• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Indigo Prophecy Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Fahrenheit") New York, January 2009. For no apparent reason, ordinary people are killing total strangers in public places. Although there is no link between the murderers, they all seem to respect exactly the same ritual and pattern. Lucas Kane becomes another of these(Also known as "Fahrenheit") New York, January 2009. For no apparent reason, ordinary people are killing total strangers in public places. Although there is no link between the murderers, they all seem to respect exactly the same ritual and pattern. Lucas Kane becomes another of these murderers when he kills a stranger in the men's room of a restaurant. Haunted by strange visions, he must keep one step ahead of the police to find out what is happening to him. Inspector Carla Valenti and her teammate agent Tyler Miles are in charge of the investigation. A series of disturbing clues projects them into a world they had never even dreamed of. Meanwhile, the early onset of winter paralyses Manhattan in an unbearable fury of cold and snow. Each day the temperature drops, as a coat of brilliant white snow is drawn over the dark streets of New York. One thing is sure : The final countdown has already begun. Indigo Prophecy creates a new breed of interactive entertainment, merging cinema and interactivity. A spectacular real-time 3D adventure with state-of-the-art camera direction and multi-path scenario. Play different protagonists in this epic quest and make the story progress depending on YOUR decisions. Control different characters in an awe-inspiring paranormal thriller, discern the dark secrets behind mysterious serial killings, understand why the city is brought to a standstill by snow and dropping temperatures, Play the hunter and the fugitive : explore, interact, fight and confront by all means dark forces during your journey. After Indigo Prophecy, the world just can't be the same place again. [Quantic Dream] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. A completely engrossing game, designed for the patience of adult players, that will stand up to an almost infinite number of sessions. It’s a technically marvellous achievement by David Cage.
  2. Well, now Fahrenheit is here in all its understated, slow-burning glory; and chances are most gamers will probably be blissfully unaware that the adventure genre has changed for the better in Quantic Dream's latest masterpiece.
  3. David Cage and the team at Quantic Dream have accomplished what they set out to, producing a game that integrates narrative and gameplay so tightly that they almost seem inseparable... Undoubtedly one of the finest adventure games of this or any generation.
  4. A good game and I feel that it is worth the money. It could use a lot of brushing up in certain areas, but considering its characters, dialogue, and sense of atmosphere, Quantic Dream has delivered a game ultimately worthy of the genre.
  5. One of the creepiest and unsettling games to come along in a while. Play it alone at night with the lights off and enjoy the creepy ride.
  6. Forget buying three DVDs of crappy movies you're only going to watch once and buy Fahrenheit instead. It's longer, boasts more action, costs the same and offers far more crash for your cash than many a movie. [PSW]
  7. Despite its cinematic aspirations and genuinely unique approach, Indigo Prophecy is little more than a short adventure that relies too heavily on the same, bad mini-game when it should be mixing up the contextually-controlled goodness like a dyslexic DJ.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. JeremyH.
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    This game is for the patient, I will give it that much. Everything about the game though just fits together perfectly. The voice acting is This game is for the patient, I will give it that much. Everything about the game though just fits together perfectly. The voice acting is great, the plot is excellent, the gameplay is top notch (if you are a patient person who enjoys these types of games). It has high replayabiltiy cause there are multiple endings to to the game. I will admit that the graphics aren't the best for a PS2 game, but they're also not the worst. The graphics don't matter to me though (as to why I am still giving this a 10). If you are the type though who likes a fast paced game this may not be your type of game as it is a slower paced game and is going to be enjoyed more from those who have the patience for it. I would reccommend renting this before buying though just to make sure it is something you will enjoy because as you can see by the difference of opinions here, you may or you may not. Expand
  2. RomaM.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    the best game ever!buy it now,brilliant game,brilliant characters and breathtaking story!and to those people who putted rating for this game the best game ever!buy it now,brilliant game,brilliant characters and breathtaking story!and to those people who putted rating for this game less then 5,you must be little kids which only play first person shooters and want some action,this game is about the story,how you put the story together.get it now as this is the most amazing game ever! Expand
  3. JoseA.
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    OK, I played this Game about 2 years ago & I must say aside from Shadow of the Colossus this was the most unforgettable experience in video OK, I played this Game about 2 years ago & I must say aside from Shadow of the Colossus this was the most unforgettable experience in video game history. Yeah, I'm saying this 2 years later! It's never left my memory. Collapse
  4. David
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    One of the best games I've played in years. This is a truly original game with a brilliant story.
  5. Believeme
    Oct 9, 2005
    8
    I think a score of 8 is perfect for this game. it has flaws, and some exellent aspects. i'll get the flaws out of the way first. it is aI think a score of 8 is perfect for this game. it has flaws, and some exellent aspects. i'll get the flaws out of the way first. it is a little cut-sceney (i know, sorry) but that's only really a problem if u are the type of gamer who is stu[pidly impatient and cares not for plot. also the action is conducted via a qte style analogue tap that works in a fairly similar way to shenmue. graphics are alright, functional but not flamboyant in any way, and finally, controls are a little awkward cos u stick to walls a bit. all these can be overlooked tho and never really pose a huge issue or really mess up gameplay. camera is ok, ignore the people who say it's terrible cos u control it urself. good points-very good story altho it does get rather fantastical at the end, which is unexpected. cut scenes are very well done. mature and not patronising or stupid in any way. not just bang bang end game or any pointless crap. puzzles are pretty good, never frustrating. choice of events does have an impact that is easily noticable unlike in many games. pretty funny at times. screw it just buy it and sit with it and treat it more like a film and u'll probably love it. if not, go back to pong for endless hours of pure interaction and entertainment. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    It does have a well written story and well written character, but overall I just felt this game was more like an interactive movie than anIt does have a well written story and well written character, but overall I just felt this game was more like an interactive movie than an actual game. Graphics, script and atmosphere are all excellent, but the gameplay itself just isn't there. Overall: A good "game" that lacks real gameplay to make it what it could be. Expand
  7. Melanie
    Sep 25, 2005
    0
    This game is really bad. Very boring and all around annoying. If you like to awkwardly walk around a screen and wait for an icon to pop up This game is really bad. Very boring and all around annoying. If you like to awkwardly walk around a screen and wait for an icon to pop up before you move the right analog stick in a specified direction then this is the perfect game for you. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews