Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80s Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fans can once again whip out their Gibson-shaped SG guitar controllers and shred to their favorite rock tracks. PS2-exclusive Guitar Hero: Rocks the 80s features retro rock venues and hipster characters, unlockable guitars, intense game play modes, and most importantly 30 awesome new songs to experience the ultimate rock star fantasy. The list of finger-melting tracks includes: I Wanna Rock (by Twisted Sister), I Ran (by Flock of Seagulls), Round and Round (by Ratt), I Want Candy (by Bow Wow Wow), Metal Health (by Quiet Riot) Holy Diver (by Ronnie James Dio) and Heat Of The Moment (by Asia). [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 50
  2. Negative: 4 out of 50
  1. 90
    It's a lot of (very familiar) fun, but like an overpriced concert t-shirt, there's no escaping the feeling that it's not quite the value it looked when enthusiasm had free reign over your wallet.
  2. 80
    If you're just looking for new songs to play, you should probably just wait for more downloadable tracks to hit the 360 version.
  3. In spite of all these shortcomings, this is still Guitar Hero and the formula still works - this remains one of the best games ever for anyone who has ever thought even for one second that it would be cool to be a rock star (i.e.: everyone). Just be sure to check out the song list if you weren't around to hear this stuff the first time.
  4. 70
    Rocks the 80s feels like it was slapped together with as minimal an effort as possible. A $50 price tag only adds insult to injury, as it's arguable whether it's even worth half that price.
  5. Not only does "Guitar Hero II" feature ten more songs, but Encore copies off its predecessor, retaining its venues, characters (they feature 80s style) and the loading screen. For $49.99, we expected more than just a simple expansion pack.
  6. With Harmonix moving on to the extremely ambitious Rock Band and Neversoft taking over the Guitar Hero reigns, it’s sad to see the series’ creators bow out of their own creation with such a purposefully half-arsed effort.
  7. Here's a dumb idea: rushing an expansion by regurgitating nearly all of the original game and delivering minimal compelling content. Here's a dumber one: charing $10 more than normal so unsuspecting consumers will pad your fiscal third quarter.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    What the is this?? This game is REALLY contagious WHEN I PLAYED!! AND HAS SEVERAL NEGATIVE? Really I am speechless. It's amazing how people do not like this game, I'm wordless now. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    The songs are great. WaveGroup made the their covers sound just a good. The only thing I dislike is that the game cost $50. So, go to Gamestop and find one that is cheap as $20. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews