions are way more fun and the country and all the tractors and stuff are really fun. there is so much to do. Plus this time you can acually swim!! This game will be the best game ever!! who cares about halo2. can u do a drive by in halo 2 how about ride dirtbike and atvs or have your own girlfriend or start a gang war. when i played this game my jaw hit the ground and just stared there for a long time.Ps. how could u rate this game a seven?? you must either suck at playing and can't beat the missions or you have x box and are just jealous you cant play GTA SAN ANDREAS!!!!!! Expand
  18. AdamW.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    It's the bomb digity fresh.
  19. KaiserSoze
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    I'm one of those people who this game evidently won't appeal to because I'm 35. Hello? We were the first generation to grow up on videogames and a prime demographic. My friends and I have killed about 50,000 people on GTA3 and VC. Those who rate the game lower than an 8 haven't played it, haven't played it long enough or are X-Box fetishists. The graphics I'm one of those people who this game evidently won't appeal to because I'm 35. Hello? We were the first generation to grow up on videogames and a prime demographic. My friends and I have killed about 50,000 people on GTA3 and VC. Those who rate the game lower than an 8 haven't played it, haven't played it long enough or are X-Box fetishists. The graphics aren't perfect, but there are limits to the PS2 and the gameplay more than makes up for it. The size and seamlessness is better than any other game on PS2. I still have no idea how they did away with any load times. The missions are outstanding and the game gets much more fun as you progress. You'll be amazed at how much detail has been given to everything, including the countryside, casinos, OTB, working out, getting tattoos and haircuts, controlling your gang, car customization, mission design, etc. There's almost nothing you can't do. The game is just massive. It takes a LONG time to get from one city to another unless you have a plane. Stop yer whining and go buy the thing, even if you have to grow some balls and buy a PS2. They're cheap now. Expand
  20. JuliusP.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever and I can't wait to the next game comes out. I know that it will probably come out when the ps3 is release.
  21. BertH.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    No arguments needed....... The Game speaks well for itself. Can't imagine what games will be like in 20 or even 10 years from now.
  22. NateW.
    Oct 26, 2004
    9
    I'm curious as to who Jim D. is referring to when he complains this game only appeals to one "specific group"... I wonder if I fall into that group, because I think it is incredible what they accomplished with this game. The level of both technical and production polish on this game in unprecedented.
  23. SimonP.
    Nov 1, 2004
    8
    Hyperbole aside, what makes the GTA games compelling for me isn't the violence (lets face it - what's big, clever or new about that?) it's the go anywhere, do anything nature of the gameplay. This games continues and enhances the tradition of (almost) free form play in a largely believable game-world. Overall though, my abiding impression is that the game has become too Hyperbole aside, what makes the GTA games compelling for me isn't the violence (lets face it - what's big, clever or new about that?) it's the go anywhere, do anything nature of the gameplay. This games continues and enhances the tradition of (almost) free form play in a largely believable game-world. Overall though, my abiding impression is that the game has become too ambitious for the machine it's running on. The graphics and framerate are very weak in places and although that doesn't not spoil the game, I can't help imagining this concept realised on a machine capable of doing the vision of the developers justice - (hopefully the next generation of PS and Xbox). Still a superb and involving game though. Expand
  24. JoeM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I do not own this game yet but I have played it at my friends house and it is the best game ever blows driv3r out of the water and way outstrips vice city.
  25. Brandon
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Many complained that Vice City was just GTA 3 in a different city. San Andreas expands greatly on the previous games by adding attributes (like lung capacity, driving skill, respect, etc.) that you have to build up. The ability to swim is a great addition that was desparately needed in the earlier games. The graphics are also greatly improved. They still aren't good but I suppose Many complained that Vice City was just GTA 3 in a different city. San Andreas expands greatly on the previous games by adding attributes (like lung capacity, driving skill, respect, etc.) that you have to build up. The ability to swim is a great addition that was desparately needed in the earlier games. The graphics are also greatly improved. They still aren't good but I suppose that is the trade off for having one of (if not THE) largest seemless world available in a video game. Expand
  26. MarkM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Anyone who rates this game lower than a 9 either: a.) has not played the other games in the series; b.) has not played this one enough to see the HUGE differences R* has added; c.) is an Xbox homer who has no business rating this game to begin with; and/or d.) is a blithering idiot. There have been numerous changes to this game -- instead of just doing mission after mission, you actually Anyone who rates this game lower than a 9 either: a.) has not played the other games in the series; b.) has not played this one enough to see the HUGE differences R* has added; c.) is an Xbox homer who has no business rating this game to begin with; and/or d.) is a blithering idiot. There have been numerous changes to this game -- instead of just doing mission after mission, you actually have to earn your skills ... there are a TON of odd jobs and mini games ... and the city is so huge as to be ridiculous. Those that think it's the same old, same old, have to be clueless -- it's not anywhere close to GTA3 or VC in terms of gameplay. All in all, perhaps the defining moment of the PS2, just as Halo2 will be for the Xbox. Expand
  27. Kevin
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Excellent! The best game in the series and the main character is finally cool unlike Tommy.
  28. MikeL.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    I think it's laughable how these Xbox fanboys decide to write negative reviews for GTA:SA and think their motivation appears anything but transparent. It's obvious they're bitter that a game that is available for only the Playstation 2 can challenge the greatness of Halo 1 and 2 ( the blasphemy!!). Also, it's pathetic how you could polarize yourself as either an Xbox I think it's laughable how these Xbox fanboys decide to write negative reviews for GTA:SA and think their motivation appears anything but transparent. It's obvious they're bitter that a game that is available for only the Playstation 2 can challenge the greatness of Halo 1 and 2 ( the blasphemy!!). Also, it's pathetic how you could polarize yourself as either an Xbox fan or PS2 fan much like Republicans and Democrats are doing these days. What's wrong with liking both for god's sake? It's obvious that the GTA franchise and Halo franchise are among the creme de la creme of the gaming world, but unlike you fanboys i'll be enjoying both this holiday season (sorry for the preachiness, just had to get that off my chest). Expand
  29. BobP.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    This greatly expands on the last GTA with a landscape six times the size of the last, with no loading in-between areas, most of the missions are of greater depth and quality than the best in vice city. Voice acting is consistent all-around, instead of just the main character. The RPG-like stats system is a nice addition and not just an extra chore to do. The customization of your This greatly expands on the last GTA with a landscape six times the size of the last, with no loading in-between areas, most of the missions are of greater depth and quality than the best in vice city. Voice acting is consistent all-around, instead of just the main character. The RPG-like stats system is a nice addition and not just an extra chore to do. The customization of your character is also extremely well done. The control of vehicles and aiming is about at vice city level to start with, then as you gain stats, it gets better (though I haven't gotten to the point of aircraft yet). The mini-games are all well thought out and implemented. To say its just a rehash just shows you havent really played it or its predecessor. Expand
  30. JoshD.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The sheer quality of the gameplay and graphics make Grand Theft Auto San Andreas the best PS2 game of the year! 10 out of 10. The amount of detail the game goes into is amazing! I definately recommend this game to everyone!
  31. Bill
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    All the people who are saying this game is just a rehash of the previous ones are obviously uninformed. The game has gained a massive list of additions ranging from RPG like character development to social interactions to squad leadership. The game is 5 times the size of VC with well over 5 times as much to do, no loading times in the entire outdoor area, and the ability to customize your All the people who are saying this game is just a rehash of the previous ones are obviously uninformed. The game has gained a massive list of additions ranging from RPG like character development to social interactions to squad leadership. The game is 5 times the size of VC with well over 5 times as much to do, no loading times in the entire outdoor area, and the ability to customize your character 's outfits, abilities, appearance, and social behavior to your hearts content. Those of you who think IGN is biased, Gamespot gave it a 9.6. Is this a massive industry wide conspiracy? I think not. Get a life. Expand
  32. 64J.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    It kicks ass.
  33. JamesP.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    The Return of the King!!! without a doubt the best game alongside the long awaited Half Life 2. What's with the people who keep giving 1 for every superb title? Sort your lives out idiots.
  34. Mr.Anderson
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    This is still a good gta game, but it is too long. [Ed: Huh? Really sucks to get your money's worth, doesn't it?] Everything has improved again. You still do the same thing which is fine but i wish you could do some thing other than just missions and killing. Also why in the world are people coparing this game to halo 2? Come on ya can't. People are going to be mad at me This is still a good gta game, but it is too long. [Ed: Huh? Really sucks to get your money's worth, doesn't it?] Everything has improved again. You still do the same thing which is fine but i wish you could do some thing other than just missions and killing. Also why in the world are people coparing this game to halo 2? Come on ya can't. People are going to be mad at me but it is a first person shooter and what is this an adventure. Anyway in my opinion halo 2 will be better than ANY game in the market. So i do recommend this game to any ps2 holder it is a must have. But people STOP comparing other games when you don't know how good they are. Expand
  35. DavidT.
    Oct 26, 2004
    7
    Just not that impressed, I like Vice Vity alot better. The game just feels to slow, or maybe it has been a while since I played GTA VC , but the new game is just missing that certain bite !!
  36. Marc-AndréK.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    This game is the best game i ever played when u want all in one game. If u want a race game, there is in this game ... but do not compare this gta san andreas to gran turismo 4. Anyways , it is gang bang all the way, whitch i find fun , even if i'm not a rapper. Nice soundtracks , HUGE map !, the only thing i wasn't impressed, was the graphics , its the same base of vice city , This game is the best game i ever played when u want all in one game. If u want a race game, there is in this game ... but do not compare this gta san andreas to gran turismo 4. Anyways , it is gang bang all the way, whitch i find fun , even if i'm not a rapper. Nice soundtracks , HUGE map !, the only thing i wasn't impressed, was the graphics , its the same base of vice city , but they re-touched the cars, the peoples, and some other things. And finally the greatest thing of GTA san andreas, is that they add/fix A LOT of thing compare to vice city . Expand
  37. TimS.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The best video game ever produced! Period.
  38. GotIt
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Hey, I just decided to rub it in. It's 6:00 on the 25th and I GOT SAN ANDREAS. My EB games started releasing it early. In your face you PRE_ORDERERS. HAHA
  39. QJFRESH
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    I Bought it yesterday the best game I ever played if you dont have it you need to get it.
  40. BradB.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Just picked this game up tonight and it is outstanding!! Great graphics, excellent west coast music and the story seems great so far.
  41. JohnCross
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games I played in a long time.
  42. SamP.
    Oct 27, 2004
    8
    Tony M. --- the thing is the 'Box WILL get SA some time whereas "Halo 2" will NEVER EVER be put into the PS2's flimsy disk tray EVER!!
  43. StephenM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    IT it brill, im glued to my ps2 nearly all day, the only time i cum off is for the toliet, food and for the p.c, o yer, also for school.
  44. ChadJB.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    I have seen the face of God and it is San Andreas.
  45. DaDefJam
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    It's a timeless classic, even better than Vice City.
  46. AndyW.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    Best game eva made u can do woteva u like and shud last ages.
  47. RaoulC.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!
  48. JoeA.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    The very best of gaming large and great real life characters a great guest appearances.
  49. Wongit
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    What else is there to say, i can go ahead and say the same stuff everyone else said while reviewing this game, ull be reading the same stuff. by far the greatest game ever.
  50. RicardoA.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!
  51. IvaP.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    My closest friend lost his marriage because of the GTA series, but he wouldn't have it anyway. He won't be remarrying for the next 2 years after the release of San Andreas. I've played it too... great graphics and that non-linear gameplay that makes you never want to touch a linear game again. Better than sex! Not that i've had it before. :)
  52. Ertert
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    I havent actually bought the game yet, its sold out everywhere!!!! do many girls play this game?? i absolutely love it but i know no other girls that do.
  53. JJJames
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  54. DannyC.
    Oct 27, 2004
    9
    The only bad thing I can say so far is that I will have to buy it again next year when it comes out on the Xbox. This is only my 2nd game for the PS2, and the graphics are killin my eyes! Definitley a big step up from Vice City!
  55. FarhadA.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    It's the best game i have ever played
  56. AB
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This game is freakin' amazing. They improved on every aspect of Vice City (which was already a great game to begin with). Every PS2 owner should buy this game. Now. And as for Jigganis Zig: since you're only 12 you should wait for Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal and Metroid Prime 2 Echoes; they're going to be awesome too!
  57. JOEI.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This game will have you putting GTA3 and Vice City up on your shelf for the next year at the least. Not only is this game tweaked waay more than the past GTA games, its a blast! You would think this type of gameplay would get old, but why would you think that? Do you get sick of mario? I didnt think so. He's been around for 20+ years. My only complaint is the graphics are a little This game will have you putting GTA3 and Vice City up on your shelf for the next year at the least. Not only is this game tweaked waay more than the past GTA games, its a blast! You would think this type of gameplay would get old, but why would you think that? Do you get sick of mario? I didnt think so. He's been around for 20+ years. My only complaint is the graphics are a little stale although they are somewhat improved. Im forgiving this problem though due to the fact Rockstar had to cram so so much into this game. I wonder if they ever thought of using two discs? They could improve the graphcis with out a doubt then. Expand
  58. Steve
    Oct 27, 2004
    7
    Slower firing rate for all the guns, I really hate the new camera (that R thumbstick junk), the tank is now destructable and is impossible to aim, and the sunset look gets annoying.
  59. PaulD.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This game is absolutely awesome... The graphics are outstanding...gameplay A+... everything about this game is great.
  60. BenN.
    Nov 11, 2004
    8
    If u have a PS2 u need this game.
  61. StevenV.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    The best video game ever made since vice city.
  62. MichaelV.
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Man to all your losers complaining about the game i think this is the best GTA game that has come out yet. It deserves a ten but the only downside to this game is that its soooo big. oh yea!
  63. JJJames
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  64. JamesS.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Bloody good.
  65. MichaelP.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Kickass game to cool makes it feel like your actuallythere killing, robbing, and working for the mafia.
  66. Flydude
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    This is the most g'd up game ever dawg its of the hizzle fo shizzle.
  67. MickT.
    Nov 10, 2004
    7
    I like this game but i realy wish i could play it on my xbox. it would just look so much prettier.
  68. JohnQ.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Best game i've ever played.
  69. FilipeS.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    This is the best game of all my life!
  70. HugoFusion
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    K two words this game rocks. man u can get hair cuts. and i think u can grow a beard well yeah umm yes umm well yeah of course it gets a ten it is the biggest and best game that was ever introduced to the world.
  71. AdamH.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    People who give this game any rating lower than a nine is out of thier mind. Just because you are whining about not having a ps2 to play it on doesnt mean you have to diss the game u you xbox loving halo 2 f***ers.(Lets go blast aliens whith my laser gun)
  72. AnthonyM.
    Oct 28, 2004
    9
    Fantastic new spin on the Grand Theft Auto franchise, great charters,great storyline!! best of all tons of side quests and truly Outstanding gameplay. This one's gonna be hard to beat!!!
  73. UmarM.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Holy holy damn this game is sooooooooo wicked.
  74. AndrewT.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the best thing that RockStar North has ever created. I play this game day and night and now i think i turned into those people with no life.
  75. BloodEmperor
    Nov 13, 2004
    9
    Fantastic addition to the GTA series, absolutley huge with LOADS to do! Lots of new additions to the gameplay, and the handling of the game Sometimes the frame rate can jump slightly and thats the only reason for my 9.. other than that.. AMAZING!
  76. RaheelG.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    No doubt rockstar does it again with another smash hit. If this game was a women i would have married it already.
  77. VictorG.
    Nov 3, 2004
    9
    I love this game but i give it a nine cause of the fact that we dont have the option 2 make are character white or black. sorry but i would like it 2 look like me or at least my skin color. maybe next game we can creat are character from scratch like in the sims. other than that the game rocks!!!!
  78. JoeG.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    I have never seen a video game better than this. This game beats Halo 2 by an inch. I thought Driver 3 was good, driver 3 is Pong compared to this.
  79. JonM.
    Nov 3, 2004
    8
    This thing is so huge it's daunting... great fun so far. But which idiot decided to use dark blue blips on the map for paramedic + taxi missions? I can barely make them out on my (average) TV.
  80. BryanV.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    The whole story line is way better than previous GTA's. More options. Great game.
  81. CarlM.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    I love this game,but one thing that you's should do is make it a two player game i know you have but its not a split screen and you can't do anything like eat, go shopping etc. but this game is cool and i think that you should make it a bit like the sims you should be able to run a house and ask your gansters to move in with you.
  82. MarcH.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable. by far the best game ever made!!
  83. KyleW.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    This one blows the other two grand theft autos away. The size of the game and the multiple range of vehicles is unbeleivable. It takes every aspect of everyday life and makes you control CJ's lfe and how he looks and dresses.
  84. ChrisA.K.A.SmokeyFattahi
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    This game iz tha best one yet...... It iz cuz it dont bleeep out tha cuss wordz like Vice City.. It got hood people nood little rich crakerz.. And u ride bikes got tha finest muzic frum Dre to Snoop.. And Having two player girl friend action iz da stuff.
  85. MR
    Nov 4, 2004
    7
    To put it bluntly, I'm unimpressed. It must be pointed out *now* that I am not a fan of the GTA style- although, in comparison to the last two games, this one suits me much better. The graphics are a mixed bag (they don't seem to gel too well at times- comic book characters in a real world?) and the gameplay is the same as the others. If you liked GTA 3 and VC- this is a must To put it bluntly, I'm unimpressed. It must be pointed out *now* that I am not a fan of the GTA style- although, in comparison to the last two games, this one suits me much better. The graphics are a mixed bag (they don't seem to gel too well at times- comic book characters in a real world?) and the gameplay is the same as the others. If you liked GTA 3 and VC- this is a must have that you'll love. Be warned though- for the more finicky gamer, this isn't the pick up and play I thought it may have been. Expand
  86. JuliusD.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    Victor G. - Could we make Tommy Verscetti black? And are white and black the only 2 ethnicities out there? You need to get schooled, son -- and not in Alabama. The game is a bigger and badder evolution of the tried-and-true digital playground that R* has been providing us with since GTAIII. Saying any more would be useless since the professional reviews can't help but mimic each Victor G. - Could we make Tommy Verscetti black? And are white and black the only 2 ethnicities out there? You need to get schooled, son -- and not in Alabama. The game is a bigger and badder evolution of the tried-and-true digital playground that R* has been providing us with since GTAIII. Saying any more would be useless since the professional reviews can't help but mimic each other in their praise for this title (as well as its flaws.) Expand
  87. JohnnyW.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    The best (and when i say best, i mean only decent) game on the PS2. Nothing the PS2 has even comes close to this. PS2 sucks, but I gotta give props to it for this. Finally a reason to play the damn thing.
  88. P.G.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    It is fantastic i loved it rockstar havemade another masterpiece my favorite thing about the game is the amount of freedom and real life things you have to do like eat and work out so i rate this game 10 (higher if it was possoble).
  89. FranciscoG.
    Oct 31, 2004
    9
    When vice city came out i was like whoa dude!!! san andreas ate vice city for lunch. i played vice city everyday and now i can care less about it and probably wont ever play it again because san andreas is 10xs better than any game ive played "ever" yes even better than sonic 1.
  90. MrPennywise
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    Yeah, GTA is back on track and it is bigger and better than every GTA before.
  91. AaronT.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    If only some of the movie sequels could evolve as well as the entire GTA series has. The most enjoyable gaming experience I have had since the original Mario Bros. on the NES.
  92. BrettS.
    Oct 31, 2004
    9
    It's GTA Vice City, but with a hip hop theme, and a bigger arena. Still better than 98% of the games out there. Nothing beats running over people with a tractor!
  93. RomanS.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Amazing...
  94. ChrisB.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass!!!
  95. MikeToreno
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    This is by far the best video game ever made and anyone who doesn't agree with me can go... "Best video game ever!"
  96. KenL.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    This is the best gta game ever there is so much freedom and i know that this game deserves higher then an 8.6 average.
  97. BladeM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    Very expansive enviroment, lacks some semi-realism, but, who can complain? -2 player mode is quite poor -keeping players stats up can become a chore -amount of different traffic seems to have at least doubled -customization is very cool -games storyboard is spectacular.
  98. JoshS.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    This is the best gta game since GTA III I agree with Mark m in stating that anyone who says this game sucks needs to stop playing action rpg this game is awsome.
  99. KeithM.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    The best game i have ever played, a few graphical errors, and glitches but that doesn't stop the fun, never gets old!
  100. DjA.
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    What with people who don't like this game I oculdn't ask for anything more. At first I was disappoited until got farther in the game then I realized all the sh.t this game has...it's awesome.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
1
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.