• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 26, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 92
  2. Negative: 15 out of 92

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RomaM.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    the best game ever!buy it now,brilliant game,brilliant characters and breathtaking story!and to those people who putted rating for this game less then 5,you must be little kids which only play first person shooters and want some action,this game is about the story,how you put the story together.get it now as this is the most amazing game ever!
  2. JulieN.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    Intense sequences. Plays like a movie where you control the story. Simple investigative gameplay followed by scary mental scenes and fast decisions you have to make to control the game. The fight sequences are intense, but you spend time concentrating on the moves and don't get to enjoy the visuals. Still, excellent game.
  3. GrahamM.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    I don't understand all of the negative user reviews here. I just rented this, but already I'm sure I'll be buying it in the future. While the graphics are lacking, the storyline is incerdibly immersing, the charachters are actually likeable and fun to play as, there are some very interesting (not to mention difficult to pull off, as proved by the countless companies who I don't understand all of the negative user reviews here. I just rented this, but already I'm sure I'll be buying it in the future. While the graphics are lacking, the storyline is incerdibly immersing, the charachters are actually likeable and fun to play as, there are some very interesting (not to mention difficult to pull off, as proved by the countless companies who tried and failed miserably) twists to the playing style. Plus, add some very original elements and the total level of interactivity and you end up with one of the greatest games ever. To those of you who rated this game badly, I strongly suspect that you suffer from "I-don't-have-a-clue-what-I'm-talking-about-itis", and that you only care for video games with lots of explosions, sex and retards with guns. Your idea of a classic game is probably "Serious Sam", or something like that. In fact, if you are that ignorant of this games values, I begin to wonder whether or not you got someone else to type your comments, because somebody that idiotic probably can't even read or write. Which just proves that anyone smart enough to write his or her own name should enjoy this game more than breathing. Expand
  4. DrunkenMaster
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    A lot of people -- especially those used to idiotic buttonmashers -- aren't going to like this game. It's too cerebral and cinematic for those tastes, and too character-oriented as well. The controls are intuitive and smooth -- it would be simple for someone who had never played a video game before to learn the system very quickly -- and the plot, although a bit much in the A lot of people -- especially those used to idiotic buttonmashers -- aren't going to like this game. It's too cerebral and cinematic for those tastes, and too character-oriented as well. The controls are intuitive and smooth -- it would be simple for someone who had never played a video game before to learn the system very quickly -- and the plot, although a bit much in the final chapters, is tense enough to carry you through to whichever of the (multiple) endings you choose to seek. If you are interested in the opportunities for the future of interactive cinema, this is absolutley the game for you to purchase. Peter Jackson, director of the LOTR trilogy, has been quoted as speculating that the two mediums of film and video game will merge in the very near future, and that games have a much greater potential to provide immediacy and immersive content than film. This is one of the first steps in bringing that vision to fruition. Expand
  5. BobJ.
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    This is the most unique game in ages. It is great.
  6. David
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    One of the best games I've played in years. This is a truly original game with a brilliant story.
  7. MarcoH.
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    Exellent.
  8. ShaunC
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    I just finished GTA IV and decided to revisit some of my old PS2 games (thank you back compat.) and came across Indigo again and plugged it in...and wow, it is an amazing game....while the camera can be annoying at some times, it is a very entertaining experience because it is that different; I still want to know what happens next
  9. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, Indigo Prophecy offers a nearly perfect Interactive experience. The levels and quick-time events could be much more difficult.
  10. AidanJ.
    Nov 17, 2005
    0
    This game is quite overrated. I have to agree with the minority on this one. I had really high hopes for the game but when I got it home I was completely dissapointed. I just want to warn people to not waste their money. Rent this first. I think it must be an acquired taste.
  11. JoseA.
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    OK, I played this Game about 2 years ago & I must say aside from Shadow of the Colossus this was the most unforgettable experience in video game history. Yeah, I'm saying this 2 years later! It's never left my memory.
  12. EricS.
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    I love the storyline, it kept me guessing what was coming next. The minigame portions involve good reflexes. The cinematics were beutiful, But the only problem I had was it was too short. I finished the game with the good ending and unlocked all the bonus stuff in about 7 hours of gameplay.
  13. PhillipH.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    The game was great the most fun I have had in a long time I just rented it but I'm already thinking of buying it
  14. JeremyH.
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    This game is for the patient, I will give it that much. Everything about the game though just fits together perfectly. The voice acting is great, the plot is excellent, the gameplay is top notch (if you are a patient person who enjoys these types of games). It has high replayabiltiy cause there are multiple endings to to the game. I will admit that the graphics aren't the best for a This game is for the patient, I will give it that much. Everything about the game though just fits together perfectly. The voice acting is great, the plot is excellent, the gameplay is top notch (if you are a patient person who enjoys these types of games). It has high replayabiltiy cause there are multiple endings to to the game. I will admit that the graphics aren't the best for a PS2 game, but they're also not the worst. The graphics don't matter to me though (as to why I am still giving this a 10). If you are the type though who likes a fast paced game this may not be your type of game as it is a slower paced game and is going to be enjoyed more from those who have the patience for it. I would reccommend renting this before buying though just to make sure it is something you will enjoy because as you can see by the difference of opinions here, you may or you may not. Expand
  15. JimmyD.
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    This is the most intelligent game to come along in a long time...something different is not for everyone but anyone who enjoys a good CSI episode and wishes to play as All characters is going to have a treat in store for them..You actually get to think, to choose how and who you would like to do what. A combination of Silent Hill / Myst type game play with a different style of action This is the most intelligent game to come along in a long time...something different is not for everyone but anyone who enjoys a good CSI episode and wishes to play as All characters is going to have a treat in store for them..You actually get to think, to choose how and who you would like to do what. A combination of Silent Hill / Myst type game play with a different style of action options (think Dance Dance Revolution). ONe of the most unique games to come along in some time. Highly recommended for gamers with open minds. Expand
  16. Foensson
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played... I got sucked in and didn't come out until the "the end" sign was on the screen.. Amazing.. Great voice acting, even bettet characters...
  17. Believeme
    Oct 9, 2005
    8
    I think a score of 8 is perfect for this game. it has flaws, and some exellent aspects. i'll get the flaws out of the way first. it is a little cut-sceney (i know, sorry) but that's only really a problem if u are the type of gamer who is stu[pidly impatient and cares not for plot. also the action is conducted via a qte style analogue tap that works in a fairly similar way toI think a score of 8 is perfect for this game. it has flaws, and some exellent aspects. i'll get the flaws out of the way first. it is a little cut-sceney (i know, sorry) but that's only really a problem if u are the type of gamer who is stu[pidly impatient and cares not for plot. also the action is conducted via a qte style analogue tap that works in a fairly similar way to shenmue. graphics are alright, functional but not flamboyant in any way, and finally, controls are a little awkward cos u stick to walls a bit. all these can be overlooked tho and never really pose a huge issue or really mess up gameplay. camera is ok, ignore the people who say it's terrible cos u control it urself. good points-very good story altho it does get rather fantastical at the end, which is unexpected. cut scenes are very well done. mature and not patronising or stupid in any way. not just bang bang end game or any pointless crap. puzzles are pretty good, never frustrating. choice of events does have an impact that is easily noticable unlike in many games. pretty funny at times. screw it just buy it and sit with it and treat it more like a film and u'll probably love it. if not, go back to pong for endless hours of pure interaction and entertainment. Expand
  18. PhilT.
    Sep 24, 2005
    2
    This isn't the future of adventure games, it's a rehash of many ideas adventure games abandoned years ago. Endless cutscenes interrupted by occasional moments of awkward game-play via a "Tomb Raider" style control system, dodgy camera to boot. And clumsy gesture recognition thrown in for good measure. If ever a game deserved the title of "Emperor's New Clothes", it's this one.
  19. JoshuaJ.
    Sep 25, 2005
    3
    The game only gets a 3 because it (1) Boots up, (2) the cut scenes are sometimes OK, and (3) One of the many chronicly annoying characters has a I (heart) c++ mug. Notice that all three points have noting to do with game play. The in game camera work is dodgy, the game progression is slow and tedious, characters are remarkably thin and flimsy, and I was left with the feeling that I was The game only gets a 3 because it (1) Boots up, (2) the cut scenes are sometimes OK, and (3) One of the many chronicly annoying characters has a I (heart) c++ mug. Notice that all three points have noting to do with game play. The in game camera work is dodgy, the game progression is slow and tedious, characters are remarkably thin and flimsy, and I was left with the feeling that I was prompted to mash buttons in order to make a relatively uninspired interactive story more game like. Expand
  20. Jun 8, 2013
    4
    An interactive story driven game Fahrenheit/Indigo Prophecy starts out with great promise featuring some genuinely tense scenes as you try to avoid arrest. Unfortunately the story soon becomes a complete load of nonsense and the gameplay consists almost entirely of extended QTE sections. A shame as at first it seemed as though it could have been something great.
  21. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    The most original game I've ever played. The beginning sequence is one of the best moments in any video game I've ever played. This game has some highs and lows in terms of fun, but the best moments in this game are the best out of any game I've ever played.
  22. Melanie
    Sep 25, 2005
    0
    This game is really bad. Very boring and all around annoying. If you like to awkwardly walk around a screen and wait for an icon to pop up before you move the right analog stick in a specified direction then this is the perfect game for you.
  23. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    It does have a well written story and well written character, but overall I just felt this game was more like an interactive movie than an actual game. Graphics, script and atmosphere are all excellent, but the gameplay itself just isn't there. Overall: A good "game" that lacks real gameplay to make it what it could be.
  24. JakeP.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    this game took me to places any other game couldn't. it is by far the most realistic and breathtaking game i have ever played. kudos to atari...you came a long way from pac man
  25. JohnD.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Just superbly artistic.
  26. Joshua
    Dec 8, 2005
    4
    A potentially excellent game ruined by Simon Says reflex controls, pointless mini-games, and shoddy camera work. At one point the camera kept sliding after I took my thumb off the analog. I wanted to keep playing the game and following the story but the wretched controls (worse than Silent Hill) kept angering me. At one point I yelled, "Didn't anyone playtest this?" A serious A potentially excellent game ruined by Simon Says reflex controls, pointless mini-games, and shoddy camera work. At one point the camera kept sliding after I took my thumb off the analog. I wanted to keep playing the game and following the story but the wretched controls (worse than Silent Hill) kept angering me. At one point I yelled, "Didn't anyone playtest this?" A serious disappointment. Hopefully Quantic Dream will solve these problems before they release another game in this genre. Expand
  27. PaulO.
    Mar 17, 2006
    7
    A good game that would have been great were it not for the mostly inane puzzles (Though there are certainly a couple of good ones) and rather poor gameplay. It really would have been better off as a movie. The "Simon Says" way you control the action does make sure you're paying attention, but it would feel so much better if I were controlling the character, rather than just pusing A good game that would have been great were it not for the mostly inane puzzles (Though there are certainly a couple of good ones) and rather poor gameplay. It really would have been better off as a movie. The "Simon Says" way you control the action does make sure you're paying attention, but it would feel so much better if I were controlling the character, rather than just pusing buttons to see a pre-determined outcome. Besides the control quirks, the game's storyline, visuals, and characters are really quite good, though the story takes a nosedive in the last quarter of the game and the ending left me dissapointed. Expand
  28. Mar 11, 2014
    3
    This game defines Deus Ex Machina.

    You might think I'm being harsh, but imagine watching a serious movie such as Shawshank Redemption, or Schinler's List and then having it go all Angels & Demons/Dragon Ball Z on you........ The last couple hours of the game just ruined it for me. The first few hours are amazing, and right when you hone in and figure out what's going on......I'm not
    This game defines Deus Ex Machina.

    You might think I'm being harsh, but imagine watching a serious movie such as Shawshank Redemption, or Schinler's List and then having it go all Angels & Demons/Dragon Ball Z on you........

    The last couple hours of the game just ruined it for me. The first few hours are amazing, and right when you hone in and figure out what's going on......I'm not going to spoil anything, but the game completely changes. You literally jump out a window and into a new game. This wouldn't be so bad, but the switch to this whole demonic plot is just poorly done. The villain is terribly portrayed.....and it literally feels like they made a great game, but didn't know how to end it, so they went with "completely off the walls."
    Expand
  29. VidM.
    Dec 2, 2005
    7
    Interesting concept, and solid game. The main problem is that this game relies very heavily on its story, which is a actually quite decent until about two-thirds of the way through. The story then inexplicably veers off course and crashes into the nearest festering pile of manure. Note to developers: creating crime scene and then investigating it via different character viewpoints -> fun. Interesting concept, and solid game. The main problem is that this game relies very heavily on its story, which is a actually quite decent until about two-thirds of the way through. The story then inexplicably veers off course and crashes into the nearest festering pile of manure. Note to developers: creating crime scene and then investigating it via different character viewpoints -> fun. Sitting through the last few hours of ludicrous, conspiracy-theory psychobabble -> anti-fun. Bonus points for innovation though. Expand
  30. Feb 3, 2015
    5
    This game is the wet dream of an adolescent anime addict partly obsessed with fight scenes from the Matrix. The story was fished from a puddle left by a single raindrop. The dialog was as tasteless as the cheap takeout bag in which it was delivered (not that I've ever tried to eat that). The gamework was assigned by a spiteful mechanic maniacally laughing as you drudge through QTE's.This game is the wet dream of an adolescent anime addict partly obsessed with fight scenes from the Matrix. The story was fished from a puddle left by a single raindrop. The dialog was as tasteless as the cheap takeout bag in which it was delivered (not that I've ever tried to eat that). The gamework was assigned by a spiteful mechanic maniacally laughing as you drudge through QTE's. Unless, maybe the game was a melodramatic comedy??? In which case... ha.... Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Fahrenheit heralds the renaissance in adventure games. The puzzles are logical and use common sense. The cinematic feeling, excellent voice acting, gripping action sequences and excellent audiovisual elements complement the tightly woven plot. The story and scene’s change according to the players choices and actions, which has often been talked about, but rarely implemented as well as in Fahrenheit. The game proves that adventure games are not dead, they just needed to find a way to adjust. [Sept 2005, p.52]
  2. Well, now Fahrenheit is here in all its understated, slow-burning glory; and chances are most gamers will probably be blissfully unaware that the adventure genre has changed for the better in Quantic Dream's latest masterpiece.
  3. Unique, and only the fact that it won't be every player's idea of fun (walking, listening, talking, mashing sticks...) holds it back. But to pass up on such a powerful experience based on preconceptions of 'boring adventure games' would be a very big mistake. [PSM2]