User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 601 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 601

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EltonP.
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and better look, and the radio is truly representative of the 80s. If you only get one game for the PS2, it has to be this! I expected another GTA3 with the same missions again but I was completely caught off guard! Expand
  2. JoyH.
    Feb 15, 2003
    10
    Great Game. Better Than GTA3.
  3. JakeS.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    The best ever how can you think its not. Sure the missions are short but they are exciting and hard but not impossible to beat. The huge detailed city, the girls, and bad dude attitude give this game an all time greatness.
  4. TedG.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    This is a sexy game it is hard but assome.
  5. JackM.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    THE BEST game i own. the graphics are brilliant and the swearing is hilirious. the radio is funny especially rusty browns ring doughnuts. basically the balls of a game.
  6. GiancarloS.
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    Sometimes U play video games...but this one it´s an adventure, I got GTAIII and never occured to me they could top it, Rockstar outdid them selves, I´ve played Video games since Atari but this is the best game ever, in depth, fun and attitude...if you only own one game let it be this one.
  7. GannonC.
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    I liked the strip club the most. This is the best thing ever invented since the TV.
  8. TaHawk
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Clean game.
  9. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    Same game mechanics as GTA 3. That's a good thing. Helicopters and motorcycles have been added. 80's music and feel done very well. Its a bit shorter than GTA 3, and I thought that the missions in GTA 3 were a bit better. However, this game is one of the best video games ever. Period. I give this a 10 because I can't give it a 9.9. GTA 3 got a 10 and deserved all of it.
  10. DiabloStallion
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    If I could only play one game for the rest of my life this would be the one!!!!!!
  11. JacanP.
    May 15, 2003
    10
    It is very fun to find out the many different buildings you can buy and the stripper club actually makes you money if you go to the part that you pay 3$ every game hour a hole bunch.
  12. BenN.
    May 16, 2003
    8
    A proper game!
  13. JoshF.
    May 2, 2003
    10
    That game rockes you can get the hoes in your car.
  14. CodyS.
    Jul 26, 2003
    8
    This game is mind numbingly addictive and would be one of the games I would buy the ps2 for. the only thing that keeps it from getting a 10 is it is glitchy and the graphics aren't that great.
  15. BamesBitch
    Aug 18, 2003
    9
    Life is meaningless after completion........they say there will be a sequel but how far away is that?......(sigh)...
  16. NunuB.
    Sep 12, 2003
    9
    This game is good but has too many glitches.
  17. ChaddS.
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    What can you say about this game except that it is so damn good. I mean look at it, the graphics may not be up to scratch but thats not what matters,the game itself is fantastic no doubt about it.I would reccomend it to anyone.
  18. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    Spanish Comment: Asi deberian ser todos los juegos de Play2.. largos, interesantes, buenas graficas, buen sonido, con multiples posibilidades... De lo mejor... sino lo tiene en su bibioteca de juegos es imperdonable...
  19. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    A really good, fun mafia game.
  20. PIRANHAg.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    Quality´s back!!!!
  21. JohnB.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    Absolutely fantasic , 1 of da best.
  22. SlamDunk
    May 25, 2004
    10
    What is wrong with the reviewers these days? I mean, giving a maximum score of 8/10 to a game that is fun, original and has practically endless replay value (for example in one review, "lifespan = 8/10", now, that is just plain wrong). One thing I have noted in the reviews goes something like "TrackMania does not require so much driving skills and is not a racing game but mainly a track What is wrong with the reviewers these days? I mean, giving a maximum score of 8/10 to a game that is fun, original and has practically endless replay value (for example in one review, "lifespan = 8/10", now, that is just plain wrong). One thing I have noted in the reviews goes something like "TrackMania does not require so much driving skills and is not a racing game but mainly a track building/puzzle game"...erm, hello? Yeah, there's puzzles and track building but in the heart of TM there is a true racing game and it is all about driving skills. Also... TrackMania is a game where the graphics are not so important. Graphics suit the gameplay very well, no complaints. The gameplay, on the other hand, is what really matters and it is simply superb. To me, online play is the heart of TrackMania. It's all about having fun and enjoying the tracks that people make. Expand
  23. ZacM.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    Best Game ever!!!! People who think not they must be crazy becuz they have no common sense. Must Buy!!!
  24. SamS.
    Jul 22, 2004
    8
    This is an enjoyable game at some points I like 3 better than vice city mainly because it gets me in more of a crime like mood and the controls are better. I rarely get in a crimey mood in Vice City but when I do i'ts better than 3, but like I said, those moments are rare. Also, the lighting is much better in 3. Great game but at the bottom of the river compared to 3.
  25. Y.C.
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    If i could i would give VC an 11.The freedom to do whatever you want, plus a compelling storyline and levels, awesome graphics and game play make this game better than GTA 3.
  26. ArseniyK.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games for ps2.good graphics, great gameplay, and so fun youll be playing it for hours! this deserves a 20!!!
  27. MikeS.
    Feb 5, 2005
    9
    After playing all the way through San Andreas, it becomes obvious that Vice City is the better game. Sure, it lacks a lot of great new features, but Vice City just feels like a perfect game, which Andreas doesn't.
  28. SarelmB.
    Oct 31, 2006
    8
    This was a great game, but so unoriginal. It is obvious that this is based on Scarface. If you haven't seen that movie, but played this game watch the movie, and you will know they are the same thing. But still awesome game all in all.
  29. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    I absolutely know that San Andreas is a better game, but when it comes to the music and storyline, Vice City burns San Andreas. Oh yeah, if you have not played San Andreas and play Vice City, you will worship a video game to the fullest.
  30. KickA.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Hands down this is the second best gta game (next to san andeas of course) It kicks the crap out of gta 3 cuz you can basically do anything ANYTIHNG you want to. The only reason that its not as good as san adreas is cuz the city is a little bit smaller and the graphics arent as good. Oh and i agree the music is kick a.s! (compared to all the other music in this series. the best thing Hands down this is the second best gta game (next to san andeas of course) It kicks the crap out of gta 3 cuz you can basically do anything ANYTIHNG you want to. The only reason that its not as good as san adreas is cuz the city is a little bit smaller and the graphics arent as good. Oh and i agree the music is kick a.s! (compared to all the other music in this series. the best thing about this game is being able to jack stuff that can fly, helicopters are the best mode of transpertation by far...) $ TIGHT GAME $ Collapse
  31. [anonymous]
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    youd have to be a complete idiot to say that this game is better than san andreas. while i liked the setting it in no way surpasses the story line of san andreas, its not as big, theres way less things to do after the main story, the setting isnt as varied or robust, you cant swim etc. the story in this game is good but it just doesnt match up. this is a 9 but san andreas is a 10, its youd have to be a complete idiot to say that this game is better than san andreas. while i liked the setting it in no way surpasses the story line of san andreas, its not as big, theres way less things to do after the main story, the setting isnt as varied or robust, you cant swim etc. the story in this game is good but it just doesnt match up. this is a 9 but san andreas is a 10, its just the truth Expand
  32. Munkee
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    I would give it 100 but u people wont let me this game is alot better then gta3 it has new features and everything like i said this is good.
  33. ZackO.
    Nov 1, 2002
    9
    A great follow up to GTAIII, this game has everything.
  34. [Anonymous]
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    It's awesome.
  35. Godigoy
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    I love this game even though its very hard!!!!!
  36. RyanM.
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    From the first press of a button to the final frame of GTA: Vice City it's incredibly obvious of it's grandeur and success. But beyond that, it expands on everything GTAIII was to make a better game for everyone, the best game of the year.
  37. GaryY.
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    This game is the best Game ever ever ever made it is so so so better than GTA 3 I completed gta 3, it is to easy and gta vice city is rock hard.
  38. RockStar
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    The excitment will shoot u down.
  39. JordanM.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This is the best game.
  40. ChrisH.
    Nov 6, 2002
    9
    I bet it in only 6 days they need to make it harder.
  41. TimL.
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    The game is hard but it's more fun then playing GTA3.
  42. ChrisD.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Great game.
  43. ShaneH.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    F..k all u stupid ppl out there that say this game sux this game is tha best by far.
  44. MiriamC.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    It's an eighties wet-dream combined with one of my all-time favorite games. There are a few things that I don't like about it, such as just aiming a gun will set cops on your ass, but it does add to the realism and difficulty of the game. The selection of weapons is great, and I love the addition of motorcycles.
  45. WillyS.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    It's da best.
  46. Jeff
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    It's great, what more can i say?
  47. Tim
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    This game has everything that you could possibly want in a game. You can pick up hookers, be a cop killer, or you can do the dirty work of someone else. This is the best game ever!
  48. KyleT.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    A learning experience if your interested in crime.
  49. EricP.
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    This Game is the best ever GTA series game yet! I just love using the Rhino Tank.....It kills anything it touches.
  50. GregoryC.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    I liked the game because off its colors, and violants. Verry good and great graffics too. I think it will bee my game off the yer (yeah, i have my own lists). This IS A GOOD GAME! Bye it now!
  51. JordanT.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    Excellent game, anyone says otherwise will have to deal with me.....
  52. NicholasB.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever, yeah ever. The graphics are damn good, and the game play is damn damn good. By the by, who the hell is Don M, Swines, what type of loser says swines. One who lives in his moma's house and can't get no biznotch to take to the car wash.
  53. FilazaferX
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    I have been playing video games since Pong was the best game going. I was also playing when Super Mario Brothers was the best, when GoldenEye was the on top, and when Final Fantasy reigned supreme. Now GTA: Vice City is the best and it is more fun than all of those games combined. Buy it before it's sold out.
  54. DEATHSEEKER79
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    YEAAAH I GOT MINE AND WHAT. Much props to the people that hooked me up. tHANKS EB this game roks.
  55. DtotheJ
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Yes, it is what you were hoping for, yes it will blow you away, and yes you should get right now. Yes yes YES!
  56. YiannisA.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    It's amazing that this game is acutally better than GTAIII. Buy it right now, don't wait another minute. RUN!
  57. MattK
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Friggin awesome.
  58. K.H.
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    10+++++ Everybody seems to think that the point of this game is just to run around and kill hookers, (which IS fun) But it kicks so much more ASS than that. Just......just buy it....please.
  59. JennetS.
    Jan 18, 2003
    10
    The game is amazing, I like everything about it.
  60. KevinC.
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played and also the most realistic game. There is just 1 flaw in the game. Some people don't die once you run them over. But I still rate it 10. PEACE
  61. JonathanG.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    I really like this game but could you give me any hints or tips how to complete the demolition man mission please.
  62. NickS.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    For the kid who rated the game a 5 he must be pretty stupid if all he does is run around and kill ppl maybe he should actually play the game.
  63. ConnerM.
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is not a game, it´s a gude to be a criminal...i´d like to see someone top this game...I dare any gamin company. Expand
  64. Chuck76
    Apr 11, 2003
    8
    This is a great game don't doubt that but there are a few points that kinda bug me. The whole setting, the way the streets are laid out don't make for total enjoyment while travelling around like they did on GTA3. And the whole of Vice City in general just aint as good as Liberty City. There are more niggles but they won't ruin the game by any means. Plus points are new This is a great game don't doubt that but there are a few points that kinda bug me. The whole setting, the way the streets are laid out don't make for total enjoyment while travelling around like they did on GTA3. And the whole of Vice City in general just aint as good as Liberty City. There are more niggles but they won't ruin the game by any means. Plus points are new vehicles to use, much more varied missions and probably the best video game soundtrack I've heard. I think I coulda' picked out a few more 80's hits that would have gone well with the game. The graphics are also much improved over GTA3, but they also kinda annoy after a while, I can see what the designers were getting at but at times it can affect what you're currently doing. Though I do sometimes go back and play it again since finishing it, I much prefer to go back and play GTA3. As I've said, this is a fantastic game miles better than most, but I prefer GTA3. There's plenty more life in this series yet so I can't wait for the next title but no-more 80's please! Expand
  65. AlexB.
    Apr 18, 2003
    9
    Liberty City is a cooler environment, but where VC misses out for variety and size it makes up with greater detail and a more visceral feel. There are flaws. The radio stations get tired quickly, and a lot of space in the environment seems wasted. But these are minor points. Just getting up to 3 stars and running from the cops is a game in itself. I wish they'd take this one on line!
  66. ZackF.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    Wow what a great game. And the soundtrack is great. But rockstar could do better graphics than that but it's a real kickass game. Some stuff would be cool to add would be like start your own mobs or rob a bank or something. the missions were a little suckie though. oh well all in all i can't put the control down when i get the chance. Good job rockstar.
  67. NickV.
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    A Masterpeice everyone who does not like it must have probelums cause this is a great games. There are so many things to do. You can steal cars. Be a cop, firefighter, ice cream man, taxi driver, medic, pizza man or a hardened criminal. And there are so many veicles from a military helicopter (that actually shoots) to a golf cart.
  68. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    7
    This game is a disapointing sequel to GTA3. First off the producers promised a town three times larger than that in GTA3 but in reality the town seems three times smaller. The storyline in this game really needed to be worked on. You just failed a drug deal and you are trying to get your money back, but after you kill the guy that destroyed your deal, you suddenly make the most random This game is a disapointing sequel to GTA3. First off the producers promised a town three times larger than that in GTA3 but in reality the town seems three times smaller. The storyline in this game really needed to be worked on. You just failed a drug deal and you are trying to get your money back, but after you kill the guy that destroyed your deal, you suddenly make the most random decision to try to take over the town. The Mafia wants you to stop it but hey you won't listen and it eventually escalates. Sure it sound interesting but as I said, Your main character just randomly makes that decision for no apparent reason, he doesn't even hint it until he says it at the beginning of a mission. The game's graphics are bad but I don't care. The terrains are flat and the character models still need a ton of work. The games sound features music from the 80's, which I'm not partically in to. The talk radio stations are too short to be enjoyed alot. The voice acting is extrmeley good in the beginning of the game, but later in the game it is as if they stopped trying because people started to sound monotonous. The gameplay has some great car chases, and yes they did add motorcycles, however if you so much as gently bump into an object with your motorcycle you have the possibility of flying 20 feet off it. Also, the targeting system got worst than from GTA3, the camera changes when you target somebody creating a poor camera job. Overall GTA:VC is still a fun game to play and will take a weekat the least of your life. There is plenty of stuff to get in the game but the overall experience just wasn't that great for me, but it can be for other people. Expand
  69. CleitusU.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    OK, bob m. u obviously have some social issues 2 work out. i mean COME ON! the getaway?! that game almost made me puke. it was garbage, sure, it was fun for like a week maybe, but, then i realized it sucked. i got gta:vc almost a year ago, and it is still hella fun, psh, believe me foks, it rules.
  70. R.H.
    Aug 16, 2003
    10
    Video game players of the world behold the greatest game of all time. You can all try to deny it, but it's true. Sure, the game is twisted, evil, and just plain sick. But who can resist? Even people who don't play video game will enjoy this game to no end. Deep down this is the game that everyone has wanted to play their whole life, no matter how nice or violence free you are. Video game players of the world behold the greatest game of all time. You can all try to deny it, but it's true. Sure, the game is twisted, evil, and just plain sick. But who can resist? Even people who don't play video game will enjoy this game to no end. Deep down this is the game that everyone has wanted to play their whole life, no matter how nice or violence free you are. Vice City is the guilty pleasure to top all guilty pleasures. Ok, now this is how I rate a game (and I hope it's how everyone rates a game): I rate a game based on fun factor. And this game has them all topped in that area. This game is so good, it's ridiculous. Now for all you people that already have it, turn the computer off and play this game. For all you people that don't have it...well...sucks for you. Expand
  71. JoD.S
    Aug 18, 2003
    10
    Unbelivable!! So many places to go so many things to reek havok on , raises the bar for every game I've played since , and to top it all off music you've actually heard before.
  72. BrandonL.
    Aug 21, 2003
    7
    Hey, a sequel! Basically, this is a direct port of GTA III for PC to the PS2. Oh, what? GTA III was on PS2 first? Wow, then this is not much of a sequel, more of a exspansion pack in a way. The engine is nearly the same, and the controls remain the same. If you own Gta 3 it'd be wise to sit this one out and wait for the next sequel (and hope it'll be a little more different).
  73. AndyS.
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    There are simply no flaws in this game... well i can't say i like drowning, and comparing it to the range of new vehicles in GTA San Andreas, it's not the best it could be. I don't really mind the fact that you can't customize your guy, but the cloths make up for that, and the story is just amazing. The weapon desingn is out of this world and the great color of this There are simply no flaws in this game... well i can't say i like drowning, and comparing it to the range of new vehicles in GTA San Andreas, it's not the best it could be. I don't really mind the fact that you can't customize your guy, but the cloths make up for that, and the story is just amazing. The weapon desingn is out of this world and the great color of this game is definatly an uplift. There's only one thig to do in this game...PLAY! Expand
  74. OscarV.
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever1 Forget GTA 3. best graphics and everthing. If ur tired u could just cruise. I cant wait till GTA San Andreas (Comes out October 18, 2004).
  75. DavidA.
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    Man did I love this game it is simply cool to the extreme and thought I think my parents wouldn't like it much. I have to say I would give it a 20.
  76. SeanB
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Personally, I like VC better than GTA3. Don't bother to listen to the people that say one is waaaaay better than the other one. EASILY the best series on PS2, probably in all platforms too. It's very tough to decide which one is better, almost as tough as trying to beat the game itself, let alone the fabled 100%. Because both GTA's are so deep, you can just sum up Personally, I like VC better than GTA3. Don't bother to listen to the people that say one is waaaaay better than the other one. EASILY the best series on PS2, probably in all platforms too. It's very tough to decide which one is better, almost as tough as trying to beat the game itself, let alone the fabled 100%. Because both GTA's are so deep, you can just sum up everything into one word: Perfect. Maybe San Andreas will settle the dispute one which is better. (Hopefully) Expand
  77. DarrenM.
    Aug 26, 2004
    9
    Brilliant! As a kid of the 80s I love this...a mix of Miami Vice & Scarface! wooooo!
  78. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    GTA 3 was great, and Im sure it was difficult to follow it up. But they managed to do so, and with alot of Flair! The setting is just plain awesome, esspecially if you were into Miami Vice, Knight Rider, the A-Team and other shows from that era. Gameplay is improved over the original slightly, but the setting is what makes this game better than the original.
  79. TomiB.
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    It's like 'Miami Vice'! All 80's again, esp. the MUSIC! My personal favorite: V-Rock! w/Lazlow... If ya can get Tommy V. to do the same for CJ like GTA San Andreas, or vice versa, put Tommy like CJ, then the game is set!
  80. HarryL.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played, yes GTA 4 is realistic, but nothing can beat the slick hair does, the flowery suites, and the stunning dialogge, yes missions can get repetative, but as the same with every game, like the shooting games, look left shoot look right shoot, this game has to be the ultimate for fun, and the perfect size of the map, and the great spacial awareness the Simply the best game I have ever played, yes GTA 4 is realistic, but nothing can beat the slick hair does, the flowery suites, and the stunning dialogge, yes missions can get repetative, but as the same with every game, like the shooting games, look left shoot look right shoot, this game has to be the ultimate for fun, and the perfect size of the map, and the great spacial awareness the creators put into the game, 100% brilliant. Expand
  81. EricC.
    Nov 12, 2002
    9
    Is it odd to say that one of my favorite things about this game is the 80's music? I guess Michael Jackson sounds better when cops are chasing you at the same time. In addition to that, almost all the improvements that GTA3 needed have been improved with an even tougher challenge and a more engaging plot. (Also motorcycle riding kicks butt!!)However, those improvements probably could Is it odd to say that one of my favorite things about this game is the 80's music? I guess Michael Jackson sounds better when cops are chasing you at the same time. In addition to that, almost all the improvements that GTA3 needed have been improved with an even tougher challenge and a more engaging plot. (Also motorcycle riding kicks butt!!)However, those improvements probably could have gone a lot farther, as some aspects like weapon control seemed to have little improvement, if any at all. Also, I find myself be vicitm to annoying errors that make my car dissapear or my character fall into the road, freezing the game and upsetting any mission I'm on. Nevertheless, the game never took away the freedom of movement in the city that made GTA3 great and I would highly recommend it. Expand
  82. Steve
    Nov 18, 2002
    7
    Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Army Air Force Base, the Hyman Colusseum, INSIDE the Washington Beach Police Dept. But, who cares about the jewelry store? Who cares about the record store? Laundrymat?? Big deal.. It has good points, but GTA3 still has a big advantage over this game. I can't call this the best game ever, and if you break down the game and critically review it instead of buying into the hype, you will find its good, but NOT the best game ever. Expand
  83. BobSixtyniner
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    This game is the best version of grand theft auto that has come out of rockstar since the first gta game. The only problem that i have with the game is that there are to many cops. You commit one crime and there is a oinker on your back.
  84. GettingB.
    Nov 22, 2002
    8
    This game is good but it could have been made better, such as u not being allowed to go in every building which really sucks, i could have made it better, u should be able to fly the jets and planes, cars shouldnt disappear, less cops, an the hookers actually do stuff instead of sitting there such as taking off their shirts.
  85. PerkolatorI.J.
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    Hey Adam J. boy, you're a smart ass (more ass than smart, actually) dunno what u have been playing, I have played this game extensively and still to see some mayor glitches. Does it have some camera/polygon clipping? yep, but every other 3D game out there has it too, so what's new, as for floor textures??? what? they have never dissapeared to me yet, you sure you playing the Hey Adam J. boy, you're a smart ass (more ass than smart, actually) dunno what u have been playing, I have played this game extensively and still to see some mayor glitches. Does it have some camera/polygon clipping? yep, but every other 3D game out there has it too, so what's new, as for floor textures??? what? they have never dissapeared to me yet, you sure you playing the proper game and not a dodgy copy or what, this game Rocks. Big Time. Expand
  86. Joe
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    When I first played this game, I was shocked in the detail of killing there is, cause I never had the pleasure of playing GTA 3. Vice City is by far the best game ever! Buy It.
  87. HannahD.
    Dec 22, 2002
    9
    This game is truly exceptional. The freedom and graphics alone make this game crazy fun. The best way for me to describe is to say it's just like having your own city where you can do anything you want. The missions are the main part, but hell I have fun just driving around stealing cars, shootin ppl, and jumping ramps. Mad fly game. And a lot of ppl want to say it's all bad and This game is truly exceptional. The freedom and graphics alone make this game crazy fun. The best way for me to describe is to say it's just like having your own city where you can do anything you want. The missions are the main part, but hell I have fun just driving around stealing cars, shootin ppl, and jumping ramps. Mad fly game. And a lot of ppl want to say it's all bad and teens shouldn't play it, but when I played it I found it to be pretty tame compared to what I had heard it was gonna be like. Although I dont think it's a game for kids under 13 at all, it just gives the wrong mindset with the stealing, and killing, and hookers, and occasional profanities. Expand
  88. Brian
    Dec 27, 2002
    9
    Lots of upgrades from GTA3. The missions i think were what made this game great. i would of given it a 10 except for the fact myself and lots of my friends played gta3 constantly and probably got tired of the police chases but for anyone who is new to GTA on the ps2 you'll be amazed.
  89. KyleK.
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Great game all round, can be improved by having more missions and making them harder.
  90. KyleK.
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Great game all round, can be improved by having more missions and making them harder.
  91. MaxM
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Possibly my favourite game of all time. Dramatic, Funny and the look and feel of the City was breathtaking. If you wanted something to remind you of the 80's you could do much worse then this. There was a huge choice in vehicles and weapons. A great choice in music as well as humorous radio DJ's. Tommy Vercetti was a marvelous character who could create some chemistry between Possibly my favourite game of all time. Dramatic, Funny and the look and feel of the City was breathtaking. If you wanted something to remind you of the 80's you could do much worse then this. There was a huge choice in vehicles and weapons. A great choice in music as well as humorous radio DJ's. Tommy Vercetti was a marvelous character who could create some chemistry between the player and himself. The purchase property was a massive plus, the stroyline never got dull and the gang warfare was awesome. No GTA game has managed to pass the greatness GTA Vice City Achieved. Expand
  92. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    One the greatest games ever made for the PS2, and no doubt my favorite Grand Theft Auto game ever made. It is a must by for anyone who likes free-roaming type games with a good Scarface type story-line and lots of weapons and cars.
  93. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    as grand theft auto games go this is my favorite of the series . the best story in the series and you have Ray liotta the man who played henry hill in good fellas the greatest mob movie ever doing the main charicter in this game as tommy gives this game a big hit of personality. the game has a great sound track of 80s music which really helps set the 80s mood of the game. lots moreas grand theft auto games go this is my favorite of the series . the best story in the series and you have Ray liotta the man who played henry hill in good fellas the greatest mob movie ever doing the main charicter in this game as tommy gives this game a big hit of personality. the game has a great sound track of 80s music which really helps set the 80s mood of the game. lots more vehicles have been added and now you can finnaly fly some real plains and helicopters. a huge increase to the gun selection . the missions are alot of fun . the AI is still pretty iffy and the game is abit buggy and glitchy. the game is also pretty hard . i manage to beat the first GTA3 with out codes but i couldnt beat this one even with codes . still its a fun game and i spent alot of time sandboxing this . Expand
  94. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I love the 80s and I love Grand Theft Auto. I cum in my pants when I play this. It's that good. Great soundtrack, great story, great graphics for its time and great gameplay. **** you if you didn't like it when it came out
  95. Oct 3, 2010
    8
    Not as good as GTA III but the whole atmosphere and feel of the era in this game is done superbly and overall this was a fun game, just not as revolutionary as it's predecessor.
  96. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Tommy Vercetti, having just been released from a long stint in jail, is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. Unfortunately during his first drug buy he is set up and is left with no money or merchandise. With Sonny demanding his money back and everyone else seemingly wanting him dead Tommy realises his only chance is to take over Vice City himself.

    Grand Theft Auto III may
    Tommy Vercetti, having just been released from a long stint in jail, is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. Unfortunately during his first drug buy he is set up and is left with no money or merchandise. With Sonny demanding his money back and everyone else seemingly wanting him dead Tommy realises his only chance is to take over Vice City himself.

    Grand Theft Auto III may have been the first to take the open world game into 3D but it was Vice City that really took it to its limit. The city itself, based on Miami is, is more vibrant and interesting than any other in the GTA series allowing for hugely diverse missions involving motorbikes, boats, helicopters and even planes. Unlike the most recent outing entertainment, rather than realism, seems to have been the main concern when devising these missions. As the game progresses your impact on the city can really be felt leading to a fantastic finale set within your mansion (think Scarface!).

    A quick mention also for the 1980's soundtrack that has yet to be matched. It features a mix of hilarious talk and music stations featuring the likes of Michael Jackson, Roxy Music and Kate Bush and really adds to the sense that you inhabit a living, breathing world.

    This is the Playstation 2's best game without doubt.
    Expand
  97. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Well, according to what I know, players that were completely "Viced" on Grand Theft Auto 3 fell in love with some new options available on Vice City such as riding a bike for the very first time, new weapons, new environment and lots of new minigames and side missions.
  98. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Honestly, I think GTA 3 is better, but this is still a great game. The missions are varied, the graphics are beautiful for 2002, and its overall fun to play.
  99. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    For me this was superior to GTA3 in every single way. Just like in GTA3 most of the time i was just cruising, listen to music. I loved the ending "boss" reminiscent of scar face. This game IS a must buy.
  100. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Missions, side missions, races, police chases, taxi missions, vigilante missions, firetruck missions, ambulance missions, pizza boy missions, rampages, hidden packages, unique jumps, safehouses, shops, exploration, and, of course, whatever the heck you want!! Pretty much the best video game in the market. The end.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    No excuses, you’re gonna have to buy this. Unless you don’t own a PS2, in which case, get out of our Internet!
  2. 97
    It's enormous, packed with an immense amount of gameplay, and it's a truly unique gameplay experience...This year's most impressive title, by a log shot.
  3. This is a long game, longer than GTA3 because there are far more missions in this game in a far larger area.