User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 602 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 602

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MicahC.
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Totally SICK!
  2. J.Palm
    Nov 9, 2002
    9
    This is the best game ever made. Even better then GTA3. Not only is does this game have over 60 hours of game play while trying to beat the game it also has 50 hour of just messing with the game. Lastly There are major improvements from GTA3 including interiors. Man this game is good.
  3. Idi
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    I spend really beautifull christmas with this game. =] And it is not said that you must kill everybody on your way. ;P
  4. EXXX
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in Anyone who gives this game a bad score has either not played it, or knows nothing about videogames. It is pure gaming bliss and there's an endless amount of things you can do in it. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, is absolutley hilarious, and he's a badass who knows how to handle his guns and cars as well. The gameplay is probably the best gameplay you are going to find in any game on any system. This game is simply brilliant. Everyone already knows its great, so just go out and buy it now. Dont listen to morons giving it 1s and 0s just because they are pissed Vice City is a PS2 exclusive. Expand
  5. DamianM.
    Jan 15, 2003
    9
    The game was really good 10 times better than GTA 3. You can bail out now, and you can buy more hide-outs, it has motorcycles. But There is one BIG PROBLEM YOU CANT SWIM IN THIS GAME.
  6. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    an awesome game indeed! i love the gameplay and the radio stations, especially K-Chat! that one had me gut laughing most of the time, anyways i don't like the cops in this game and they are very annoying, for instance, two people are having a brawl and the cop just passes by like nothing is happening, then when i want to beat them up too, the officer turns around and starts beating me withan awesome game indeed! i love the gameplay and the radio stations, especially K-Chat! that one had me gut laughing most of the time, anyways i don't like the cops in this game and they are very annoying, for instance, two people are having a brawl and the cop just passes by like nothing is happening, then when i want to beat them up too, the officer turns around and starts beating me with his stick! :( Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything,When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything, but it blew everyone away. The soundtrack was also sold seperately in a boxed set. It represented the coolest music of the era in all genres. I agree with the many who place Vice City high in the GTA series. Collapse
  8. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    while not as good as 3 this game is still a true marvel awesome shooting outrages fun with missions. driving is same as ever but still fun. The character kodels are impressive too still a 10
  9. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    This game is my favorite GTA III Era game. It has style, story and big pack of action. I grew on this game (along with GTA3 and GTA San Andreas). One of the best games EVER.
  10. May 22, 2012
    10
    With great story, great radio stations (including the commercials), great vehicles, all around great sense of style, hilarious characters and great gameplay... this is by far one of the top 5 to have on PS2.
  11. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    As many people said before "I grew up with this game" so did I. It was amazing how cars got on fire and people head exploded when shot with sniper. "OMG" and boats... oh goood awsome. Was a best game many years ago but for today you cant compare this game with GTA IV ect. So 10/10! Second good GTA after GTA:LONDON :)
  12. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    i had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I'vei had the ps2 for my entire childhood and this was one of the only games i'd play since i was 6 to the age i am now this game is always my fav its just pure game the cheats are hilarious (i.e flying cars) the graphics are amazing (B***H who the hell cares about graphics) the story was legendary and i craved for more after i was done and the time you can play this for Jesus i think I've clocked in over 500+ hours of just free roam into that game and over 50+ into the campaign may the next GTA be just like this one Expand
  13. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Welcome to Vice City. Welcome to the 1980s. Having just made it back onto the streets of Liberty City after a long stretch in maximum security, Tommy Vercetti is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. They were understandably nervous about his re-appearance in Liberty City, so a trip down south seemed like a good idea. But all does not go smoothly upon his arrival in theWelcome to Vice City. Welcome to the 1980s. Having just made it back onto the streets of Liberty City after a long stretch in maximum security, Tommy Vercetti is sent to Vice City by his old boss, Sonny Forelli. They were understandably nervous about his re-appearance in Liberty City, so a trip down south seemed like a good idea. But all does not go smoothly upon his arrival in the glamorous, hedonistic metropolis of Vice City. He's set up and is left with no money and no merchandise. Sonny wants his money back, but the biker gangs, Cuban gangsters, and corrupt politicians stand in his way. Most of Vice City seems to want Tommy dead. His only answer is to fight back and take over the city himself. Vice City offers vehicular pleasures to suit every taste. For the speed enthusiast, there's high-performance cars and motorbikes. For the sportsman, a powerboat or a golf buggy lets you enjoy the great outdoors. For those that need that sense of freedom and escape, why not charter a helicopter and see the beauty of Vice City from the air? Expand
  14. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    One of the coolest games ever made. The nostalgia is overwhelming and the gameplay is fantastic! This is hands down the best GTA game to play without cheats(If you want to play with cheats, I recommend GTA: San Andreas).
  15. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!! OH MY GOD 10/10!!!!!
  16. GabrielL.
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    Its the most fun I had on the PS2. Graphix not perfect, but the game is. :)
  17. VilleJ.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    This is my life but moral way this game is dangerous to children brains.
  18. GregT.
    Jun 15, 2003
    9
    This game is a superbly twisted, and wonderfully sick example of the next generation of games to come. GTA-VC Let's you interact,Go anywhere,and Do anything you could possibly imagine. P.S. Need's some improvements on Graphics; like distance, Fire, Wheels, That red sunglare is totaly useless. lightning "Bolts" would be nice. Even better if the bolts hit stuff, I'm looking This game is a superbly twisted, and wonderfully sick example of the next generation of games to come. GTA-VC Let's you interact,Go anywhere,and Do anything you could possibly imagine. P.S. Need's some improvements on Graphics; like distance, Fire, Wheels, That red sunglare is totaly useless. lightning "Bolts" would be nice. Even better if the bolts hit stuff, I'm looking foward to GTA-LA, or GTA-Hawii Expand
  19. JustinM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    9
    Motorcycles and lots more sports car is cool, but the story is not as good as gtaIII. Like them both the same.
  20. SWEETGAME
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Everyone who said that vice city was lame can go suck an Xbox. This was the greatest GTA game, even better than VCS, and is so vivid. the only downsides are no multiplayer and you need your parents to purchase it with you. crap. But still a fricken good game. The second best series ever on ps2, right after SOCOM us navy seals series.
  21. MatthewCool
    Aug 5, 2009
    10
    it is very good id play it over and over again better than gta3 much like scarface (the shootouts) miami vice(cops in sports cars) and other stuff like great 80s music and the mission might get very annoying but the game is makes it fun nonetheless
  22. VirtualOn
    Nov 22, 2002
    9
    Vice City is the most cohesive and convincing game environment ever conceived. GTA:VC is so lovingly crafted, from the inspired celebrity voice acting to the embarrasingly complete soundtrack, that Rockstar North should be very proud of they're newest baby.
  23. SianH.
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    This game is the best. It's a lot better than gta 3.
  24. BrandonB.
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    I give this game a 10, but like CHris H. said, it does need to be harder. But other than that, this is a bad game!!!
  25. ChrisO.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    Other game makers need to learn from this game. this should be the steping stone to a hole new way we play games. Can't wait to see if they can get better.
  26. MartinA.
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    You suck Kevin B! This game rocks.
  27. TommyV.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    I just played this game at my cousins house for about 3 hours. I would give it a ten just because they added motorcycles! It's almost funny when you hit something on one, almost. It has many great aspects I have not seen to the full yet. You can buy buildings?! I do not exactly know what the point of that is yet. One thing I cannot understand, why can't the main character swim?! I just played this game at my cousins house for about 3 hours. I would give it a ten just because they added motorcycles! It's almost funny when you hit something on one, almost. It has many great aspects I have not seen to the full yet. You can buy buildings?! I do not exactly know what the point of that is yet. One thing I cannot understand, why can't the main character swim?! It would not take much coding or animation at all, and makes the game more realistic. Anyone who does not give this movie a ten is smokin crack! Please E-mail me at toolband515@yahoo.com if you know of any unique or special motorcycles! Expand
  28. EricS.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    This game has broken new ground in open-ended gameplay, in a series that had already broken a ton of it. If you haven't gone out and purchased this yet (assuming you can find a copy!), I have no idea what you're waiting for.
  29. K.L.
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    This is a sweet game, and very fun.
  30. Alon
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    This game is so freaking awesome! Flying helicopters is so awesome along with the ability to own buildings and businesses.
  31. The8thDragon
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    The most grousome game that's been created---Brilliant.
  32. Floop
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    This game is THE BOMB!!!!POP!
  33. MattK.
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever.
  34. RyanF.
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    If i could pick 1 game in the whole intire world it is this 1.
  35. Rossjudge
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    It is very good to play.
  36. ShayneA.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Its the best especially with the smart ass comments and the pootang involved in the film studios.
  37. JAKEL.
    Mar 20, 2004
    9
    A good game ... but not as good as III in terms of storyline.
  38. khgui9g
    May 1, 2004
    10
    ITS COOL AS SH.T.
  39. G.H.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    It is simply yhe best game ever played. it is way better than gta 3.
  40. JohnG.
    May 4, 2005
    9
    A must have for any gamer.
  41. Mobius
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Vice City's best asspect has got to be its music and the introduction to vehicles that fly, being able to fly over Vice city just add another level to the game, you can now pick this game up in the bargain bins for less than a price of a PS2 magazine (I got mine for £3.99), for £30 if you shop around you can get Liberty Citys Story's, Vice City and San andreas, this Vice City's best asspect has got to be its music and the introduction to vehicles that fly, being able to fly over Vice city just add another level to the game, you can now pick this game up in the bargain bins for less than a price of a PS2 magazine (I got mine for £3.99), for £30 if you shop around you can get Liberty Citys Story's, Vice City and San andreas, this is the best time to own a PS2 as the games for them are now dirt cheap which makes all these game worth that bit more. Expand
  42. ApocalypseB.
    Oct 29, 2006
    9
    Vice City is a superb game, no doubt! The Scarface theme and the era is as golden as the storyline and the comical radio broadcasts. But the area, lack of decent stunt chances and things to do within it are limited compared to San Andreas, thus making the latter a much better game. But VC has better graphics than SA and for me, is still a fanastic game to play for an hour if you get stuck Vice City is a superb game, no doubt! The Scarface theme and the era is as golden as the storyline and the comical radio broadcasts. But the area, lack of decent stunt chances and things to do within it are limited compared to San Andreas, thus making the latter a much better game. But VC has better graphics than SA and for me, is still a fanastic game to play for an hour if you get stuck on SA. Now for Bully! Expand
  43. HenrikS.
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Great game, fun and addictive.
  44. ClintT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    This is a brilliant, humorous satire in much the same vein as other GTA games. It owes a lot to films such as Scarface (similar plot and a couple of the shootouts in Vice City are similar to the final hurrah of Tony Montana as well as countless other references) and Carlito
  45. JamesD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    The most beautiful GTA game I've ever played. When I first saw the original trailer with Kool & the Gang's hit track Summer Madness, I thought this game was absolutely gorgeous. The experience is thoroughly entertaining and whilst it retains most of the textures and animations of GTA III but it is a much grander experience overall.
  46. ssseeeeeee
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! Best PS2 game for sure! Wish they would make some kind of a remake from this, or new game from the same setting.
  47. *Chris**Faz*
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    It has greatly improved since GTA 3 and has much better gameplay. Overall it's Fantastic.
  48. TimoK.
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    The best game ever!!!!!
  49. MatthieuR.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Splendid improvement over the already fabulous GTA3. The only gripes I have are the clumsy control when on foot, some crappy camera angles, and a few annoyingly frustrating RC missions (bomb the Cubans anyone?).
  50. JasonA.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Awesome.
  51. ryanb
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    I have one thing to say... Pure Genius!!!! That douchebag that gave it a 5 and loves Metroid prime has a small penis. There is no other explantion. I hate him. I wish he was walking and a large puertorican rapes hmi the ass on his way home. This is the best game ever. No doubt. except halo, and nothing. Once again i hate him.
  52. HeatherP.
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    This is the best game I evered played in my hole life this is the best thank you for making it!!
  53. MattR.
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    There goes all my free time, my social life, and everything else I needed to spend time on... This game is pure crack, and definitely improves on the original. I'd like to see tweaked controls and better graphics, but's it's brilliant as is.
  54. ElSteve-o
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    If you dont own it, go buy it immediately. Its even BETTER than GTA 3!
  55. TomS.
    Nov 7, 2002
    9
    Awsome game!! Great graphics.
  56. JohnE.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Amazing story line, the best voice work and overall audio in gaming to date, more cars and weapons and on top of all that you can buy businesses to set up your own mob family, and make more money of course. You can actually, as crazy as it sounds, "live" as the character.
  57. LarryS.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    GREAT game!! Better than GTAIII, This game ranks beter than a 10+++. MUST HAVE GAME for the GTA fan.
  58. JonathanR.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    This game is one of the best and most fun games I have ever played.
  59. Nchw
    Dec 28, 2002
    10
    This is a game of exceptional quality. Apart from the loading times this would have to be one of the defest games i have ever played. Buy this game immediately or i will eat your children.
  60. The7thDragon
    Dec 31, 2002
    9
    I love GTA3. I love Vice City, but unfortunatly i found some bugs in Vice City which made me give it a 9. The first annoying flaw i found in the game was the fact that it kept taking mi guns. ex- I finished a mission i forgot which one and i got that machine gun that u use in the helicopter. I kept it but by the time i was half way done with the 2nd Island the game took that gun and all I love GTA3. I love Vice City, but unfortunatly i found some bugs in Vice City which made me give it a 9. The first annoying flaw i found in the game was the fact that it kept taking mi guns. ex- I finished a mission i forgot which one and i got that machine gun that u use in the helicopter. I kept it but by the time i was half way done with the 2nd Island the game took that gun and all the moltov cocktails i saved up for a "block party from hell" :) anyway that was one flaw and another was the fact mi friend found a error were he could walk through cirtin buildings. Besides these issuse and the lame helicopter controls i love the game. The musics good the play control is good and the missions just make the game even funner. I highly recomend this 2 anybody who is not a big religious/moral person. ENJOY EVERY1! Expand
  61. SeanF.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made, just like hitman 2.
  62. ChrisR.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    One word...damn!
  63. TonyG.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    Great game, i'll tell you about it but first i have to go sell some drugs, beat up a pimp, screw his ho, rob a food chain, steal a helicopter, get me a boat, a car of any choice, kill a pig, and then come back to my pornographic studio where i can tell you more about this game of my life!
  64. AdamL.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Best game ever. I thought GTA3 was the best, but after 9 straight hours with it. It has improved in every way.
  65. JerryT.
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    First thing i have to say is that Adam J. is stupid because the floor dissappears in gta3 too. the only reason the game glitches sometimes is because of how large this game is. And for the cars can u just tell me can u get a motorbike or dirt bike or helicopter or different kinds of boats other than that cop one? yea i thought not so do rate a game u dont noe anything about.
  66. BrandonH.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Just plain and simple- truly and awesome game. None better.
  67. MTBones
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Did rockstar do better than GTA:III with Vice City. I think so!!!
  68. SwedenS.
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    Gr8.
  69. JasonP.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    Dq Bomb!
  70. ZiggyStardust
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    Granted the graphics are barely improved over GTA3s, but it's just what everyone wanted. All new missions, great design, and slight gameplay improvements here and there.
  71. JonathanF.(Therevisedvote)
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This game rules. As Tommy Vercetti you can do whatever the hell you want and still just drive into a car service joint to erase any record of the crime ever happening. It's like ... not the Godfather of PS2 games (that honour goes to GTA 3) but instead more like the Don. If GTA3 was Gran Turismo 3, then this would be GT Concept. Not quite as good as GTA3, but as a spin-off of the GTA This game rules. As Tommy Vercetti you can do whatever the hell you want and still just drive into a car service joint to erase any record of the crime ever happening. It's like ... not the Godfather of PS2 games (that honour goes to GTA 3) but instead more like the Don. If GTA3 was Gran Turismo 3, then this would be GT Concept. Not quite as good as GTA3, but as a spin-off of the GTA series it does more than merely keep you occupied until GTA4 comes out ... it really takes over your life. Long live Tommy! Expand
  72. JeffH.
    Jan 14, 2003
    9
    A solid, likeable game. The graphics are a liitle choppy and blury, and the blood looks fake, but other thatn that it's a fun game. It includes new features upgrading gta3. I would be really impressed if they came out with a multiplayer gta.
  73. EltonP.
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and The things missing in GTA3 were added in GTA:VC. I would've given GTA3 a 9 because of a few minor gripes I had but now that they've been improved in GTA:VC I have no more gripes! The graphics are smoother (not the best of course, but better), the missions are creative, and effects are spectacular, the AI has gotten a little smarter, the vehicles have gotten a wider range and better look, and the radio is truly representative of the 80s. If you only get one game for the PS2, it has to be this! I expected another GTA3 with the same missions again but I was completely caught off guard! Expand
  74. JoyH.
    Feb 15, 2003
    10
    Great Game. Better Than GTA3.
  75. JakeS.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    The best ever how can you think its not. Sure the missions are short but they are exciting and hard but not impossible to beat. The huge detailed city, the girls, and bad dude attitude give this game an all time greatness.
  76. TedG.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    This is a sexy game it is hard but assome.
  77. JackM.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    THE BEST game i own. the graphics are brilliant and the swearing is hilirious. the radio is funny especially rusty browns ring doughnuts. basically the balls of a game.
  78. GiancarloS.
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    Sometimes U play video games...but this one it´s an adventure, I got GTAIII and never occured to me they could top it, Rockstar outdid them selves, I´ve played Video games since Atari but this is the best game ever, in depth, fun and attitude...if you only own one game let it be this one.
  79. GannonC.
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    I liked the strip club the most. This is the best thing ever invented since the TV.
  80. TaHawk
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Clean game.
  81. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    Same game mechanics as GTA 3. That's a good thing. Helicopters and motorcycles have been added. 80's music and feel done very well. Its a bit shorter than GTA 3, and I thought that the missions in GTA 3 were a bit better. However, this game is one of the best video games ever. Period. I give this a 10 because I can't give it a 9.9. GTA 3 got a 10 and deserved all of it.
  82. DiabloStallion
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    If I could only play one game for the rest of my life this would be the one!!!!!!
  83. JacanP.
    May 15, 2003
    10
    It is very fun to find out the many different buildings you can buy and the stripper club actually makes you money if you go to the part that you pay 3$ every game hour a hole bunch.
  84. JoshF.
    May 2, 2003
    10
    That game rockes you can get the hoes in your car.
  85. BamesBitch
    Aug 18, 2003
    9
    Life is meaningless after completion........they say there will be a sequel but how far away is that?......(sigh)...
  86. NunuB.
    Sep 12, 2003
    9
    This game is good but has too many glitches.
  87. ChaddS.
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    What can you say about this game except that it is so damn good. I mean look at it, the graphics may not be up to scratch but thats not what matters,the game itself is fantastic no doubt about it.I would reccomend it to anyone.
  88. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    Spanish Comment: Asi deberian ser todos los juegos de Play2.. largos, interesantes, buenas graficas, buen sonido, con multiples posibilidades... De lo mejor... sino lo tiene en su bibioteca de juegos es imperdonable...
  89. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    A really good, fun mafia game.
  90. PIRANHAg.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    Quality´s back!!!!
  91. JohnB.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    Absolutely fantasic , 1 of da best.
  92. SlamDunk
    May 25, 2004
    10
    What is wrong with the reviewers these days? I mean, giving a maximum score of 8/10 to a game that is fun, original and has practically endless replay value (for example in one review, "lifespan = 8/10", now, that is just plain wrong). One thing I have noted in the reviews goes something like "TrackMania does not require so much driving skills and is not a racing game but mainly a track What is wrong with the reviewers these days? I mean, giving a maximum score of 8/10 to a game that is fun, original and has practically endless replay value (for example in one review, "lifespan = 8/10", now, that is just plain wrong). One thing I have noted in the reviews goes something like "TrackMania does not require so much driving skills and is not a racing game but mainly a track building/puzzle game"...erm, hello? Yeah, there's puzzles and track building but in the heart of TM there is a true racing game and it is all about driving skills. Also... TrackMania is a game where the graphics are not so important. Graphics suit the gameplay very well, no complaints. The gameplay, on the other hand, is what really matters and it is simply superb. To me, online play is the heart of TrackMania. It's all about having fun and enjoying the tracks that people make. Expand
  93. ZacM.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    Best Game ever!!!! People who think not they must be crazy becuz they have no common sense. Must Buy!!!
  94. Y.C.
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    If i could i would give VC an 11.The freedom to do whatever you want, plus a compelling storyline and levels, awesome graphics and game play make this game better than GTA 3.
  95. ArseniyK.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games for ps2.good graphics, great gameplay, and so fun youll be playing it for hours! this deserves a 20!!!
  96. MikeS.
    Feb 5, 2005
    9
    After playing all the way through San Andreas, it becomes obvious that Vice City is the better game. Sure, it lacks a lot of great new features, but Vice City just feels like a perfect game, which Andreas doesn't.
  97. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    I absolutely know that San Andreas is a better game, but when it comes to the music and storyline, Vice City burns San Andreas. Oh yeah, if you have not played San Andreas and play Vice City, you will worship a video game to the fullest.
  98. KickA.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Hands down this is the second best gta game (next to san andeas of course) It kicks the crap out of gta 3 cuz you can basically do anything ANYTIHNG you want to. The only reason that its not as good as san adreas is cuz the city is a little bit smaller and the graphics arent as good. Oh and i agree the music is kick a.s! (compared to all the other music in this series. the best thing Hands down this is the second best gta game (next to san andeas of course) It kicks the crap out of gta 3 cuz you can basically do anything ANYTIHNG you want to. The only reason that its not as good as san adreas is cuz the city is a little bit smaller and the graphics arent as good. Oh and i agree the music is kick a.s! (compared to all the other music in this series. the best thing about this game is being able to jack stuff that can fly, helicopters are the best mode of transpertation by far...) $ TIGHT GAME $ Expand
  99. [anonymous]
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    youd have to be a complete idiot to say that this game is better than san andreas. while i liked the setting it in no way surpasses the story line of san andreas, its not as big, theres way less things to do after the main story, the setting isnt as varied or robust, you cant swim etc. the story in this game is good but it just doesnt match up. this is a 9 but san andreas is a 10, its youd have to be a complete idiot to say that this game is better than san andreas. while i liked the setting it in no way surpasses the story line of san andreas, its not as big, theres way less things to do after the main story, the setting isnt as varied or robust, you cant swim etc. the story in this game is good but it just doesnt match up. this is a 9 but san andreas is a 10, its just the truth Expand
  100. Munkee
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    I would give it 100 but u people wont let me this game is alot better then gta3 it has new features and everything like i said this is good.
  101. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything,When this game came out there was no such thing as flying a helicopter over a sprawling city in any other video game. There was no such thing as a rich and funny storyline stretched over a diverse and exciting city. Today, you may have seen better, but Vice City truly openend up for a bigger kind of gaming back then. I was very sceptic that a new "spin" on GTA III could be worth anything, but it blew everyone away. The soundtrack was also sold seperately in a boxed set. It represented the coolest music of the era in all genres. I agree with the many who place Vice City high in the GTA series. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    No excuses, you’re gonna have to buy this. Unless you don’t own a PS2, in which case, get out of our Internet!
  2. 97
    It's enormous, packed with an immense amount of gameplay, and it's a truly unique gameplay experience...This year's most impressive title, by a log shot.
  3. This is a long game, longer than GTA3 because there are far more missions in this game in a far larger area.