Haunting Ground PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Haunting Ground Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Demento") In Haunting Ground, players take on the role of Fiona Belli, an 18 year old girl who is the sole survivor of a tragic car accident that has claimed both her parents. When she regains consciousness following the accident, she finds herself locked up in an unfamiliar(Also known as "Demento") In Haunting Ground, players take on the role of Fiona Belli, an 18 year old girl who is the sole survivor of a tragic car accident that has claimed both her parents. When she regains consciousness following the accident, she finds herself locked up in an unfamiliar old castle, with no clear way out. As she makes her way through unsettling surroundings, she encounters an array of strange inhabitants and learns that she has become the heiress of the mysterious castle upon her parents' death. Fiona also comes across Debilitas, a deformed and disturbed man who chases her relentlessly. Luckily, she meets a white shepherd dog named Hewie who has also been trapped in the castle. By saving him from the shackles that imprison him, an instant bond is formed. This spine-chilling survival horror game is set in a mysterious castle that has become a prison for two innocent characters- an orphaned young girl and a white shepherd dog. They must utilize each other's strengths if they hope to escape from their horrifying surroundings. Haunting Ground combines a compelling ambiance of terror and solitude with challenging puzzles and a unique gameplay approach. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    89
    A good-looking puzzle-oriented horror game. It has an innovative panic system and a dramatic storyline. The adventure and the puzzles are well balanced, which makes Haunting Ground a very enjoyable experience. [May 05]
  2. 80
    An ambitious and subsequently innovative title that brings a number of refreshing changes to the survival horror genre.
  3. The game delivers creepy moments aplenty, and your German Shepherd makes a unique and neat teammate to play with, but some gameplay oddness and dog artificial intelligence quirks mar the adventure.
  4. I try to play it alone in the dark, by myself, late at night, and I'll be darned if I haven't gotten scared more then once. For me, that speaks volumes.
  5. PSM Magazine
    65
    Becomes more a decent action game with a cool twist rather than the psychological thriller it's so obviously meant to be. [June 2005, p.79]
  6. 60
    Despite a few fresh ideas, Haunting Ground is no classic. The thin story relies too often on clich? and titillation, the villains aren't terribly frightening, and the gameplay becomes too predictable too quickly.
  7. The plot is weird enough that some collectors and video game novelty-seekers might find it worth their money, but ultimately, nothing can save Haunting Ground from its own tedious gameplay. Run and hide, indeed.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. KevinV.
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. It is so orginal, you may think not but it is. Although it does have the whole creepy mansion theme the This is my favorite game of all time. It is so orginal, you may think not but it is. Although it does have the whole creepy mansion theme the gameplay and enemies are original. You don't know whats helpful or harmful. And the fighting system is awesome not only do you use physical or weapon attacks you can use your dog compain to help you. There are so many interesting puzzles that invole both of you. The voice overs are amazing done, the visuals are fantastic, and the gameplay is more original than resident evil 4. I just can't stand how people don't look at this game and realize how wonder it is. They always compare it to Resident Evil 4. Although that is a great game it doesn't have much orginality to it. Your in a abandon village getting attacked by monsters to help someone. It has great gameplay but is not as compelling or scary as Haunting Ground. Haunting Ground blends the survival horror terror, with the hide-and-seek gameplay. I give it the my highest recomendation. Expand
  2. KellyH.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    this was a fun game...the first time i started playing it...i was freaking out and screaming....but when i saw my sister play, it wasnt that this was a fun game...the first time i started playing it...i was freaking out and screaming....but when i saw my sister play, it wasnt that bad....so i do LUV this awsome game, and recomend others to play it as well. Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2016
    10
    Oh Haunting Ground, what can I say! I went into this game thinking, "Oh reviews say this is a resident evil clone, I'll give it a shot". WhatOh Haunting Ground, what can I say! I went into this game thinking, "Oh reviews say this is a resident evil clone, I'll give it a shot". What I got from Haunting Ground was one of the greatest horror's ever made.

    A spiritual successor to the Clock Tower franchise, Haunting Ground features the protagonist Fiona Belli and a killer (actually multiple killers the further you get) constantly running after her, and with little to nothing to defend herself with. Fiona must hide and solve puzzles to progress through the Belli Castle. There are virtually no load times and you can leave every room open to form a trail (a trail which tells you where you have and have not been yet). The creators were intelligent enough to realize by doing this a whole new dynamic could be added as the killer will go through rooms and close the door behind him/her to prevent your escape and search the room. My favorite killer was the Maid who one minute will be intent on killing you then suddenly appear in the next room and be cleaning and completely proper with you.

    Sounds fairly innovative already right? Well there is this dog names "Hewie" which changes everything. The dog's AI is insanely well done with him playing differently depending on how you interact with him and do pre-set commands such as "Go, Stay, Praise, and Scold". Hewie is needed to solve certain puzzles, and can assist you in combat as well. You can get Hewie to obey you efficiently by communicating with him often and occasionally throwing a ball around for him (once you receive it) and giving him praise whenever he performs tasks correctly. Also upon beating the game you can select from different breeds of dog which will change the personality as well as the dogs health, and speed.

    Some interesting survival skills Fiona has are her intuitions (thoughts which occur when Fiona interacts with a potentially useful item) and "Alchemy". The intuitions would be displayed when pausing and give subtle hints which never broke immersion (and in fact added to the immersion of the overall experience). Alchemy allowed you to make weapons out of different ingredients to assist in your survival. When bringing down a killer they will drop an item similar to the way Nemesis does in RE3.

    The game has an awesome amount of content, from unlockable costumes, movie gallery, art gallery, multiple endings and even the ability to play as the dog. Upon beating the game two times, Hewie's intuitions will be displayed instead of Fiona's. The intuition change caught me completely by surprise and had me amazed at just how much content was fit into Haunting Ground.

    The game is fairly expensive now, but regardless, if you ever get the chance or have the funds (and an insatiable love for horror and macabre) buy this game, there is absolutely no way you could be left disappointed.
    Expand
  4. LisaM.
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    My fav game. Love the graphics, the caracters and puzzles. Could have been a bit more scarier and longer gameplay.
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    8
    This game is SCARY AS HELL and has some improvements than clock tower 3 except it is confusing sometimes but it's disturbing atmosphere andThis game is SCARY AS HELL and has some improvements than clock tower 3 except it is confusing sometimes but it's disturbing atmosphere and gameplay is still great. Collapse
  6. Julian
    May 16, 2005
    8
    This game is pretty much what Clock Tower 3 should have been. The enemy is much smarter and there's more scare factor.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best way to describe this game is; Have you played Clock Tower 3? If yes, then you're all good. However, this game is what Clock Tower 3 should have been in the first place. With the A.I programmed to never stop looking for you, a dog companion to assist you and a larger variety of hiding spots Haunting Ground could might as well be called Clock Tower 4. The stalkers are so much more threatening since even after they leave the room you're hiding in, they keep on looking for you which raises the fear factor and the music that accompanies them is truly adds to the game. That being said, they can get annoying at times, appearing at times where you're doing a puzzle or trying to get from point A to point B. Other mechanics such as panic mode, your dog companion which can go to out-of-reach areas, find items which will assist you, growling when a stalker is near and attack the stalkers when they're chasing you. This game has also has very detailed art and the facial expressions of the characters are very vivid (unlike many other games at the time). Even though this game has many ups to it, one thing that can be said is that it has mediocre replay value. There aren't that many things for you to do in this game. I guess you could look for rare items. You could also try to get all the endings and beat the game in hard mode but other than that, the replay value is ok. It isn't the type of game i'd take out and play a week after I completed it for the first time. Hard mode is, well, just a harder version of the game with the only difference (other than the difficulty) being the color of the clothes the stalkers wear. You could also try and get the unlockable costumes for both Fiona and Hewie. This game isn't perfect but it comes somewhat close to it. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

69
#69 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
26
#26 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005