User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 101
  2. Negative: 6 out of 101

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ErikaJ.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. Guitar Hero II is harder than the first and offers new exciting songs that are even more fun to play than the ones in Guitar Hero. The new characters are awesome; they even updated them to have two different looks! To me the tracks in the second game are more fun to play, but they are not as modern as the ones in the first, like Take Me Out and No One This game is absolutely amazing. Guitar Hero II is harder than the first and offers new exciting songs that are even more fun to play than the ones in Guitar Hero. The new characters are awesome; they even updated them to have two different looks! To me the tracks in the second game are more fun to play, but they are not as modern as the ones in the first, like Take Me Out and No One Knows as opposed to Ziggy Stardust or War Pigs. Which songs are better is a personal preference. I prefer the songs on GH II, my favorite being Miserlou. The songs are also more challenging so that experienced players will enjoy the step up; however, it Expand
  2. ZackH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    This game is great. a lot of the people complain about the track list but even for the bad songs there is a good fun guitar track. and there are some good tracks like war pigs, beast and the harlot, laid to rest and many other rock classics, the graphics are ok but i always said graphics are the least thing to worry about in games. muliplayer is grea for freinds.
  3. DanW.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    This game has an awsome song selection, it needs more modern songs. This game is very fun with friends seeing who can get a better score. I give it a thumbs up
  4. VinceC>
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing and anyone that says otherwise has no idea what they are talking about. The multiplayer was improved sooo much from the first one and personally i think that the songs are better in the second one. I knew 2 or 3 songs from every group and the first 4 groups i knew every single one which made it so much more fun. And after playing for a while you begin to This game is absolutely amazing and anyone that says otherwise has no idea what they are talking about. The multiplayer was improved sooo much from the first one and personally i think that the songs are better in the second one. I knew 2 or 3 songs from every group and the first 4 groups i knew every single one which made it so much more fun. And after playing for a while you begin to like every song, aside from institutionalized and freya(i hate those songs). Even the bonus tracks have a few greats like thunderhorse, gemini, six, and jordan which are all challenging and a lot of fun. Their could be some improvements for the third installment like a pro-faceoff where u dont have to do the same difficulty, and an easier transition from medium to hard would be better. overall i would give this game a 9.8 and it is in my top 5 favorite games of all time. Collapse
  5. bills
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    I have to give this a 10 best game ever, all other games are drink coasters! no but seriously harmonix & crew did the best they could with what they had. it costs real money for actual vocalists to rerecord for the games... and thats for the artists that responded... most bands didnt return the call because they still didnt know what the heck guitar hero even was, let alone know what itI have to give this a 10 best game ever, all other games are drink coasters! no but seriously harmonix & crew did the best they could with what they had. it costs real money for actual vocalists to rerecord for the games... and thats for the artists that responded... most bands didnt return the call because they still didnt know what the heck guitar hero even was, let alone know what it would do to their music/reputation so relax dont overthink this unless youve really read into it! Expand
  6. NoahR.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    New content, features and modes in addition to improved gameplay make an already great game better. Perhaps the greatest music/rhythm game of all time.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    One of the best and most original games of all time. Most of the covers of the songs are absolutely spot on, however there are a couple that are average such as the Foo Fighters Monkey Wrench. The guy who tries to impersonate Dave Grohl doesn't do a very good job and his voice is too deep. Overall, this game is worth every penny and you will not be disappointed!
  8. DaveB.
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    The absolute greatest rythm game ever made.
  9. SethA.
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    This game is totally larry! I mean, it's no Bloody Roar 4, but it's a big improvement over the first game. The first was like being at a John Mayer concert; this one's like being at a Nickelback concert (by the way, why the hell aren't they in the game?! They're one of the frickin biggest bands in the history of rock and roll!!). You see where I'm coming This game is totally larry! I mean, it's no Bloody Roar 4, but it's a big improvement over the first game. The first was like being at a John Mayer concert; this one's like being at a Nickelback concert (by the way, why the hell aren't they in the game?! They're one of the frickin biggest bands in the history of rock and roll!!). You see where I'm coming from? Basically, that just means that while the first one rocked, this one rocks harder than Freddy Kruger, figuritively and literally. Definately one of the best games of the holiday season... at least until Wii Weather Report comes out. Rock on San Diego!! Expand
  10. Mike
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    I beat Freebird on expert the other day, this is such a good game. My only complaint is some of the covers are bad, and all the metal songs get repetitive, other than that, it's one of my all-time favorites. The new co-op is so good, and you can your buddies could play forever. There is also a new typ of head-to-head where both players play the same song, without switching inbetween I beat Freebird on expert the other day, this is such a good game. My only complaint is some of the covers are bad, and all the metal songs get repetitive, other than that, it's one of my all-time favorites. The new co-op is so good, and you can your buddies could play forever. There is also a new typ of head-to-head where both players play the same song, without switching inbetween part, you both just play the same thing, it's also a great time. Personally I didn't find the practice mode to be all that helpful, sure, if you wanna play the Freebird solo without playing the first 4minutes, it's good for that, but other than some select songs I didn't use it to much. The game is consistently harder than the first, but there wasn't a single song on the game that had me playing for 2 hours to figure it out, like Cowboys from hell. You will love this game, no matter what typ of game player you are, Hardcore or casual, it's a must buy, I have yet to see a person who hasn't loved this game. Expand
  11. MikeG.
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    I'm a little biased. I beat every GH1 song on expert (most easily). GH2 is a lot better, more challenge, more options, better gameplay(HO PO).Hard to believe the game was rushed, took a year to release. Please stop complaining about the song list. If you made a game with 55 songs, i'm sure i could find one or two songs i didnt like.
  12. KyleC.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    I definitely have a lot more interest in the 2nd one. There is a larger variety in songs and metal bands that are more up to date..im also more satisfied with the hammer-ons and pull-offs change.
  13. KyleF.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    The single player is not as enjoyable as in the first game and both the regular and extra song lists could be better, BUT the multiplayer is incredible. Also, kudos for improving the hammer-ons and pull-offs. It makes the fast sections SO much easier! And, to J.L...although they didn't write the song, a cover of Van Halen's "You Really Got Me" is on the game. And, a song worse The single player is not as enjoyable as in the first game and both the regular and extra song lists could be better, BUT the multiplayer is incredible. Also, kudos for improving the hammer-ons and pull-offs. It makes the fast sections SO much easier! And, to J.L...although they didn't write the song, a cover of Van Halen's "You Really Got Me" is on the game. And, a song worse than Cherry Pie? Well, "Institutionalized" by Suicidal Tendencies definitely trumps anything else on both games. Expand
  14. BryanMcCann
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    it is pritty much the same as the 360 version with the less graphics. it has may more better songs then the 1st and they did not change much so it still is great. I think this is the only Guitar Hero game I still own. I traded in number 1 and 3 because 3 was just horable and one I got sick of.
  15. TonyG.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Sooooo much fun, while there maybe many songs u dont know you get used 2 them as u play them over and over again. Soon the unfamiliar songs become familiar.
  16. WesleyW.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Guitar Hero was a hellride. When I played Guitar Hero 2 it was a demon hellride. It yelled at me, I yelled at it back. When I was on the road with the Fiasco band I played Guitar Hero 2 to lose weight after the first time I got fat when I went to Rock'n'Roll McDonald's. I told them I am sorry I got fat, I will slim down. Guitar Hero 2 is good for whoopin' that mule Guitar Hero was a hellride. When I played Guitar Hero 2 it was a demon hellride. It yelled at me, I yelled at it back. When I was on the road with the Fiasco band I played Guitar Hero 2 to lose weight after the first time I got fat when I went to Rock'n'Roll McDonald's. I told them I am sorry I got fat, I will slim down. Guitar Hero 2 is good for whoopin' that mule with a belt. It has tremendous replay value and rivals almost all modern games in terms of fun factor. Rock over London! Rock on Chicago! Wheaties! Breakfast of champions! Expand
  17. LarryF.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    The sound quality and covers in this game are actually very good, despite claims others have made here. The parts have been meticulously reproduced and, aside from a couple of songs, are pretty much perfect. I think Nate's problems may be with a defective guitar or lack of skill, but most likely stupidity. If there's a delay in sound you can also correct it in the options menu. The sound quality and covers in this game are actually very good, despite claims others have made here. The parts have been meticulously reproduced and, aside from a couple of songs, are pretty much perfect. I think Nate's problems may be with a defective guitar or lack of skill, but most likely stupidity. If there's a delay in sound you can also correct it in the options menu. But whatever, I guess you can't please everyone. The game must just rock him too hard. Expand
  18. Xavier
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    First, I wanan sya that the G4 TV website gives this game 5/5 stars A.K.A. a 100. So change that score. Second, the covers in this are just as good or better than the original(case in point: Search and Destroy). I like it being harder, but not like Cowboys From Hell hard. There arent as many good bonus song as the last GH(what's wiht all the heavy metal?) This is the most flawlessFirst, I wanan sya that the G4 TV website gives this game 5/5 stars A.K.A. a 100. So change that score. Second, the covers in this are just as good or better than the original(case in point: Search and Destroy). I like it being harder, but not like Cowboys From Hell hard. There arent as many good bonus song as the last GH(what's wiht all the heavy metal?) This is the most flawless game anyone will play for the next decade(except for GH3,4,etc...). Expand
  19. MatthewB.
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    In a world where almost every game is either sports, spy or rpg where you shoot or axe people to death, this game is a breathe of fresh air. I still rent video games about once a week, but I've probably bought one video game in the last five years because I'm bored with them now. This game, however, was an easy decision to spend $80 on because it's so much fun. Like one In a world where almost every game is either sports, spy or rpg where you shoot or axe people to death, this game is a breathe of fresh air. I still rent video games about once a week, but I've probably bought one video game in the last five years because I'm bored with them now. This game, however, was an easy decision to spend $80 on because it's so much fun. Like one reviewer said, unless you hate rock music, you'll love this game. This is the first time my LEGS are sore from playing a video game so much. I have to stand when I'm a rock hero! Expand
  20. FredD.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Every night I go to sleep wishing this game is all life is. I'm... I'm barely human anymore...
  21. ChrisC.
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    This is the best game Ive ever played on the ps2 this game will never get old I give it a 2-thumbs up.
  22. MartyM.
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    The songs aren't the greatest, but the game play if unbeatable, I haven't tried it multi player yet and I've already had tons of fun. Definitely recommended.
  23. MichaelO.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    I was a newbie with Guitar Hero II and loved it, but when I bough Guitar Hero I, it was so much easier to learn.
  24. ThomasP.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    If you like music, play the guitar, or just want to pretend this game is for you.
  25. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    GH 1 proved that the Music genre had a niche and that it could expand in the horizon of games. GH2 was even better than the predecessor and made what it made it good, into a juggernaut in the last couple years. The musics start getting nicer and more taste for more varied ways. Guitar Hero 2 is addicting and fun, but also the best in the GH big list.
  26. Nov 22, 2014
    9
    I love everything about this game, except the hammer-on and pull-off system.

    I am pretty sure that i suddenly miss a note for no reason. I hit the notes at the right timing, but still losing my multiplier and destroys my accuracy stats! It's almost impossible to hit every note on this game when you are strumming very fast, because the game wont register everytime you strum. Overall,
    I love everything about this game, except the hammer-on and pull-off system.

    I am pretty sure that i suddenly miss a note for no reason. I hit the notes at the right timing, but still losing my multiplier and destroys my accuracy stats! It's almost impossible to hit every note on this game when you are strumming very fast, because the game wont register everytime you strum.

    Overall, this is one of my favourite Guitar Hero games ever made. It makes so many good memories.
    Expand
  27. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    An awesome sequel to the first Guitar Hero game. The setlist is really good and filled with songs which most of them covers which some are not really good like the Laid to Rest and the Killing in the Name covers, in my opinion they should've just gotten the masters and censored them instead of covering it. The graphics are good but really didn't change from the first game and theAn awesome sequel to the first Guitar Hero game. The setlist is really good and filled with songs which most of them covers which some are not really good like the Laid to Rest and the Killing in the Name covers, in my opinion they should've just gotten the masters and censored them instead of covering it. The graphics are good but really didn't change from the first game and the difficulty is just right for Hard and Expert so if you want a challenge try those two difficulties, for a 8 year old game it does feel outdated but still a lot of fun to play. Expand
  28. May 30, 2015
    10
    Ahh, so many good memories i made with this game. I loved those animations, the setlist and the career mode. This was a revolutionary game (and Guitar Hero 1 of course), and i am still addicted to the Guitar Hero franchise, especially this game. One thing i don't like about this game, and that is the HOPO-system. You must be Very accurate to hit every note, but you will learn that one day.Ahh, so many good memories i made with this game. I loved those animations, the setlist and the career mode. This was a revolutionary game (and Guitar Hero 1 of course), and i am still addicted to the Guitar Hero franchise, especially this game. One thing i don't like about this game, and that is the HOPO-system. You must be Very accurate to hit every note, but you will learn that one day.

    This is a game i never will forget.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Exceeds the previous title in every way..."Guitar Hero" was a staple of the parties I throw at my house, but it looks like Guitar Hero II has stolen the crown!
  2. The original's head to head multiplayer wasn't vital enough to make the expense worthwhile, but this time the co-op play is so integral to the game's appeal that most will find it irresistible...This is an absolutely stellar release, with too much variety, originality, rewards, and pure fun to even think about missing out on.
  3. You can play any given song at any of four speeds (Normal, Slow, Slower and Slowest), and you have the ability to select what portion(s) of the song you'd like to play. That has proven ridiculously useful as I continue in my Quixotic quest to complete "Free Bird" on Expert.