Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players enter fantastical free-roaming 3D environments from Harry's world. Players become Harry Potter and delve not only into Harry's world, but also into his personality, via an internal "voice." Conversing with unique characters like Moaning Myrtle, shopping in Diagon Alley, and exploringPlayers enter fantastical free-roaming 3D environments from Harry's world. Players become Harry Potter and delve not only into Harry's world, but also into his personality, via an internal "voice." Conversing with unique characters like Moaning Myrtle, shopping in Diagon Alley, and exploring the convoluted corridors of Hogwarts, players make crucial and independent decisions within Harry's world. Additionally, Harry can, of course, cast spells against foes - but these spells must be perfectly executed, or they could be miscast with humorous or critical consequences! Mini-games within levels can be revisited, so players can help Mrs. Weasley with "de-gnoming" her garden, challenge other students in Professor Lockhart?s Dueling Club, or complete other mini-games again and again. [EA Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. EA did a great job on this game capturing all of the looks and voices of the characters from the film and books, and a superb job capturing the environments that look almost identical, even if a tad scaled down, to the film.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Extra house points to the PS2 version for letting you zoom around campus willy-nilly on your Nimbus 2000. [15 Nov 2002, p.144]
  3. May not be one of the longest lived, gameplay-wise; it may not offer the most sophisticated or mature battles but it is certainly one of the more visually accomplished games to have been developed recently.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    The biggest deal is the opportunity to actually explore Hogwarts. [Jan 2003, p.124]
  5. There is a glaring misbalance in the game progression, and additionally, the load times are almost grotesquely long, a fact that can lead to some unnecessary frustration.
  6. Game Informer
    60
    It's boring. [Jan 2003, p.94]
  7. It plays like a cobbled together collection of repetitive, below-par sub-games. Quite simply, it’s extremely boring, and the sensation of fun never once makes its presence felt.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. JordanK.
    May 13, 2003
    10
    It is fantastic.
  2. May 25, 2014
    10
    Not just a great licensed game, but a great game on its own. Each part of the game is fun to play and even replay. Going in the differentNot just a great licensed game, but a great game on its own. Each part of the game is fun to play and even replay. Going in the different classes to get new spells never gets boring and neither does exploring the open world. 9.5/10 Probably my favourite movie licensed game I've ever played. Expand
  3. ReggieW.
    May 31, 2003
    10
    I loved this game. I gave it a 10, because the graphics, are great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, and the voices were great. Bad I loved this game. I gave it a 10, because the graphics, are great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, and the voices were great. Bad Things: Loading Time Short Easy Good Things: Fun It's more real(Day and Night) Quidditch Controls are Easy Overall, the game was much better than the first, but much easier than the first. I want to tell EA Games: Make the next Harry Potter Game more harder than the first and the second combined. Expand
  4. LaurenB.
    Feb 24, 2003
    8
    I like it but the lessons are quite difficult. Especially Charms.
  5. May 5, 2014
    7
    this game is actually one of the best games based on a movie. It delivers well in making you feel like you are in the harry potter universe,this game is actually one of the best games based on a movie. It delivers well in making you feel like you are in the harry potter universe, and as far as content, there is tons to explore in the halls and Hogwarts castle. I really enjoy this game, maybe more than I should. and also, this game does an awesome job at making fun and challenging puzzles. the controls and what not can be somewhat clunky, but if you enjoy harry potter, you will probably like the game too. the third game is probably my favorite, and the rest after it kind of suck. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    Well, this is the worst console version of the game. The Xbox/Gamecube version has better controls, better targeting system, better graphics,Well, this is the worst console version of the game. The Xbox/Gamecube version has better controls, better targeting system, better graphics, and better voice acting. This one is okay, but I definitely recommend that you play the Xbox/Gamecube version instead. Expand
  7. KyleK.
    Dec 3, 2003
    3
    This game is wicked. Yeah right it is so easy clocked it in 1 day. Little kids here's ur game. P.S. it made the movie look bad.

See all 22 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#28 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#52 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002