User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 790 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 790
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamJ.
    Nov 26, 2002
    6
    NO WAY is this as good as GTA3 1. The City is poorly laid out 2. There is no where near enough variation in the cars 3. There is no where enough story missions 4. Money is too tight to start then stupidly easy to come accross 5. The Graphical Glitches....Where's the Floor gone, WHERE ARE THE TEXTURES! Its still a good game technically but is missing these points and the Charm that 3 had.
  2. JordanM.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This is the best game.
  3. ChrisH.
    Nov 6, 2002
    9
    I bet it in only 6 days they need to make it harder.
  4. JoeShmo
    Nov 8, 2002
    0
    I can't believe any one would buy this game. Overall it isn't very good and it is very hard.
  5. TimL.
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    The game is hard but it's more fun then playing GTA3.
  6. ChrisD.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Great game.
  7. ShaneH.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    F..k all u stupid ppl out there that say this game sux this game is tha best by far.
  8. MiriamC.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    It's an eighties wet-dream combined with one of my all-time favorite games. There are a few things that I don't like about it, such as just aiming a gun will set cops on your ass, but it does add to the realism and difficulty of the game. The selection of weapons is great, and I love the addition of motorcycles.
  9. WillyS.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    It's da best.
  10. Jeff
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    It's great, what more can i say?
  11. Tim
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    This game has everything that you could possibly want in a game. You can pick up hookers, be a cop killer, or you can do the dirty work of someone else. This is the best game ever!
  12. FredW.
    Dec 22, 2002
    5
    Driving is fun but the graphics are not that great. Parents, you need to be advised, this is not a game for your kids. This is a "MATURE" rated game and has a lot of hookers saying various sexual inuendos and game play violence. This game is full crime related game play.
  13. EricP.
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    This Game is the best ever GTA series game yet! I just love using the Rhino Tank.....It kills anything it touches.
  14. GregoryC.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    I liked the game because off its colors, and violants. Verry good and great graffics too. I think it will bee my game off the yer (yeah, i have my own lists). This IS A GOOD GAME! Bye it now!
  15. NicholasB.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever, yeah ever. The graphics are damn good, and the game play is damn damn good. By the by, who the hell is Don M, Swines, what type of loser says swines. One who lives in his moma's house and can't get no biznotch to take to the car wash.
  16. FilazaferX
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    I have been playing video games since Pong was the best game going. I was also playing when Super Mario Brothers was the best, when GoldenEye was the on top, and when Final Fantasy reigned supreme. Now GTA: Vice City is the best and it is more fun than all of those games combined. Buy it before it's sold out.
  17. DEATHSEEKER79
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    YEAAAH I GOT MINE AND WHAT. Much props to the people that hooked me up. tHANKS EB this game roks.
  18. DtotheJ
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Yes, it is what you were hoping for, yes it will blow you away, and yes you should get right now. Yes yes YES!
  19. YiannisA.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    It's amazing that this game is acutally better than GTAIII. Buy it right now, don't wait another minute. RUN!
  20. K.H.
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    10+++++ Everybody seems to think that the point of this game is just to run around and kill hookers, (which IS fun) But it kicks so much more ASS than that. Just......just buy it....please.
  21. JennetS.
    Jan 18, 2003
    10
    The game is amazing, I like everything about it.
  22. KevinC.
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played and also the most realistic game. There is just 1 flaw in the game. Some people don't die once you run them over. But I still rate it 10. PEACE
  23. NickS.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    For the kid who rated the game a 5 he must be pretty stupid if all he does is run around and kill ppl maybe he should actually play the game.
  24. ConnerM.
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is I´m speechless, Bars, drug dealing, kidnaps, bank robberies, racing, strip joints, racing (cars and boats), laundering money, makin´fake money, makin´porno movies and your basic killing and mayhem...in short if it´s a crime GTAVC´s got it...there's no end to the fun you can have in this game...totally interactive with it´s own enviroment...this is not a game, it´s a gude to be a criminal...i´d like to see someone top this game...I dare any gamin company. Expand
  25. Chuck76
    Apr 11, 2003
    8
    This is a great game don't doubt that but there are a few points that kinda bug me. The whole setting, the way the streets are laid out don't make for total enjoyment while travelling around like they did on GTA3. And the whole of Vice City in general just aint as good as Liberty City. There are more niggles but they won't ruin the game by any means. Plus points are new This is a great game don't doubt that but there are a few points that kinda bug me. The whole setting, the way the streets are laid out don't make for total enjoyment while travelling around like they did on GTA3. And the whole of Vice City in general just aint as good as Liberty City. There are more niggles but they won't ruin the game by any means. Plus points are new vehicles to use, much more varied missions and probably the best video game soundtrack I've heard. I think I coulda' picked out a few more 80's hits that would have gone well with the game. The graphics are also much improved over GTA3, but they also kinda annoy after a while, I can see what the designers were getting at but at times it can affect what you're currently doing. Though I do sometimes go back and play it again since finishing it, I much prefer to go back and play GTA3. As I've said, this is a fantastic game miles better than most, but I prefer GTA3. There's plenty more life in this series yet so I can't wait for the next title but no-more 80's please! Expand
  26. AlexB.
    Apr 18, 2003
    9
    Liberty City is a cooler environment, but where VC misses out for variety and size it makes up with greater detail and a more visceral feel. There are flaws. The radio stations get tired quickly, and a lot of space in the environment seems wasted. But these are minor points. Just getting up to 3 stars and running from the cops is a game in itself. I wish they'd take this one on line!
  27. ZackF.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    Wow what a great game. And the soundtrack is great. But rockstar could do better graphics than that but it's a real kickass game. Some stuff would be cool to add would be like start your own mobs or rob a bank or something. the missions were a little suckie though. oh well all in all i can't put the control down when i get the chance. Good job rockstar.
  28. MichaelD.
    May 18, 2003
    0
    Such garbage, i hate this game.
  29. Brown
    Jun 24, 2003
    4
    The graphics are bad and too many glitches. the people are stupid and you can ram people on the road right next to some cops and they will just stay there and do nothing. which is very gay. do something more fun like 8=0 (:) if you are smart enough to not play the game, you will figure that out and go do it right now.
  30. NickV.
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    A Masterpeice everyone who does not like it must have probelums cause this is a great games. There are so many things to do. You can steal cars. Be a cop, firefighter, ice cream man, taxi driver, medic, pizza man or a hardened criminal. And there are so many veicles from a military helicopter (that actually shoots) to a golf cart.
  31. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    7
    This game is a disapointing sequel to GTA3. First off the producers promised a town three times larger than that in GTA3 but in reality the town seems three times smaller. The storyline in this game really needed to be worked on. You just failed a drug deal and you are trying to get your money back, but after you kill the guy that destroyed your deal, you suddenly make the most random This game is a disapointing sequel to GTA3. First off the producers promised a town three times larger than that in GTA3 but in reality the town seems three times smaller. The storyline in this game really needed to be worked on. You just failed a drug deal and you are trying to get your money back, but after you kill the guy that destroyed your deal, you suddenly make the most random decision to try to take over the town. The Mafia wants you to stop it but hey you won't listen and it eventually escalates. Sure it sound interesting but as I said, Your main character just randomly makes that decision for no apparent reason, he doesn't even hint it until he says it at the beginning of a mission. The game's graphics are bad but I don't care. The terrains are flat and the character models still need a ton of work. The games sound features music from the 80's, which I'm not partically in to. The talk radio stations are too short to be enjoyed alot. The voice acting is extrmeley good in the beginning of the game, but later in the game it is as if they stopped trying because people started to sound monotonous. The gameplay has some great car chases, and yes they did add motorcycles, however if you so much as gently bump into an object with your motorcycle you have the possibility of flying 20 feet off it. Also, the targeting system got worst than from GTA3, the camera changes when you target somebody creating a poor camera job. Overall GTA:VC is still a fun game to play and will take a weekat the least of your life. There is plenty of stuff to get in the game but the overall experience just wasn't that great for me, but it can be for other people. Expand
  32. CleitusU.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    OK, bob m. u obviously have some social issues 2 work out. i mean COME ON! the getaway?! that game almost made me puke. it was garbage, sure, it was fun for like a week maybe, but, then i realized it sucked. i got gta:vc almost a year ago, and it is still hella fun, psh, believe me foks, it rules.
  33. R.H.
    Aug 16, 2003
    10
    Video game players of the world behold the greatest game of all time. You can all try to deny it, but it's true. Sure, the game is twisted, evil, and just plain sick. But who can resist? Even people who don't play video game will enjoy this game to no end. Deep down this is the game that everyone has wanted to play their whole life, no matter how nice or violence free you are. Video game players of the world behold the greatest game of all time. You can all try to deny it, but it's true. Sure, the game is twisted, evil, and just plain sick. But who can resist? Even people who don't play video game will enjoy this game to no end. Deep down this is the game that everyone has wanted to play their whole life, no matter how nice or violence free you are. Vice City is the guilty pleasure to top all guilty pleasures. Ok, now this is how I rate a game (and I hope it's how everyone rates a game): I rate a game based on fun factor. And this game has them all topped in that area. This game is so good, it's ridiculous. Now for all you people that already have it, turn the computer off and play this game. For all you people that don't have it...well...sucks for you. Expand
  34. JoD.S
    Aug 18, 2003
    10
    Unbelivable!! So many places to go so many things to reek havok on , raises the bar for every game I've played since , and to top it all off music you've actually heard before.
  35. BrandonL.
    Aug 21, 2003
    7
    Hey, a sequel! Basically, this is a direct port of GTA III for PC to the PS2. Oh, what? GTA III was on PS2 first? Wow, then this is not much of a sequel, more of a exspansion pack in a way. The engine is nearly the same, and the controls remain the same. If you own Gta 3 it'd be wise to sit this one out and wait for the next sequel (and hope it'll be a little more different).
  36. AndyS.
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    There are simply no flaws in this game... well i can't say i like drowning, and comparing it to the range of new vehicles in GTA San Andreas, it's not the best it could be. I don't really mind the fact that you can't customize your guy, but the cloths make up for that, and the story is just amazing. The weapon desingn is out of this world and the great color of this There are simply no flaws in this game... well i can't say i like drowning, and comparing it to the range of new vehicles in GTA San Andreas, it's not the best it could be. I don't really mind the fact that you can't customize your guy, but the cloths make up for that, and the story is just amazing. The weapon desingn is out of this world and the great color of this game is definatly an uplift. There's only one thig to do in this game...PLAY! Expand
  37. OscarV.
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever1 Forget GTA 3. best graphics and everthing. If ur tired u could just cruise. I cant wait till GTA San Andreas (Comes out October 18, 2004).
  38. DavidA.
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    Man did I love this game it is simply cool to the extreme and thought I think my parents wouldn't like it much. I have to say I would give it a 20.
  39. SeanB
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Personally, I like VC better than GTA3. Don't bother to listen to the people that say one is waaaaay better than the other one. EASILY the best series on PS2, probably in all platforms too. It's very tough to decide which one is better, almost as tough as trying to beat the game itself, let alone the fabled 100%. Because both GTA's are so deep, you can just sum up Personally, I like VC better than GTA3. Don't bother to listen to the people that say one is waaaaay better than the other one. EASILY the best series on PS2, probably in all platforms too. It's very tough to decide which one is better, almost as tough as trying to beat the game itself, let alone the fabled 100%. Because both GTA's are so deep, you can just sum up everything into one word: Perfect. Maybe San Andreas will settle the dispute one which is better. (Hopefully) Expand
  40. DarrenM.
    Aug 26, 2004
    9
    Brilliant! As a kid of the 80s I love this...a mix of Miami Vice & Scarface! wooooo!
  41. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    GTA 3 was great, and Im sure it was difficult to follow it up. But they managed to do so, and with alot of Flair! The setting is just plain awesome, esspecially if you were into Miami Vice, Knight Rider, the A-Team and other shows from that era. Gameplay is improved over the original slightly, but the setting is what makes this game better than the original.
  42. TomiB.
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    It's like 'Miami Vice'! All 80's again, esp. the MUSIC! My personal favorite: V-Rock! w/Lazlow... If ya can get Tommy V. to do the same for CJ like GTA San Andreas, or vice versa, put Tommy like CJ, then the game is set!
  43. HarryL.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played, yes GTA 4 is realistic, but nothing can beat the slick hair does, the flowery suites, and the stunning dialogge, yes missions can get repetative, but as the same with every game, like the shooting games, look left shoot look right shoot, this game has to be the ultimate for fun, and the perfect size of the map, and the great spacial awareness the Simply the best game I have ever played, yes GTA 4 is realistic, but nothing can beat the slick hair does, the flowery suites, and the stunning dialogge, yes missions can get repetative, but as the same with every game, like the shooting games, look left shoot look right shoot, this game has to be the ultimate for fun, and the perfect size of the map, and the great spacial awareness the creators put into the game, 100% brilliant. Expand
  44. AnonymousMC
    Sep 24, 2009
    6
    I've played worse games, and I've played better games. There is fun to be had here, don't get me wrong. The soundtrack is killer, the vehicles handle pretty well, and you can do almost anything you want. This is held back by the controls and camera. If I move the right stick, I don't want an immediate and temporary change to first-person view. I want to actually beI've played worse games, and I've played better games. There is fun to be had here, don't get me wrong. The soundtrack is killer, the vehicles handle pretty well, and you can do almost anything you want. This is held back by the controls and camera. If I move the right stick, I don't want an immediate and temporary change to first-person view. I want to actually be able to see behind me without holding down extra buttons. Then there's the controls. While usually responsive, melee combat isn't, and suffers for it. Also, there's a meh targeting system. Overall, though, it's a competent game, and you could have some fun with it. I enjoy it, but it's nothing mind-blowing. Expand
  45. GoneFission
    Nov 14, 2002
    5
    Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever Best Game Ever? Can i ask you guys a question...? are you on drugs! There's no way as FUN as this game seems that its the greatetst game ever. This game has too many BUGS! Getting shot through walls, failing missions and having to restart, having your dimwitted AI temates randomly die just doesn't work and hurts the game play dramaticlly. This game can NOT be the best game ever its not even the best game this year! Here's the list of the best games this year: 1. Metroid Prime THAT'S IT! THAT'S THE LIST!....forget the hype and know that GTAVC has bugs! Expand
  46. Steve
    Nov 18, 2002
    7
    Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Not as good as GTA3. Has good points but too many problems such as AI and depth. Is it just me, or does it bother any of you that the main character talks. I preferred the mute main character in GTA3. The music is definitely the high point in this game. You can go in buildings, but who cares? The buildings are useless. Helicoptors are a HUGE plus. Like some of the special places like the Army Air Force Base, the Hyman Colusseum, INSIDE the Washington Beach Police Dept. But, who cares about the jewelry store? Who cares about the record store? Laundrymat?? Big deal.. It has good points, but GTA3 still has a big advantage over this game. I can't call this the best game ever, and if you break down the game and critically review it instead of buying into the hype, you will find its good, but NOT the best game ever. Expand
  47. BobSixtyniner
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    This game is the best version of grand theft auto that has come out of rockstar since the first gta game. The only problem that i have with the game is that there are to many cops. You commit one crime and there is a oinker on your back.
  48. PerkolatorI.J.
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    Hey Adam J. boy, you're a smart ass (more ass than smart, actually) dunno what u have been playing, I have played this game extensively and still to see some mayor glitches. Does it have some camera/polygon clipping? yep, but every other 3D game out there has it too, so what's new, as for floor textures??? what? they have never dissapeared to me yet, you sure you playing the Hey Adam J. boy, you're a smart ass (more ass than smart, actually) dunno what u have been playing, I have played this game extensively and still to see some mayor glitches. Does it have some camera/polygon clipping? yep, but every other 3D game out there has it too, so what's new, as for floor textures??? what? they have never dissapeared to me yet, you sure you playing the proper game and not a dodgy copy or what, this game Rocks. Big Time. Collapse
  49. Joe
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    When I first played this game, I was shocked in the detail of killing there is, cause I never had the pleasure of playing GTA 3. Vice City is by far the best game ever! Buy It.
  50. Brian
    Dec 27, 2002
    9
    Lots of upgrades from GTA3. The missions i think were what made this game great. i would of given it a 10 except for the fact myself and lots of my friends played gta3 constantly and probably got tired of the police chases but for anyone who is new to GTA on the ps2 you'll be amazed.
  51. AbboTTF.
    Dec 31, 2002
    6
    Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't Come'on you mindless retards... sure the game is fun and very free, but do you all have to give it a 10?... The game is nothing besides beating people and car chases (with sub-par driving mechanics nontheless)... Play Gran Tourisimo A-spec or somthing actualy mind-engaging. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game, but I honestly can say that I liked GTA2 better. (I haven't played 3) The cops are dumb... this is a major prob... I stole a tank!...There are 5,000 cop cars and helicopters on my tail... o wait, I can just drive into this little garage and no one will find me... com'on! Expand
  52. KyleK.
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Great game all round, can be improved by having more missions and making them harder.
  53. KyleK.
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Great game all round, can be improved by having more missions and making them harder.
  54. MaxM
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Possibly my favourite game of all time. Dramatic, Funny and the look and feel of the City was breathtaking. If you wanted something to remind you of the 80's you could do much worse then this. There was a huge choice in vehicles and weapons. A great choice in music as well as humorous radio DJ's. Tommy Vercetti was a marvelous character who could create some chemistry between Possibly my favourite game of all time. Dramatic, Funny and the look and feel of the City was breathtaking. If you wanted something to remind you of the 80's you could do much worse then this. There was a huge choice in vehicles and weapons. A great choice in music as well as humorous radio DJ's. Tommy Vercetti was a marvelous character who could create some chemistry between the player and himself. The purchase property was a massive plus, the stroyline never got dull and the gang warfare was awesome. No GTA game has managed to pass the greatness GTA Vice City Achieved. Expand
  55. Oct 11, 2012
    0
    If I'm going to finish Vice City, I'm going to need some painkillers. The only complement I have to give to this game is for the music. Worst combat I've ever tried in a video game, honestly. In addition it consists of terrible camera angles, if there's a guy next to you, you have to start looking around in first person like a moron, because the aim-assist doesn't work from where theIf I'm going to finish Vice City, I'm going to need some painkillers. The only complement I have to give to this game is for the music. Worst combat I've ever tried in a video game, honestly. In addition it consists of terrible camera angles, if there's a guy next to you, you have to start looking around in first person like a moron, because the aim-assist doesn't work from where the camera is placed at any given time. What does it depend on then you ask? The direction the character is facing, which is ridiculous. Which brings me to my next complaint. Why did they bind the aiming to the left analog stick with the rifles, making only the aim-assist weapons like the shotgun bearable, was it their goal to make the controllers dramatically different in comparison to every other game in the world to make it a challenge for all the wrong reasons? I can handle a challenge, but not because of bad controls, that's completely the wrong way to go about it. And the pacing isn't very good either, games should be about applying what you've learned so far as you gradually become better, which is not present here, it's all about successfully bypassing the randomness that is the city. Graphics were superior in GTA 3. the missions feel like doing chores, and honestly I couldn't care less about the story - seems to me some wannabe gangster story for teenagers. You will also find your imminent death right around the corner just because your car happens to flip over, or a cop comes around the corner. Speaking of cops, they are the most aggressive police force in history, if you get stuck with your car you can bet your ass they are going to drive into it in full speed, resulting in it flipping upside down starting to burn immediately, or you can even try running in an attempt to seek for a new car only to find that the only cars are police ones. Unless of course you happen to be close to a Paint Garage where they are watching you from the outside, showing how little emphasis has been put on realism. I recently played Mass Effect 1 which is known to have an inferior combat system to the sequel, but it is nothing compared to this. I can't go past 2 missions without wanting to throw the controller at my brand new TV. Even when I get a Mission Accomplished screen I don't feel like I've accomplished **** and it just so happened that during that particular attempt I didn't have a car hit me from the side when passing an intersection, or that for once the camera angle happened to be pointing at enemies and potential roadblocks. I'd like to meet this fella who came up with the idea to bind the right analog stick to first person scenery, what on earth was he thinking. Trying to go into a alleyway with this camera system is suicide, because you can't see what you're shooting at. I'm 27% into the story and this game is already giving me more headaches than playing through God of War, which is a harder game, but at least when you die you are able to blame yourself - it is not an experience comparable to the coincidental deaths in Vice City. The map is godawful and doesn't show what direction you're heading, which makes me realise this is an old game that hasn't aged very well. If you **** up a mission, most of your time will be spent afterwards doing the exact same thing over and over until you reach the last part of the mission again. It's a waste of time, just let me restart where the challenge starts, it's not a challenge driving to the mission so why would I want to do it all over again? The taxi waiting outside is intended to take care of this problem, but you still have to enter the mission, and then drive to wherever you have to go, leading to myself wasting enormous amounts of spare time. I'm currently stuck on a mission because I didn't run back and save after every successful mission, leading to my character losing his weapons every now and then, and me having to repurchase them. Now I can't afford the properties to move on past mission V, which the game made no effort to inform me of, and I'm left with options like having to drive around in cab to collect hundreds of thousand dollars, which unfortunately is something I'm not willing to do on my spare time. Rockstar's concepts with this game was something along the lines of: Here's a timer for 15 minutes, I see you happened to get the first 14 minutes right and you are now driving over a bridge, we programmed this sequence so that the driver in the opposite lane will now switch lanes so that your car flips through the air and into the water - leading you to die a slow and painful death. We made this decision because lacking remorse, and feel that you should have to play all our missions at least twice, just to make the game appear longer and more "hardcore". Expand
  56. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    One the greatest games ever made for the PS2, and no doubt my favorite Grand Theft Auto game ever made. It is a must by for anyone who likes free-roaming type games with a good Scarface type story-line and lots of weapons and cars.
  57. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    as grand theft auto games go this is my favorite of the series . the best story in the series and you have Ray liotta the man who played henry hill in good fellas the greatest mob movie ever doing the main charicter in this game as tommy gives this game a big hit of personality. the game has a great sound track of 80s music which really helps set the 80s mood of the game. lots moreas grand theft auto games go this is my favorite of the series . the best story in the series and you have Ray liotta the man who played henry hill in good fellas the greatest mob movie ever doing the main charicter in this game as tommy gives this game a big hit of personality. the game has a great sound track of 80s music which really helps set the 80s mood of the game. lots more vehicles have been added and now you can finnaly fly some real plains and helicopters. a huge increase to the gun selection . the missions are alot of fun . the AI is still pretty iffy and the game is abit buggy and glitchy. the game is also pretty hard . i manage to beat the first GTA3 with out codes but i couldnt beat this one even with codes . still its a fun game and i spent alot of time sandboxing this . Expand
  58. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I love the 80s and I love Grand Theft Auto. I cum in my pants when I play this. It's that good. Great soundtrack, great story, great graphics for its time and great gameplay. **** you if you didn't like it when it came out
  59. Oct 3, 2010
    8
    Not as good as GTA III but the whole atmosphere and feel of the era in this game is done superbly and overall this was a fun game, just not as revolutionary as it's predecessor.
  60. Dec 16, 2010
    8
    Compared to GTA III, Vice City SUCKS BALLS!Don't get me wrong is not very bad, but the controls is sometimes awkward, but the action blazes.............again..............Not much to say.......Not bad, but not enough......................
  61. Dec 22, 2010
    4
    I think this game kinda sucks. A lot. The graphics suck too, bad. You can't even see they're emotions. Lamest game on the PS2. Don't buy it. Please just don't buy it.
  62. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Tommy Vercetti, having just been released from a long stint in jail, is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. Unfortunately during his first drug buy he is set up and is left with no money or merchandise. With Sonny demanding his money back and everyone else seemingly wanting him dead Tommy realises his only chance is to take over Vice City himself.

    Grand Theft Auto III may
    Tommy Vercetti, having just been released from a long stint in jail, is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. Unfortunately during his first drug buy he is set up and is left with no money or merchandise. With Sonny demanding his money back and everyone else seemingly wanting him dead Tommy realises his only chance is to take over Vice City himself.

    Grand Theft Auto III may have been the first to take the open world game into 3D but it was Vice City that really took it to its limit. The city itself, based on Miami is, is more vibrant and interesting than any other in the GTA series allowing for hugely diverse missions involving motorbikes, boats, helicopters and even planes. Unlike the most recent outing entertainment, rather than realism, seems to have been the main concern when devising these missions. As the game progresses your impact on the city can really be felt leading to a fantastic finale set within your mansion (think Scarface!).

    A quick mention also for the 1980's soundtrack that has yet to be matched. It features a mix of hilarious talk and music stations featuring the likes of Michael Jackson, Roxy Music and Kate Bush and really adds to the sense that you inhabit a living, breathing world.

    This is the Playstation 2's best game without doubt.
    Expand
  63. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Game play needed polishing. Difficulty spikes untimely in the plot. I like the setting and time period much more than III, and it was one of the funnest games around when it was first released.
  64. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Well, according to what I know, players that were completely "Viced" on Grand Theft Auto 3 fell in love with some new options available on Vice City such as riding a bike for the very first time, new weapons, new environment and lots of new minigames and side missions.
  65. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Honestly, I think GTA 3 is better, but this is still a great game. The missions are varied, the graphics are beautiful for 2002, and its overall fun to play.
  66. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    For me this was superior to GTA3 in every single way. Just like in GTA3 most of the time i was just cruising, listen to music. I loved the ending "boss" reminiscent of scar face. This game IS a must buy.
  67. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Missions, side missions, races, police chases, taxi missions, vigilante missions, firetruck missions, ambulance missions, pizza boy missions, rampages, hidden packages, unique jumps, safehouses, shops, exploration, and, of course, whatever the heck you want!! Pretty much the best video game in the market. The end.
  68. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    an awesome game indeed! i love the gameplay and the radio stations, especially K-Chat! that one had me gut laughing most of the time, anyways i don't like the cops in this game and they are very annoying, for instance, two people are having a brawl and the cop just passes by like nothing is happening, then when i want to beat them up too, the officer turns around and starts beating me withan awesome game indeed! i love the gameplay and the radio stations, especially K-Chat! that one had me gut laughing most of the time, anyways i don't like the cops in this game and they are very annoying, for instance, two people are having a brawl and the cop just passes by like nothing is happening, then when i want to beat them up too, the officer turns around and starts beating me with his stick! :( Expand
  69. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything,When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything, but it blew everyone away. The soundtrack was also sold seperately in a boxed set. It represented the coolest music of the era in all genres. I agree with the many who place Vice City high in the GTA series. Expand
  70. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    while not as good as 3 this game is still a true marvel awesome shooting outrages fun with missions. driving is same as ever but still fun. The character kodels are impressive too still a 10
  71. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    This game is my favorite GTA III Era game. It has style, story and big pack of action. I grew on this game (along with GTA3 and GTA San Andreas). One of the best games EVER.
  72. May 22, 2012
    10
    With great story, great radio stations (including the commercials), great vehicles, all around great sense of style, hilarious characters and great gameplay... this is by far one of the top 5 to have on PS2.
  73. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I cant imagine that its been 10 years since this came out. GTA VICE CITY is a prequel to GTA III and it came out a year after III. There are a few minor improvements in VC than in III but that doesn't change the fact that VC is a masterpiece. The game is a throwback to movies like SCARFACE, CARLITO'S WAY, and the TV show MIAMI VICE because Vice City is based off Miami, like Liberty City isI cant imagine that its been 10 years since this came out. GTA VICE CITY is a prequel to GTA III and it came out a year after III. There are a few minor improvements in VC than in III but that doesn't change the fact that VC is a masterpiece. The game is a throwback to movies like SCARFACE, CARLITO'S WAY, and the TV show MIAMI VICE because Vice City is based off Miami, like Liberty City is based off New York. GTA VICE CITY remains one of my fave games off all time. 10/10 Expand
  74. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    As many people said before "I grew up with this game" so did I. It was amazing how cars got on fire and people head exploded when shot with sniper. "OMG" and boats... oh goood awsome. Was a best game many years ago but for today you cant compare this game with GTA IV ect. So 10/10! Second good GTA after GTA:LONDON :)
  75. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Game is amazing. Great story line, great characters, great all around. The only reason why I did not give it a 10 is because the controls are sometimes suspect. But this is a fun, fun game. If you haven't played it yet, get it on iOS or PSN.
  76. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    i had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I'vei had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I've clocked in over 500+ hours of just free roam into that game and over 50+ into the campaign may the next GTA be just like this one Expand
  77. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Dude, IDGAF what anybody says, Vice City is easily the best Grand Theft Auto game out there. It's just made of complete and total awesome. Throw in the wicked 80's soundtrack and it can't be beat.
  78. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Vice City is a huge improvement over GTA 3 in terms of the open world, characters, vehicles and just about everything else. A real videogame triumph not to be missed.
  79. Dec 16, 2012
    7
    Very good game! One of the best free roaming games ever made. Very good plot, gameplay and graphics. Superb sound and music. Super-recommended, if you like its genre.
  80. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Gta Vice city is yet another master piece from the greatest gaming franchise of all... Rockstar Games. This game is simply amazing with great visuals, a Stella cast of voice actors and immersive storyline this is my personnel favourite GTA. An utter Classic thanks Rockstar.
  81. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best sandbox games ever made. Huge step from GTA III. Looking back and comparing San Andreas and Vice City, Vice City could have used some edge in storyline sometimes. Asset missions interrupts the main story line for a while.
    Cruising in Vice City is allthough one of the best experiences I´ve had while gaming.
  82. May 20, 2014
    9
    Gta III revolution to 3d open world open the door for more real life based games, Vice City improves it's story to the max of it's potential and create realism to the game. The free roaming improves with more detailed graphics than it's predecessor and with a touch of comedy into it. The are decent, bad and awesome at times; great acting from is vivid characters and fun playing itGta III revolution to 3d open world open the door for more real life based games, Vice City improves it's story to the max of it's potential and create realism to the game. The free roaming improves with more detailed graphics than it's predecessor and with a touch of comedy into it. The are decent, bad and awesome at times; great acting from is vivid characters and fun playing it despite that doesn't climb nor swim. This is the best GTA game I ever played 9 out of 10. Expand
  83. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Vice City is pretty much a classic for the PS2. You could say that it's not as revolutionary as GTA III but in terms of gameplay and missions it's unparalleled. This game deserves all the recognition it get's because it's one of the greatest ever.
  84. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    This game is really fun and made me fall in love with sandbox game. GTA Vice City is different form the games before it. Vice City was bright and was heavily based on Scarface the movie. The 80's music makes me enjoy the game that much more, the graphics don't hold up. That's not really the games fault because of where gaming was at the time but it some times takes away from the storyThis game is really fun and made me fall in love with sandbox game. GTA Vice City is different form the games before it. Vice City was bright and was heavily based on Scarface the movie. The 80's music makes me enjoy the game that much more, the graphics don't hold up. That's not really the games fault because of where gaming was at the time but it some times takes away from the story because a character looks like garbage. The game besides how it looks its really fun. The games map is really big, there are a lot of side stuff that will entertain you and will help you get everything. There will never be a moment of boredom as long as you are doing a quest. There are many things that I can say but I will let those who haven't played it have there own experience with this video game classic. Expand
  85. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    The hands down GTA champ of the PS2/Xbox era. Its a giant leap forward from GTA III and much more consistent than GTA SA. There's so much to do and the setting is perfect. 10/10
  86. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    One of the coolest games ever made. The nostalgia is overwhelming and the gameplay is fantastic! This is hands down the best GTA game to play without cheats(If you want to play with cheats, I recommend GTA: San Andreas).
  87. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Todos... De nuevo, TODOS deben haber jugado este juego de tan legendario que es, el primer capítulo de una de las franquicias más poderosas en la historia de los videojuegos: "Grand Theft Auto: Vice City" se ha convertido, para mí en uno de los mejores títulos de la PlayStation 2. Un juego histórico que merece ser alabado por todos hoy, mañana y en generaciones futuras, pues su legado esTodos... De nuevo, TODOS deben haber jugado este juego de tan legendario que es, el primer capítulo de una de las franquicias más poderosas en la historia de los videojuegos: "Grand Theft Auto: Vice City" se ha convertido, para mí en uno de los mejores títulos de la PlayStation 2. Un juego histórico que merece ser alabado por todos hoy, mañana y en generaciones futuras, pues su legado es impresionante, que más se puede decir de este título, sin dudas lo tiene todo. Impresionante labor de Rockstar. Expand
  88. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    in the time this game was released he was the game of all your life,it was the third gta with better graphics and with a lot of famous people dubbing the characters.
  89. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!!
  90. Nov 29, 2014
    9
    "I poke my head out of the gutter for one freakin' second and fate shovels sh*t in my face".

    Ahhh, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, what a pleasure it was to play this game! I had a tremendous amount of fun with this game, from getting laid by a prostitute then beating her to death with my baseball bat just to get my money back! Oh, and extra health! It's a win-win situation! Tommy
    "I poke my head out of the gutter for one freakin' second and fate shovels sh*t in my face".

    Ahhh, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, what a pleasure it was to play this game!

    I had a tremendous amount of fun with this game, from getting laid by a prostitute then beating her to death with my baseball bat just to get my money back! Oh, and extra health! It's a win-win situation!

    Tommy Vercetti, the guy who can survive multiple gun shots and explosions but can't swim... 11/10!

    The soundtrack to this game is amazing! In my honest opinion it's by far one of the best soundtrack that the Grand Theft Auto series has to offer! It even beats GTA V soundtrack (IMHO).

    It was a challenging game, especially the RC Helicopter mission where you have to blow up the building on the construction site, that mission was infuriating! To this day I still have problems completing it first time round!

    I was so excited to find out you could purchase the "Cherry Popper Ice Cream Factory", my first thoughts were, selling ice creams to the people of Vice City would be pretty awesome, that was until I found out it was Coke I was actually selling.

    The game is also full of funny innuendo's, whether you hearing them on the radio, "I just luuuurve the batter all over my face". VCPR (The radio station) is also very funny!

    For a Playstation 2 game, there was a lot you cold do! There's a reason these games have an 18 rating!

    A MUST HAVE game for you collection.
    Expand
  91. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Welcome to Vice City. Welcome to the 1980s. Having just made it back onto the streets of Liberty City after a long stretch in maximum security, Tommy Vercetti is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. They were understandably nervous about his re-appearance in Liberty City, so a trip down south seemed like a good idea. But all does not go smoothly upon his arrival in theWelcome to Vice City. Welcome to the 1980s. Having just made it back onto the streets of Liberty City after a long stretch in maximum security, Tommy Vercetti is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. They were understandably nervous about his re-appearance in Liberty City, so a trip down south seemed like a good idea. But all does not go smoothly upon his arrival in the glamorous, hedonistic metropolis of Vice City. He's set up and is left with no money and no merchandise. Sonny wants his money back, but the biker gangs, Cuban gangsters, and corrupt politicians stand in his way. Most of Vice City seems to want Tommy dead. His only answer is to fight back and take over the city himself. Vice City offers vehicular pleasures to suit every taste. For the speed enthusiast, there's high-performance cars and motorbikes. For the sportsman, a powerboat or a golf buggy lets you enjoy the great outdoors. For those that need that sense of freedom and escape, why not charter a helicopter and see the beauty of Vice City from the air? Expand
  92. May 11, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great atmosphere. One of the best games on ps2. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand
  93. Nov 15, 2017
    8
    Absolute classic!

    So much fun fun time spent on my Xbox Original with this game back in the day. When writing this, I haven't properly played it since 2005-06, probably. I remember the first time I tried it out at a friends house. Mind blown! I had to get it. But I couldn't afford a next gen (back then) at the time. So I had to wait a few years. And oh boy, was it worth the wait! Spent
    Absolute classic!

    So much fun fun time spent on my Xbox Original with this game back in the day. When writing this, I haven't properly played it since 2005-06, probably. I remember the first time I tried it out at a friends house. Mind blown! I had to get it. But I couldn't afford a next gen (back then) at the time. So I had to wait a few years. And oh boy, was it worth the wait! Spent so many hours. And it was a real challenge too for a 14 year old. Only ever managed to finish it the once.

    It has aged a bit, however. The graphics are very off. And the story is a bit unoriginal when you think about it (drawing huge inspiration from 80's cult media such as Scarface and Miami Vice).

    All in all a fantastic game and probably the best of it's era. In 2017 it does not have the same appeal, however. Although it is very playable. Especially from a nostalgic perspective.
    Expand
  94. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Massive Amount Of New Features Sets This Game Miles Apart From Grand Theft Auto III Everything From Interior Locations, The Combat, The Graphics To The Car Handling Has Been Improved Making This Into A Totally Brilliant Game. Expand
  95. Aug 17, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time, great plot, great characters, great acting, great gameplay, all around greatness. Must have game for anybody, not just Grand Theft Auto fans.
  96. Sep 30, 2015
    9
    Do you love movies like Scarface, Carlito's Way and tv shows like Miami Vice? Then you are gonna love this game!

    Grand Theft Auto Vice City is a great improvement over it's predecessor GTA III, not so much in gameplay but in more detailed graphics, more humor and a great soundtrack. Many will agree that this game has the best music (and possibly also graphics) from all GTA games on the
    Do you love movies like Scarface, Carlito's Way and tv shows like Miami Vice? Then you are gonna love this game!

    Grand Theft Auto Vice City is a great improvement over it's predecessor GTA III, not so much in gameplay but in more detailed graphics, more humor and a great soundtrack. Many will agree that this game has the best music (and possibly also graphics) from all GTA games on the PS2.

    As others have said before me, the RC helicopter missions in this game were so very hard. I remember how frustrated I got at trying to finish those missions and I never want to try it again.

    The game has other flaws: it still has the same camera angle problems as GTA III, your character still can't swim or climb, sometimes you're aiming at the wrong person while shooting, cars still burst out in flames much too easy...

    GTA San Andreas (2004) improved on this game with adding the possibility for your character to swim and climb, better camera angle, a multi-player mode...

    For that reason I rate Grand Theft Auto: Vice City 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  97. Sep 29, 2017
    9
    GTA Vice City é de longe um dos melhores ao meu ver. Uma pena que poucas pessoas jogaram ele (em comparação aos outros games). Vice City é a melhor cidade, a mais envolvente. Tommy é um bom protagonista. A história feita pela Rockstar nesse jogo é muito bem produzida. Os gráficos pra época (e pro PS2) são incríveis. A trilha sonora é muito boa e combina com o tempo em que o jogo se passa.GTA Vice City é de longe um dos melhores ao meu ver. Uma pena que poucas pessoas jogaram ele (em comparação aos outros games). Vice City é a melhor cidade, a mais envolvente. Tommy é um bom protagonista. A história feita pela Rockstar nesse jogo é muito bem produzida. Os gráficos pra época (e pro PS2) são incríveis. A trilha sonora é muito boa e combina com o tempo em que o jogo se passa.

    +Campanha incrível
    +Bons gráficos
    +Bom protagonista
    +Trilha sonora combina com seu tempo (e é muito boa)
    +Duradouro, coisa que poucos jogos da época eram

    -TOMMY NÃO SABE NADAR
    -Mapa menor em relação ao antecessor (GTA III)
    Expand
  98. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    GTA: Vice City was such a vast improvement over GTA3. It captured the south FL Miami vibe very well, but with a 80's twist (and beats). It's of smaller scale than GTA: SA and even GTA3, but Vice City has it's own personality that sets it apart from the other entries. You will love the Scarface references (If you've seen the movie)!
  99. Feb 12, 2016
    10
    this game is absolutely brilliant because the characters like lance will be Tommy friend at the start helping him out with fighting out crime and drug deals. the last mission is where lance betrays Tommy in the last mission because his boss asks him for money at the start he was sending the drug package to someone overall i recommend you get this game it awesome.
  100. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    Vice City follows GTA 3 and adds some nice new features to the series. The ability to purchase property and the inclusion of motorbikes were a much welcome addition to the series. Another home run from Rockstar.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
3
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    No excuses, you’re gonna have to buy this. Unless you don’t own a PS2, in which case, get out of our Internet!
  2. 97
    It's enormous, packed with an immense amount of gameplay, and it's a truly unique gameplay experience...This year's most impressive title, by a log shot.
  3. This is a long game, longer than GTA3 because there are far more missions in this game in a far larger area.