User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 48
  2. Negative: 9 out of 48
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tiffanie
    Oct 16, 2007
    5
    Ive got to say that this game does not measure up to the standard the Harry potter books deserve! The last three HP games were excellent, but this game was a disapointment! There is just NO flowing story in it!! I agaree with over people, that it sholud be made like HP the prisoner of azkaban as that game, in my opinion was the best one so far!! I gave it a five because it wasnt a Ive got to say that this game does not measure up to the standard the Harry potter books deserve! The last three HP games were excellent, but this game was a disapointment! There is just NO flowing story in it!! I agaree with over people, that it sholud be made like HP the prisoner of azkaban as that game, in my opinion was the best one so far!! I gave it a five because it wasnt a terrible game itself, however it just doses not compare to the previous versions!! This game failed to meet the feel of HP and should of been made with more story and adventure..its too mission bassed. purchase this game and prepare to be kinda disapointed!! Expand
  2. Nathdman
    Feb 9, 2006
    4
    This game is worse than the past 3 crappy games. The missions suck and to complicated. The only reason it's getting a 4 from me is because i'm a fan the books.
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    I love this game. You can choose either Harry, Hermione and Ron along with your sis or bro. The game is really scary and the one with harry being chased by a big fire breathing dragon while he is in a broom is epic. I love the story very much.
  4. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    This is a very good game, yes it could have been better if it was more open world ( exploring Hogwarts and everything ), but still as a game it's very good, for an open world there's HP and the Order of the Phoenix. But lets talk about this one. The first task was amazing the best in my opinion, the battle against Lord Voldemort was pretty good too, the second task was not bad, anotherThis is a very good game, yes it could have been better if it was more open world ( exploring Hogwarts and everything ), but still as a game it's very good, for an open world there's HP and the Order of the Phoenix. But lets talk about this one. The first task was amazing the best in my opinion, the battle against Lord Voldemort was pretty good too, the second task was not bad, another good thing about this game is that you can play as Harry, Ron, or Hermione in any parts (except the three tasks of course), the characters built up was a good job. this game deserve's an overall of 7 and even 8/10, but i'll give it a 9/10 cause it is good. Expand
  5. KavveenK.
    Nov 30, 2005
    5
    i bought this game like 2 years ago but didn't get the time to read it but my hot brother bought another so i played it with my ds and this game was hot like me i mean my ps2 literally broke does this happen because I am hot.this was like my 17th ps5.well so go my this game because i am hot and cool.
  6. PatrickO.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    the movie is not so good like the book, but the game is very cool.
  7. DhanikaS.
    Aug 7, 2007
    3
    This game sucks the last three games were much enjoyable,I'am only voting a 3 because the 1st task was fine.
  8. StevenM.
    Nov 17, 2005
    3
    gr8 graphics but thats about waited for months to play this game as was finnished within a few hours miss exploring hohgwarts and i to hope they remake this game total waste of money.
  9. HenryT.
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    love the game, and lots like the movie wich is ace!
  10. EmmaT.
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    i hated this game. the book hp4 has been my favorite book in the series so far, and i was very disappointed with the results of this one; i was expecting much better, like the past 3 which have been excellent. it barely follows the storyline, is WAY too easy and unchallenging, and is just a complete waste of time and money. it needs to be remade like the others have been. i highly i hated this game. the book hp4 has been my favorite book in the series so far, and i was very disappointed with the results of this one; i was expecting much better, like the past 3 which have been excellent. it barely follows the storyline, is WAY too easy and unchallenging, and is just a complete waste of time and money. it needs to be remade like the others have been. i highly recommend NOT purchasing this game, its not worth it. Expand
  11. JohnT.
    Nov 11, 2005
    8
    Visually the game looks great. Its a nice touch to be able two play three people all at once, the whole family plays together.
  12. IainF.
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    Was scared by reviews, and it's true, you can't walk around hogwarts. But I loved playing the game, not too hard, graphics are great, and multiplayer is great fun!!! Getting teh cards to upgrade the spells was cool! Don't understand why people are so down on this game! I recommend it! If you like potter and want something you can have fun with your family then I recommend it!
  13. Jay
    Nov 17, 2005
    1
    Total ripp off! why change a classic series to an awful game, you can't explore hogwarts no more, it feels as if you are skimming the pages off the book, the last three felt as if you were actually there, EA i do hope you remake this title as its a total waste of a game which i completed within one day.
  14. ChristopherV.i
    Nov 21, 2005
    8
    My children enjoy playing it in single player mode and together, and the graphics look very good. It has much more action this time around though it can be repetative at times. I like the spells that lift up the rocks.
  15. JaredC.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Makes me thinking, why did I rate The GBA games for the first two Harry potter's a 9 and a 10, to me, I should of rated those both 0's, this is so much better. Its actually fun.
  16. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    The game took the old style which I was fond of, and changed it to... a top down shooter. The game may be better than a four, but due to the fact that I put down the controller after only a little bit, disappointed, leaves me with a sinking feeling that this game is not nearly as good as the last three.
  17. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    I love this game because of the cool graphics, the action and the selection of characters.
    But I don't like the background, creatures and how the characters are graphically displayed
  18. Nov 24, 2012
    5
    If I remember correctly this game was oddly average, having a good card system to upgrade your potter. But repetitive puzzles make this game a solid 4/5.
  19. May 5, 2014
    4
    I played the harry potter games before this one, and frankly its quite disappointing. it took out all the exploring of Hogwarts and replaced it with a linear and bland game. I don't know why they didn't keep the same formula for this game, it would have been great. its ok for what it is though. it is playable but I don't suggest it
  20. Aug 25, 2014
    1
    This game is part of the growing cesspool of boring and lazy games. A low budget arcade game made in a week could be better than this. With lazy repetitive gameplay, recurring environments, sloppy A.I. and bad graphics, it's definitely the worst game of 2005. It's only quality is it's great soundtrack, but don't let that blind you from the rest of this garbage!
  21. Feb 27, 2015
    7
    This game actually isn't bad. The graphics are actually really decent. Gameplay was fun although there wasn't a lot of customization. Story follows the movie obviously.
  22. Mar 28, 2015
    5
    This is not my favorite of the Harry Potter games. It's so action oriented that it actually is very hard. It's great for people who like all action games, but I really feel it loses much of the story by being all action. And I miss tending classes. Part of the fun of the previous games was being able to go to school at Hogwarts and learning the magic. At least it was for me. I finished it,This is not my favorite of the Harry Potter games. It's so action oriented that it actually is very hard. It's great for people who like all action games, but I really feel it loses much of the story by being all action. And I miss tending classes. Part of the fun of the previous games was being able to go to school at Hogwarts and learning the magic. At least it was for me. I finished it, but I won't play it again. Expand
  23. Mar 14, 2016
    8
    It's been quite a few years since I completed this game, but as I recall this was a very faithful adaptation of the movie, and had very enjoyable gameplay. I might be wrong though..

Awards & Rankings

#38 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 60
    The inability of this series to learn from its mistakes is baffling. You'll often find yourself fighting enemies you can't see because some decorative element in the foreground entirely blocks your view, and you've zero control over the camera.
  2. 72
    The game's not perfect. There are some camera issues. Some AI issues. And I really would have preferred to have more control over spells. But it still arrives as a solid entry to the series. Kids will probably like it a lot.
  3. 70
    The constant action means the Harry Potter series has always lent itself well to the video-game format, and thankfully (albeit surprisingly) EA has mostly improved upon their winning formula, while upping the ante visually and adding welcome multiplayer features, easily making the Goblet of Fire their best adaptation yet.