• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 9, 2004
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 188

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Simply put, this **** is mad fun. There is something for everyone. It has so many different elements to it and it pulls off all of them spectacularly. The driving sequences are fun, the platforming never gets boring, there are a bunch of cool guns to use, the open world gameplay is similar to grand theft autos, the characters are hilarious, the voice acting is amazing, the graphics are rlySimply put, this **** is mad fun. There is something for everyone. It has so many different elements to it and it pulls off all of them spectacularly. The driving sequences are fun, the platforming never gets boring, there are a bunch of cool guns to use, the open world gameplay is similar to grand theft autos, the characters are hilarious, the voice acting is amazing, the graphics are rly good for an 04 release and the storyline is great. This game is just amazingly fun. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Naughty Dog have dramatically increased the scale of Jak and Daxter's world with this entry, with the entire wasteland opened up to you, a new city to explore, an engrossing plot leading straight on from Jak II and a horde of new weapons, vehicles and gameplay elements amount to what is the biggest game available on PS2, and as a welcome nod to fans, a slightly altered/scaled down HavenNaughty Dog have dramatically increased the scale of Jak and Daxter's world with this entry, with the entire wasteland opened up to you, a new city to explore, an engrossing plot leading straight on from Jak II and a horde of new weapons, vehicles and gameplay elements amount to what is the biggest game available on PS2, and as a welcome nod to fans, a slightly altered/scaled down Haven City is featured so the environments never become monotonous. The new characters are all loveable and all favourites from Jak II return in all their glory, and through the plot you find out so much more about the past, present and future of the Jak and Daxter universe, some overly powerful new weapons do slightly unbalance gameplay, but only when you're in large-scale battle engagements are the tools necessary or particularly useful, so the negative affect is limited. Hard to recommend over Jak II, but easy as devouring a warm apple pie when compared to just about every other title on the PS2. Overall, a brilliant conclusion to a brilliant trilogy and a must play for anyone with a soul, also Gingers Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    this games is the best of the trilogy, the depth of Jak as a character is at peak, and the amount of fun to this game is endless.. if your looking for a fun game to waste hours on this is your game.
  4. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay
  5. May 7, 2012
    10
    One of the best PS2 games of all time. Jak 3 conclude's the epic tale of the series with a few twists. I wish they were still making games like this because its one of the most funniest games I've ever played.
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    This might just be nostalgia talking, but the game is an amazing game that is very well done. Of course there's going to be flaws, but it's an example of a proper third person platforming shooter done to a tee. There's even a good storyline to follow, this series will forever be a huge part of the PS2 library and truly shows the prime of Naughty Dog.
  7. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    The story in the game, is great as always and it follows well Jak II. Cutscenes are funny and amazingly well made. Gameplay is as good as in Jak II. Now Jak has more guns and they are better. I think, that the game has more platforming sections, and that is only a good thing. Jak 3 is an incredibly great game. Naughty Dog, make Jak and Daxter 4.
  8. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jak 3 is definitely a gamer's game. Although I have not played more than 10 minutes of the supposedly critical Jak II, I still think Jak 3 is a fantastic game. Using what I know from Jaks 1, 3, and X, I know some of the general Ideas from 2, like Krew, Erol, Praxis, etc. I think the animations of were flawless, not perfect, but flawless. The way enemies attacked, they way things disintegrate or explode, the way things took damage, overall animation was flawless. Depending on where you are in the game, I think marauders should come in hordes, NFS Most Wanted: Heat 5 pursuit style. This would bog down the engine, and therefore virtually impossible. It would also be quite infuriating if you wanted to drive around in the Tough Puppy. Even with very little knowledge Jak II, I think Jak 3 still had an interesting and engaging storyline. When Light Eco was introduced, I was right with Jak, I was interested, I was amazed, and I thought of how the Dark Eco filled plotline could take on a whole new direction. I also wanted to brutally murder Veger in the scene where Damas dies. Throughout the game I had the exact same emotions as Jak, and occasionally Daxter. Serious plotline aside, this game has a lot of humor, mainly from Orange Lightning himself. "Ah Samos, still as green as the stuff between my toes". Although all the side missions can get a little dull at times when it takes you 20 tries, the rest of the game as well as the reward is definitely worth it. It just drives me crazy in a good way when you have an orb search in the Wasteland. "I've seen that spot ten thousand times, but where is it?" is what many people think when doing some of them. Overall a fantastic and well earned 10/10. This game is easily one of the top 5 games I have ever played, Ever. Expand
  9. May 22, 2014
    10
    The graphics here are some of the best on the PS2. The characters feel alive thanks to great animation and strong voice acting. The environments are so believable because there is such great attention to detail. We care so much about the protagonists because they are both funny and at times very serious.
  10. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    In my opinion, best of the series. Most memorable music (Josh Mancell and Larry Hopkins know a lot about creative and mindblowing music. Without exaggeration), story and atmosphere. Horewer, gameplay has changed not so much from previous game, but it is likely more a plus than a minus. After all, what needs for sequels - be based on already established standard and make it better. AndIn my opinion, best of the series. Most memorable music (Josh Mancell and Larry Hopkins know a lot about creative and mindblowing music. Without exaggeration), story and atmosphere. Horewer, gameplay has changed not so much from previous game, but it is likely more a plus than a minus. After all, what needs for sequels - be based on already established standard and make it better. And Jak 3, again, in my concept, deal with it is just perfect. Expand
  11. Feb 10, 2011
    9
    i played this game before the first one and sencond and good thing because it's the best of the series. many wil love the characters personalities. i love the graphics (way ahead at the time) great roaming around in the desert. i love the driving and missions. the challeneges are easy yet fun. my only complaint is it's too easy i think naughty dog got too many complaints that jak II wasi played this game before the first one and sencond and good thing because it's the best of the series. many wil love the characters personalities. i love the graphics (way ahead at the time) great roaming around in the desert. i love the driving and missions. the challeneges are easy yet fun. my only complaint is it's too easy i think naughty dog got too many complaints that jak II was too hard so they made it easy. jak II was hard but its beatable. great game!!! Expand
  12. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the best game I ever played before I Twilight Princess. Definitely the best game in the Jak series( even though I only played the first three). I thought none of the other Jak games could beat Jak 2, but boy was I wrong. One of the highlights was finding out the Precursors were just a bunch of Ottsels! :) Expand
  13. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    The third installment to the Jak and Daxter series is a very good game. It has platformer and shooter elements like the second game but it also adds a racing element to it. The game is open world and is fun to explore and find all the hidden content in the game. The game some times has very high difficulty spikes and bad check points and isn't as good as the first two games in my opinionThe third installment to the Jak and Daxter series is a very good game. It has platformer and shooter elements like the second game but it also adds a racing element to it. The game is open world and is fun to explore and find all the hidden content in the game. The game some times has very high difficulty spikes and bad check points and isn't as good as the first two games in my opinion but it's still a great game you should get. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    After Jak II was released, I couldn't help but think, "Is there more? I really hope so!" The more ends up being Jak 3, a satisfying conclusion to a trilogy of great games. The gun mod additions and the new Light Jak powers are a HUGE part of the game, as there now more better ways to kill enemies, and if you have Light Eco, you can easily heal or protect yourself. The Wasteland and SpargusAfter Jak II was released, I couldn't help but think, "Is there more? I really hope so!" The more ends up being Jak 3, a satisfying conclusion to a trilogy of great games. The gun mod additions and the new Light Jak powers are a HUGE part of the game, as there now more better ways to kill enemies, and if you have Light Eco, you can easily heal or protect yourself. The Wasteland and Spargus City have got to be the best environments I've seen in a while. A more run down and ruined version of Haven City makes the game even better. Naughty Dog really knew what they were doing with Jak 3. I think the only complaints I had were the annoying KG deathbots or Metal heads that would just attack you out of nowhere and lower your health easily. Expand
  15. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Finally, the end to the jak and daxter adventure. :( first thing i'm glad about is*warning there is swearing* they fixed the god damn difficulty of jak 2*swearing ends here* but don't get me wrong, this game is still hard somewhat. they even added 3x the weapons. and the soundtrack! MMMM love it! the reason i didn't give it a 10 is because every where you go in haven city you will seeFinally, the end to the jak and daxter adventure. :( first thing i'm glad about is*warning there is swearing* they fixed the god damn difficulty of jak 2*swearing ends here* but don't get me wrong, this game is still hard somewhat. they even added 3x the weapons. and the soundtrack! MMMM love it! the reason i didn't give it a 10 is because every where you go in haven city you will see metal heads and KG Death bots everywhere but all in all, a great game! Expand
  16. May 4, 2012
    9
    Imagine what would happen if a bad Jak and daxter game were made? Imagine if Naughty Dog just completely screwed up? What if the next Jak game sucked beyond belief? Well, we'll just have to wait for that day and hope it never comes, because Jak 3 is here, and it couldn't be better. Taking place after the events of jak 2, Jak and Daxter are sent into the waistland after Haven discovers thatImagine what would happen if a bad Jak and daxter game were made? Imagine if Naughty Dog just completely screwed up? What if the next Jak game sucked beyond belief? Well, we'll just have to wait for that day and hope it never comes, because Jak 3 is here, and it couldn't be better. Taking place after the events of jak 2, Jak and Daxter are sent into the waistland after Haven discovers that the metal heads have survived and the palace has fallen. Everyone blames Jak for this, and they leave him and Daxter out to die. They almost do, but then they find Spargus city. That's where Jak 3 unfolds. You then take on the role as Jak and do crazy fun missions. Whether they be platforming, driving or shooting, the missions in Jak 3 are designed amazingly. It's fun. Really fun. Extreamely fun. Each misiion is varied in several differant ways. You'll barley feel like you're doing the same thing over and over again. If you ARE doing a mission that was the same as one before, you'll most likely not have a problem with it because it was flat out fun to begin with (with the exception of a mission in which you're in a car collecting artifacts...boring). You'll travel through the sewer sometimes, but you'll only be able to travel through them section by section through each part of the game,so that barely counts as rehashing it. Speaking of sewers, these sections are a blast!!! It is specificaly made for platforming, and Jak 3 suceeds. It comes up with the most unique mechanics that are just so much fun. Sometimes, they go to use the clkassic aproach too. In one mission, it is a challenging, overhead shooter beat-em-up that I played over and over and over again because it was just plain fun. But don't get me wrong, the game has its problems: The game begins slow and unbalanced, especially for those who haven't played the first two games. Also, the plot isn't presented very well. It's told in bits and peices throughout cutscenes. The plot isn't really worth mentioning until the end, which I won't spoil. Also, the game expects you to play out each mission perfectly for some reason. Just hitting a rock is enough to cause your car to just tip over, leaving you strugling to get back up, leaving you dead last in a race with little hope of catching up. This is especially true during the first race, where it is difficult to win. In addition to Dark Jak, this game now introduces light Jak, a Jak that uses light eco instead of dark. Light Jak is used for defensive manuvers, and each one works well.They never go to waste, except for the light sheild. It's useless, since you could just use light regeneration to get all of your health back. And yes: The option to buy cheats is back and better than ever. Everything from gun upgrades to the classic Big Head Mode, you'll have crazy fun with this one. The graphics in this game are flat out amazing compared to the previous installments. It features the best framerate ever, cutscenes are crisp and clear, and its just a treat. This game has got to be one of the best PS2 games ever made. If you see it on shelves in a drug store where they keep 1000 year old games for some reason or you find the Jak and Daxter HD collection, DON'T LET IT PASS YOU BY. IF YOU DON'T BUY THIS GAME,THEN YOU MUST HATE YOURSELF...and puppies Expand
  17. May 23, 2015
    9
    This game is a very good one but in comparison to Jak 2 its a rather poor follow up. Jak 3 by no means is a bad game its just bellow par, Jak 3 suffers from what I call "Mini game itis" meaning in an effort to include more game play varieties it just adds in slightly intrusive mini games. However Jak 2 did this but what makes it ok in Jak 2 there were only 5 in Jak 2 while there are atThis game is a very good one but in comparison to Jak 2 its a rather poor follow up. Jak 3 by no means is a bad game its just bellow par, Jak 3 suffers from what I call "Mini game itis" meaning in an effort to include more game play varieties it just adds in slightly intrusive mini games. However Jak 2 did this but what makes it ok in Jak 2 there were only 5 in Jak 2 while there are at least 15 in Jak 3. How ever the setting is very cool and the driving mechanics are very fun and original. The new guns make up for the re use of old ones and although the story is watered down it is still interesting to follow because Jak makes some big discoveries through out his adventure. The new game play mechanic light Jak is very helpful with the exception of flight and time which feel quite gimmicky and useless outside of scripted areas. They have also perfected Dark Jak from something you used to have to plan to use to something you can use freely and easily without worrying about making certain events harder down the track because there is an abundance of dark eco to collect and use.

    This game despite being a bit of a let down compared to Jak 2 is still extremely fun and well worth your money.
    Expand
  18. Apr 29, 2011
    8
    It's a step further than Naughty Dog's last attempt at mimmicking the Ratcher and Clank series. Pros: Again, fantastic graphics; more variety of gameplay, weapons, and level design; funny dialog; overall, it's increasingly better than Jak II. Cons: It still lacks the originality the very first game was shrouded in; the vehicle levels can be frustratingly difficult due to poor control.
  19. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    Although this isn't the best Jak game, it still does not dissapoint. The gameplay mechanics are the same, meaning its great, and there are even more guns. The graphics are great and the storyline is well thought out. Great game, it just doesn't feel as fresh as Jak 2.
  20. May 22, 2011
    8
    Though it will never be as good as The Precursor Legacy, Jak 3 is certainly an improvement over its predecessor. Pros: Gorgeous graphics; slick controls; solid platforming and lots of action-adventure elements; challenging. Cons: Still unoriginal; under-utilizes some of the gameplay features; limited level design.
  21. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    Still a good platformer but nowhere near as good as the first and second game in the jak and daxter series.
  22. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    I do think this was an improvement over Jak 3. Still some problems are present like not being able to use your weapons properly. but it a good improvement, more weapons, fun vehicles, nice world, with a nice final boss. not quite as fun as Ratchet and Clank up your arsenal, or sly 2 both which came out the same year. but still an amazing game.
  23. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    The worst in the series in my opinion. I highly recommend this game however, it has a lot to do and the fact you get to play as Daxter more is kind of fun I guess. But I will admit whenever you do play as Daxter you always kind of wish you were playing as Jak. This is one of the best games on the Playstation 2.
  24. Mar 20, 2015
    7
    This game is good like, but full of shortcomings.

    Torn, Ash, Samos, Kiera, Sig etc dont play much role, they just stand around in their HQ to talk to Jak. Kiera and Samos get a minute or two of screen time and thats it. Story is well underdeveloped it falls so thin there could be much more than this. How is the city still getting food and power? no farm like in Jak 2, their extremely
    This game is good like, but full of shortcomings.

    Torn, Ash, Samos, Kiera, Sig etc dont play much role, they just stand around in their HQ to talk to Jak. Kiera and Samos get a minute or two of screen time and thats it. Story is well underdeveloped it falls so thin there could be much more than this. How is the city still getting food and power? no farm like in Jak 2, their extremely crunched to tight corners. How do so many people live in the south section when there is nothing there? What about recourses? and more questions

    You can`t drive around the desert and do what you want because your constantly harrassed by infinite marauders which appear to have no where to live, you don`t get to go to any areas like in Jak 2 like the pumping station, dead town, mountains etc which is again, flat story.

    Story ain`t bad, infact it is good, but falls very thin and could have much more to it like its predecessors. The game isn`t bad but is a letdown IMO, it`s clear it`s a consequence of the short time they had, they only took one year to make the game, unlike Jak 2 and the first one.
    Expand
  25. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    Jak 3 does right what Jak II did wrong, for the most part. The combat, while not necessarily different, has more thought put into it with a wider range of more useful weapons and abilities, the checkpoints are more frequent, the level design is less tedious and better thought out, there's less poor Grand Theft Auto imitation and more platforming, Jak has got a hair cut and is considerablyJak 3 does right what Jak II did wrong, for the most part. The combat, while not necessarily different, has more thought put into it with a wider range of more useful weapons and abilities, the checkpoints are more frequent, the level design is less tedious and better thought out, there's less poor Grand Theft Auto imitation and more platforming, Jak has got a hair cut and is considerably less dislikeable, there's more things to collect, unlock and discover and the game itself offers a lot more variety and colour than Jak II. My reception to Jak II wasn't warm, but Jak 3 doesn't make many of the same mistakes, and is a better game for it. Final Score: 7.4/10 Expand
  26. Aug 22, 2012
    5
    It's an improvement over Jak II but you can't break the messed up story line that Naughty Dog made up from the top of their stupid heads.

    Although I would say that the art style has been improved and the racing parts have been improved it's still in the same world as Jak II and it sucks.
  27. May 16, 2013
    5
    The game is pretty fun, although the camera angle is really bad plus the depth perception is terrible. You can barely see whats ahead of you leaving you vulnerable of walking over a ledge.
  28. Apr 17, 2014
    5
    This game is certainly the worst in the series, mainly thanks to a very average story and mediocre wasteland driving missions. When you play as Jak on foot with guns, it can be very fun. It seems to be that I have fun on the on foot sections but then it is all spoiled by the abysmal driving sections. I also lose motivation to continue playing as the story is so slowly paced. A lot of theThis game is certainly the worst in the series, mainly thanks to a very average story and mediocre wasteland driving missions. When you play as Jak on foot with guns, it can be very fun. It seems to be that I have fun on the on foot sections but then it is all spoiled by the abysmal driving sections. I also lose motivation to continue playing as the story is so slowly paced. A lot of the characters return from Jak 2; however, they are no where near as involved in the story now and it feels like they're just there because they were in the previous game. Also, I was disappointed by the absence of class races. I still hate how there is a lack of strafing or a proper aiming system- people complained about there not being one in the original R&C ( and it was fixed in the sequels) but no-one complained about it in Jak 2 OR 3. I think that this game is a true disappointment and Jak 2 will remain my favourite. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Its identical nature to "Jak 2" may leave a nasty taste in the mouth, especially given that this is the send-off to the comical pair.
  2. Daxter's shtick notwithstanding (he hasn't made me laugh since the middle of last year's adventure) Jak 3 stands tall and proud as a testament of what polished gameplay and cutting-edge graphics can do when the host system's Emotion Engine is maximized.
  3. Despite the sweet new weapon upgrades and other new features, Jak 3 didn't have the same impact on me as "Jak II" because it wasn't as fresh - it feels a little too much like extra "Jak II" chapters. It's still great, don't get me wrong - but maybe not as mind-blowingly fantastic as what came before. [Nov 2004, p.70]