User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1351 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VladikB.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    It is really fun to play it im on the mission cesar vialpando and life is a beach and i cant finish those two because i cant keep up with the arrows!!!
  2. KevinC.
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    Sweet graphics. love it wen u r haulin ass and it feels like u r actually driving wit da blurred surrounds. kick ass game
  3. Dude
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Rocks my socks!
  4. StevenT.
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    this game is fun fun fun! you can do tonz of stuff! remeber vice city with the semi truck? now you can hook up a trailer to it! you can fly any and all planes you see(after you get a piolot's license) and you can swim! lots to do really fun. another plus is the whole world is not just city. you can go off-roadingf on dirt bikes really cool. buy it or you'll suffer not having this game is fun fun fun! you can do tonz of stuff! remeber vice city with the semi truck? now you can hook up a trailer to it! you can fly any and all planes you see(after you get a piolot's license) and you can swim! lots to do really fun. another plus is the whole world is not just city. you can go off-roadingf on dirt bikes really cool. buy it or you'll suffer not having fun! peace out readers Expand
  5. RailenH.
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    This game is so hot its even better then the other ones i hope that they come out with more grand theft auto games.
  6. JoseM.
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    I think this game truly lives up to its name.
  7. JonW.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    This game is fantastic. The graphics and animations are inproved on the previous installments and the story is even more compelling. The game gives you incredible freedom, being able to play videogames in the local pub, play basketball in the street, do stunts on a bmx, go to the gym and no loading screens all add to the experience. I loved vice city and this wipes the floor with it. 10/10
  8. [Anonymous]
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    This will be the best gta yet! You can learn Kung Fu abd it has a new targeting system you can shoot head shots! All you people that hate this masterpiece are stupid.
  9. JoelS.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Its gonna be awesome! I took days off work just to play it!
  10. BradB.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Just picked this game up tonight and it is outstanding!! Great graphics, excellent west coast music and the story seems great so far.
  11. MohamedA.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    I ABSOFKNLOUTLEY love it.
  12. AdamW.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    It's the bomb digity fresh.
  13. Pimp69
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    GTA san andreas is a loc ass game!!!!F..k all ya who try 2 dis on it!!!
  14. Brandon
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Many complained that Vice City was just GTA 3 in a different city. San Andreas expands greatly on the previous games by adding attributes (like lung capacity, driving skill, respect, etc.) that you have to build up. The ability to swim is a great addition that was desparately needed in the earlier games. The graphics are also greatly improved. They still aren't good but I suppose Many complained that Vice City was just GTA 3 in a different city. San Andreas expands greatly on the previous games by adding attributes (like lung capacity, driving skill, respect, etc.) that you have to build up. The ability to swim is a great addition that was desparately needed in the earlier games. The graphics are also greatly improved. They still aren't good but I suppose that is the trade off for having one of (if not THE) largest seemless world available in a video game. Expand
  15. AndreB.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Great Game! The Best ever made. I didn't think they could've pulled it off, but dammit, I was dead wrong. If u own a PS2 and dont have this in a library, U need a reality check.
  16. MikeL.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    I think it's laughable how these Xbox fanboys decide to write negative reviews for GTA:SA and think their motivation appears anything but transparent. It's obvious they're bitter that a game that is available for only the Playstation 2 can challenge the greatness of Halo 1 and 2 ( the blasphemy!!). Also, it's pathetic how you could polarize yourself as either an Xbox I think it's laughable how these Xbox fanboys decide to write negative reviews for GTA:SA and think their motivation appears anything but transparent. It's obvious they're bitter that a game that is available for only the Playstation 2 can challenge the greatness of Halo 1 and 2 ( the blasphemy!!). Also, it's pathetic how you could polarize yourself as either an Xbox fan or PS2 fan much like Republicans and Democrats are doing these days. What's wrong with liking both for god's sake? It's obvious that the GTA franchise and Halo franchise are among the creme de la creme of the gaming world, but unlike you fanboys i'll be enjoying both this holiday season (sorry for the preachiness, just had to get that off my chest). Collapse
  17. JoeA.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    The very best of gaming large and great real life characters a great guest appearances.
  18. RobS.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    WOW! THE BEST GAME EVER!! Over-rated my ****! its truly brilliant and a bargain i wudnt sell it for $100
  19. Sadie
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    I waited and waited and waited for this game to come out. I wibbled in my chair as the countdown to the release drew near... I rushed out to Future Shop THE day it came out... yes, in the morning as soon as the doors opened... I paid $68 (CDN) for it and ran, bouncing, out the doors. I got home, and I played. This game was everything I had expected and oh so much more. Very worth the wait I waited and waited and waited for this game to come out. I wibbled in my chair as the countdown to the release drew near... I rushed out to Future Shop THE day it came out... yes, in the morning as soon as the doors opened... I paid $68 (CDN) for it and ran, bouncing, out the doors. I got home, and I played. This game was everything I had expected and oh so much more. Very worth the wait and the money! Expand
  20. JJJames
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  21. QJFRESH
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    I Bought it yesterday the best game I ever played if you dont have it you need to get it.
  22. EasyE
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME IS DA SH.T!
  23. Elliott
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Plenty of new stuff, it's actually overwhelming how great this game is.
  24. AB
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This game is freakin' amazing. They improved on every aspect of Vice City (which was already a great game to begin with). Every PS2 owner should buy this game. Now. And as for Jigganis Zig: since you're only 12 you should wait for Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal and Metroid Prime 2 Echoes; they're going to be awesome too!
  25. JosephW.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    I LUV THIS GAME!
  26. Blaze
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    man what the hell are all you nuts out there who gave this game under a 9 talking about...this game is so damn hard and tops gta:3 and vice city, now im a fan of the gta series and i have to say without a doubt this i by far the best gta game ever i am a madden guy and i have to speak when i say gta trounces madden sorry madden maybe next year def. a $49.99 worthy game...ups to rockstar fa sho.
  27. JohnS.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the shizzzznittt hecks yea the rocks my socks.
  28. KhanhN.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is TIGHT!
  29. UmarM.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Holy holy damn this game is sooooooooo wicked.
  30. Osi
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Shame on you all damn haters just because Halo did not get a 9.9 or future halo might not get 9.9!. and the fact that the game system is changing in today's life does not means that they are going to make another GTA III, they have to move on or else this series is going to get boring! plus this game might be the best game out YET! so it deserves at least a 9 because of all the Shame on you all damn haters just because Halo did not get a 9.9 or future halo might not get 9.9!. and the fact that the game system is changing in today's life does not means that they are going to make another GTA III, they have to move on or else this series is going to get boring! plus this game might be the best game out YET! so it deserves at least a 9 because of all the effort and all the new stuff no other game has =] Expand
  31. AndrewT.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the best thing that RockStar North has ever created. I play this game day and night and now i think i turned into those people with no life.
  32. BIGSmoke
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    Best game i have ever played in my life. it is totally different from GTA3 ans vice city. the missions are way more fun and the country and all the tractors and stuff are really fun. there is so much to do. Plus this time you can acually swim!! This game will be the best game ever!! who cares about halo2. can u do a drive by in halo 2 how about ride dirtbike and atvs or have your own Best game i have ever played in my life. it is totally different from GTA3 ans vice city. the missions are way more fun and the country and all the tractors and stuff are really fun. there is so much to do. Plus this time you can acually swim!! This game will be the best game ever!! who cares about halo2. can u do a drive by in halo 2 how about ride dirtbike and atvs or have your own girlfriend or start a gang war. when i played this game my jaw hit the ground and just stared there for a long time.Ps. how could u rate this game a seven?? you must either suck at playing and can't beat the missions or you have x box and are just jealous you cant play GTA SAN ANDREAS!!!!!! Expand
  33. OmarMorales
    May 5, 2004
    10
    I mean this game hasn't even hit shelves yet but I already know it going to be a 10. This game is going to be the ultimate game in the grand theft auto series. The only thing i don't like about the grand theft auto series is the cheap graphics and the sudden game stop. Once you pass the game there are no more missions to keep you interested!
  34. VladVoinov
    Jul 27, 2004
    10
    Hands down, this will undoubtedly be the best video game, ever! The sheer size and amount of features is staggering. A lot of the things that are used regularly in the game are unheard of in the video game world. Even now, only a fraction of the detail about the game is known, and from what I know, the game is better than any other game out there, as well as many of the games that are Hands down, this will undoubtedly be the best video game, ever! The sheer size and amount of features is staggering. A lot of the things that are used regularly in the game are unheard of in the video game world. Even now, only a fraction of the detail about the game is known, and from what I know, the game is better than any other game out there, as well as many of the games that are yet to come. Rockstar did it again! Expand
  35. ArturoFavela
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    It kicks ass, the game itself has lots of the things I was looking foward or so I have heared. more over It has an unmached enviroment of the pictures that have been released by rockstar and the diffrent interactive ways that you can use NPC characters. It's quite an amazing game so far, Carl is the new guy and he can swimm yea that is sweet and as far as i know you can pick your lookIt kicks ass, the game itself has lots of the things I was looking foward or so I have heared. more over It has an unmached enviroment of the pictures that have been released by rockstar and the diffrent interactive ways that you can use NPC characters. It's quite an amazing game so far, Carl is the new guy and he can swimm yea that is sweet and as far as i know you can pick your look physical, accesories, and threads. LOL Expand
  36. NajeebS.
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    3 Words Best Game Ever.
  37. JohnQ.
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    Best game i've ever played.
  38. KoriR.
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Best game ever.
  39. AndyD.
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    Without a doubt, one of the greatest games i have ever played on ps2. this game rocks!
  40. JasonO.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Man after reading all the low voters on this game you must be real weiners. its a game if it was easy it would be no fun.yea its not easy to get used to the controls but stop your complaining its a game that does not come close to the other crap out there.besides its meant to kill time and have fun anyway, learn how to play it enjoy your self with it .once you get used to whats going onMan after reading all the low voters on this game you must be real weiners. its a game if it was easy it would be no fun.yea its not easy to get used to the controls but stop your complaining its a game that does not come close to the other crap out there.besides its meant to kill time and have fun anyway, learn how to play it enjoy your self with it .once you get used to whats going on your hooked.i beat the story part its hard work but a lot of fun doing it. Expand
  41. JasonS.
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    Very good, improves a lot in some areas from Vice City, nice additions as well. The only problem I see is that the game is now teetering on the edge of becoming another "Sims" type game (with an edge). I'm sorry, but I don't really want a girlfriend or to have to workout regularly in a video game. I guess to fully complete the game you would have to give both things up in your Very good, improves a lot in some areas from Vice City, nice additions as well. The only problem I see is that the game is now teetering on the edge of becoming another "Sims" type game (with an edge). I'm sorry, but I don't really want a girlfriend or to have to workout regularly in a video game. I guess to fully complete the game you would have to give both things up in your real life but still... Despite this, it's still one of the best games available for PS2. Expand
  42. JohnnyD.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    The biggest and best game I've played in a long time.
  43. JacobB.
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    It is the best gta yet.
  44. F.H.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Can this game stopp copying Tony Hawk? its a Good game but they should stop releasing the same game with new little features.
  45. Sam
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    Labeling this game as racist is a statement that needs analyzing. "a discrimination of black people?" come on. Many African Americans contributed to the making of this game. This game could be called historical fiction, because this kind of gang violence among young black men was rampant in LA in the early 90s. This could be difficult for people who have been directly affected by gang Labeling this game as racist is a statement that needs analyzing. "a discrimination of black people?" come on. Many African Americans contributed to the making of this game. This game could be called historical fiction, because this kind of gang violence among young black men was rampant in LA in the early 90s. This could be difficult for people who have been directly affected by gang violence. Rockstar does take things to an extreme level sometimes, but really we all just have to loosen up. The more we bring up a race issue, the bigger the issue becomes, no matter what side you're on. Oh and the game is absolutely awesome. Expand
  46. Travis
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    Much Better than Vice City and GTA 3 no compare, but much to easy to beat.
  47. DavidC.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    The best GTA game to date and along with Pro Evolution Soccer 4 probably the best game....Ever!
  48. DANNYCARLJ.
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    excellent game amust buy for game fanatics (if ure over 18but who really checks that stuff)if u have one game to buy make it this you wont regret it.
  49. KaceyG.
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    I CANT BELIEVE that it just got an AO rating. That really sucks, thanks much to Hilary Clinton. The copy i bought when it was still M rated has an error reading the disc, i really hope there will be some kind of store that still will sell it.
  50. BenjiB.
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    The best gaem i have ever played. It just is the full game shotting missions, basketball mini games car races and much more no other game can challenge Grand theft auto:Sanandreas.
  51. kylek
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    This is a great game, hijack anything except a tram. Fly planes and have dogfights with the army guys. Way better than GTA 3 and vice city, whoever says they didnt improve on anything, your wrong because san andreas give you, swimming, flying, trains, gang recruits, new story and girlfriends. how is that not improving. i hate people that sit back and piss the shit out of a game when it isThis is a great game, hijack anything except a tram. Fly planes and have dogfights with the army guys. Way better than GTA 3 and vice city, whoever says they didnt improve on anything, your wrong because san andreas give you, swimming, flying, trains, gang recruits, new story and girlfriends. how is that not improving. i hate people that sit back and piss the shit out of a game when it is actually brilliant. give credit to game camponies that actually give you the chance to play games. selfish little stuck up dickheads who dont appreciate gaming. san andreas is excellent. 10/10 Expand
  52. AlecBousquet
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    The best gta eva made! u can do almost anything in this game like swimming,clothes,gym,and bikes. there is a way bigger area then gta3 and vicecity. I bought it the first day it came out and it was worth the $50 and waiting 2hours in line to get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  53. LukeS.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    GTA San Andreas is by far the best in the GTA series, but not for the little ones! even if you aren't a gta player, you should still buy this.
  54. DeanH.
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    The Biggest and best GTA ever to be released...still there could be a few improvments....one of which could be an instant 2 player thing instead of having to fart around trying to find the hidden 2 player locations....and the fact you cant get into places or do missions with 2 players is Ghey. But everything else in the game is mainly A Grade stuff, well done guys.
  55. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    This is definitely the greatest console game ever. Yeah, it even beats Ocarina of Time.
  56. Exors1staWalker
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    This game has so much freedom that's why ten is it's name. Forget what Daitrex says he's just retarded. Of course it's foul languaged and violent well duh it's rated 18. And Sexual Contact what the the hell is that. Just buy it and don't believe Diatrex about his GTA review sure all his other ones are good but this one.......
  57. StevenH.
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    hell this game is awesome! i personally think think its the best one! i bought it the day it came out for 70 bucks and i beat it in 2 months.
  58. gabrielmendosa
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    i think its cool because you get the car name torento turbo and is the fastes car and the best lookin car go to cj house and press x,o,r1,r2,l2,l1and then go to play the videos games in cj house and go to your garage and you will see it there custumise
  59. KoriR.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Best game ever.
  60. MichaelYelland
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Well, What Can I Say Apart From, Amazing, Spectacular And How In The Hell Did Rockstar Create Such An Amazing Video Game That's Even Better Than Vice City And GTA III Put Together. The Plot: You Play As Carl Johnson (CJ), Who Has Just Returned From (The Best City In The Whole GTA Series, Well Was Until This Came Out, I'll Explain Later) LibertyGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Well, What Can I Say Apart From, Amazing, Spectacular And How In The Hell Did Rockstar Create Such An Amazing Video Game That's Even Better Than Vice City And GTA III Put Together. The Plot: You Play As Carl Johnson (CJ), Who Has Just Returned From (The Best City In The Whole GTA Series, Well Was Until This Came Out, I'll Explain Later) Liberty City, And Has Come Back To His Home-City, Los Santos (This Is Basically Rockstars Version Of Los Angeles... It's The Best City In The Game) To Find Out That His Mum Has Been Killed. You Are Now Gonna Reunite The Homies, Grab Your "Gats" (Guns In Other Words) And Find Her Killer. (The Plot Isn't Just All About The Death Of CJ's Mum It's A Lot Bigger Than That, Trust Me.) What I Think Of The Plot: The Plot Is Fantastic. It Has Violence, Swearing, Sex And Humour (Not As Much As Other GTA Games But A Lot Of Humour!) AND Plus There's Some Unexpected Twists... Throughout The WHOLE Game. Gameplay: In One Word: Fantastic. You Can Do Just About Everything In This, From Stealing Cars To Buying Guns From The Ammu-Nation, You Can Do Everything. I Would Give You A Whole List, But Then By The Time You've Read It PS2 Would Be Extinct. (It's That Big). There Are Three Cities To Free Roam Around: Los Santos (Los Angeles), San Fierro (San Francisco) And Las Venturas (Las Vegas). Here's A Mini-Review Of Each City: Los Santos: It's Fun And Simple. You Can Recruit Gang Members To Help You Cap Some Cops And Hijack Trains, Without Having To Drive Fifty Miles Out Of Ganton! City Rating: 5/5 San Fierro: It Starts Out In The Country, Which Is Boring When Doing VERY HARD Missions, But If You Keep Playing You'll Get The Trams And All Hippies You'd Expect Too See In San Francisco (If It Was 1992). City Rating: 5/5. Las Venturas: Breathtaking. In This City You Learn How To Fly Airplanes AND You Can Go Gambling! City Rating: 5/5. What I Think Of The Gameplay: (I Don't Really Need To Do This Part But Just For The Sake Of It) GTA: SA Is Just An Amazing Game. It's That Simple. There's Nothing Really Wrong With This Game Apart From The Following: Content Explanations: Violence: Strong (Cartoonish) Bloody Violence Sex: Partial Nudity Strong Sex References Language: Frequent Strong Language (Racist Terms Included) Apart From All That Content There's Nothing Wrong With This Game. Overall: 5/5, The Best Video Game (On The PS2) I Have Ever Played. CJ Is One Of The Best GTA Protaganists To Date. Expand
  61. david(nottherealname)shultz
    May 26, 2009
    10
    All you stupid retarted dumb asses that gave this game anything below a 8 are G A Y shame unto all those poor souls. anyway this gme is bad ass it has more maps it lets you swim i lets you drive a plane it lets you ride a boat. it come with excellent hacks and cheats.it has everything in life you can do in real life and in the video game exept for rape,specific deaths n such anyway. screwAll you stupid retarted dumb asses that gave this game anything below a 8 are G A Y shame unto all those poor souls. anyway this gme is bad ass it has more maps it lets you swim i lets you drive a plane it lets you ride a boat. it come with excellent hacks and cheats.it has everything in life you can do in real life and in the video game exept for rape,specific deaths n such anyway. screw you all that gave this game lower than a 8 screw all you bitches to fuckn hell you stupid dumbasses Expand
  62. rickt
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    how bout the music?!! awesome soundtracks! graphics arent great.. but passable.. story line and play are cool.. quit sniveling wipe your noses cry babies..you are lucky things progressed from atari! if you weren't whining about poor graphics and bad language..you might actually be able to enjoy the good qualities of this history making masterpiece for ps2!!
  63. JoshD.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The sheer quality of the gameplay and graphics make Grand Theft Auto San Andreas the best PS2 game of the year! 10 out of 10. The amount of detail the game goes into is amazing! I definately recommend this game to everyone!
  64. Solo
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Everyone that has rated this game 5 or lower hasn't played this game. This game is one of the best games I have ever played, but there is always those hatin a** nerds that try to find things wrong with a game. Attention all nerds this game is just to cool for you and your pocket protectors.
  65. peterskonkwonk
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    shittin hell m8 since i fucking got this absolutely shittin mint fucking arse rosh fuckin wicked big up ya self im a mirical master Game i cant fucking stop swearing muther fucker, for fucksake get ya fucking shoes on ya fucking feet and fucking shift ya fat shitty arse down the pissin shop and buy this big motherfucking game,
    big up ya self big up ya status.
    P.S fuck fuck arse cabbage.
    shittin hell m8 since i fucking got this absolutely shittin mint fucking arse rosh fuckin wicked big up ya self im a mirical master Game i cant fucking stop swearing muther fucker, for fucksake get ya fucking shoes on ya fucking feet and fucking shift ya fat shitty arse down the pissin shop and buy this big motherfucking game,
    big up ya self big up ya status.
    P.S fuck fuck arse cabbage.

    Your Sincerely Peter Skonkwonk
    Expand
  66. DeonF.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass. It's the best action adventure game ever. i made sure i picked it up on the first day for my collection.
  67. Mike
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    If your mature enough, its a must.
  68. JJJames
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  69. Boob
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This ame is the TITEST game out.
  70. MarcH.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable. by far the best game ever made!!
  71. Jack
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Dude this game rocks and i think the news is getting annoying about the game beacause of the violence in it. i mean really who cares!!!
  72. Monymcclain
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    I love this game but you should make it so you can go anywhere you can go to be any thing get a caree.
  73. ZhazadI.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    i lost my wife over this game!
  74. BrianK.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    Unbelieveably awesome, I just love racing on a Sanchez motor bike through Red countys rolling hills and countryside and then finishing in San Fierro between missions jamming to K-dust is a definite high point, super fun missions and loads of things to see and do give this game hours and hours of fast, fun and challenging gameplay, CJ is the most dynamic and coolest game character ever...Unbelieveably awesome, I just love racing on a Sanchez motor bike through Red countys rolling hills and countryside and then finishing in San Fierro between missions jamming to K-dust is a definite high point, super fun missions and loads of things to see and do give this game hours and hours of fast, fun and challenging gameplay, CJ is the most dynamic and coolest game character ever... anyone who knocks this game due to pop-up and collision factors give it a rest, in a game this large you cant have it all... GTASA makes up for graphic faults with mind blowing depth!! Expand
  75. AndyW.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    Best game eva made u can do woteva u like and shud last ages.
  76. CarlM.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    I love this game,but one thing that you's should do is make it a two player game i know you have but its not a split screen and you can't do anything like eat, go shopping etc. but this game is cool and i think that you should make it a bit like the sims you should be able to run a house and ask your gansters to move in with you.
  77. PaulC.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    WOW!
  78. Hellboy
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    This Game Is Freakin Awesome This Is One Of The BEst Games Ever This Is A Must Have Game If U Dont Get This Game U Iz One Cracked Out Matha F***a.
  79. YoFMB
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    I can't belive there are people that don't like this game! They are probably just geeks that think fun things like this game are immature. Well pluk them, this game is the best friggin game i have ever played! This game has certainly advanced a lot since gta and gta2. I hope they keep making more gta games.
  80. OGLoc
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    I personally think that this game is outstanding. i was never able to get into the previous GTA games and actually play them as they were meant with the missions and all. however with san andreas i have not been able to put the game down since i bought it. i think that the game was very well done and the virtual limitless boundries of the game are great. i would highly recommend this game I personally think that this game is outstanding. i was never able to get into the previous GTA games and actually play them as they were meant with the missions and all. however with san andreas i have not been able to put the game down since i bought it. i think that the game was very well done and the virtual limitless boundries of the game are great. i would highly recommend this game to anyone who is not offended by four letter words or general gang language. Expand
  81. Wongit
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    What else is there to say, i can go ahead and say the same stuff everyone else said while reviewing this game, ull be reading the same stuff. by far the greatest game ever.
  82. FarhadA.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    It's the best game i have ever played
  83. RicardoA.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!
  84. KennyH.
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    If you guys give this game below a 9, you are either incapable of registering awesomeness, or you've only rented it and played the first few missions. If you would play it at least until you get to San Fierro, you will completely change your mind, and you won't think that it's "more of the same"
  85. DenR.
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    This game is great!
  86. MarkusLewis
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    This is the hossest game out. I couldn't stop playin it.
  87. JuanH.
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    This is the number one game in america it has good graphics and also easy and hard missions than gta vice city.
  88. RicardoA.
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!
  89. KarolP.
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    Number 1 game of the year. I had so much fun playin and killin in that game.
  90. JamesS.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Bloody good.
  91. AndyS.
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    Actually, about a 9.5. While Remaining to have a greater extent on the number of vehicles as did Vice City to GTA 3, it defenatly lacks the coloring of Vice City. I'm a fan of colored games. The one thing that brings down this game is the lack of color and the lazy artwork on the weapons and crosshairs.
  92. Sonny
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    1 question? How Could possibly not like this game?
  93. MikeA.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    These guy's are crazy because it's the best game in the world.You can almost do anything in the game like go pimping or rob or just start a fight with a rival gang.
  94. RandyL.
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    It's pretty obvious by now--the GTA games are redefining gaming as we know it, and San Andreas isn't just another step, it's one giant leap for mankind.
  95. GotIt
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Hey, I just decided to rub it in. It's 6:00 on the 25th and I GOT SAN ANDREAS. My EB games started releasing it early. In your face you PRE_ORDERERS. HAHA
  96. Bill
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    All the people who are saying this game is just a rehash of the previous ones are obviously uninformed. The game has gained a massive list of additions ranging from RPG like character development to social interactions to squad leadership. The game is 5 times the size of VC with well over 5 times as much to do, no loading times in the entire outdoor area, and the ability to customize your All the people who are saying this game is just a rehash of the previous ones are obviously uninformed. The game has gained a massive list of additions ranging from RPG like character development to social interactions to squad leadership. The game is 5 times the size of VC with well over 5 times as much to do, no loading times in the entire outdoor area, and the ability to customize your character 's outfits, abilities, appearance, and social behavior to your hearts content. Those of you who think IGN is biased, Gamespot gave it a 9.6. Is this a massive industry wide conspiracy? I think not. Get a life. Expand
  97. JamesP.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    The Return of the King!!! without a doubt the best game alongside the long awaited Half Life 2. What's with the people who keep giving 1 for every superb title? Sort your lives out idiots.
  98. TonyM
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Its amazing how annoyed X-Box owners are at the reviews this game gets. I am playing it and i am like WOW. X-Box owners see it and get all defensive and start bagging it just because they are jeleous it isnt on there console. Great game. BUY IT NOW!!!!
  99. D.R.Grieves
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The BEST game ever. END OF DISCUSSION!!
  100. MarvinoJ.
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    I think that this game rocks hard man!!!
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.