User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1618 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 28, 2017
    10
    MASTERPIECE GAME OFF ALL TIME. If you have PS 2 then you must had played this game.

    -Youu can swim !
    - you can get fat or skinny
    - You can change hair style

    THEBEST
  2. Jan 26, 2017
    9
    Great Game,Great Plot,Great Gameplay,Great Soundtrack.But some bad characters textures,graphics.
    Overall:A One of the Greatest of All Time,Because of funny dialogues,easter eggs.
  3. Jan 13, 2017
    10
    One of the best videogames in history. Even today it is still playable and aged amazingly well. This game was such a mindblowing experience backthen which offered so much fun and the replayability is endless.
  4. Jan 4, 2017
    10
    ohhhhhhh my god this game has aged well wow im playing it on the ps4 and ohhhh my everything is great except when you fail a mission you stay where u failed it i don't mind if i have to restart the mission but failing it from the other side of the map and having to go ALL THE WAY BACK!!!! but when i failed it i just explored around where i failed so yeah old game great game even if youohhhhhhh my god this game has aged well wow im playing it on the ps4 and ohhhh my everything is great except when you fail a mission you stay where u failed it i don't mind if i have to restart the mission but failing it from the other side of the map and having to go ALL THE WAY BACK!!!! but when i failed it i just explored around where i failed so yeah old game great game even if you don't play story cheats are so funnnnnn Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas ou apenas GTA San Andreas, é sem duvidas um dos jogos mais emblematico do playstation 2, sem falar que é um dos jogos mais importantes da historia, influenciou muitos games, tem um boa historia, tem um bom personagem que é o CJ, que para muito é o melhor da franquia (eu particulamente prefiro o Trevor), tem um excelente trilha sonora, um mapa gigantesco,Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas ou apenas GTA San Andreas, é sem duvidas um dos jogos mais emblematico do playstation 2, sem falar que é um dos jogos mais importantes da historia, influenciou muitos games, tem um boa historia, tem um bom personagem que é o CJ, que para muito é o melhor da franquia (eu particulamente prefiro o Trevor), tem um excelente trilha sonora, um mapa gigantesco, grafico bons para a época, muitas coisas para fazer, dava para jogar de 2 offline, fazer muito zueira no game, muitos carros para usar, motos e etc, missoes memoraveis, é um jogo inesquecivel, mesmo com alguns problemas, eu ainda acho 3 terceiro melhor da franquia GTA ( eu acho GTA 2 e GTA 5 os melhores). Nota 9.5 Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2016
    10
    my all time favorite gta game on ps2 great story a lot of challaging missions music is fantastic. this game deserves its review no wonder this is the best selling game on ps2
  7. Oct 25, 2016
    10
    Best Grand Theft Auto and best game ever made in my small humble opinion, its that bloody good ! Best missions and most memorable characters. Theres just so many things right about this game. R*'s 1 and only true masterpiece. Grove St 4 LIFE !
  8. Sep 12, 2016
    8
    Um dos melhores jogos do ps2, unico defeito é o enredo meio confuso, a historia do game, porem a jogabilidade e a trilha sonora sao otimas, um jogo onde vc escolhe ate estações de radio pra ouvir e muito bom mesmo.
  9. Aug 10, 2016
    9
    Understandable , entertaining and epic , the playability of the game is very good , history, game modes , characters, I especially like "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas " and everyone has enjoyed , and surely you you will love.
  10. Jul 29, 2016
    9
    gran juego uno de mi infancia vale la pena enserio jugabilidad grande lo malo los mapas de la venturas los santos y san fierro son muy pequeños la historia muy grande
  11. Jul 22, 2016
    10
    This is one of my favourite GTA game in the series beside GTA 5. The graphics on my iPad are great for a game from 2004. I'm a huge fan of the GTA series owning GTA LCS, GTA SA, GTA 4 and GTA 5.
  12. Jul 22, 2016
    10
    awesome masterpeice i think it is the best game of all time in the best video gaming franchise it is on a lot of systems best gaming story awesome missons nice open world citites i hope they make a sequal and countine the story and a prequel
  13. Jun 19, 2016
    10
    Ninguém nunca vai encontrar outro jogo de PS2 tão grande, envolvente e divertido. Isso, senhoras e senhores, é o significado de estar a frente de sua geração.
    Esse jogo ganha com facilidade a posição de melhor jogo da 6 geração.
    10/10
  14. May 22, 2016
    9
    One my favourite ps2 games. Story, missions, cities, cars, weapons, cheats... everything is perfect The only bad is graphics, pc version has better graphics.
  15. May 21, 2016
    10
    This is best Game on GTA Series and best PS2 Game . On Android and Ios this game deserves 9/10 , but on PS2 and PC this game deserves 10/10 . This game was born in 2005 and this game is very amazing game for 2005 . This game has got normal graphics for 2005 and amazing storyline . This game even better than Grand Theft Auto 5 and in this game city as in GTA 5 . Very good game . 10/10 .
  16. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  17. Feb 14, 2016
    10
    An all around bloodbath of carnage, dirty deeds, and heinous acts, and an absolute masterpiece all at the same time. Goes down in my books as one of my top 10 games of all-time.
  18. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Wow, it has been a long time since it came out. GTA SA has the best environment across the GTA series. The storyline is beatifully fracted. The easter eggs, horse shoes and gang wars all give a big bonus on the entire playtime. Theres also a Co-Op mode, but it isnt very good. First off, its hidden, you dont even know there is a Co-Op mode unless you happen toGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Wow, it has been a long time since it came out. GTA SA has the best environment across the GTA series. The storyline is beatifully fracted. The easter eggs, horse shoes and gang wars all give a big bonus on the entire playtime. Theres also a Co-Op mode, but it isnt very good. First off, its hidden, you dont even know there is a Co-Op mode unless you happen to find it, and second off, its not splitscreen, and you really need splitscreen on it. The customability is off the charts, you can customise your character, your car and buy houses. And that was off the charts back in 2004. But now that GTA IV and GTA V have came out, should you buy GTA SA? Well if you have never played this game and you are coming from GTA V to GTA SA, then you will propably not like it, but you should still try. Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    melhor jogo da historia pro melhor console da historia,na época em que gráfico não importava e sim a diversão,que nesse jogo tem garantidas centenas de horas de diversão.
  20. Nov 1, 2015
    7
    Muitos consideram GTA San Andreas o melhor, porém, não na minha opinião. O game é divertido, mas as missões são repetitivas. A jogabilidade deu uma melhorada, mas não foi grande coisa, e as vezes era estranha. O estado de San Andreas era grande de se explorar e interessante. Os gráficos tiveram uma evolução até que boa. A trilha sonora tinha uma pegada gangsta'.

    História: 6/10
    Muitos consideram GTA San Andreas o melhor, porém, não na minha opinião. O game é divertido, mas as missões são repetitivas. A jogabilidade deu uma melhorada, mas não foi grande coisa, e as vezes era estranha. O estado de San Andreas era grande de se explorar e interessante. Os gráficos tiveram uma evolução até que boa. A trilha sonora tinha uma pegada gangsta'.

    História: 6/10
    Gráficos: 9/10
    Jogabilidade: 9/10
    Desempenho: 10/10
    Trilha sonora: 8/10 (uma das melhores dos games).
    Expand
  21. Oct 3, 2015
    9
    Este juego nunca pasara al olvido, es algo fascinante, la historia es demasiado increíble ademas de muy larga y fascinante, se ven pocos juegos como este porque es demasiado completo. Es demasiado realista en cuanto a jugabilidad, los gráficos eran buenos para la época (2004) el sonido excelente y muy innovador.
  22. Sep 30, 2015
    10
    Grand Theft Auto is simply the best game series i have ever played and GTA San Andreas is the best GTA on the PS2.

    GTA San Andreas improved on its already very entertaining predecessor GTA Vice City with adding the possibility for your character to swim and climb, better camera angles and shooting mechanics, a bigger world but most of all: finally a multi-player mode! What can be
    Grand Theft Auto is simply the best game series i have ever played and GTA San Andreas is the best GTA on the PS2.

    GTA San Andreas improved on its already very entertaining predecessor GTA Vice City with adding the possibility for your character to swim and climb, better camera angles and shooting mechanics, a bigger world but most of all: finally a multi-player mode!

    What can be more fun than causing havoc in an open game world on foot, in cars, boats and planes doing dangerous stunts, shooting and blowing up stuff and escaping the police? Right, doing all that with a friend.

    I can't rate GTA San Andreas any lower than 10 out of 10. This is without a doubt the best game on the PS2.
    Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Is One Of My Favourite Games Of All Time, It Really Captured Los Angeles, And The California Area I Reckon, The Gameplay Was Awesome And The Story Surpasses Any Other Game Made During It's Time, 10/10 Yes Grove Street For Life. Expand
  24. Aug 4, 2015
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played, in 15+ years of gaming. This game had something that new games lack and that is the total feeling of being in the hands of the developers, in their world, in their story, in their imagination. Every single thing in the game is a brand new experience that you take in captivated and unknowing of how the situation will turn out. And it is all fun andThis is the best game I've ever played, in 15+ years of gaming. This game had something that new games lack and that is the total feeling of being in the hands of the developers, in their world, in their story, in their imagination. Every single thing in the game is a brand new experience that you take in captivated and unknowing of how the situation will turn out. And it is all fun and entertaining, the exact point of it all in the first place. Expand
  25. Jun 17, 2015
    10
    O melhor game que Rockstar Investiu dando todo esse Sucesso , uma coisa FODASE a mídia , o jogo tem elenco pra dar e sobrar mano , ROCKSTAR Parabéns pela Obra
  26. Jun 7, 2015
    9
    This game is a true open world adventure. Filled with side quests and things to do it never is a bore. The story is interesting and takes place 5 years after Gta 3, the graphics are not good anymore and there are some minor flaws such as: Hovering dead bodies, pop in, and minor glitches. The story is full of betrayal and you must pick sides. The modding capablity is great on pc , with tonsThis game is a true open world adventure. Filled with side quests and things to do it never is a bore. The story is interesting and takes place 5 years after Gta 3, the graphics are not good anymore and there are some minor flaws such as: Hovering dead bodies, pop in, and minor glitches. The story is full of betrayal and you must pick sides. The modding capablity is great on pc , with tons of cool mods to get. It's a really good game and stands to the test of time gameplay wise. Car driving does somewhat feel shallow, and not good. The game itself has really interesting characters which you begin to learn their back story during part of the game. The AI in this games does feel somewhat dumbed down compared to newer games. It still a must own title for ps2,pc,and xbox. For all players alike, once you get over these issues its a fun ride from there. The game is a total must buy! Expand
  27. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  28. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    There is no game that can represent today's social reality of Western civilization, as GTA San Andreas has been able to do. I remember very well when this game came out: everyone talked about it, everyone praised it, everyone wanted it, and everyone had it. Many players had appreciated San Andreas because you could do what you wanted and because it was full of cheats. I agree about theThere is no game that can represent today's social reality of Western civilization, as GTA San Andreas has been able to do. I remember very well when this game came out: everyone talked about it, everyone praised it, everyone wanted it, and everyone had it. Many players had appreciated San Andreas because you could do what you wanted and because it was full of cheats. I agree about the freedom the game give you, and yes, cheats were really beautiful and fun.

    But what lies beneath San Andreas is something much deeper and bigger. The setting was magnificent, set in the fictional state of San Andreas. Not to mention the historical context of the early 90s (it was set in 1992), with a fantastic background of uses and costumes, such as music, vehicles, weapons and clothes of that time. The plot was magnificent, rich in actuality as gang warfare, drugs, corruption, shootouts, bank robberies and even more that slowly drag the player down to the slums of the 90s. Among other things, the plot was rooted upon real events as the "East Coast-West Coast hip hop rivalry" and the "Rampart scandal". Things that still today have their weight on culture and on contemporary history.

    The gameplay of San Andreas was great: you could do whatever you wanted, right from the start. You could go where you wanted, and turn around the entire map, which was also quite large. You had to eat and drink, or you could go to the gym, or you could gamble, or you could have a girlfriend, or you could kill anyone you wanted also. You could change your clothes and also (and this is not possible in other GTA games) change your appearance, become leaner, more fat, more muscular. You could develop your skills with weapons or driving vehicles. Indeed, from a point of view of gameplay, San Andreas is the deeper and complete chapter of the entire serie, and it felt just like a real rpg-game.

    The graphics of San Andreas was not as beautiful as God of War and Metal Gear Solid, however, was more than acceptable and some views as the one of Vinewood were really fascinating.

    What else to say? Nothing, except that I recommend this game to anyone, and I consider him a true timeless masterpiece and an important legacy of the early 2000s. Many say that Grand Theft Auto is too violent or that it ruins young minds. I simply say that they should not criticize what they can not understand.
    Expand
  29. Apr 20, 2015
    8
    One of the best Grand Theft Auto games, also one of the Best Play Station 2 games.... This game was our childhood for most of us... Great game, awesome game...
  30. Apr 16, 2015
    10
    Also just cuzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz i can
  31. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    I absolutely LOVED this game, it was my favorite game around this time, I couldn't get enough of it, the story was great and some of the character interaction was hilarious, not to mention the crazy action you can get yourself into, the controls were easy and the tutorials helped very much with being able to play the game well, and your way, it included mini-games that were also very fun,I absolutely LOVED this game, it was my favorite game around this time, I couldn't get enough of it, the story was great and some of the character interaction was hilarious, not to mention the crazy action you can get yourself into, the controls were easy and the tutorials helped very much with being able to play the game well, and your way, it included mini-games that were also very fun, plus, its fun to mess about with tons of cheats. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.