Hot Wheels Velocity X PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2002
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChristieP.
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    I had a blast playing this game... make another one with more possible tricks.
  2. PatrickM.
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played!!!
  3. BoogerW.
    Jan 11, 2003
    9
    My 6 year old son and I have had a blast playing this game. As a 35 year-old who grew up with Hot Wheels, I cannot get enough of this game.
  4. SaurbhP.
    Mar 28, 2003
    10
    The BOMB!!!!!!!!
  5. RobertP.
    Oct 28, 2005
    8
    I think this game is pretty cool, since we are quite talented with keyboard controls. The only bad thing about it is the story.
  6. JacobSmith
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    I don't understand the problem with the controls. Certain cars are tighter than others, but overall...everything is pretty well done. The story is ridiculous and shallow. That doesn't matter though when the game is so much fun! It's a rare gem in my book. I'm addicted to it!

Awards & Rankings

#90 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. 46
    Almost a fun game, except that its controls really hold it back and kill any enjoyment that might have been had with the game.
  2. Game Informer
    60
    This title is like a burrito stuffed with dirt, topped with soap shavings, and wrapped in a warm leather shell. [Feb 2003, p.98]
  3. An unfortunately stuttery frame rate keeps Hot Wheels Velocity X Maximum Justice from reaching its full potential, but the game is still quite enjoyable.