User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 69
  2. Negative: 8 out of 69

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MR.47
    Jan 11, 2003
    10
    You bastards who said this was bad WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU TALKING about? you can all kiss my ass.
  2. MicahC.
    Mar 8, 2003
    9
    Disturbingly realistic...i'll pay it.
  3. EloiP.
    Oct 5, 2002
    9
    I LOVE this game. The depth is pretty incredible.
  4. IvanG.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    I'd like to say hitman 2 is in fact a rather incredible game which u use your mind rather than just playiny through and if u find this game really hard and say it's wack because of the difficulty than u should just quit your bitchin' and stick to mario.
  5. SamA.
    Dec 17, 2002
    9
    One of the best gams of all time if you are a hard core paserint person coze if you want bang kill shot them up games then you will hate this game it thats alot more skill and stuff then doom or duke3d because the people see you around they surspect you and you have to sneek around and stuff its not everyones cup of tea but it is a cool game for anyone over 16 i think.
  6. Garrett
    Oct 31, 2002
    9
    GREAT game! I love it!
  7. PeterS.
    Oct 4, 2002
    9
    As the review says above PURE CLASS i was in a line waiting for this game along with other fellow fans of hitman series i was there for 2 hours and trust me well worth it i gave it a nine because i hardly give 10s. the mark lost was because of strange controls.
  8. LukeB.
    Mar 16, 2003
    9
    Yeah! its what its all about! im lookin forward 2 plinters cell on PS2!!
  9. PongA.
    May 18, 2003
    10
    For those people who hate this game is nothing but a cold hearted....LOSER!!! This is one game that said it all when it comes to gameplay & stragedy. this game really kick!!!!! awesome, yes awesome......
  10. JohnK.
    May 31, 2003
    9
    This game had a lot of good weapons, and a good plot for a shooter.
  11. EdB.
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    You play as a hitman, your bald, you use stealth, guns, shooting, hell you strangle people with fiber wire too... what else do you want from a game? Hard to get controls and hints in maps at first but once you get the hang of it you will replay the levels over and over to improve you execution. You can also save at anytime this is awesome ...cause I hate games with checkpoints that make You play as a hitman, your bald, you use stealth, guns, shooting, hell you strangle people with fiber wire too... what else do you want from a game? Hard to get controls and hints in maps at first but once you get the hang of it you will replay the levels over and over to improve you execution. You can also save at anytime this is awesome ...cause I hate games with checkpoints that make you replay the easy crap over and over. Expand
  12. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    9
    For those who played the game as a straight shooter, you missed out on one of the most tense and exciting experiences in gaming. Played as the title suggests, as a silent, patient assassin, you get some of the best infiiltration and subsequent payoff kills in any video game to date.
  13. AnonymousMC
    Dec 18, 2002
    9
    I don't understand how someone can give a game a score of a 0 just for a couple control issues and then praise the exact same game (excluding graphical and control differences) for a different system. Ignore "Xboxer NUmba1"'s comment. This is still a great game on this platform as well, very fun and suspenseful. Check it out, even if you do have problems with the controls theyI don't understand how someone can give a game a score of a 0 just for a couple control issues and then praise the exact same game (excluding graphical and control differences) for a different system. Ignore "Xboxer NUmba1"'s comment. This is still a great game on this platform as well, very fun and suspenseful. Check it out, even if you do have problems with the controls they are very easy to get used to. Expand
  14. MP
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Totally Cool... MUST try.
  15. AkshayB.
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    This game is just the best game u will eva play so buy it if u like shooting games.
  16. TyC
    Feb 23, 2004
    9
    This is by far, the best assassin related game there is. I love the controls, and Best of all.........The WEAPONS!!!!!!!! Fantastic to blast people away.
  17. Hades
    Dec 16, 2002
    9
    Perhaps people had to have played the first Hitman to truly appreciate the 2nd. If you are interested in Hitman 2 dont let these negative user scores deter your craving to play it. I would AT LEAST rent the game. But on with the review: Hitman 2 is a Stealth Action game, while not perfect, it is still a great game. The graphics in the game are good, not outstanding or amazing but they are Perhaps people had to have played the first Hitman to truly appreciate the 2nd. If you are interested in Hitman 2 dont let these negative user scores deter your craving to play it. I would AT LEAST rent the game. But on with the review: Hitman 2 is a Stealth Action game, while not perfect, it is still a great game. The graphics in the game are good, not outstanding or amazing but they are by no means bad. A reason i rate them the score i do is because of how realistic it is when you shoot someone and their limbs twitch up, its a neat little effect to mess around with. 8/10 The sound effects and music are also quite good, fitting the game setting perfectly. 8/10 Gameplay can either be stealthy or all out rampage depending on what you want, while this is good that you can choose, you can easily take the rambo approach and pass levels easily, which detracts from the games overall feel. 9/10 or 7/10 (with the "rambo" approach) Replay value, if you like the game, is quite high, due to all of the different approaches, ratings, and weapons you can collect throughout the levels. However there are not many extras to unlock at all. Which is unfortunate. Again, to reiterate, if you are interested in seeing what hitman 2 is all about id give it a try, it might not be everyones favorite but youll never know if youll like it till ya try it. Overall a great stealth action game. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 84
    While the awkward controls and trial-and-error gameplay design might deter some gamers, Hitman 2 is deep with the kind of gameplay that stealth and shooter gameplayers have been craving for on PS2.
  2. I was utterly addicted the moment I started playing Hitman 2. [Dec 2002, p.204]
  3. Smart gameplay couples with intelligent AI to make sure you're kept on your toes at all times through this deep, stealthy shooter.