Grand Theft Auto: Vice City PlayStation 2

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 620 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 620

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    7
    Very good game! One of the best free roaming games ever made. Very good plot, gameplay and graphics. Superb sound and music. Super-recommended, if you like its genre.
  2. AnonymousMC
    Sep 24, 2009
    6
    I've played worse games, and I've played better games. There is fun to be had here, don't get me wrong. The soundtrack is killer, the vehicles handle pretty well, and you can do almost anything you want. This is held back by the controls and camera. If I move the right stick, I don't want an immediate and temporary change to first-person view. I want to actually beI've played worse games, and I've played better games. There is fun to be had here, don't get me wrong. The soundtrack is killer, the vehicles handle pretty well, and you can do almost anything you want. This is held back by the controls and camera. If I move the right stick, I don't want an immediate and temporary change to first-person view. I want to actually be able to see behind me without holding down extra buttons. Then there's the controls. While usually responsive, melee combat isn't, and suffers for it. Also, there's a meh targeting system. Overall, though, it's a competent game, and you could have some fun with it. I enjoy it, but it's nothing mind-blowing. Collapse
  3. RJBlake
    Sep 7, 2003
    5
    this game is good but it feezes if it did not freeze it would be awsome rockstar has to work on that for a better gta.
  4. BrandonL.
    Aug 21, 2003
    7
    Hey, a sequel! Basically, this is a direct port of GTA III for PC to the PS2. Oh, what? GTA III was on PS2 first? Wow, then this is not much of a sequel, more of a exspansion pack in a way. The engine is nearly the same, and the controls remain the same. If you own Gta 3 it'd be wise to sit this one out and wait for the next sequel (and hope it'll be a little more different).
  5. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    7
    This game is a disapointing sequel to GTA3. First off the producers promised a town three times larger than that in GTA3 but in reality the town seems three times smaller. The storyline in this game really needed to be worked on. You just failed a drug deal and you are trying to get your money back, but after you kill the guy that destroyed your deal, you suddenly make the most random This game is a disapointing sequel to GTA3. First off the producers promised a town three times larger than that in GTA3 but in reality the town seems three times smaller. The storyline in this game really needed to be worked on. You just failed a drug deal and you are trying to get your money back, but after you kill the guy that destroyed your deal, you suddenly make the most random decision to try to take over the town. The Mafia wants you to stop it but hey you won't listen and it eventually escalates. Sure it sound interesting but as I said, Your main character just randomly makes that decision for no apparent reason, he doesn't even hint it until he says it at the beginning of a mission. The game's graphics are bad but I don't care. The terrains are flat and the character models still need a ton of work. The games sound features music from the 80's, which I'm not partically in to. The talk radio stations are too short to be enjoyed alot. The voice acting is extrmeley good in the beginning of the game, but later in the game it is as if they stopped trying because people started to sound monotonous. The gameplay has some great car chases, and yes they did add motorcycles, however if you so much as gently bump into an object with your motorcycle you have the possibility of flying 20 feet off it. Also, the targeting system got worst than from GTA3, the camera changes when you target somebody creating a poor camera job. Overall GTA:VC is still a fun game to play and will take a weekat the least of your life. There is plenty of stuff to get in the game but the overall experience just wasn't that great for me, but it can be for other people. Expand
  6. JennC.
    Aug 5, 2003
    6
    This game isn't the best of GTA games. I believe that GTA 3 was the absolute best. The graphics, colors, and story lines in this game need a little more work.
  7. SteveS.
    Feb 14, 2003
    5
    Distinctly average game. Played GTA3 and got bored very quickly. Run here, kill this, run back, save game, drive here, kill them, drive back, save game... zzzzz... Best bit - spawn a tank cheat. Then just kill everyone. Mucho fun. Nice graphics, but they should've upped the pace of the gameplay IMHO.
  8. SteveH.
    Jan 9, 2003
    5
    This game is okay but i hate the frickin pastel colors everything in the 80's wasnt pastel for christ sake and for the love of god why didn't you make on the same basis as GTA3 come on.
  9. AbboTTF.
    Dec 31, 2002
    6
    Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't played 3) The cops are dumb... this is a major prob... I stole a tank!...There are 5,000 cop cars and helicopters on my tail... o wait, I can just drive into this little garage and no one will find me... com'on! Expand
  10. FredW.
    Dec 22, 2002
    5
    Driving is fun but the graphics are not that great. Parents, you need to be advised, this is not a game for your kids. This is a "MATURE" rated game and has a lot of hookers saying various sexual inuendos and game play violence. This game is full crime related game play.
  11. DonM.
    Dec 2, 2002
    7
    Buh? £40? FORTY POXY QUID? THE B.ST.RDS ARE SELLING IT AS A FULL PRICED GAME! SWINES! This really isn't a full game, no matter what Rockstar tell you...it's an Add-On. It's a GOOD add-on, but it's an add-on. But it's a GOOD add-on, to the best game ever...which makes it the best game ever, vicariously by being a part of the real best game ever. Look, stop Buh? £40? FORTY POXY QUID? THE B.ST.RDS ARE SELLING IT AS A FULL PRICED GAME! SWINES! This really isn't a full game, no matter what Rockstar tell you...it's an Add-On. It's a GOOD add-on, but it's an add-on. But it's a GOOD add-on, to the best game ever...which makes it the best game ever, vicariously by being a part of the real best game ever. Look, stop reading this rubbish and play it, okay? But don't pay for it. Steal it or something. Forty quid, I ask you... Expand
  12. AdamJ.
    Nov 26, 2002
    6
    NO WAY is this as good as GTA3 1. The City is poorly laid out 2. There is no where near enough variation in the cars 3. There is no where enough story missions 4. Money is too tight to start then stupidly easy to come accross 5. The Graphical Glitches....Where's the Floor gone, WHERE ARE THE TEXTURES! Its still a good game technically but is missing these points and the Charm that 3 had.
  13. Steve
    Nov 18, 2002
    7
    Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Army Air Force Base, the Hyman Colusseum, INSIDE the Washington Beach Police Dept. But, who cares about the jewelry store? Who cares about the record store? Laundrymat?? Big deal.. It has good points, but GTA3 still has a big advantage over this game. I can't call this the best game ever, and if you break down the game and critically review it instead of buying into the hype, you will find its good, but NOT the best game ever. Expand
  14. GoneFission
    Nov 14, 2002
    5
    Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever its not even the best game this year! Here's the list of the best games this year: 1. Metroid Prime THAT'S IT! THAT'S THE LIST!....forget the hype and know that GTAVC has bugs! Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    No excuses, you’re gonna have to buy this. Unless you don’t own a PS2, in which case, get out of our Internet!
  2. 97
    It's enormous, packed with an immense amount of gameplay, and it's a truly unique gameplay experience...This year's most impressive title, by a log shot.
  3. This is a long game, longer than GTA3 because there are far more missions in this game in a far larger area.