User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 85
  2. Negative: 8 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Devin
    Oct 11, 2006
    3
    I'm sorry, I loved Hitman 2 but this game it just too tedious, it's simle trial and error game play without an adequate story to drive the bland game mechanics. I understand their are multiple ways of completing levels, however, who would want to. This game was a complete waist of money. I played three levels then decided enough is enough why waist any more precious hours of my I'm sorry, I loved Hitman 2 but this game it just too tedious, it's simle trial and error game play without an adequate story to drive the bland game mechanics. I understand their are multiple ways of completing levels, however, who would want to. This game was a complete waist of money. I played three levels then decided enough is enough why waist any more precious hours of my life playing a terrible game. Expand
  2. YanoZ.
    Aug 26, 2007
    4
    Just like the other Hitman games... The graphics makes me want to stop playing... Hitman2: Blood Money had a better sotryline!
  3. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    Un 8 es justo es bien jejejejejejejejjejejejejejeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeejejejejjejejjejejejejejjejejjejejejiwjdifejieji
  4. VersemS.
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    When I first played it, the gameplay was good but the graphics are disturbing! if you ignore the graphics for a second you can see that this game brings a big package of fun. From sliding down pipes and tugging a fiber wire around some poor souls throat there are many ways you can be the perfect silent assassin.
  5. KavveenKanagaraj
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    this game suxxxxxxxxxxxx beep.reversing my beep.okay this is the best game for batty boys like me who are hot and single.my mother once told my dad that this game is going to be good but my uncle Earny had to be cool and say no so this game is ruubish in the french version but excellent in the australian version because i am a ra...c.i.st.. no offense i am just trying to make my point
  6. Tazz
    Jul 1, 2006
    9
    I've only played the first few missions, already got silent assasin. It is the same ole game but I dig the way you can complete a mission without carrying a gun or blow everyone away. There are always clues on how to finish a mission but you do have to be patient. They should try for Co-Op (maybe online) to really show what the hitman series can do. Great game so far.
  7. Scarecrow
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    The best in the series.A true improved sequel from every aspect. It has the most variable, interesting and creative missions with fantastic enviroments. The controls are better and the gameplay more variable and interesting that adds a lot of replay value to the game. The presentation , story and graphics are good but they need improvement. Again the music is absolutely fantastic. Its the The best in the series.A true improved sequel from every aspect. It has the most variable, interesting and creative missions with fantastic enviroments. The controls are better and the gameplay more variable and interesting that adds a lot of replay value to the game. The presentation , story and graphics are good but they need improvement. Again the music is absolutely fantastic. Its the best Hitman yet. Expand
  8. numbers
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    A great game taht really lives up to the previous Hitman games and, in my opinion, exceeds them in some areas. Like in this game 47 is portayed as a brutal killer, not a man that kills to live but still cares about people. Altough the graphics aren't that different and there are a few glitches you might encounter, but theese things are nothing new and have popped up in all the Hitman A great game taht really lives up to the previous Hitman games and, in my opinion, exceeds them in some areas. Like in this game 47 is portayed as a brutal killer, not a man that kills to live but still cares about people. Altough the graphics aren't that different and there are a few glitches you might encounter, but theese things are nothing new and have popped up in all the Hitman games so i can't see why you would start to make a big deal out of it now. Also there are moments were the game shines, like when you run through streets filled with people (and i mean filled! probably over 100 on your screen at most times) or when you find those little quirks in the game (like dropping a piano on somebodies head or taking everyone down with a tranquilizer gun etc.) and the usually magnificent areas and objective options that will make you play the levels forever just to see if there some funnier way to do it. The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is because of the regular glitches that can become annoying and the potential that was not completely fufilled (or the last game was just so great that they had a really hard time with making it better). Expand
  9. SajitM.
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Hit Man: Blood Money is truly challenging and the graphics are awesome. Additionally, the fact that there is no right way of completing a stage makes it even more interesting yet be warned the contracts are challenging to say the least.
  10. BrianC
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    The game hitman blood money is an interresting experience with its flaws, but the gameplay makes up for it. once you figure it out, you can go through the white house mission without using anything more than the fibrewire. one thing bothers me though: a level 2 silencer for 200 grand?
  11. efeb
    May 26, 2006
    10
    i finished the game. heres the wrap. there are 13 levels in total if you dont count the so called "hide out" level, which is essentially a gun collectors room, kind of like a training level. but the real training level is the first mission which takes place in an abandoned amusement park. the levels are so much better than the lame hitman contracts game released before this. the graphicsi finished the game. heres the wrap. there are 13 levels in total if you dont count the so called "hide out" level, which is essentially a gun collectors room, kind of like a training level. but the real training level is the first mission which takes place in an abandoned amusement park. the levels are so much better than the lame hitman contracts game released before this. the graphics and animations are improved but not by much. you can turn the camera now with the right stick like in splinter cell so you can see better and also see your own face, which is cool. since i basically ran through the levels i did not collect all the weapons but it seems you dont have much freedom in choosing weapons like you did in the earlier hitmans. like, if you carry silverballers...you cannot equip the magnum from the start but if you can find one during the game, you can carry it. so i dont know what happened there. there is a paris opera level, a rocky mountain porn kings x-mass party level, a suburban home of a fbi protected criminal level (my favorite by far), white house, a skyscraper level where you go kill some folks at top floors and than goto the basement to kill more, a misissipi river boat ride, a residence in the same location where there is a redneck wedding (fun level this is also), a crowded mardi-gras where you hunt down terrorists dressed like birds (feathers fly around as you put bullets into them...nice), there is the las vegas level...which will put a smile on your face because its designed so well, there is a grand mansion in chile where you need to say bye bye to two bad fellas...this level is gorgeous with tropical fauna and everything, kind of looks like tomb raider legend...but better. and a psycho clinic...not an asylum like in contracts but more zen place, nice location. the last level however, i cannot tell you...because it will ruin the surprise. just play and see what i mean. if you love hitman series like i do...you will agree that this is the BEST of them all. there is money you earn this time to upgrade weapons which is good, there is the reputation thing where you must be careful NOT to be too famous as you go killing people, when you finish a level you are presented with the next mornings newspaper headlines...this is very well done as it tells you almost exactly what happened, how many bullets fired, people killed and survived and stuff...nice. music is great...but contracts had an amazing score...this has classical music, ave maria to be presice. go buy it now...its simply the best, best game. Expand
  12. JacobK.
    May 30, 2006
    9
    Very good game, intelligent, challenging and altogether well made. It only did get a 10 due to some AI being not as smart as they could and sometimes the trial-and-error of more difficult missions can get a little tedious.
  13. JackJ.
    May 30, 2006
    0
    Terrible, atrocious excuse for a game. No saving, bugs, crashes, horrible load times, wretched performance... and "hitman" looking like that night club bouncer that calls himself "vin diesel" these days.
  14. TonyB.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    this game is unbelievable this is by far the best addition in the series and the other 3 were already great. it is pretty difficult but theres so many different ways to get through a mission they have created so many possible ways to execute your mission well worth a purchase.
  15. J.Ortanna
    Jun 6, 2006
    6
    Very disappointed as all the same ridiculous type of bugs are still here! Great idea. Good levels. But the fact when you want to peer out a window and you accidentally climb through it - to be spotted, or hitting x at the wrong moment and you plant a bomb for all to see - this is just dumb! Oh and on house of cards level the blonde guy has x-ray vision. He can see through walls!!
  16. DanteH.
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    A few clarifications for previous reviews. 1: There's only no saving if you choose the highest difficulty setting. Otherwise, there's mid-level saving, but it's limited to a certain number (to prevent people from quicksaving constantly and negating a lot of the challenge), and the saves aren't kept after quitting a level. The mid-level saves are used as a "handicap" of A few clarifications for previous reviews. 1: There's only no saving if you choose the highest difficulty setting. Otherwise, there's mid-level saving, but it's limited to a certain number (to prevent people from quicksaving constantly and negating a lot of the challenge), and the saves aren't kept after quitting a level. The mid-level saves are used as a "handicap" of sorts to help balance the gameplay on the easier levels. The game permanently records your progress at the end of each level on any difficulty. 2: Earlier reviewers have complained about the console version's controls, but the PC version is very easy to control, especially if you're used to first-person shooter controls. 3: There were complaints of long load times in an earlier review, but I've noticed no such problems in the PC version; this may be a console-specific issue. (Also, the Hitman's look is unchanged from previous installments - and the only thing he has in common with Vin Diesel is a bald head.) Expand
  17. JamieT.
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    There is nothing wrong with this game other than it's a bit short! The gameplay is great and you will want to play the game again and again! It has an awesome deal of replay value that will make you want to play more than once!
  18. TheoD.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played. The AI is excellent and the customisable weapons is just unbelievable. Superb!
  19. GeoffH.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    It's rare to see a game that gets everything so right: an intriguing storyline, an unbelievably cool main character, immersive graphics and detail, and gameplay that's free-form enough to offer thousands of strategies for any given level. Hitman: Blood Money encourages you to think, to plan, and to bring out your devious side - to use your imagination and creativity to achieve It's rare to see a game that gets everything so right: an intriguing storyline, an unbelievably cool main character, immersive graphics and detail, and gameplay that's free-form enough to offer thousands of strategies for any given level. Hitman: Blood Money encourages you to think, to plan, and to bring out your devious side - to use your imagination and creativity to achieve what might otherwise seem impossible. And once you've done it, you can do it again and again and again - and still never play a level the same way twice. If you're not afraid of a challenge, pick this one up. Collapse
  20. FrederickC.
    Jul 9, 2006
    7
    sad. very sad about the game, because i can not understand why such a great game as hitman 2 was ,, now has not more to offer but the same, , the graphics are poor, and in general a returned the game and got me again hitman 2 , I preffer to keep a little old game.. . but great hours of fun.,,eidos need to work hard in the next one.
  21. tazztazz
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Best game ever thrilling intense what else could you ask for!?!?!?!
  22. [Anonymous]
    May 14, 2007
    9
    Very stealthy and tactical games. Graphics are also good and so are the missions.
  23. AdamM.
    Apr 18, 2009
    8
    Definatley my best title for the PS2. It still somehow brings me back despite my XBOX360. Before that... well, it was all I played. The gameplay is dark, bloody, and humerous, the missions are awsome, and the overall presentation is great. But, don't go into this thinking you can survive FPS style. If you do, you're going to be sorley dissapointed.
  24. KevinB.
    Jun 13, 2006
    7
    While the game was flawed in some places it still left me with a warm fuzzy feeling after sticking some guy in a ship's furnace engine. yeah that was pretty sweet. There's alot of room for improvement however. I think eidos rushed this one. A little more time and it would have been stunning. Just one more side note: While it was fun to throw people over cliffs and stuff, it gotWhile the game was flawed in some places it still left me with a warm fuzzy feeling after sticking some guy in a ship's furnace engine. yeah that was pretty sweet. There's alot of room for improvement however. I think eidos rushed this one. A little more time and it would have been stunning. Just one more side note: While it was fun to throw people over cliffs and stuff, it got to the point where I was just killing the targets with a shotgun for all to see, hiding in a corner and killing on the security guards and then leaving the area and completing the level with a uber crazy violence/noise level and the rank: PSYCHOPATH!...my point being that you can easily blow through the game by just KILLING EVERYTHING! this is probably due to the crappy AI but overall a pretty decent game. I was amused by it but I wouldnt spend 50 bucks on it...which I did...s**t...I would recommend renting it first... Expand
  25. RedXIII
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    Definitly excellent game, controls could have been a little better, but other than that, top knotch all around, fix the controls (camera angles and such), and its a perfect 10.
  26. 98424
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    Essentially the same game, with the expected updates... being able to customize some (not all) weapons is refreshing, and the levels are as entertaining as ever, and the game definitely is beautiful -if not somewhat glitchy in portions (characters clipping through walls, etc..)- but at the same time the game feels a bit monotonous and it's hard to see how this has developed the basic Essentially the same game, with the expected updates... being able to customize some (not all) weapons is refreshing, and the levels are as entertaining as ever, and the game definitely is beautiful -if not somewhat glitchy in portions (characters clipping through walls, etc..)- but at the same time the game feels a bit monotonous and it's hard to see how this has developed the basic Hitman formula we've been seeing for the past 5 years beyond adding shinier graphics and better AI, with new and improved architecture... Expand
  27. Andrew
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    While perhaps not as intense as Hitman 2, this game's emphasis on killing in crowded public areas creates perhaps the most realistic assassin experience yet. The story and the (typical of Hitman games) brutal ending make this an extremely enjoyable title for the PS2.
  28. ellioshwackson
    Sep 13, 2006
    2
    I purhcased the rent of this game a while back, and realized i enjoyed it. Agent 57's head was as shiny as a bowling ball. I would often find myself staring into it to look at myself (giggle) becuase i like the way i looked that day. sometime, the controller would get sticky though, that was the only downside to the game. i really liked angent and would mabey like to see him again inI purhcased the rent of this game a while back, and realized i enjoyed it. Agent 57's head was as shiny as a bowling ball. I would often find myself staring into it to look at myself (giggle) becuase i like the way i looked that day. sometime, the controller would get sticky though, that was the only downside to the game. i really liked angent and would mabey like to see him again in mabey the new game hitman :5 " Thank you Agent 87, i will play you some more tonite. I also like his clothes, he is very dressing well in his games. I would like to borrow his tie sometime and would probably pick up lots of hot womens like he does all of the time. Expand
  29. WilliamG.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I absolutely loved this game, especially the soundtrack. By combining the orchestral glory of the second game and Jesper Kyd's dark and insidious industrial/ambient tunes featured in the third, it came together quite impressively. Then, of course, there's the game itself, which was more than satisfyingly challenging. Mr. 47 is also a brilliant anti-hero, saving the world in his I absolutely loved this game, especially the soundtrack. By combining the orchestral glory of the second game and Jesper Kyd's dark and insidious industrial/ambient tunes featured in the third, it came together quite impressively. Then, of course, there's the game itself, which was more than satisfyingly challenging. Mr. 47 is also a brilliant anti-hero, saving the world in his own deadly perfect manner, and doing so with such calm and calculating Zen efficiency that even a Buddhist monk couldn't help but be impressed. I found that obtaining all available weapons whilst maintaining the coveted "Silent Assassin" rating is what continues to draw me back to this game. The only weapon I've yet to obtain with said rating is the Kazo TRG sniper rifle, and I intend to keep coming back until I've found a way. There's always a way. Expand
  30. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    This game is contract killing at it's finest. 47 is back in a another series of missions where instead of following a lame story you are re-enacting past events that don't affect the future of your career. As you progress you can get access to better upgrades for your weapons, and you are able to replay past levels with your upgrades. There is over a dozen ways to play each level and carryThis game is contract killing at it's finest. 47 is back in a another series of missions where instead of following a lame story you are re-enacting past events that don't affect the future of your career. As you progress you can get access to better upgrades for your weapons, and you are able to replay past levels with your upgrades. There is over a dozen ways to play each level and carry out your task. And although the AI basically knows what you're up to (it is extremely easy to get caught) This game has a fairly high replay value, and is a great stealth/optional shooter for any gamer out there that has always dreamed of being a hired assassin (in a video game of course). Expand
  31. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Hitman: Blood Money is one of the best games of all time, and there's really no way to deny that. Apart from the occasional bug and glitch, this game has won the hearts of thousands, me included. This game puts a lot of people off due to it's difficulty, but more people should give it a go, and see how good it really is. Better than Contract and Absolution, on par with Silent Assassin,Hitman: Blood Money is one of the best games of all time, and there's really no way to deny that. Apart from the occasional bug and glitch, this game has won the hearts of thousands, me included. This game puts a lot of people off due to it's difficulty, but more people should give it a go, and see how good it really is. Better than Contract and Absolution, on par with Silent Assassin, this game is more than deserving of a ten out of ten. Expand
  32. Nov 19, 2012
    6
    Ok, I came here before and gave a score of 10 for this game. I admit, this game is much more than just walk and shoot, requiring the player to use his reasoning. But when I went to play again this game on PC, I saw so many bugs that I could not play until the end. That let me a little sad because I really enjoyed this game in the PS2 era.
  33. Nov 10, 2012
    4
    i have played half of the game and then i decide to give up. The game took almost my whole memery card and its realy hard to controll. I switched the game level to the easiest but still really hard to play. wat s gonna happen in the professional?
  34. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Not only is this the best Hitman game in the series, it's one of the best games ever created. (And i've been gaming since gaming began) This is in my top 3 games of all time, it's a masterpiece.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. We don't have to worry about the Hitman franchise feeling like a sports-game series with incremental updates, as Hitman: Blood Money adds three features that make it feel like a real sequel: money, notoriety, and publicity. [June 2006, p.90]
  2. With Eidos' latest foray into professional assassination, players will have to dig deep, wading through mission after mission of trial-and-error gameplay to hunt down a series of targets. [June 2006, p.49]
  3. While the A.I. could use some improvement (one guard spots you, and they all suddenly know where you are), it's the save system that totally knocks a point off for me. [June 2006, p.112]