User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 53
  2. Negative: 10 out of 53
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nathdman
    Feb 9, 2006
    4
    This game is worse than the past 3 crappy games. The missions suck and to complicated. The only reason it's getting a 4 from me is because i'm a fan the books.
  2. DhanikaS.
    Aug 7, 2007
    3
    This game sucks the last three games were much enjoyable,I'am only voting a 3 because the 1st task was fine.
  3. StevenM.
    Nov 17, 2005
    3
    gr8 graphics but thats about waited for months to play this game as was finnished within a few hours miss exploring hohgwarts and i to hope they remake this game total waste of money.
  4. EmmaT.
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    i hated this game. the book hp4 has been my favorite book in the series so far, and i was very disappointed with the results of this one; i was expecting much better, like the past 3 which have been excellent. it barely follows the storyline, is WAY too easy and unchallenging, and is just a complete waste of time and money. it needs to be remade like the others have been. i highly i hated this game. the book hp4 has been my favorite book in the series so far, and i was very disappointed with the results of this one; i was expecting much better, like the past 3 which have been excellent. it barely follows the storyline, is WAY too easy and unchallenging, and is just a complete waste of time and money. it needs to be remade like the others have been. i highly recommend NOT purchasing this game, its not worth it. Expand
  5. Jay
    Nov 17, 2005
    1
    Total ripp off! why change a classic series to an awful game, you can't explore hogwarts no more, it feels as if you are skimming the pages off the book, the last three felt as if you were actually there, EA i do hope you remake this title as its a total waste of a game which i completed within one day.
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    The game took the old style which I was fond of, and changed it to... a top down shooter. The game may be better than a four, but due to the fact that I put down the controller after only a little bit, disappointed, leaves me with a sinking feeling that this game is not nearly as good as the last three.
  7. May 5, 2014
    4
    I played the harry potter games before this one, and frankly its quite disappointing. it took out all the exploring of Hogwarts and replaced it with a linear and bland game. I don't know why they didn't keep the same formula for this game, it would have been great. its ok for what it is though. it is playable but I don't suggest it
  8. Aug 25, 2014
    1
    This game is part of the growing cesspool of boring and lazy games. A low budget arcade game made in a week could be better than this. With lazy repetitive gameplay, recurring environments, sloppy A.I. and bad graphics, it's definitely the worst game of 2005. It's only quality is it's great soundtrack, but don't let that blind you from the rest of this garbage!
  9. Nov 1, 2017
    3
    Pedazo de basura inmunda de juego. Aburrido, repetitivo, cansador y cualquier otro sinónimo de "es más divertido meter la mano en la licuadora" describen esta cosa.

Awards & Rankings

35
#35 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 60
    The inability of this series to learn from its mistakes is baffling. You'll often find yourself fighting enemies you can't see because some decorative element in the foreground entirely blocks your view, and you've zero control over the camera.
  2. 72
    The game's not perfect. There are some camera issues. Some AI issues. And I really would have preferred to have more control over spells. But it still arrives as a solid entry to the series. Kids will probably like it a lot.
  3. 70
    The constant action means the Harry Potter series has always lent itself well to the video-game format, and thankfully (albeit surprisingly) EA has mostly improved upon their winning formula, while upping the ante visually and adding welcome multiplayer features, easily making the Goblet of Fire their best adaptation yet.