Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Keep in mind though that the sole focus of this game is on the battle elements, which, for most people, should be good news.
  2. High time demands put on the gamer by the "no saves in dungeons" design... won't bother hardcore fans but may tax the patience of the more casual fan.
  3. 75
    I could only recommend the Xtreme version of the series to diehard Game Arts fans and hyper active fantasy guys who have more than their fair share of free time.
  4. I liked the battle system, and the magic scheme was much more robust than I expected, but in the end this game came off as little more than an RPG that tried to be epic, but fell short. [Nov 2002, p.126]
  5. A Grandia worth playing, it just fails to reach that level of Square.
  6. Approach it clinically, and you'll dig Xtreme's versatile, well-designed skill and magic systems. [Nov 2002, p.283]
  7. 70
    Beyond the fantastic gameplay on the battlefield, Grandia Xtreme doesn’t offer a complete RPG package.
  8. Even the most basic encounter requires loads of strategy. [Nov 2002, p.184]
  9. It is a dungeon crawl, plain and simple, though thinly masked behind a veil of role-playing icing. If you enjoy character building, combat, and dungeon exploring, then this game is a "can't miss" for your collection.
  10. Unfortunately, while they are GrX’s greatest trait, the battles are also GrX’s biggest weakness. The problem is there are simply too many of them.
  11. 68
    The combat system is definitely one of the best I've played with, but that's all there is. If you want character development, or even characters who aren't one-dimensional, go elsewhere.
  12. 67
    Grandia Lite. Nothing more, nothing less. [Nov 2002, p.75]
  13. There's not much plot development, and more importantly, the gameplay has numerous shortcomings.
  14. The game does teeter on the monotonous for much of the adventure, with little or no payoff in terms of stoyline or character development. [Nov 2002, p.38]
  15. The game's battles are simply the best in the turn-based bunch...Oh, how I wish this game was more polished outside of the battles. [Nov 2002, p.85]
  16. An essentially generic nature is why Grandia Xtreme winds up being such an empty experience overall.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    6
    I love this game, but it suffers severely from (generally) poor voice acting and editing work, an uninspired story, and somewhat poor English script.

    This story of this game literally benefits from being a dungeon crawler due to the large amount of combat and exploration between story scenes. The combat system is exceptional. It focuses on a fairly standard gauge that characters will move across until they hit their turn. Once you make your choice of action, your character will charge it. Basic attacks and defending/moving will begin immediately, while magic and most specials will have to charge for a short time. What sets this game apart is that getting hit will slow or sometimes even push back an enemy's action. In addition there is an effect called "cancel" that you can trigger with some specials and criticals (one of your two types of basic attacks) that will push an enemy charging an action back to waiting for their turn.

    If you can ignore ten or twenty minutes of terrible plot for every two or so hours of exceptional exploration and classic but well aged gameplay I highly recommend this game. Otherwise stay very far away.
    Full Review »
  2. ERB
    Jul 24, 2013
    6
    Cool but story bad! Full Review »
  3. JustinM.
    Dec 16, 2005
    5
    I remember very much looking forward to this game when I first heard of it. Eventually the time came when it finally came out and I bought it and put it in my PS2. It seemed pretty good at first then it slowly went down hill. I found out it was just a dungeon crawler and not like the previous Grandia's. One of the things I hated were the very repetitive dungeons and battles. The story I barely remember and I did beat it but it was average. Another one of the things I hated the most is there were only TWO towns and I love exploring all the towns in the previous games and talking to all the people. I rate this as a very average dull game. Full Review »