Haven: Call of the King PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2002
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeG.
    Jul 27, 2003
    0
    i cant rate it cos i cant play it..i got stuck at darkwater village at those damn fires.38!fires thats fun for you..ha ,and very early in the game.also my fingers are quite sore..i think rachet and clank is better...right level of difficulty for people who are attracted to ps2. i dont like hop,hoppity ,boss,bigger boss,bigger pain games much.must try riven or myst
  2. D.J.
    May 27, 2003
    2
    Wow, this game is bad. It seems to fail on almost every level (layout, gameplay, character design, etc.) and is unpleasant to play. Now you might find this game for $10 but don't waste your money. Why do you think the game is so cheap when its not that old, hmmm. And for those who gave it anything higher than 5 should have their head inspected, or at least shown what a good game Wow, this game is bad. It seems to fail on almost every level (layout, gameplay, character design, etc.) and is unpleasant to play. Now you might find this game for $10 but don't waste your money. Why do you think the game is so cheap when its not that old, hmmm. And for those who gave it anything higher than 5 should have their head inspected, or at least shown what a good game really is. To paraphrase AVOID AT ALL COSTS! Expand
  3. RyanM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    4
    I didn't like this game very much. It was your basic platformer. My favorite part was the very beginning, and that's the only part that kept me interested for over 20 minutes. But you'll find better games out their and you'll realize this is not worth wasting your time.
  4. BruceM.
    Jan 17, 2003
    10
    Terrific...everything you want from a game...this really is a must have for all PS2 gamers.
  5. JamesC.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Simply astounding. Traveller's Tales gamble on this game is surely worth it. Those who say "Ratchet is the superior game" don't know what they're missing out on. The comparrison is totally unfair on either game, as they both do different things. Haven deserves either a 9 or 10 from any reviewer, as any score lower is a crime against the gaming world and humanity!
  6. JeremyS.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Fan-flippin-tastic.
  7. MatthewC.
    Nov 28, 2002
    10
    It is amazing, people that dont give this game 8 or more have no idea what makes a great game, the sheer scale of the game is overwhelming and with no signs of loading between different parts of the game you can play it for hours with no interference from loading screens.
  8. PaulS.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    The multitude of gameplay types makes it fun and exciting, and never boring. Some of the best visuals of any game, and better than most platformers. Great fun!
  9. Rayr.
    Nov 26, 2002
    1
    Its jack of all trades, master of none! In a word NAFF. Buy Ratchet instead!

Awards & Rankings

#91 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#25 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It would have worked better had the game allowed you to switch from any of these game styles at will. I think that was the original idea, but sadly it all turns out overly scripted and directed.
  2. The biggest problem here is how tedious some of the objectives can be, but the story is interesting enough to keep you playing, and it's a decently long experience as well.
  3. With a bit more polish, the gameplay in Haven: Call of the King could have matched the brilliant ideas that fueled the game's creation.