Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players enter fantastical free-roaming 3D environments from Harry's world. Players become Harry Potter and delve not only into Harry's world, but also into his personality, via an internal "voice." Conversing with unique characters like Moaning Myrtle, shopping in Diagon Alley, and exploringPlayers enter fantastical free-roaming 3D environments from Harry's world. Players become Harry Potter and delve not only into Harry's world, but also into his personality, via an internal "voice." Conversing with unique characters like Moaning Myrtle, shopping in Diagon Alley, and exploring the convoluted corridors of Hogwarts, players make crucial and independent decisions within Harry's world. Additionally, Harry can, of course, cast spells against foes - but these spells must be perfectly executed, or they could be miscast with humorous or critical consequences! Mini-games within levels can be revisited, so players can help Mrs. Weasley with "de-gnoming" her garden, challenge other students in Professor Lockhart?s Dueling Club, or complete other mini-games again and again. [EA Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. EA did a great job on this game capturing all of the looks and voices of the characters from the film and books, and a superb job capturing the environments that look almost identical, even if a tad scaled down, to the film.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Extra house points to the PS2 version for letting you zoom around campus willy-nilly on your Nimbus 2000. [15 Nov 2002, p.144]
  3. May not be one of the longest lived, gameplay-wise; it may not offer the most sophisticated or mature battles but it is certainly one of the more visually accomplished games to have been developed recently.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    The biggest deal is the opportunity to actually explore Hogwarts. [Jan 2003, p.124]
  5. There is a glaring misbalance in the game progression, and additionally, the load times are almost grotesquely long, a fact that can lead to some unnecessary frustration.
  6. Game Informer
    60
    It's boring. [Jan 2003, p.94]
  7. It plays like a cobbled together collection of repetitive, below-par sub-games. Quite simply, it’s extremely boring, and the sensation of fun never once makes its presence felt.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. JordanK.
    May 13, 2003
    10
    It is fantastic.
  2. May 25, 2014
    10
    Not just a great licensed game, but a great game on its own. Each part of the game is fun to play and even replay. Going in the differentNot just a great licensed game, but a great game on its own. Each part of the game is fun to play and even replay. Going in the different classes to get new spells never gets boring and neither does exploring the open world. 9.5/10 Probably my favourite movie licensed game I've ever played. Expand
  3. ReggieW.
    May 31, 2003
    10
    I loved this game. I gave it a 10, because the graphics, are great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, and the voices were great. Bad I loved this game. I gave it a 10, because the graphics, are great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, and the voices were great. Bad Things: Loading Time Short Easy Good Things: Fun It's more real(Day and Night) Quidditch Controls are Easy Overall, the game was much better than the first, but much easier than the first. I want to tell EA Games: Make the next Harry Potter Game more harder than the first and the second combined. Expand
  4. AndrewJ.
    Jun 30, 2003
    8
    I enjoyed this game enormously. The loading times are a pain, but you really feel like you're part of the movie, when you're at Hogwarts.
  5. Jan 1, 2017
    7
    My actual score is 7.9/10. The game is good not just for a licensed game, but a video game in general. The graphics are great, the music isMy actual score is 7.9/10. The game is good not just for a licensed game, but a video game in general. The graphics are great, the music is terryifing like it should be, the story isn´t bad. And the gameplay is fun. Though the `ps2 has more flaws than the GC and Xbox versions. It has long loading times, controls worse, and looks duller so I give the Gamecube versión an 8/10 and the Xbox a 8.2/10. But the ps2 versión is still good. A game I could recommend to anyone, not just Harry Potter fans. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    Well, this is the worst console version of the game. The Xbox/Gamecube version has better controls, better targeting system, better graphics,Well, this is the worst console version of the game. The Xbox/Gamecube version has better controls, better targeting system, better graphics, and better voice acting. This one is okay, but I definitely recommend that you play the Xbox/Gamecube version instead. Expand
  7. KyleK.
    Dec 3, 2003
    3
    This game is wicked. Yeah right it is so easy clocked it in 1 day. Little kids here's ur game. P.S. it made the movie look bad.

See all 23 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#30 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#40 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002