User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 162

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CaioK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Very creative and very fun to play! No matter if you are a real guitar player or someone who never touched an musical instrument before, you going to love this game! The song selection is awesome! The kind of game that brings anyone
  2. JakeM.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Guitar Hero is a GAME. I am not really sensing an undertone of sarcasm to his review, so we'll just file it away in the Unintentional Comedy drawer. Anyway, I'd buy this game in a second if I could find a copy anywhere - it is sold out just about everywhere, and is going for ridiculous sums on Ebay. I'm sure it will ship again soon, but I need my fix now
  3. JamesH.
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    my ex-girlfriend got addicted to it. Thats an extremely big accomplishment since she wont touch video games with a pointy stick. Nice to see a game that both sexes can find really fun. The songs kick as, even most the indie songs (and there is variety to satisfy most tastes). The only downside is that my guitar's flipper is pretty squeeky and the paint is peeling off of the flipper my ex-girlfriend got addicted to it. Thats an extremely big accomplishment since she wont touch video games with a pointy stick. Nice to see a game that both sexes can find really fun. The songs kick as, even most the indie songs (and there is variety to satisfy most tastes). The only downside is that my guitar's flipper is pretty squeeky and the paint is peeling off of the flipper already. Overall this is a great game. If they make a sequal (which they SHOULD) they should add more gameplay elements to make it more challenging. Expand
  4. S2H.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    On IGN this game beat out 11 other holiday PS2 releases for game of the month. It was the Music/Puzzle game of the year on Gasmespot and made the finalist list for game of the year on a number of sites. This game is pure bliss. Strap on the guitar and you feel like a real star playing all sort of licensed tunes. Do your self a favour and pick up this game. You won't be dissappointed!!!
  5. JoshH.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    This may quite possibly be the best music game ever. It's bad for me because there are always people coming over to play the game in my dorm room. The intricate solos on the harder difficulties will add enough challenge for anybody good at videogames to last a long time. However, with the inclusion of star power, the game allows less skilled players to get through the ridiculously This may quite possibly be the best music game ever. It's bad for me because there are always people coming over to play the game in my dorm room. The intricate solos on the harder difficulties will add enough challenge for anybody good at videogames to last a long time. However, with the inclusion of star power, the game allows less skilled players to get through the ridiculously hard parts and move on. The challenge is always there for anybody who wants it, but it never gets frustrating. It does remain incredibly fun. And on a final note, this game couldn't be any more different from parappa the rappa. It's a little like guitar freaks, but the inclusion of five fret buttons add its own challenge of moving up and down the neck. It certainly is no ripoff, and anyone who claims so has obviously never played the game. Expand
  6. Spoon
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    I finally was able to stop playing it long enough to write a review. This game is amazing. If guitar hero 2 comes with the explorer-style controller, I'll probably cry right there in the store.
  7. JordanG.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Guitar hero is a sleek inovative look on party games. The two player head on head mode is so fun your friend won't want to go home.The two player isn't the only good part of Guitar Hero the single player is also so addictive you wont want to stop until you get every player, every song, and every guitar.since the first DDR came a game has not been so addictive and good that it Guitar hero is a sleek inovative look on party games. The two player head on head mode is so fun your friend won't want to go home.The two player isn't the only good part of Guitar Hero the single player is also so addictive you wont want to stop until you get every player, every song, and every guitar.since the first DDR came a game has not been so addictive and good that it wont let you put it down. guitar hero is by far the best party game ever. I cant wait till Guitar Hero 2 comes out so i can keep on rockin! Expand
  8. JL.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    So fun it is ridiculous.
  9. HopeW.M.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Awesome game for both guitarists and non-guitarist! The covers are amazing, and the gameplay itself is phonominal! The harder stages actually involve some tough hand/eye coordination skill. It's not like playing the real thing, but kicks enough ass that no one should care. A must-have game!
  10. KaiH.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    This is truly one of the best games I've every played.
  11. CathyC.
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    Best ever, and I don't play games.
  12. SalmanHabib
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    @ dan....are u crack or something....I live in Pakistan and i know all these legends...its a shame you dont know 'em....Rap is retarted piece of shit....every song is shame...isnt it irony that your so called ACTUAL MUSIC is not even done by a real music instrument...No synthesizers are no musical instrument...Do urself a favour and start listening to some real music which is played@ dan....are u crack or something....I live in Pakistan and i know all these legends...its a shame you dont know 'em....Rap is retarted piece of shit....every song is shame...isnt it irony that your so called ACTUAL MUSIC is not even done by a real music instrument...No synthesizers are no musical instrument...Do urself a favour and start listening to some real music which is played by any real instrument....and yea the phrase goes like this....Is its not on MTV its definitely must be worth listening...Btw this game is awesome... Expand
  13. CaptainP.
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    Most addictive game ever! I play guitar and have a blast every time I pop this game in my PS2. The tunes are awesome, the gameplay is challenging on upper levels, and getting up and jamming a la Dimebag Darrel (RIP) is more fun than you can have with a stick. I definitely wasn't bothered by the fact that the controller isn't a real guitar. Whoever has stupid comments about that Most addictive game ever! I play guitar and have a blast every time I pop this game in my PS2. The tunes are awesome, the gameplay is challenging on upper levels, and getting up and jamming a la Dimebag Darrel (RIP) is more fun than you can have with a stick. I definitely wasn't bothered by the fact that the controller isn't a real guitar. Whoever has stupid comments about that should think twice when they pick up a game like Gran Turismo. Did you notice you're not driving a real car then, dummy? And for everyone's information...Nickelback/Three Doors Down/Staind isn't rock...it's just...terrible. Please keep them out of future versions of the game. Long live the Ramones! Expand
  14. JimmusMaximus
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Absolutely the most fun and addictive game I have EVER played. Brilliant in its simplicity and execution, yet deceptively difficult on later songs and difficulty levels. EBGames and Best Buy should give me a commission for all the new players I've hooked on this game; some of whom bought a Playstation 2 just to play it. I am amused, however, by the "center-of-My-universe" rants by JimAbsolutely the most fun and addictive game I have EVER played. Brilliant in its simplicity and execution, yet deceptively difficult on later songs and difficulty levels. EBGames and Best Buy should give me a commission for all the new players I've hooked on this game; some of whom bought a Playstation 2 just to play it. I am amused, however, by the "center-of-My-universe" rants by Jim and Dan - whose tastes in music seem limited to what's on the radio currently or within the last 10 years. Ah, teenhood. I can see myself in a similar argument with my father, "Frank Sinatra? Who's that? I haven't heard of him, therefore he's lame." Granted, it's a silly plastic guitar; granted, they're not all recent hit songs (or even songs I'd normally enjoy); granted, you won't really learn to play the guitar. But unless you're hoping for Rap Hero, or Pop Star Hero, you'll have a great time. You other kidlings, put down the plastic guitar, and resume your Pokemon/Dragonball Z gaming. Expand
  15. VahndD.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    very best musical game i've ever played. perfect songs, great harmony. Johnny T must thinking twice before said it's a bad game. the character is similiar with some guitarists like izzy stradlin (ex.GNR), nikki sixx (otley crue). the best of this game is the songs. that's it. don't think about graphic or other copy cat game they said before. Feel the rythms and the songs.
  16. WO
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    One of the most fun PS2 games that I've ever played.
  17. DemonicAngel
    Apr 9, 2006
    9
    Let's get a couple of things out of the way first. Playing this game isn't all that much like playing a real guitar, and you shouldn't hold that against it. Unless you're a guitar snob, in which case you can just go back to fiddling with your instrument, thanks. What Guitar Hero is, though, is massive heaps of fun. The song choice is excellent, taking in classic rock Let's get a couple of things out of the way first. Playing this game isn't all that much like playing a real guitar, and you shouldn't hold that against it. Unless you're a guitar snob, in which case you can just go back to fiddling with your instrument, thanks. What Guitar Hero is, though, is massive heaps of fun. The song choice is excellent, taking in classic rock anthems like Deep Purple's "Smoke On The Water", nu-metal tracks such as White Zombie's "Thunder Kiss 65", heavy metal like Black Sabbath's "Iron Man"... the list is excellent and I daresay most people will find at least a couple of tracks they like. The difficulty seems well-judged, starting with fairly simple single notes and changes on the easier tracks in Easy mode, all the way up to quick chord changes and difficult solos on the hardest tracks in Expert. The game seems to concentrate on rewarding skilful play, rather than imposing harsh penalties for mistakes like is often seen in rhythm games. I've noticed people giving this a low score simply because Guitar Freaks used this concept first, and I think that's hardly fair. If Konami couldn't see that GF had a market outside Japan, that's their problem. I, for one, enjoy posturing to rock anthems with an idiot grin on my face, and can wholeheartedly recommend Guitar Hero to anyone who feels the same. Expand
  18. [Anonymous]
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Simply the best music game ever!! The songs selection is amazing... Oooooh Come On!
  19. Nathan
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    The best interactive game since DDR.
  20. RobertO.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Best game ever created they should come out wit a thousand more like it.
  21. JoeM.
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Of all the games I've ever played, this probably has the most hours clocked into it (except CounterStrike, but I prefer to forget that period of my life). I love music games like BeatmaniaIIDX, DDR, ITG, PiP, Pop'n, etc and I gotta say this one is my favorite. For one it has tolerable music that range from classic rock songs to little known indie songs as secret unlockables. And Of all the games I've ever played, this probably has the most hours clocked into it (except CounterStrike, but I prefer to forget that period of my life). I love music games like BeatmaniaIIDX, DDR, ITG, PiP, Pop'n, etc and I gotta say this one is my favorite. For one it has tolerable music that range from classic rock songs to little known indie songs as secret unlockables. And it is almost all awesome (Farewell Myth is terrible, though). Cream, Ozzy, Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Blue Oyster Cult, and then even groups like Audioslave, Franz Ferdinand, and Queens of the Stone Age represent rock in its various forms. It isn't prohibitively hard, but it isn't easy at the higher levels of play. I would reccomend you keep moving on and not focus on getting the best ratings possible on the first playthrough on any difficulty. The only person I know who doesn't like it thinks its cooler to play music games on a standard controller rather than a speaciallized peripheral. Don't listen to the guitar elitists that say you should pick up a real guitar. Its a god damn game. You don't tell someone to join the military when they are playing an FPS (unless it is Americas Army). But don't be surprised if you end up picking up the guitar anyway. I certainly did. Expand
  22. CandlerF.
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    This is the best game ever. I can't wait until the release of GUITAR HERO 2 comes out on November!
  23. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Fun, cool, and the best party game ever, presuming your friends like to play video games at a party.
  24. IanM.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This all my co-workers do at lunchtime every day. Totally excellent, great for non-gamers.
  25. AnthonyK.
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    to Dan R. you my friend are a complete idiot. first note the name GUITAR hero. second every single band that you mentioned has been around, one, probably before you were born and two, longer than rap has been a hit in america. o by the way MTV suxs Fuse is the best. and please dont come back with a your gay comment its childish!
  26. JeffJ.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    Haha...Dan...I laughed so hard at your "review". What is rap anyway? Practically the same beat used in every "song", or whatever they feel they should call that ranting. Oh well, I feel bad for you, poor deprived person. This game is amazing. It's been getting reviews such as "Best Music Game EVER", and "10 out of 10". If you don't like this game and you've got music games Haha...Dan...I laughed so hard at your "review". What is rap anyway? Practically the same beat used in every "song", or whatever they feel they should call that ranting. Oh well, I feel bad for you, poor deprived person. This game is amazing. It's been getting reviews such as "Best Music Game EVER", and "10 out of 10". If you don't like this game and you've got music games before, go contact a doctor immediately. Expand
  27. MikeFitzgerald
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    This is one of the few games I can remember picking up and instantly having a blast with. I am an experienced guitarist, and Guitar Hero simulates playing a real guitar amazingly well. I have seen musicians and non-musicians alike enjoying this game thoroughly, and the song selection appeals to pretty much everyone. If you've ever dreamed of ripping out a monster solo in front of an This is one of the few games I can remember picking up and instantly having a blast with. I am an experienced guitarist, and Guitar Hero simulates playing a real guitar amazingly well. I have seen musicians and non-musicians alike enjoying this game thoroughly, and the song selection appeals to pretty much everyone. If you've ever dreamed of ripping out a monster solo in front of an arena full of screaming fans (and who hasn't?), then you owe it to yourself to buy Guitar Hero. Expand
  28. Thugmastaelox
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Awseome game..its like PS2 Crack.
  29. MarkF.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Trust me on this, you will actually romp around the living room like an idiot and not care at all about it.
  30. CarlH.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    This game is one of the best things to hit the market. RedOctane and Harmonix pulled out all stops for this one. It really couldn't be better. Well unless they had some Nirvana in the soundtrack.
  31. EdwardC.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    This game kicks ass. Soooo much fun! You will play it till your fingers bleed.
  32. EricV.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    When's the sequel? I want to rock out Prince, Def Leppard, Heart, KISS, and a whole bunch of others that belong in this game. Do I hear power ballad?
  33. Rambone
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    oh yeah, as the editor pointed out, i think Dan was using these ancient literary techniques called "sarcasm," and "irony." even though they are from more than 4 years ago, they are highly useful ways to succinctly make a point while totally dissing the opposition.

    "Irony" means saying the opposite of what you mean, and "sarcasm" means saying it with a snearing, biting tone. sometimes
    oh yeah, as the editor pointed out, i think Dan was using these ancient literary techniques called "sarcasm," and "irony." even though they are from more than 4 years ago, they are highly useful ways to succinctly make a point while totally dissing the opposition.

    "Irony" means saying the opposite of what you mean, and "sarcasm" means saying it with a snearing, biting tone. sometimes this involves "humor" as well, but i'll leave it to you guys to research on your own. oh, did i mention sarcasm often involves being "obnoxious"??
    Expand
  34. DavidMarston
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    Dan R. thinks this game sucks and that it is quite possibly the worst game ever made. Dan R. is an absolute social retard. How can you not have heard about Queen or Jimi Hendrix? Rap is also not the best style of music in the histroy of the world. It has its high points sometimes. Pun intended. Dan R. is a closed minded person who is not willing to try any game unless it has explosions andDan R. thinks this game sucks and that it is quite possibly the worst game ever made. Dan R. is an absolute social retard. How can you not have heard about Queen or Jimi Hendrix? Rap is also not the best style of music in the histroy of the world. It has its high points sometimes. Pun intended. Dan R. is a closed minded person who is not willing to try any game unless it has explosions and people being blown to pieces. Which, don't get me wrong, everybody loves those games. (Including myself). In his own words, " No one in their right minds would actually play it." This is a completely stupid comment for two reasons. One, he obviously had to buy the game in the first place. Two, if he didn't buy the game, then why write a frickin' review about it?!?!?!? Expand
  35. TroyS
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Anyone who is angry at Dan R. has no idea what sarcasm means. Plus, Jeff J, do a little more research on rap maybe? No offense. ANYWAYS, this game is great. The interface is amazing, and the soundtrack was great. This game has few and far problems in between, which you won't notice unless you look for it. As long as your playing with the guitar controller, its awesome.
  36. DanRather
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    I just wanted to say thanks to whoever put the editorial note on my last review, I guess people didn't get that I was being sarcastic. This is the greatest game ever. Everyone I know, all their parents, grandparents, yet-to-be-born children, evangelical christian aunts, and ghettofied siblings love this game. It's more universally appealing than Tetris, and that's sayingI just wanted to say thanks to whoever put the editorial note on my last review, I guess people didn't get that I was being sarcastic. This is the greatest game ever. Everyone I know, all their parents, grandparents, yet-to-be-born children, evangelical christian aunts, and ghettofied siblings love this game. It's more universally appealing than Tetris, and that's saying something. Rock on Harmonix. Expand
  37. Austin
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Obviously this game is awesome. I have never really wanted to learn how to play guitar, and I have never really been a huge music fan (although for some reason i know ever 80's song, seriously you should quiz me) but this has awakened the guitar hero within! You know its a good game when you've only played it for an hour and you're already looking online for a secondObviously this game is awesome. I have never really wanted to learn how to play guitar, and I have never really been a huge music fan (although for some reason i know ever 80's song, seriously you should quiz me) but this has awakened the guitar hero within! You know its a good game when you've only played it for an hour and you're already looking online for a second guitar, because you are sure you can melt more faces than your crappy guitar hero friends. I love this game, in fact I'm gonna try to make love to it right now. BTW, for you retards out there that didn't realize that Dan was being sarcastic (which he explains to the people that couldn't tell at the end of his review) maybe you should keep your "gay" comments to yourself. Poopmouths Expand
  38. FretT.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Wow, is this game a blast! My girlfriend bought this as a Christmas gift, and it has been the best one ever. She knew I would be addicted to it, but she bought it anyway. That's love, my friends. I could describe how much fun this game is, but words do not do GH justice. I might not know how to play a real guitar, but I'd never know it by the way this game makes me feel like Wow, is this game a blast! My girlfriend bought this as a Christmas gift, and it has been the best one ever. She knew I would be addicted to it, but she bought it anyway. That's love, my friends. I could describe how much fun this game is, but words do not do GH justice. I might not know how to play a real guitar, but I'd never know it by the way this game makes me feel like I'm rocking like no one has ever rocked before! I can't get the smile off my face after shredding through song after song. See you at the Battle of the Bands, suckers! Expand
  39. tonybob
    Mar 18, 2006
    9
    this game is very very fun and addictive and Jim J could be the dumbest man alive how could u say jimmy hendrix sucks hes one of the greatest guitarist whoever lives and to say people dont know real music when sit there and name suck ass radio bands such as nickleback and say they're real music apparently alls you listen to is whats on the radio too bad because you miss out on a lotthis game is very very fun and addictive and Jim J could be the dumbest man alive how could u say jimmy hendrix sucks hes one of the greatest guitarist whoever lives and to say people dont know real music when sit there and name suck ass radio bands such as nickleback and say they're real music apparently alls you listen to is whats on the radio too bad because you miss out on a lot of good music especially from the older bands dumbass Expand
  40. EtanM.
    Mar 23, 2006
    9
    One of the best and most addicting games I've ever played. I 've been playing the guitar for a few years now, and I still love this game. Only an elitist or snob wouldn't enjoy how fun this game is. Any skill level can enjoy this game. I can't wait for Guitar Hero 2 and the spin offs! The only reason I give it a point off is because there is no open strumming like One of the best and most addicting games I've ever played. I 've been playing the guitar for a few years now, and I still love this game. Only an elitist or snob wouldn't enjoy how fun this game is. Any skill level can enjoy this game. I can't wait for Guitar Hero 2 and the spin offs! The only reason I give it a point off is because there is no open strumming like there is on a real guitar, the hammer ons don't behave like they do in real life, and I wish you unlocked bonus songs through score rather than just buying them. But, that's only nitpicking and the rest is awesome. Great songs, awesome controller and probably the best game on the PS2. The inclusion of a Wammy Bar is awesome. Expand
  41. JabariM.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    This game is by far one of the greatest musical games on the ps2 platform. And for Jim J, its called classics man. And for Dan R, you can't have rap in a GUITAR game! Maybe you shouldn't be playing a game called Guitar Hero if you don't like "dumb guitars". People these days just don't appreciate a good and classic game.
  42. JeremyGuyton
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Prior to playing this game I hated all things Sony including systems, games and everything. After playing just a demo of it I am going to go out and buy a PS2 and this game because it is so awesome. The one criticism that I have of the game is that it set so high a bar Guitar Hero 2 may be unable to surpass the original, but I'll still buy the sequel anyway. Awesome song selection,Prior to playing this game I hated all things Sony including systems, games and everything. After playing just a demo of it I am going to go out and buy a PS2 and this game because it is so awesome. The one criticism that I have of the game is that it set so high a bar Guitar Hero 2 may be unable to surpass the original, but I'll still buy the sequel anyway. Awesome song selection, the controller actually felt like a guitar, this game is awesome. Expand
  43. AdamBogart
    May 30, 2006
    10
    I think this ggame is addicting with amazing songs. And for Dan R. why did you buy the game if you knew it was going to have rock. There are no guitars in rap. BY the way Dan is a white boy name so shut the fuck up you little wigger
  44. TannerW.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    It's Awesome! Great game for everyone. Wide range of difficulty for beginner to experts. Plus, it has great songs!
  45. RandyM.
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    Guitar Hero is simply hands-down, one of the funnest games i've had the honor to play. This game makes me feel like a rock star. A must have for anyone, Guitar veterans or not.
  46. LyleM.
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Ok, first of all, I'm a guitarist, and a decent one at that. So to all these idiots flaunting their guitar knowledge and ranting about how it's nothing like playing a real guitar: Shut up, nobody cares that you play guitar, plus: IT'S A GAME! And an INCREDIBLY FUN one at that. Buy this at all costs.
  47. MikeS.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    The greatest game ever made the first time I played this game I feel in love with it I love it.
  48. TomG.
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    Be a rock star, without being famous. Guitar Hero is a must for rock stars who wanna impress the ladies, but have no idea about guitar chords, frets, etc. Basically, take DDR, add hardcore rock music, with a bloody guitar controller, and you get this. As with AC-DC, "For all those about to rock, we salute you". Get your axe and make good a promise for them. Ten out of ten.
  49. JustinS.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    Freaking awesome. Most of rocks greatest songs are included such as iron man by black sabbath and many others.Dan R. there is no ghey rap because is rock and rock retard. Thats why its call GUITAR HERO! Jeez no freaking rapper plays a electric guitar or base which rock bands make their own music and beats. What do u mean no one like these songs? The songs are probably one of the most Freaking awesome. Most of rocks greatest songs are included such as iron man by black sabbath and many others.Dan R. there is no ghey rap because is rock and rock retard. Thats why its call GUITAR HERO! Jeez no freaking rapper plays a electric guitar or base which rock bands make their own music and beats. What do u mean no one like these songs? The songs are probably one of the most famous and greatest songs from the 70's and 80's. to rap rap is a bunch of bull crap and its not even singing but people just saying a poem to music thats not even made by them. to me rap isn't the greatest music genre ever because its new. rock has been around since the 50s. "Instead, it's all like lame guitar music from losers I've never heard of like Queen, Jimi Hendrix, Black Sabbath, The Ramones... I guess those people are all new and not very popular or something, and I don't like them because they don't have any top 40 hits right now..." new my ass they are the greatest rock bands in history. Jimi hendrix had one of the greatest guitar licks in the history of guitar. and plus they are not new because they have been around for more the 30 years and they are still famous. you just dont know them because mtv only has new music and u probably spend ur time on BET which a retarded channel btw. I swear rap is getting on my nerves. besides u heard of Queen, do u know where "We Will Rock You" came from? You know the song where during sports games the stamp their feet and clap and all that good stuff.not very popular my ass. as if u really knew the history of music.but next time developers , u should add some AC/DC songs like Back in Black, or add ipod connect so i can add my songs to play on the guitar controller. It would be fun to play My Chemical Romance Welcome to the Black Parade on Guitar Hero 3 or play System of a Down Chop Suey or Toxicity. Collapse
  50. JohnM.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt the best game ever! So addictive!!!
  51. John
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Wow. this is the most fun game ive played in a very long time. for those of you that have played guitar freaks, its WAY better than that. the chords actually sound like chords, the hammer-ons and pull offs are awesome and work really good once you get the hang of it. and i didnt think i was gonna care about the models and stuff like that in the background but its actually pretty coolWow. this is the most fun game ive played in a very long time. for those of you that have played guitar freaks, its WAY better than that. the chords actually sound like chords, the hammer-ons and pull offs are awesome and work really good once you get the hang of it. and i didnt think i was gonna care about the models and stuff like that in the background but its actually pretty cool seeing them go nuts in star mode and the crowd reactions. the one negative point (although personally, i dont even think its a negative but some might) is that its gonna take a while for some people to get the hang of it. hopefully, they'll stick with it because this is definatly a game where the better you get, the more fun it is. the controller, unlike the other red octane controllers, is built solid and its much more responsive than even the konami controller. very well made and only makes this game more fun to play. you wont be disappointed if youre a fan of the genre and those who arent should try it anyways. its just way too much fun! Expand
  52. TravisL.
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    If you like Frequency and Amplitude, you'll love this. Warning - the learning curve is fairly high, and music game newbies may get frustrated easily. Wish there was a freestyle/improv mode, but still VERY fun.
  53. TonyP.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Worth every penny, one of the best rhythm games to come along in ages. Pure fun and wonderfully done.
  54. GregB.
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    This game is incredible in every way possible, and a dream come true for me. Any guitarist, wannabe guitarist, or fan of rock music needs this game. Seriously. I'm a guitar teacher, and I'm gonna recommend this to all my students to build up their coordination and hand strength, this game can replace boring practice exercises for any guitarist.
  55. NelsonP.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    One of the most enjoyable games I have ever played.
  56. Jason
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Simply amazing; sequel please!
  57. PaulS.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Wow! My livingroom becomes Tokyo when Godzilla's at a deafining 11! Superb axe!
  58. JonDoucette
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    i havent even played this game but i had to comment just because i read Dan R.'s comment... hahahahaahahahaha that was the funniest thing in the world. u sound so stupid that i thought you were being sarcastic. uve never heard of black sabbath(but uve heard of ozzy i'll guess) o and queen. they have some of the most played anthems of all time and jimi hendrix, hees the greatesti havent even played this game but i had to comment just because i read Dan R.'s comment... hahahahaahahahaha that was the funniest thing in the world. u sound so stupid that i thought you were being sarcastic. uve never heard of black sabbath(but uve heard of ozzy i'll guess) o and queen. they have some of the most played anthems of all time and jimi hendrix, hees the greatest guitarist ever. Rap isnt all that bad but dude u gotta get out of your house and notice that people other then MTV exist because MTV and only MTV is a POP music Channel not GOOD music channel a POP music channel this means its popular by people who want to be popular. and just to let u know unlike rap, rock music is written by people and is hard to get to be perfect unlike rap where 1 out of 3 rappers are considered the best. Expand
  59. JasonBartkiw
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Dan R. is a moron. The only reason he says this game sucks is because its not full of gangster music, im sure if it did have all crap, i mean rap, in it, and the "crappy plastic guitar" was a crappy plastic turn table, you would love the game, so just because you don't like the style of music doesn't mean you can say the game sucks.The music in this game is classic, godly songsDan R. is a moron. The only reason he says this game sucks is because its not full of gangster music, im sure if it did have all crap, i mean rap, in it, and the "crappy plastic guitar" was a crappy plastic turn table, you would love the game, so just because you don't like the style of music doesn't mean you can say the game sucks.The music in this game is classic, godly songs like Motorheads Ace Of Spades and Sabbaths Ironman, have probably sold more albums then anything 50 cent or eminem could ever dream of selling, and just because the songs are old doesn't mean there crap, if there over 20 years old and are still being lidtened to, that shows just how good the song actually is. So Dan, you can suck my balls. Expand
  60. JohnnyR.
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    As far as pure fun factor and putting a smile on your face, this is the greatest game of all time. PERIOD.
  61. TylerAngeletti
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    I havent played this game but it sounds awesome and to Dan R. MTV is teriible and ruins bands, rap has no talent and its all just speaking with the same sound for 5 minutes and as if you havent heard of Queen, Jimi Hendrix, Black Sabbath, The Ramones. They are so popular and it doesnt matter if they are old stuff, they are alot better than todays music.
  62. PatrickO.
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    absolutely amazing, Great implementation, great interface, and a blast to play. Expert is BRUTAL! Very fun.
  63. MikeC.
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    this game rocks is so intense, a must buy for anyone who wanted to feel like a rock star cant wait for guitar hero 2.
  64. BillL.
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    While this game does not supply an actual guitar or actual songs for that matter, it happens to be a fun and addicting game. The song choice is great with over 30 great songs of the past. Although some of the songs are odd, (IE- who has ever heard of Honest Bob and The Factory-To-Dealer Incentives), and unknown, they are still quite enjoyable to 'play' along to. Oh, and by theWhile this game does not supply an actual guitar or actual songs for that matter, it happens to be a fun and addicting game. The song choice is great with over 30 great songs of the past. Although some of the songs are odd, (IE- who has ever heard of Honest Bob and The Factory-To-Dealer Incentives), and unknown, they are still quite enjoyable to 'play' along to. Oh, and by the way, Jim J. and Dan R. if you guys were trying to make total idiots out of yourselves, you did a good job. Ok, starting with Dan R. Why would there be rap in a game where there is a guitar? Now, does that make any sense to you? I assume that if you buy this game, you like rock. And just because a song or two that is good may be on MTV, there are way better songs on here. And its awfully pathetic that you have never heard of Jimi Hendrix. Go to Best Buy, and buy an album of Jimi Hendrix. You will no longer like rap after that. Ok, and now to Jim J. Jimi Hendrix is not lame. Just because hes dead, doesnt mean he still kicks Nickelback's ass. HARD. And guess what? If you're like that to Jimi Hendrix, then you're just gonna hate every band you start listening to because you have no good music sense whatsoever. Buy this game. Expand
  65. AbeZ.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    This is a great game, one of the best. Not adventure, but still great. Can use some better songs, but we can't have things the way we want it fully. I give it a 10!
  66. AaronW.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    Best game I've played in a while. Rocking out is the best!! You can really get into the performance. Song selection is fantastic. It's one of the only ps2 games I've really enjoyed so far.
  67. TravisG.
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    I don't understand the people who said they don't like this game. This game is really fun and very easy to get into. All of you people who actually play guitar, dont play this game because I don't play guitar at all and even i know this is nothing like a real guitar. Anyway, all of you DDR fans I think you will truly appreciate this game.
  68. Bob
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    In defense to Dan....read the bottom of his post. HE WAS JOKING! Calm down people, any person who says rap is the best music in the world is obviously joking, or drunk. Anyways this is a fun game, a must get for people who like the good ol' guitar heroes.
  69. BlakeH.
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    Wow, this is such an amazing game. I've always been a HUGE fan of music games, and this is the best i've ever played. Beats DDR, Guitar Freaks and many others. It is just so much fun! The second I picked up the great controller, I felt like rockin' out! Do yourself a favor and buy this game, you WILL love it, even if you've never played a music game before.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 65
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 65
  3. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. When it really comes down to it, what this game's about is no-frills rocking. And no-frills rocking is what it does very well. [Nov 2005, p.98]
  2. With its extremely smart approach to difficulty, its great guitar controller, and its killer song selection, Guitar Hero might just be the best rhythm game ever made.
  3. I am frankly astonished by how much playing this game feels like playing the guitar for real.