Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry is mysteriously selected as the fourth competitor in the dangerous Triwizard Tournament. Each contestant in this international competition must confront a fire-breathing dragon, rescue friends from the icy depths of the Black Lake, and navigateIn Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry is mysteriously selected as the fourth competitor in the dangerous Triwizard Tournament. Each contestant in this international competition must confront a fire-breathing dragon, rescue friends from the icy depths of the Black Lake, and navigate the twisting mysteries of a vast, dangerous maze. Players experience all the thrills of the movie - from the Quidditch World Cup campsite to a heart-stopping duel with Lord Voldemort himself. Harry, Ron, and Hermione are all playable characters, modeled after their big-screen counterparts. In this game, an all-new spell-casting system allows players to feel the magic for the first time as the controller shakes and reacts with every flick of the wand. Players can also team up with friends in co-operative play to combine their magic and produce more powerful spells than ever before. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The game changes a few of the things Harry fans have come to expect from the games, and though aimed at a younger audience, Harry fans will find a lot to like in the game.
  2. Series fans will find a lot to love in this title, which offers an attractive, immersive, and most importantly, fun excursion into the world of J.K. Rowling's imaginative works.
  3. While Goblet of Fire might be a more exciting and fun game than the rest of the Potter series, it still lacks many of the ingredients that made the Lord of the Rings-based games so much fun.
  4. PSM Magazine
    70
    This is by no means a perfect game, but it serves the license admirably and is definitely worth playing through with friends. [Feb 2006, p.82]
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    70
    Nothing more than a bunch of minigames that suffer from an awkward camera system. [Dec 2005]
  6. It’s a healthy change of pace for the series. However, these moments fade out fast as you find yourself repeating levels over and over just so you can move on.
  7. AceGamez
    50
    Seasoned gamers will find very little of interest here, regardless of how massive a Harry Potter fan you are (personally I love the books and the films).

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    I love this game. You can choose either Harry, Hermione and Ron along with your sis or bro. The game is really scary and the one with harryI love this game. You can choose either Harry, Hermione and Ron along with your sis or bro. The game is really scary and the one with harry being chased by a big fire breathing dragon while he is in a broom is epic. I love the story very much. Expand
  2. PatrickO.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    the movie is not so good like the book, but the game is very cool.
  3. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    This is a very good game, yes it could have been better if it was more open world ( exploring Hogwarts and everything ), but still as a gameThis is a very good game, yes it could have been better if it was more open world ( exploring Hogwarts and everything ), but still as a game it's very good, for an open world there's HP and the Order of the Phoenix. But lets talk about this one. The first task was amazing the best in my opinion, the battle against Lord Voldemort was pretty good too, the second task was not bad, another good thing about this game is that you can play as Harry, Ron, or Hermione in any parts (except the three tasks of course), the characters built up was a good job. this game deserve's an overall of 7 and even 8/10, but i'll give it a 9/10 cause it is good. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    5
    If I remember correctly this game was oddly average, having a good card system to upgrade your potter. But repetitive puzzles make this game aIf I remember correctly this game was oddly average, having a good card system to upgrade your potter. But repetitive puzzles make this game a solid 4/5. Expand
  5. Tiffanie
    Oct 16, 2007
    5
    Ive got to say that this game does not measure up to the standard the Harry potter books deserve! The last three HP games were excellent, but Ive got to say that this game does not measure up to the standard the Harry potter books deserve! The last three HP games were excellent, but this game was a disapointment! There is just NO flowing story in it!! I agaree with over people, that it sholud be made like HP the prisoner of azkaban as that game, in my opinion was the best one so far!! I gave it a five because it wasnt a terrible game itself, however it just doses not compare to the previous versions!! This game failed to meet the feel of HP and should of been made with more story and adventure..its too mission bassed. purchase this game and prepare to be kinda disapointed!! Expand
  6. May 5, 2014
    4
    I played the harry potter games before this one, and frankly its quite disappointing. it took out all the exploring of Hogwarts and replacedI played the harry potter games before this one, and frankly its quite disappointing. it took out all the exploring of Hogwarts and replaced it with a linear and bland game. I don't know why they didn't keep the same formula for this game, it would have been great. its ok for what it is though. it is playable but I don't suggest it Expand
  7. EmmaT.
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    i hated this game. the book hp4 has been my favorite book in the series so far, and i was very disappointed with the results of this one; i i hated this game. the book hp4 has been my favorite book in the series so far, and i was very disappointed with the results of this one; i was expecting much better, like the past 3 which have been excellent. it barely follows the storyline, is WAY too easy and unchallenging, and is just a complete waste of time and money. it needs to be remade like the others have been. i highly recommend NOT purchasing this game, its not worth it. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#40 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005