User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1724 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OmarMorales
    May 5, 2004
    10
    I mean this game hasn't even hit shelves yet but I already know it going to be a 10. This game is going to be the ultimate game in the grand theft auto series. The only thing i don't like about the grand theft auto series is the cheap graphics and the sudden game stop. Once you pass the game there are no more missions to keep you interested!
  2. PatrickMead
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    How can you not give it anything but a 10 all the other GTA's have been everything that I excpected them to be but this one I think will be the mother of all GTA's. I think every fan will be blown away and stuned by what you can do in this game it's going to be amazing. I can't wait to play it. It will be the best GTA ever made by rockstar and I hope there will be moreHow can you not give it anything but a 10 all the other GTA's have been everything that I excpected them to be but this one I think will be the mother of all GTA's. I think every fan will be blown away and stuned by what you can do in this game it's going to be amazing. I can't wait to play it. It will be the best GTA ever made by rockstar and I hope there will be more to come in the future guy's keep up the awsome work peace. Expand
  3. ArturoFavela
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    It kicks ass, the game itself has lots of the things I was looking foward or so I have heared. more over It has an unmached enviroment of the pictures that have been released by rockstar and the diffrent interactive ways that you can use NPC characters. It's quite an amazing game so far, Carl is the new guy and he can swimm yea that is sweet and as far as i know you can pick your lookIt kicks ass, the game itself has lots of the things I was looking foward or so I have heared. more over It has an unmached enviroment of the pictures that have been released by rockstar and the diffrent interactive ways that you can use NPC characters. It's quite an amazing game so far, Carl is the new guy and he can swimm yea that is sweet and as far as i know you can pick your look physical, accesories, and threads. LOL Expand
  4. VladVoinov
    Jul 27, 2004
    10
    Hands down, this will undoubtedly be the best video game, ever! The sheer size and amount of features is staggering. A lot of the things that are used regularly in the game are unheard of in the video game world. Even now, only a fraction of the detail about the game is known, and from what I know, the game is better than any other game out there, as well as many of the games that are Hands down, this will undoubtedly be the best video game, ever! The sheer size and amount of features is staggering. A lot of the things that are used regularly in the game are unheard of in the video game world. Even now, only a fraction of the detail about the game is known, and from what I know, the game is better than any other game out there, as well as many of the games that are yet to come. Rockstar did it again! Expand
  5. dudeerr
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    whats up with these bitches who don't like the game it is fucken awsome. so much new shit so fun I am only on like the tenth mission and I am loving every bit of it. dumfucks like chimp and john h can go fuck themselves this game is badass
  6. peterskonkwonk
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    shittin hell m8 since i fucking got this absolutely shittin mint fucking arse rosh fuckin wicked big up ya self im a mirical master Game i cant fucking stop swearing muther fucker, for fucksake get ya fucking shoes on ya fucking feet and fucking shift ya fat shitty arse down the pissin shop and buy this big motherfucking game,
    big up ya self big up ya status.
    P.S fuck fuck arse cabbage.
    shittin hell m8 since i fucking got this absolutely shittin mint fucking arse rosh fuckin wicked big up ya self im a mirical master Game i cant fucking stop swearing muther fucker, for fucksake get ya fucking shoes on ya fucking feet and fucking shift ya fat shitty arse down the pissin shop and buy this big motherfucking game,
    big up ya self big up ya status.
    P.S fuck fuck arse cabbage.

    Your Sincerely Peter Skonkwonk
    Expand
  7. JOSETRUJANO
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    GTA SAN ANDREAS IS THE BEST GAME OUT THERE 4 THE FACT THAT IT IS MORE REALISTIC MAKES IT BETER NOW U COULD SWIM,WORK-OUT,RIDE BIKES MOD U'R CARS CANGE U'R LOOKS GET TAT'S HAIR CUTS JUMP FENCES DO 4 PERSON DRIVE-BYS MAN THIS IS TRULY THE BEST GAME EVER WELL BYE I GOT 2 GO PLAY
  8. ConnerMcleod
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    a 15 out of 10, sh**t this games kick mayor a**, I normqlly never curse but after playin´ GTASA I gotta say G*dDamn, f*ckin´A. I consider my self a gamer, played all the other Gta and gta´s clones(truecrime) but let me tell U this game will suck U rigth in. There´s nothing like it and belive U me, play it without the cheats you´ll feel the rewards as ua 15 out of 10, sh**t this games kick mayor a**, I normqlly never curse but after playin´ GTASA I gotta say G*dDamn, f*ckin´A. I consider my self a gamer, played all the other Gta and gta´s clones(truecrime) but let me tell U this game will suck U rigth in. There´s nothing like it and belive U me, play it without the cheats you´ll feel the rewards as u get´m, the girlfriend as U find them, u can actually live in the game U can go play at any casino, go to the race track an bet, or play old arcades at any convinience store, but the game itself it´s genuine motherf*cker...give me a hell yeah Expand
  9. AlecBousquet
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    The best gta eva made! u can do almost anything in this game like swimming,clothes,gym,and bikes. there is a way bigger area then gta3 and vicecity. I bought it the first day it came out and it was worth the $50 and waiting 2hours in line to get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. kylek
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    This is a great game, hijack anything except a tram. Fly planes and have dogfights with the army guys. Way better than GTA 3 and vice city, whoever says they didnt improve on anything, your wrong because san andreas give you, swimming, flying, trains, gang recruits, new story and girlfriends. how is that not improving. i hate people that sit back and piss the shit out of a game when it isThis is a great game, hijack anything except a tram. Fly planes and have dogfights with the army guys. Way better than GTA 3 and vice city, whoever says they didnt improve on anything, your wrong because san andreas give you, swimming, flying, trains, gang recruits, new story and girlfriends. how is that not improving. i hate people that sit back and piss the shit out of a game when it is actually brilliant. give credit to game camponies that actually give you the chance to play games. selfish little stuck up dickheads who dont appreciate gaming. san andreas is excellent. 10/10 Expand
  11. Exors1staWalker
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    This game has so much freedom that's why ten is it's name. Forget what Daitrex says he's just retarded. Of course it's foul languaged and violent well duh it's rated 18. And Sexual Contact what the the hell is that. Just buy it and don't believe Diatrex about his GTA review sure all his other ones are good but this one.......
  12. alexxmarsh
    May 26, 2007
    10
    To all the old fart who complain about the violence, the language, or the sexual content, why dont you morons go jump off a bridge and stfu. This game is a masterpiece of epic propotions to deny it that is to prove your own ignorance. You know what i want when i buy a gta game? Violence, blood, foul language, inconciquencial murder, thats the name of the game if u cant deal with that goTo all the old fart who complain about the violence, the language, or the sexual content, why dont you morons go jump off a bridge and stfu. This game is a masterpiece of epic propotions to deny it that is to prove your own ignorance. You know what i want when i buy a gta game? Violence, blood, foul language, inconciquencial murder, thats the name of the game if u cant deal with that go play a sissy ass mario game or something. If u dont like sa your either an old withered stuck up fart close to death anyhow or a an ignorant hillbilly with a crow bar in your bum. GTA: SA best game of all time period if you dont agree buy your self a 9mm and point it at ur own head, you ignorant hick. If anything i think there isnt enough gore in this game i wanna see more blood like in vice from the chain saw etc. Oh and to the guy who said he cant play this around his child. Your kid is two years old too young and stupid to be impressionable yet. And what kind of a father are your to be playing video games when your child is at a stage in life when he needs human contact and interaction, obviously a very shitty parent, your kid obviously will turn out a pansy little ass because of you.

    good day
    Expand
  13. gabrielmendosa
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    i think its cool because you get the car name torento turbo and is the fastes car and the best lookin car go to cj house and press x,o,r1,r2,l2,l1and then go to play the videos games in cj house and go to your garage and you will see it there custumise
  14. JohnG
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    This game was sweet. Everything has been improved. It is a pretty sweet deal when you can wander around the entire landscape without loading. There are hundreds of things you can do which leads to endless hours of fun and chaos. Add in the codes and the fun keeps on going. Long Live GTA!!!
  15. MichaelYelland
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Well, What Can I Say Apart From, Amazing, Spectacular And How In The Hell Did Rockstar Create Such An Amazing Video Game That's Even Better Than Vice City And GTA III Put Together. The Plot: You Play As Carl Johnson (CJ), Who Has Just Returned From (The Best City In The Whole GTA Series, Well Was Until This Came Out, I'll Explain Later) LibertyGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Well, What Can I Say Apart From, Amazing, Spectacular And How In The Hell Did Rockstar Create Such An Amazing Video Game That's Even Better Than Vice City And GTA III Put Together. The Plot: You Play As Carl Johnson (CJ), Who Has Just Returned From (The Best City In The Whole GTA Series, Well Was Until This Came Out, I'll Explain Later) Liberty City, And Has Come Back To His Home-City, Los Santos (This Is Basically Rockstars Version Of Los Angeles... It's The Best City In The Game) To Find Out That His Mum Has Been Killed. You Are Now Gonna Reunite The Homies, Grab Your "Gats" (Guns In Other Words) And Find Her Killer. (The Plot Isn't Just All About The Death Of CJ's Mum It's A Lot Bigger Than That, Trust Me.) What I Think Of The Plot: The Plot Is Fantastic. It Has Violence, Swearing, Sex And Humour (Not As Much As Other GTA Games But A Lot Of Humour!) AND Plus There's Some Unexpected Twists... Throughout The WHOLE Game. Gameplay: In One Word: Fantastic. You Can Do Just About Everything In This, From Stealing Cars To Buying Guns From The Ammu-Nation, You Can Do Everything. I Would Give You A Whole List, But Then By The Time You've Read It PS2 Would Be Extinct. (It's That Big). There Are Three Cities To Free Roam Around: Los Santos (Los Angeles), San Fierro (San Francisco) And Las Venturas (Las Vegas). Here's A Mini-Review Of Each City: Los Santos: It's Fun And Simple. You Can Recruit Gang Members To Help You Cap Some Cops And Hijack Trains, Without Having To Drive Fifty Miles Out Of Ganton! City Rating: 5/5 San Fierro: It Starts Out In The Country, Which Is Boring When Doing VERY HARD Missions, But If You Keep Playing You'll Get The Trams And All Hippies You'd Expect Too See In San Francisco (If It Was 1992). City Rating: 5/5. Las Venturas: Breathtaking. In This City You Learn How To Fly Airplanes AND You Can Go Gambling! City Rating: 5/5. What I Think Of The Gameplay: (I Don't Really Need To Do This Part But Just For The Sake Of It) GTA: SA Is Just An Amazing Game. It's That Simple. There's Nothing Really Wrong With This Game Apart From The Following: Content Explanations: Violence: Strong (Cartoonish) Bloody Violence Sex: Partial Nudity Strong Sex References Language: Frequent Strong Language (Racist Terms Included) Apart From All That Content There's Nothing Wrong With This Game. Overall: 5/5, The Best Video Game (On The PS2) I Have Ever Played. CJ Is One Of The Best GTA Protaganists To Date. Expand
  16. david(nottherealname)shultz
    May 26, 2009
    10
    All you stupid retarted dumb asses that gave this game anything below a 8 are G A Y shame unto all those poor souls. anyway this gme is bad ass it has more maps it lets you swim i lets you drive a plane it lets you ride a boat. it come with excellent hacks and cheats.it has everything in life you can do in real life and in the video game exept for rape,specific deaths n such anyway. screwAll you stupid retarted dumb asses that gave this game anything below a 8 are G A Y shame unto all those poor souls. anyway this gme is bad ass it has more maps it lets you swim i lets you drive a plane it lets you ride a boat. it come with excellent hacks and cheats.it has everything in life you can do in real life and in the video game exept for rape,specific deaths n such anyway. screw you all that gave this game lower than a 8 screw all you bitches to fuckn hell you stupid dumbasses Expand
  17. AnonymousMC
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    simply the best itiration of anything inter-non interactive in history 18 MILLION sold on the ps2 alone is nuff said. the total gross for the game would be est. at over 1.1 billion which would place it at #3 best selling movie of all time, maybe 2nd. this is truly a benchmark in gaming history. if the re released this game 4 years from now(from august 17th, 2009 spruced up the graphics tosimply the best itiration of anything inter-non interactive in history 18 MILLION sold on the ps2 alone is nuff said. the total gross for the game would be est. at over 1.1 billion which would place it at #3 best selling movie of all time, maybe 2nd. this is truly a benchmark in gaming history. if the re released this game 4 years from now(from august 17th, 2009 spruced up the graphics to a crysis crushing standard, kept all the original gameplay formula in tact, slightly reduced the cursing, (even though i liked it as is), reworked the audio, added more cars planes, doubled the map size, optimised it for ps4 which will probably feature 100gb bluray capacity and pc with ultimate graphics. then reworked the lighting, textures, flames, made realistic ai, increased the travel options to include trips to small maps of cartels in asia to shop for dope etc. allowed you to recruit gang members, reasign lead member positions, assign members to houses around the city, increase the weapon count, weapon damage, sounds, enviro effects etc. paint cars a wide variety of colors, add aftermarket wheel options, engines, exhaust etc. add competitive kayaking and white water to the ravines, grand canyon, include revised multiplayer, local online co-op, jails, nitrous, add 20+ hrs of main story line, the MY list goes on. i hope and believe that my revised version would come near, match or surpass the original in sales and would be happy to buy the ip if available. your input to new editions to the original is welcome. i also forgot to mention calling up gang members to help you in a fight. Expand
  18. BannaHammic
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Its gon be PIMPI'n FO shizzle my dizzo'e fo shiz.
  19. Dude
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Rocks my socks!
  20. AtariJaguarFetish
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The graphics in this game are so awesome, rivaling Driver 2's on PS1, which is saying a lot. I love the pop-up which brings me back to the days of twitch gaming, where you needed fast reflexes to win. The control almost rivals Syphon Filter 2 and Tenchu 2's control, which we all know had the best control ever. The water effects almost surpass Cobra Triangles water on the NES, The graphics in this game are so awesome, rivaling Driver 2's on PS1, which is saying a lot. I love the pop-up which brings me back to the days of twitch gaming, where you needed fast reflexes to win. The control almost rivals Syphon Filter 2 and Tenchu 2's control, which we all know had the best control ever. The water effects almost surpass Cobra Triangles water on the NES, which still to this day has the best water effects ever. When it rains in the game, it almost looks as good as the rain in Saturn games, which did rain better than even Intellivision. Not even the PS2, Dreamcast nor XBOX can touch the graphics, control and gameplay here. Yes, I would have to say this is the best Atari Jaguar game I've ever played, maybe all month. Expand
  21. Sadie
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    I waited and waited and waited for this game to come out. I wibbled in my chair as the countdown to the release drew near... I rushed out to Future Shop THE day it came out... yes, in the morning as soon as the doors opened... I paid $68 (CDN) for it and ran, bouncing, out the doors. I got home, and I played. This game was everything I had expected and oh so much more. Very worth the wait I waited and waited and waited for this game to come out. I wibbled in my chair as the countdown to the release drew near... I rushed out to Future Shop THE day it came out... yes, in the morning as soon as the doors opened... I paid $68 (CDN) for it and ran, bouncing, out the doors. I got home, and I played. This game was everything I had expected and oh so much more. Very worth the wait and the money! Expand
  22. RicardoA.
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!
  23. [Anonymous]
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    This will be the best gta yet! You can learn Kung Fu abd it has a new targeting system you can shoot head shots! All you people that hate this masterpiece are stupid.
  24. Osi
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Shame on you all damn haters just because Halo did not get a 9.9 or future halo might not get 9.9!. and the fact that the game system is changing in today's life does not means that they are going to make another GTA III, they have to move on or else this series is going to get boring! plus this game might be the best game out YET! so it deserves at least a 9 because of all the Shame on you all damn haters just because Halo did not get a 9.9 or future halo might not get 9.9!. and the fact that the game system is changing in today's life does not means that they are going to make another GTA III, they have to move on or else this series is going to get boring! plus this game might be the best game out YET! so it deserves at least a 9 because of all the effort and all the new stuff no other game has =] Expand
  25. WayneH.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the best car and action game ever.Truly amazing. Anyone who hasnt got it GET IT!
  26. JonW.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    This game is fantastic. The graphics and animations are inproved on the previous installments and the story is even more compelling. The game gives you incredible freedom, being able to play videogames in the local pub, play basketball in the street, do stunts on a bmx, go to the gym and no loading screens all add to the experience. I loved vice city and this wipes the floor with it. 10/10
  27. JoelS.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Its gonna be awesome! I took days off work just to play it!
  28. MohamedA.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    I ABSOFKNLOUTLEY love it.
  29. Blaze
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    man what the hell are all you nuts out there who gave this game under a 9 talking about...this game is so damn hard and tops gta:3 and vice city, now im a fan of the gta series and i have to say without a doubt this i by far the best gta game ever i am a madden guy and i have to speak when i say gta trounces madden sorry madden maybe next year def. a $49.99 worthy game...ups to rockstar fa sho.
  30. JayA
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    Awesome! They have improved the gameplay with each release and this game is even better than Vice City. It deserves a 10 ranking!

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
1
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.