• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 26, 2005
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
Buy On
  1. 84
    For anyone craving a new, twisting suspense story with a little action mixed in, you’ll definitely come away with Indigo Prophecy as a satisfied gamer, and will remember it for a long while after.
  2. Developer Quantic Dream's Indigo Prophecy is a game that actually gives cinematic gameplay some context, as well as some real heartfelt meaning.
  3. Game Informer
    83
    If you enjoy a good story and don't mind a more laid-back approach to gameplay, this is a title you simply cannot ignore. [Oct 2005, p.124]
  4. The incredible story had me guessing until the end, and once it was finished, I immediately began my quest for the different endings.
  5. Indigo Prophecy is unique, artistic, immersive and beautiful. There’s no reason in the world why any self-respecting gamer shouldn’t have this game in their collection.
  6. It's only awkward because it's stretching old and tired muscles in new and interesting ways, however, and for the people it resonates with, I predict this game will become quite the cult classic.
  7. 80
    Ugly graphics aside, this is one of the most unique games I've played all year. The controls are different and the story is fantastic.
  8. 80
    While Indigo Prophecy is an intense gaming experience, it's easier to compare the title to a film affair. If you can get past the minimalist game interface Prophecy can be an awesome entertaining play.
  9. 80
    If it was a book you'd call it "a real page-turner"; it can be nigh-impossible at points to put down. When all is said and done, as the credits roll across the screen, you'll remember the poignant moments as part of the story, not the actions you took that caused them to be played out.
  10. 80
    In the end, this game passed the only test for me that really matters: it kept me playing, every chance I had, until I was done.
  11. I cannot stress enough how incredibly great this game is. The storyline, the graphical style and movie-like scene-shifting, the incredible score, the voice-acting, it's all top-notch.
  12. Edge Magazine
    80
    It’s almost shocking how seamless, engrossing and accessible Fahrenheit is. It’s sad, then, that it shows weakness in the one area where it needed to be stronger than any other game: the script. [Oct 2005, p.84]
  13. 80
    It does drag on in a few spots, and its sci-fi bent may betray the original premise, but it brings gamers a deep, compelling story told in a clever way -- both in terms of narrative and gameplay execution.
  14. AceGamez
    90
    One of the most fresh, exiting and original games to come out for a long time; it's well presented, sounds great and offers something completely new. There are even a few sex scenes!
  15. Pelit (Finland)
    90
    The game itself is quite simple and short, but the story folds out in a great way. One of the best games of 2005 so far. [Sept. 05]
  16. One of the creepiest and unsettling games to come along in a while. Play it alone at night with the lights off and enjoy the creepy ride.
  17. The adventure genre (hell, the industry in general) should take notes. If your mind's open, let this one in.
  18. Sometimes the game throws a bit too many gameplay ideas at the player through its constant switching between playing as Lucas and the cops, as well as the over emphasis on action sequences, but they aren’t so awful as to ruin the game.
  19. David Cage and the team at Quantic Dream have accomplished what they set out to, producing a game that integrates narrative and gameplay so tightly that they almost seem inseparable... Undoubtedly one of the finest adventure games of this or any generation.
  20. Well, now Fahrenheit is here in all its understated, slow-burning glory; and chances are most gamers will probably be blissfully unaware that the adventure genre has changed for the better in Quantic Dream's latest masterpiece.
  21. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    A brilliant drama that's only slightly damaged by irritating controls and a messy ending. [Nov 2005, p.108]
  22. Those who won’t look at a game unless it’s got big guns and lots of mindless goons to destroy will likely detest Fahrenheit and wonder what the fuss is all about; however those who’d like to glimpse how videogames can become an effective means to telling stories and interacting with them will find one of the surprising contenders for Game of the Year.
  23. A good game and I feel that it is worth the money. It could use a lot of brushing up in certain areas, but considering its characters, dialogue, and sense of atmosphere, Quantic Dream has delivered a game ultimately worthy of the genre.
  24. PSM Magazine
    85
    The rare game that, while not perfect, entertains, immerses, and inspires, all the while forcing you to rethink what a "game" is. We have nothing left to say but "Kudos." [Nov 2005, p.74]
  25. In all, the game is fantastic – absolutely the best graphic adventure title of the year – and is a game others should aspire to in many ways.
  26. Indigo Prophecy may not have the technical backings of a winner with its dated graphics and strange control scheme, but everything else screams classic.
  27. A truly extraordinary game, and easily one of this year’s landmark titles. Evocative, unique, original, atmospheric and gripping – most contemporary releases struggle to lay claim to just one of Fahrenheit’s strengths.
  28. Solid graphics with a consistent feel, one of the best story presentations I have seen in a game since the original Half-Life, mixed all together with a variety of puzzles and changing environments combine to make a knockout of a title.
  29. I pray this is the direction adventure games are going. The production values and attention to detail recall classics like Blade Runner, and not since that game have I wanted to live in a world like this. Buy this game.
  30. It proves that an engrossing storyline doesn’t have to come in a boring package, but rather one filled with emotionally engaging characters and intense action.
  31. Forget buying three DVDs of crappy movies you're only going to watch once and buy Fahrenheit instead. It's longer, boasts more action, costs the same and offers far more crash for your cash than many a movie. [PSW]
  32. Unique, and only the fact that it won't be every player's idea of fun (walking, listening, talking, mashing sticks...) holds it back. But to pass up on such a powerful experience based on preconceptions of 'boring adventure games' would be a very big mistake. [PSM2]
  33. Adventure game lovers will not be disappointed by the game play elements, and fans of "Shenmue" will find plenty to like here.
  34. The game starts out kind of like "The Twilight Zone" meets "CSI," but then it turns into The "X-Files" with some "Matrix" undertones.
  35. Though the inclusion of repetitive mini-games is anything but evolutionary, this game is well worth a look for those who can handle some reflex action in their adventures.
  36. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    Stylish, cinematic reinvention of the point-and-click adventure. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  37. Fahrenheit features a fascinating, ever evolving storyline that really does change in real time depending on your actions.
  38. 85
    And yet there's still something here that kept us playing to the end. Can't quite put our finger on it…ah yes, now we remember what it was: This game has a story that's almost too damn good for a video game.
  39. A completely engrossing game, designed for the patience of adult players, that will stand up to an almost infinite number of sessions. It’s a technically marvellous achievement by David Cage.
  40. Pelaaja (Finland)
    90
    Fahrenheit heralds the renaissance in adventure games. The puzzles are logical and use common sense. The cinematic feeling, excellent voice acting, gripping action sequences and excellent audiovisual elements complement the tightly woven plot. The story and scene’s change according to the players choices and actions, which has often been talked about, but rarely implemented as well as in Fahrenheit. The game proves that adventure games are not dead, they just needed to find a way to adjust. [Sept 2005, p.52]
  41. Insofar as it successfully marries an innovative and intuitive interface to the telling of that story, it is not a difficult game to recommend.

Awards & Rankings

30
22
#22 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
15
#15 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 108
  2. Negative: 17 out of 108
  1. JoseA.
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    OK, I played this Game about 2 years ago & I must say aside from Shadow of the Colossus this was the most unforgettable experience in video OK, I played this Game about 2 years ago & I must say aside from Shadow of the Colossus this was the most unforgettable experience in video game history. Yeah, I'm saying this 2 years later! It's never left my memory. Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    The most original game I've ever played. The beginning sequence is one of the best moments in any video game I've ever played. This game hasThe most original game I've ever played. The beginning sequence is one of the best moments in any video game I've ever played. This game has some highs and lows in terms of fun, but the best moments in this game are the best out of any game I've ever played. Full Review »
  3. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, Indigo Prophecy offers a nearly perfect Interactive experience. The levelsWith its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, Indigo Prophecy offers a nearly perfect Interactive experience. The levels and quick-time events could be much more difficult. Full Review »