• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 9, 2004
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    Stunning graphics, an amazing range of highly imaginative and sprawling locations, endless variety, engaging and challenging gameplay, loads of mini-games, cool weapons, super powers, vehicles, races, a grand and exciting storyline, great music, superb voice acting and plenty of humour- did I forget anything?
  2. The action is incredibly smooth and responsive, the plot is fun and the game-play is quick and exciting. Even when you die, it's no big deal to get back in the action (and you will die, a lot).
  3. 100
    It's all about presentation, and Jak 3 presents the action in an engaging, meaningful way that keeps you glued to the very end. [Dec 2004, p.100]
  4. Compelling and addictive, and far more fun that we'd have expected after slogging through the confounding Jak 2. This is the action platformer refined to perfection.
  5. A near 20-hour-long rollercoaster ride that stacks missions of perfectly manufactured platforming, tactical shooting and everything in between. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  6. This game looks absolutely gorgeous; it is one of the best looking games out for the Playstation 2. The controls are very responsive and it plays like a dream.
  7. 96
    If you're looking for art and technical achievement, Jak has it...Jak is it. Characters animate so smoothly it actually makes playing other games painful. Painful, I say! And it never stutters, never glitches, never hitches, and never, ever lets up.
  8. A great game, and it is the best of the Jak series. It is the perfect way to end it all.
  9. After I beat the game I almost cried. Not from disappointment however, because the ending was great and it gave a great conclusion to the epic trilogy.
  10. The graphics are buoyed by the exceptional voice acting for the characters in the game.
  11. It's better than Jak II in how it's simpler to move around from place to place. That's a plus. Its range of difficulty has diminished since Jak II. That's a bit of a plus and a minus. The game's more action-oriented than it is platform based. That's a bit more of a minus than it is a plus.
  12. Naughty Dog has done a tremendous job of creating multi-layered personalities that really strike a chord, and plot hooks that will keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat up until the explosive finale. [Nov 2004, p.153]
  13. The variety of missions/gameplay types is refreshing.
  14. While it improves upon the chief complaints from the first sequel, it still does not offer much that's fresh besides new weapons and Light Jak powers. [Feb 2005, p.NP-9]
  15. I like how the game has been tightened up. The new driving missions are much better, the difficulty has been toned down (though maybe a bit too much), and the new weapon mods and Light Jak powers add something new.
  16. Although this game may also be the most difficult game in the series it also still retains all of the fun and enjoyment that has been with this series since the very beginning.
  17. Daxter's shtick notwithstanding (he hasn't made me laugh since the middle of last year's adventure) Jak 3 stands tall and proud as a testament of what polished gameplay and cutting-edge graphics can do when the host system's Emotion Engine is maximized.
  18. Despite the sweet new weapon upgrades and other new features, Jak 3 didn't have the same impact on me as "Jak II" because it wasn't as fresh - it feels a little too much like extra "Jak II" chapters. It's still great, don't get me wrong - but maybe not as mind-blowingly fantastic as what came before. [Nov 2004, p.70]
  19. It's fair to say that, despite all its new content, Jak 3 does feel a lot like "Jak II." Many of the animations and sound effects have been recycled, along with huge portions of Haven City.
  20. Nowhere near as tough as "Jak II" is. Those of you who pride yourselves on your old-school hardcore platforming skill may find this disappointing, but it's great news for the rest of us. "Hard" does not necessarily mean "good," and most of us don't like feeling as though a game is trying to give us an aneurysm. [Dec 2004, p.104]
  21. The game’s mission-based structures makes for a lot of opportunities to show cutscenes, and Jak 3 takes full advantage of this.
  22. The one thing keeping it from breaking 90%, I found the conclusion of the story to be a huge letdown. While several of the threads come to satisfying (And even surprising) conclusions, the major plot thread started in the first game was revealed to be, and I might be getting a little mean here, stupid.
  23. Graphics wise Jak 3 is stellar. The backgrounds are fantastic and they seem to go on forever. The player models look grand as well.
  24. With Jak 3 everything seems so passé and normal again, as if the well had run dry and the developers had lost their passion for the franchise.
  25. If you haven’t played either of the predecessors to Jak 3, it’s highly recommended that you do so before playing through this one, or at least Jak II that is.
  26. A truly fantastic game that is without a doubt the best game in the series. However, it is disappointing that the control and camera problems from the last game weren't fixed, and the new focus on vehicles was too overemphasized for my liking.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    This might just be nostalgia talking, but the game is an amazing game that is very well done. Of course there's going to be flaws, but it's an example of a proper third person platforming shooter done to a tee. There's even a good storyline to follow, this series will forever be a huge part of the PS2 library and truly shows the prime of Naughty Dog. Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    The story in the game, is great as always and it follows well Jak II. Cutscenes are funny and amazingly well made. Gameplay is as good as in Jak II. Now Jak has more guns and they are better. I think, that the game has more platforming sections, and that is only a good thing. Jak 3 is an incredibly great game. Naughty Dog, make Jak and Daxter 4. Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2012
    10
    One of the best PS2 games of all time. Jak 3 conclude's the epic tale of the series with a few twists. I wish they were still making games like this because its one of the most funniest games I've ever played. Full Review »