Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry is mysteriously selected as the fourth competitor in the dangerous Triwizard Tournament. Each contestant in this international competition must confront a fire-breathing dragon, rescue friends from the icy depths of the Black Lake, and navigateIn Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry is mysteriously selected as the fourth competitor in the dangerous Triwizard Tournament. Each contestant in this international competition must confront a fire-breathing dragon, rescue friends from the icy depths of the Black Lake, and navigate the twisting mysteries of a vast, dangerous maze. Players experience all the thrills of the movie - from the Quidditch World Cup campsite to a heart-stopping duel with Lord Voldemort himself. Harry, Ron, and Hermione are all playable characters, modeled after their big-screen counterparts. In this game, an all-new spell-casting system allows players to feel the magic for the first time as the controller shakes and reacts with every flick of the wand. Players can also team up with friends in co-operative play to combine their magic and produce more powerful spells than ever before. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The game changes a few of the things Harry fans have come to expect from the games, and though aimed at a younger audience, Harry fans will find a lot to like in the game.
  2. Series fans will find a lot to love in this title, which offers an attractive, immersive, and most importantly, fun excursion into the world of J.K. Rowling's imaginative works.
  3. While Goblet of Fire might be a more exciting and fun game than the rest of the Potter series, it still lacks many of the ingredients that made the Lord of the Rings-based games so much fun.
  4. PSM Magazine
    70
    This is by no means a perfect game, but it serves the license admirably and is definitely worth playing through with friends. [Feb 2006, p.82]
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    70
    Nothing more than a bunch of minigames that suffer from an awkward camera system. [Dec 2005]
  6. It’s a healthy change of pace for the series. However, these moments fade out fast as you find yourself repeating levels over and over just so you can move on.
  7. AceGamez
    50
    Seasoned gamers will find very little of interest here, regardless of how massive a Harry Potter fan you are (personally I love the books and the films).

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    I love this game. You can choose either Harry, Hermione and Ron along with your sis or bro. The game is really scary and the one with harryI love this game. You can choose either Harry, Hermione and Ron along with your sis or bro. The game is really scary and the one with harry being chased by a big fire breathing dragon while he is in a broom is epic. I love the story very much. Expand
  2. HenryT.
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    love the game, and lots like the movie wich is ace!
  3. Mar 14, 2016
    8
    It's been quite a few years since I completed this game, but as I recall this was a very faithful adaptation of the movie, and had veryIt's been quite a few years since I completed this game, but as I recall this was a very faithful adaptation of the movie, and had very enjoyable gameplay. I might be wrong though.. Expand
  4. KavveenK.
    Nov 30, 2005
    5
    i bought this game like 2 years ago but didn't get the time to read it but my hot brother bought another so i played it with my ds and i bought this game like 2 years ago but didn't get the time to read it but my hot brother bought another so i played it with my ds and this game was hot like me i mean my ps2 literally broke does this happen because I am hot.this was like my 17th ps5.well so go my this game because i am hot and cool. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2017
    5
    Cáliz de fuegos para todos -Andrés Iniesta patrocinando el torneo de los tres magos y amasando varios fajos de billetes mientras lo dice. TocaCáliz de fuegos para todos -Andrés Iniesta patrocinando el torneo de los tres magos y amasando varios fajos de billetes mientras lo dice. Toca el cuarto pero he dejado de estar harto para escribir un resumen de este anteriormente juego pasable.
    En este caso cambia la hubicación de la cámara pasando del 3D para convertirse en 2D y medio cosa contradictoria pero le da un aire arcade, incluso es posible comprar cromitos con los que puedes aumentar el desempeño en combate de los personajes jugables.
    Poca cosa mas a destacar.
    Expand
  6. Nathdman
    Feb 9, 2006
    4
    This game is worse than the past 3 crappy games. The missions suck and to complicated. The only reason it's getting a 4 from me is This game is worse than the past 3 crappy games. The missions suck and to complicated. The only reason it's getting a 4 from me is because i'm a fan the books. Expand
  7. EmmaT.
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    i hated this game. the book hp4 has been my favorite book in the series so far, and i was very disappointed with the results of this one; i i hated this game. the book hp4 has been my favorite book in the series so far, and i was very disappointed with the results of this one; i was expecting much better, like the past 3 which have been excellent. it barely follows the storyline, is WAY too easy and unchallenging, and is just a complete waste of time and money. it needs to be remade like the others have been. i highly recommend NOT purchasing this game, its not worth it. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

38
#38 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005