Guitar Hero PlayStation 2

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 184
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CaioK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Very creative and very fun to play! No matter if you are a real guitar player or someone who never touched an musical instrument before, you going to love this game! The song selection is awesome! The kind of game that brings anyone
  2. DanielG.
    Jul 10, 2006
    0
    stupid why dont you play a real guitar instead?
  3. JimJ.
    Dec 30, 2005
    3
    This game gets really old really quickly. The songs aren't very good, I think there's only one on there that is remotely new and it's from one of those girly-guy bands. Where's the real rock? Where's the Nickelback, 3 Doors Down, Staind, Trapt... you know, the stuff that people actually care about. Even if it did have real rock it still wouldn't be very much This game gets really old really quickly. The songs aren't very good, I think there's only one on there that is remotely new and it's from one of those girly-guy bands. Where's the real rock? Where's the Nickelback, 3 Doors Down, Staind, Trapt... you know, the stuff that people actually care about. Even if it did have real rock it still wouldn't be very much fun. I guess it was just a bad idea from people who weren't very creative. Well, whatever, back to the drawing board for them. I'd rather listen to the new (and by the way AMAZING!!!) Nickelback album than pretend to play guitar along to some lame Jimi Hendrix song... I mean, come on, isn't he dead? They should have buried all that stupid hippie music along with him to never be heard again, just thinking about it makes me want to puke. Bottom line, if you buy this game, you are probably a dork who doesn't know anything about music. Expand
  4. JohnnyThunders
    Feb 15, 2006
    2
    This is just another PaRappa the Rappa ripoff like Amplitude and Guitarooman and Leisure Suit Larry. Come on, PaRappa is almost 10 years old, let's stop trying to copy it. On top of all that, the characters in the game don't even look real. One of them is even the Grim Reaper... yay... that's cool... I guess.... if you worship Satan.
  5. jamessmith
    Jul 23, 2006
    5
    jim j and dan r you two are dumasses and no everyone knows that if the music is on mtv it most likely sucks and why you've never heard of the bands is beacuse thye were before you and i were born and if you think they have no top 40 hits your wrong just go to riaa.com and look at the best sellers list and you'll find the people you were saying ain't popular actually aresojim j and dan r you two are dumasses and no everyone knows that if the music is on mtv it most likely sucks and why you've never heard of the bands is beacuse thye were before you and i were born and if you think they have no top 40 hits your wrong just go to riaa.com and look at the best sellers list and you'll find the people you were saying ain't popular actually areso how about you get a life (besides watching myv and listening to gwen stefanie) and try to educate yourself on music before you make dumass comments about bands and by the way hers some songs by people you've never heard of retard, queen sings, "we will rock you, and we are the champions" also ozzy osbourne was in black sabbath and ozzy had a tv show on mtv so how about you keep your opinions to yourself until you know what your talkin about Expand
  6. JakeM.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Guitar Hero is a GAME. I am not really sensing an undertone of sarcasm to his review, so we'll just file it away in the Unintentional Comedy drawer. Anyway, I'd buy this game in a second if I could find a copy anywhere - it is sold out just about everywhere, and is going for ridiculous sums on Ebay. I'm sure it will ship again soon, but I need my fix now
  7. JamesH.
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    my ex-girlfriend got addicted to it. Thats an extremely big accomplishment since she wont touch video games with a pointy stick. Nice to see a game that both sexes can find really fun. The songs kick as, even most the indie songs (and there is variety to satisfy most tastes). The only downside is that my guitar's flipper is pretty squeeky and the paint is peeling off of the flipper my ex-girlfriend got addicted to it. Thats an extremely big accomplishment since she wont touch video games with a pointy stick. Nice to see a game that both sexes can find really fun. The songs kick as, even most the indie songs (and there is variety to satisfy most tastes). The only downside is that my guitar's flipper is pretty squeeky and the paint is peeling off of the flipper already. Overall this is a great game. If they make a sequal (which they SHOULD) they should add more gameplay elements to make it more challenging. Expand
  8. S2H.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    On IGN this game beat out 11 other holiday PS2 releases for game of the month. It was the Music/Puzzle game of the year on Gasmespot and made the finalist list for game of the year on a number of sites. This game is pure bliss. Strap on the guitar and you feel like a real star playing all sort of licensed tunes. Do your self a favour and pick up this game. You won't be dissappointed!!!
  9. JoshH.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    This may quite possibly be the best music game ever. It's bad for me because there are always people coming over to play the game in my dorm room. The intricate solos on the harder difficulties will add enough challenge for anybody good at videogames to last a long time. However, with the inclusion of star power, the game allows less skilled players to get through the ridiculously This may quite possibly be the best music game ever. It's bad for me because there are always people coming over to play the game in my dorm room. The intricate solos on the harder difficulties will add enough challenge for anybody good at videogames to last a long time. However, with the inclusion of star power, the game allows less skilled players to get through the ridiculously hard parts and move on. The challenge is always there for anybody who wants it, but it never gets frustrating. It does remain incredibly fun. And on a final note, this game couldn't be any more different from parappa the rappa. It's a little like guitar freaks, but the inclusion of five fret buttons add its own challenge of moving up and down the neck. It certainly is no ripoff, and anyone who claims so has obviously never played the game. Expand
  10. DC
    Mar 19, 2006
    8
    The gameplay itself is flawless in my opinion. The interface is great, the songs are mostly good, but not all too spectacular. Needs newer songs, and more of them. Let's hope they remedy this with the sequel. Give 100 songs, and my score would go beyond 10.
  11. Spoon
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    I finally was able to stop playing it long enough to write a review. This game is amazing. If guitar hero 2 comes with the explorer-style controller, I'll probably cry right there in the store.
  12. JordanG.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Guitar hero is a sleek inovative look on party games. The two player head on head mode is so fun your friend won't want to go home.The two player isn't the only good part of Guitar Hero the single player is also so addictive you wont want to stop until you get every player, every song, and every guitar.since the first DDR came a game has not been so addictive and good that it Guitar hero is a sleek inovative look on party games. The two player head on head mode is so fun your friend won't want to go home.The two player isn't the only good part of Guitar Hero the single player is also so addictive you wont want to stop until you get every player, every song, and every guitar.since the first DDR came a game has not been so addictive and good that it wont let you put it down. guitar hero is by far the best party game ever. I cant wait till Guitar Hero 2 comes out so i can keep on rockin! Collapse
  13. JL.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    So fun it is ridiculous.
  14. HopeW.M.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Awesome game for both guitarists and non-guitarist! The covers are amazing, and the gameplay itself is phonominal! The harder stages actually involve some tough hand/eye coordination skill. It's not like playing the real thing, but kicks enough ass that no one should care. A must-have game!
  15. KaiH.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    This is truly one of the best games I've every played.
  16. CathyC.
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    Best ever, and I don't play games.
  17. SalmanHabib
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    @ dan....are u crack or something....I live in Pakistan and i know all these legends...its a shame you dont know 'em....Rap is retarted piece of shit....every song is shame...isnt it irony that your so called ACTUAL MUSIC is not even done by a real music instrument...No synthesizers are no musical instrument...Do urself a favour and start listening to some real music which is played@ dan....are u crack or something....I live in Pakistan and i know all these legends...its a shame you dont know 'em....Rap is retarted piece of shit....every song is shame...isnt it irony that your so called ACTUAL MUSIC is not even done by a real music instrument...No synthesizers are no musical instrument...Do urself a favour and start listening to some real music which is played by any real instrument....and yea the phrase goes like this....Is its not on MTV its definitely must be worth listening...Btw this game is awesome... Expand
  18. CaptainP.
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    Most addictive game ever! I play guitar and have a blast every time I pop this game in my PS2. The tunes are awesome, the gameplay is challenging on upper levels, and getting up and jamming a la Dimebag Darrel (RIP) is more fun than you can have with a stick. I definitely wasn't bothered by the fact that the controller isn't a real guitar. Whoever has stupid comments about that Most addictive game ever! I play guitar and have a blast every time I pop this game in my PS2. The tunes are awesome, the gameplay is challenging on upper levels, and getting up and jamming a la Dimebag Darrel (RIP) is more fun than you can have with a stick. I definitely wasn't bothered by the fact that the controller isn't a real guitar. Whoever has stupid comments about that should think twice when they pick up a game like Gran Turismo. Did you notice you're not driving a real car then, dummy? And for everyone's information...Nickelback/Three Doors Down/Staind isn't rock...it's just...terrible. Please keep them out of future versions of the game. Long live the Ramones! Expand
  19. JimmusMaximus
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Absolutely the most fun and addictive game I have EVER played. Brilliant in its simplicity and execution, yet deceptively difficult on later songs and difficulty levels. EBGames and Best Buy should give me a commission for all the new players I've hooked on this game; some of whom bought a Playstation 2 just to play it. I am amused, however, by the "center-of-My-universe" rants by JimAbsolutely the most fun and addictive game I have EVER played. Brilliant in its simplicity and execution, yet deceptively difficult on later songs and difficulty levels. EBGames and Best Buy should give me a commission for all the new players I've hooked on this game; some of whom bought a Playstation 2 just to play it. I am amused, however, by the "center-of-My-universe" rants by Jim and Dan - whose tastes in music seem limited to what's on the radio currently or within the last 10 years. Ah, teenhood. I can see myself in a similar argument with my father, "Frank Sinatra? Who's that? I haven't heard of him, therefore he's lame." Granted, it's a silly plastic guitar; granted, they're not all recent hit songs (or even songs I'd normally enjoy); granted, you won't really learn to play the guitar. But unless you're hoping for Rap Hero, or Pop Star Hero, you'll have a great time. You other kidlings, put down the plastic guitar, and resume your Pokemon/Dragonball Z gaming. Expand
  20. VahndD.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    very best musical game i've ever played. perfect songs, great harmony. Johnny T must thinking twice before said it's a bad game. the character is similiar with some guitarists like izzy stradlin (ex.GNR), nikki sixx (otley crue). the best of this game is the songs. that's it. don't think about graphic or other copy cat game they said before. Feel the rythms and the songs.
  21. WO
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    One of the most fun PS2 games that I've ever played.
  22. DemonicAngel
    Apr 9, 2006
    9
    Let's get a couple of things out of the way first. Playing this game isn't all that much like playing a real guitar, and you shouldn't hold that against it. Unless you're a guitar snob, in which case you can just go back to fiddling with your instrument, thanks. What Guitar Hero is, though, is massive heaps of fun. The song choice is excellent, taking in classic rock Let's get a couple of things out of the way first. Playing this game isn't all that much like playing a real guitar, and you shouldn't hold that against it. Unless you're a guitar snob, in which case you can just go back to fiddling with your instrument, thanks. What Guitar Hero is, though, is massive heaps of fun. The song choice is excellent, taking in classic rock anthems like Deep Purple's "Smoke On The Water", nu-metal tracks such as White Zombie's "Thunder Kiss 65", heavy metal like Black Sabbath's "Iron Man"... the list is excellent and I daresay most people will find at least a couple of tracks they like. The difficulty seems well-judged, starting with fairly simple single notes and changes on the easier tracks in Easy mode, all the way up to quick chord changes and difficult solos on the hardest tracks in Expert. The game seems to concentrate on rewarding skilful play, rather than imposing harsh penalties for mistakes like is often seen in rhythm games. I've noticed people giving this a low score simply because Guitar Freaks used this concept first, and I think that's hardly fair. If Konami couldn't see that GF had a market outside Japan, that's their problem. I, for one, enjoy posturing to rock anthems with an idiot grin on my face, and can wholeheartedly recommend Guitar Hero to anyone who feels the same. Expand
  23. [Anonymous]
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Simply the best music game ever!! The songs selection is amazing... Oooooh Come On!
  24. Nathan
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    The best interactive game since DDR.
  25. RobertO.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Best game ever created they should come out wit a thousand more like it.
  26. JoeM.
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Of all the games I've ever played, this probably has the most hours clocked into it (except CounterStrike, but I prefer to forget that period of my life). I love music games like BeatmaniaIIDX, DDR, ITG, PiP, Pop'n, etc and I gotta say this one is my favorite. For one it has tolerable music that range from classic rock songs to little known indie songs as secret unlockables. And Of all the games I've ever played, this probably has the most hours clocked into it (except CounterStrike, but I prefer to forget that period of my life). I love music games like BeatmaniaIIDX, DDR, ITG, PiP, Pop'n, etc and I gotta say this one is my favorite. For one it has tolerable music that range from classic rock songs to little known indie songs as secret unlockables. And it is almost all awesome (Farewell Myth is terrible, though). Cream, Ozzy, Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Blue Oyster Cult, and then even groups like Audioslave, Franz Ferdinand, and Queens of the Stone Age represent rock in its various forms. It isn't prohibitively hard, but it isn't easy at the higher levels of play. I would reccomend you keep moving on and not focus on getting the best ratings possible on the first playthrough on any difficulty. The only person I know who doesn't like it thinks its cooler to play music games on a standard controller rather than a speaciallized peripheral. Don't listen to the guitar elitists that say you should pick up a real guitar. Its a god damn game. You don't tell someone to join the military when they are playing an FPS (unless it is Americas Army). But don't be surprised if you end up picking up the guitar anyway. I certainly did. Expand
  27. CandlerF.
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    This is the best game ever. I can't wait until the release of GUITAR HERO 2 comes out on November!
  28. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Fun, cool, and the best party game ever, presuming your friends like to play video games at a party.
  29. IanM.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This all my co-workers do at lunchtime every day. Totally excellent, great for non-gamers.
  30. AnthonyK.
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    to Dan R. you my friend are a complete idiot. first note the name GUITAR hero. second every single band that you mentioned has been around, one, probably before you were born and two, longer than rap has been a hit in america. o by the way MTV suxs Fuse is the best. and please dont come back with a your gay comment its childish!

Awards & Rankings

3
7
#7 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 65
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 65
  3. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. When it really comes down to it, what this game's about is no-frills rocking. And no-frills rocking is what it does very well. [Nov 2005, p.98]
  2. With its extremely smart approach to difficulty, its great guitar controller, and its killer song selection, Guitar Hero might just be the best rhythm game ever made.
  3. I am frankly astonished by how much playing this game feels like playing the guitar for real.