• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 26, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 93
  2. Negative: 15 out of 93

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RomaM.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    the best game ever!buy it now,brilliant game,brilliant characters and breathtaking story!and to those people who putted rating for this game less then 5,you must be little kids which only play first person shooters and want some action,this game is about the story,how you put the story together.get it now as this is the most amazing game ever!
  2. JulieN.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    Intense sequences. Plays like a movie where you control the story. Simple investigative gameplay followed by scary mental scenes and fast decisions you have to make to control the game. The fight sequences are intense, but you spend time concentrating on the moves and don't get to enjoy the visuals. Still, excellent game.
  3. GrahamM.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    I don't understand all of the negative user reviews here. I just rented this, but already I'm sure I'll be buying it in the future. While the graphics are lacking, the storyline is incerdibly immersing, the charachters are actually likeable and fun to play as, there are some very interesting (not to mention difficult to pull off, as proved by the countless companies who I don't understand all of the negative user reviews here. I just rented this, but already I'm sure I'll be buying it in the future. While the graphics are lacking, the storyline is incerdibly immersing, the charachters are actually likeable and fun to play as, there are some very interesting (not to mention difficult to pull off, as proved by the countless companies who tried and failed miserably) twists to the playing style. Plus, add some very original elements and the total level of interactivity and you end up with one of the greatest games ever. To those of you who rated this game badly, I strongly suspect that you suffer from "I-don't-have-a-clue-what-I'm-talking-about-itis", and that you only care for video games with lots of explosions, sex and retards with guns. Your idea of a classic game is probably "Serious Sam", or something like that. In fact, if you are that ignorant of this games values, I begin to wonder whether or not you got someone else to type your comments, because somebody that idiotic probably can't even read or write. Which just proves that anyone smart enough to write his or her own name should enjoy this game more than breathing. Expand
  4. DrunkenMaster
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    A lot of people -- especially those used to idiotic buttonmashers -- aren't going to like this game. It's too cerebral and cinematic for those tastes, and too character-oriented as well. The controls are intuitive and smooth -- it would be simple for someone who had never played a video game before to learn the system very quickly -- and the plot, although a bit much in the A lot of people -- especially those used to idiotic buttonmashers -- aren't going to like this game. It's too cerebral and cinematic for those tastes, and too character-oriented as well. The controls are intuitive and smooth -- it would be simple for someone who had never played a video game before to learn the system very quickly -- and the plot, although a bit much in the final chapters, is tense enough to carry you through to whichever of the (multiple) endings you choose to seek. If you are interested in the opportunities for the future of interactive cinema, this is absolutley the game for you to purchase. Peter Jackson, director of the LOTR trilogy, has been quoted as speculating that the two mediums of film and video game will merge in the very near future, and that games have a much greater potential to provide immediacy and immersive content than film. This is one of the first steps in bringing that vision to fruition. Expand
  5. BobJ.
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    This is the most unique game in ages. It is great.
  6. David
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    One of the best games I've played in years. This is a truly original game with a brilliant story.
  7. MarcoH.
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    Exellent.
  8. ShaunC
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    I just finished GTA IV and decided to revisit some of my old PS2 games (thank you back compat.) and came across Indigo again and plugged it in...and wow, it is an amazing game....while the camera can be annoying at some times, it is a very entertaining experience because it is that different; I still want to know what happens next
  9. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, Indigo Prophecy offers a nearly perfect Interactive experience. The levels and quick-time events could be much more difficult.
  10. JoseA.
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    OK, I played this Game about 2 years ago & I must say aside from Shadow of the Colossus this was the most unforgettable experience in video game history. Yeah, I'm saying this 2 years later! It's never left my memory.
  11. EricS.
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    I love the storyline, it kept me guessing what was coming next. The minigame portions involve good reflexes. The cinematics were beutiful, But the only problem I had was it was too short. I finished the game with the good ending and unlocked all the bonus stuff in about 7 hours of gameplay.
  12. PhillipH.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    The game was great the most fun I have had in a long time I just rented it but I'm already thinking of buying it
  13. JeremyH.
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    This game is for the patient, I will give it that much. Everything about the game though just fits together perfectly. The voice acting is great, the plot is excellent, the gameplay is top notch (if you are a patient person who enjoys these types of games). It has high replayabiltiy cause there are multiple endings to to the game. I will admit that the graphics aren't the best for a This game is for the patient, I will give it that much. Everything about the game though just fits together perfectly. The voice acting is great, the plot is excellent, the gameplay is top notch (if you are a patient person who enjoys these types of games). It has high replayabiltiy cause there are multiple endings to to the game. I will admit that the graphics aren't the best for a PS2 game, but they're also not the worst. The graphics don't matter to me though (as to why I am still giving this a 10). If you are the type though who likes a fast paced game this may not be your type of game as it is a slower paced game and is going to be enjoyed more from those who have the patience for it. I would reccommend renting this before buying though just to make sure it is something you will enjoy because as you can see by the difference of opinions here, you may or you may not. Expand
  14. JimmyD.
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    This is the most intelligent game to come along in a long time...something different is not for everyone but anyone who enjoys a good CSI episode and wishes to play as All characters is going to have a treat in store for them..You actually get to think, to choose how and who you would like to do what. A combination of Silent Hill / Myst type game play with a different style of action This is the most intelligent game to come along in a long time...something different is not for everyone but anyone who enjoys a good CSI episode and wishes to play as All characters is going to have a treat in store for them..You actually get to think, to choose how and who you would like to do what. A combination of Silent Hill / Myst type game play with a different style of action options (think Dance Dance Revolution). ONe of the most unique games to come along in some time. Highly recommended for gamers with open minds. Expand
  15. Foensson
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played... I got sucked in and didn't come out until the "the end" sign was on the screen.. Amazing.. Great voice acting, even bettet characters...
  16. Believeme
    Oct 9, 2005
    8
    I think a score of 8 is perfect for this game. it has flaws, and some exellent aspects. i'll get the flaws out of the way first. it is a little cut-sceney (i know, sorry) but that's only really a problem if u are the type of gamer who is stu[pidly impatient and cares not for plot. also the action is conducted via a qte style analogue tap that works in a fairly similar way toI think a score of 8 is perfect for this game. it has flaws, and some exellent aspects. i'll get the flaws out of the way first. it is a little cut-sceney (i know, sorry) but that's only really a problem if u are the type of gamer who is stu[pidly impatient and cares not for plot. also the action is conducted via a qte style analogue tap that works in a fairly similar way to shenmue. graphics are alright, functional but not flamboyant in any way, and finally, controls are a little awkward cos u stick to walls a bit. all these can be overlooked tho and never really pose a huge issue or really mess up gameplay. camera is ok, ignore the people who say it's terrible cos u control it urself. good points-very good story altho it does get rather fantastical at the end, which is unexpected. cut scenes are very well done. mature and not patronising or stupid in any way. not just bang bang end game or any pointless crap. puzzles are pretty good, never frustrating. choice of events does have an impact that is easily noticable unlike in many games. pretty funny at times. screw it just buy it and sit with it and treat it more like a film and u'll probably love it. if not, go back to pong for endless hours of pure interaction and entertainment. Expand
  17. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    The most original game I've ever played. The beginning sequence is one of the best moments in any video game I've ever played. This game has some highs and lows in terms of fun, but the best moments in this game are the best out of any game I've ever played.
  18. JakeP.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    this game took me to places any other game couldn't. it is by far the most realistic and breathtaking game i have ever played. kudos to atari...you came a long way from pac man
  19. JohnD.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Just superbly artistic.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Fahrenheit heralds the renaissance in adventure games. The puzzles are logical and use common sense. The cinematic feeling, excellent voice acting, gripping action sequences and excellent audiovisual elements complement the tightly woven plot. The story and scene’s change according to the players choices and actions, which has often been talked about, but rarely implemented as well as in Fahrenheit. The game proves that adventure games are not dead, they just needed to find a way to adjust. [Sept 2005, p.52]
  2. Well, now Fahrenheit is here in all its understated, slow-burning glory; and chances are most gamers will probably be blissfully unaware that the adventure genre has changed for the better in Quantic Dream's latest masterpiece.
  3. Unique, and only the fact that it won't be every player's idea of fun (walking, listening, talking, mashing sticks...) holds it back. But to pass up on such a powerful experience based on preconceptions of 'boring adventure games' would be a very big mistake. [PSM2]