• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2002
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NinjaMafia
    Aug 10, 2003
    8
    Gungrave is extremely stylish and thats most of the reason I like it so much. The storyline is engaging enough to keep you going throughout the game, however if the game was longer the storyline could have been something extremely better the gameplay is repetitive , but it reminded me of a really good arcade game where I don't have to put in tons of quarters to play. Overall Gungrave Gungrave is extremely stylish and thats most of the reason I like it so much. The storyline is engaging enough to keep you going throughout the game, however if the game was longer the storyline could have been something extremely better the gameplay is repetitive , but it reminded me of a really good arcade game where I don't have to put in tons of quarters to play. Overall Gungrave is worth at least a rent seeing how its so short. But if you love blowing crap up then Gungrave is your game Expand
  2. J.H.
    Sep 1, 2002
    9
    While the gameplay may be a bit on the shallow side, Gungrave never ceases to amuse till the last cel shaded movie. The easiest way to describe it would be Devil May Cry with no puzzles and much more style.
  3. JesR.
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    This game really kicks ass.
  4. G.Grave,Sr.
    Aug 5, 2003
    8
    You DO kick their ass in this game. It's fun and well done.
  5. StefanG.
    Jan 29, 2004
    10
    Super-cool and super fun. Most stylish game I have played (and I have played over 200). It is a masterpiece of gaming art conception. The fact that it is very short prevents it from being boring - you will for sure play this again in the future, unlike say any FF or other super lenghty game. So in th e enb you will no doubt get more than 30 hours of play out of it, only it will be because Super-cool and super fun. Most stylish game I have played (and I have played over 200). It is a masterpiece of gaming art conception. The fact that it is very short prevents it from being boring - you will for sure play this again in the future, unlike say any FF or other super lenghty game. So in th e enb you will no doubt get more than 30 hours of play out of it, only it will be because you will want to play it 20 times in the next 2 years. Expand
  6. FlameSniper
    Nov 27, 2002
    8
    Man, why the hell is this game only getting so low ratings? It is a good game, a combination between Shinobi and Devil May Cry, if i may say so, haha...well, you don't need much intelligence to beat it but this is a cool opportunity to kick some serious ass. :)
  7. KyleB.
    Jan 17, 2003
    8
    This game is one of those games you can just pick up and play with out reading a game manual. Very much like Shinobi without the sword. In this game you take the role of a man who sold his soul for a body made for one thing in mind and that would be revenge on the syndicate. This game really offers nothing new in the light of action games, but has a certain style that makes it just a This game is one of those games you can just pick up and play with out reading a game manual. Very much like Shinobi without the sword. In this game you take the role of a man who sold his soul for a body made for one thing in mind and that would be revenge on the syndicate. This game really offers nothing new in the light of action games, but has a certain style that makes it just a tweak above the rest of the action games that I have had the luck to play. The story line is, well like most action games, nothing to be amazed about. The characters are about as deep as cardboard, and the enemies are plentiful. A game like this though is seldom played for a deep story and I doubt that any of you are actually rating this game because of the storyline or lack-there-of. But as far as game play goes it is simply wonderful with some but not lots of slow down. The game has lots of destroyable scenery and is a simple blast. Expand
  8. ColR.
    Mar 15, 2004
    8
    It may be shallow, but it looks great, has incredible impact and above all else, it's very, VERY cool. It's a game that you would expect to find in an amusement arcade. Check your brains in at the door and play with your big bang stick!
  9. DeathStalker79
    Sep 23, 2002
    9
    After playing this game i came to the conclusion that Grav was the long lost brother of desperado. A gun toting badass with big explosion. buy this game. Buy this game right now!
  10. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    A great game often overlooked by many. This game upholds the tradition of great Japanese gaming classics: the gameplay is satisfying and never bogged down mid-level. The controls are wonderfully responsive, and despite the mayhem on screen it's never difficult to understand what is going on. In terms of presentation and story, it improves on its predecessor in every way by introducing evenA great game often overlooked by many. This game upholds the tradition of great Japanese gaming classics: the gameplay is satisfying and never bogged down mid-level. The controls are wonderfully responsive, and despite the mayhem on screen it's never difficult to understand what is going on. In terms of presentation and story, it improves on its predecessor in every way by introducing even more likeable characters, bigger levels and more of the same great, electrifying big band jazz BGM. Despite the limitations of the PS2 hardware which resulted in occasional frame-rate drops this game delivers a satisfying experience and an enjoyable story full of likeable characters. Despite being shallow in some aspects, I was nevertheless able to glean hours of fun from this game by replaying the story and bonus modes. Moreover, it did all of this at the price of a budget title. This is a must play if you own a PS2. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Gungrave definitely looks cool. It's also a textbook case for why great graphics don't do you much good if the underlying game is shallow.
  2. Has an elegant anime look that makes it a must-play East-meets-Western. [11 Oct 2002, p.86]
  3. Manages to bring a highly developed artistic sense to the table.