• Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Jan 14, 2004
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 90
    If you’re only going to play one game in this franchise, .hack//QUARANTINE is the one to get. A powerful plot (including the series’ conclusion) and access to most of the gameplay from the prior three games makes it the definitive title in the series.
  2. I thoroughly enjoyed the four games, primarily for the riveting and alarming story about characters to which I became attached, and absorbing gameplay.
  3. 83
    When all is said and done --and despite its four-game/$200 price tag -- we found the long-time investment definitely worth it; we just hope that Bandai (and anyone else for that matter) ever decide to try it again.
  4. Despite .hack's inarguable flaws (it's repetitive, kinda ugly, and...er, really repetitive), the game remains one of the freshest concepts of this console generation. [Jan 2004, p.132]
  5. But if you are a fan, you’ll find that Quarantine ups the ante on battle and quest difficulty, sometimes maddeningly so, and finally ties up enough loose plot ends to satisfy.
  6. In every way (except graphics, AI and sound…I’m looking at you Bandai), .hack//Quarantine is the best .hack game. The plot keeps you very into the story, and the ending movie is one of the best FMVs out there.
  7. Hopefully, down the line, someone else can give us a similarly high-concept RPG with a little more meat on its bones. [Feb 2004, p.103]
  8. 75
    I would have personally liked to have seen the game go out with more of a bang… at least in some changes to the overall mechanics and game engine, but I suppose that in some way we need to respect the fact that it was really all about the story.
  9. Sure, it's the same old cut 'n' paste gameplay formula, but if you've played into .hack's dual layered world thus far, it's a solid and enjoyable note upon which to end the series. [Jan 2004, p.36]
  10. The gameplay, although strong at first, wasn't meant to be stretched this thin; if you're someone how intends to attempt all four games at a stretch, prepare for plenty of tedium to set in halfway through. [Jan 2004, p.52]
  11. As a concept, .hack is a great one, but perhaps one which should not have been stretched past two games at the most.
  12. 70
    If you're a fan of the .hack universe or have stuck it out through the previous three volumes, you'll find Quarantine a satisfying ending to the series. Everybody else, play at your own risk. [Jan 2004, p.148]
  13. I just don’t think it’s worth the time, effort and above all expense of the Dot Hack series.
  14. The shortest volume in all .hack-dom, and most of it is spent running errands, but the final battle (which is spoiled in the pack-in anime DVD) is a great payoff if you've been following the story all this time. [Feb 2004, p.122]
  15. Bandai's decision to pad one good game's worth of content with about 60 to 80 hours' worth of filler, and to split that game into four full-priced products spread out over a year, remains disappointing.
  16. Even though this game is better than the third one the series didn't live up to my expectations.
  17. 60
    .hack does not end triumphantly. A year ago I was optimistic; now I'm just looking forward to playing something -- anything -- else.
  18. 60
    A rental and possible purchase for fans. For anyone else, "hack Part 4: Quarantine is a repetitive action-RPG that isn't as interesting as its concept and is almost impossible to enjoy independently of the series.
  19. Instead of revelations, we're left empty handed, as tantalizing mysteries are thoughtlessly swept under the rug. [Dec 2003, p.56]
  20. The in game music does not really make an impact on the player, with boring melodies that are simple and repetitive.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. JordynC.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This game I think is beautiful. The story and characters are well done and the music is pretty good. I think the dungeon design should change but that's just about it. I love this game!! Full Review »
  2. StepheniV.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    I think the whole game is cool.
  3. CarlosG.
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    I would have rated it a 100 if i could.It's a tiny bit repetitive but it's all good. except that flyin' grunty carpet and eyeballs they're driving me nuts to figure out! Full Review »