Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 84
    A very well done 3D adventure game filled with a fun quest, challenging puzzles and an intuitive control scheme and magic system.
  2. Offering a polished mix of strong graphics and solid gameplay, Chamber of Secrets is a marked improvement over its predecessor.
  3. EA did a great job on this game capturing all of the looks and voices of the characters from the film and books, and a superb job capturing the environments that look almost identical, even if a tad scaled down, to the film.
  4. It's boring. [Jan 2003, p.94]
  5. 60
    A too-straightforward, by-the-numbers Zelda-style action number that’s strictly for the younger Potter fan interested in playing an interactive storybook.
  6. 80
    For Potter fans of all ages, Chamber of Secrets is a must-have.
  7. If not for the loading, HP is a near perfect film adaptation. [Dec 2002, p.78]
  8. It's incredible how accurately this game captures the look of the movies and the spirit of the books. [Dec 2002, p.204]
  9. It plays like a cobbled together collection of repetitive, below-par sub-games. Quite simply, it’s extremely boring, and the sensation of fun never once makes its presence felt.
  10. The biggest deal is the opportunity to actually explore Hogwarts. [Jan 2003, p.124]
  11. Another strange weakness is the storytelling, which glosses over key events and explains itself so poorly that if you don't know the story already, you might not figure it out. [Jan 2003, p.36]
  12. Not only did “The Chamber of Secrets” NOT turn me into a Harry Potter consumer (which I wasn’t prior to playing it), but it has made me shun away from playing any PS2 games aimed at children for a good long while.
  13. Easily recommended to fans, as the game looks great, is easy to control, and offers minimal frustration for those who just want to have fun traipsing around the world.
  14. Extra house points to the PS2 version for letting you zoom around campus willy-nilly on your Nimbus 2000. [15 Nov 2002, p.144]
  15. There is a glaring misbalance in the game progression, and additionally, the load times are almost grotesquely long, a fact that can lead to some unnecessary frustration.
  16. May not be one of the longest lived, gameplay-wise; it may not offer the most sophisticated or mature battles but it is certainly one of the more visually accomplished games to have been developed recently.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    A disappointment compared to the PC version of the game. Still somewhat worthwhile, but there's really no point in getting it when the PC gameA disappointment compared to the PC version of the game. Still somewhat worthwhile, but there's really no point in getting it when the PC game is also available. Full Review »
  2. ReggieW.
    May 31, 2003
    10
    I loved this game. I gave it a 10, because the graphics, are great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, and the voices were great. Bad I loved this game. I gave it a 10, because the graphics, are great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, and the voices were great. Bad Things: Loading Time Short Easy Good Things: Fun It's more real(Day and Night) Quidditch Controls are Easy Overall, the game was much better than the first, but much easier than the first. I want to tell EA Games: Make the next Harry Potter Game more harder than the first and the second combined. Full Review »
  3. May 25, 2014
    10
    Not just a great licensed game, but a great game on its own. Each part of the game is fun to play and even replay. Going in the differentNot just a great licensed game, but a great game on its own. Each part of the game is fun to play and even replay. Going in the different classes to get new spells never gets boring and neither does exploring the open world. 9.5/10 Probably my favourite movie licensed game I've ever played. Full Review »